Macau ATTRACTIONS See all

Historic Centre of Macau

Recognized as a UNESCO World Heritage site in 2005, the Historic Centre of Macau comprises a zone of culturally significant buildings scattered in the southwestern corner of the Macau peninsula. Easily enjoyed as a half-day or full-day walking tour, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 612 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Elizabeth M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

We had a really nice day. Tour guide Mario was FANTASTIC! We had some crummy weather, but that's just the way it happens sometimes. I would definitely recommend this tour, with the caveat of making sure that you have a restful day planned for the following day. That ferry ride is LOOOONNNNNG, especially once you include navigating through customs.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

CHI-WHEI L

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

good city tour of macau. Our guide, Mario, was very knowledgeable, responsible, and funny. We joined the tour in Macau at 10:30. Unfortunately, we had to wait the for the rest of the group coming from Hong Kongso the tour didn't really start until 11:00am. overall, a good tour.

Doing what: Macau City Sightseeing Tour

Hermanto T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent. Very informative, lots things to do in 1 day. Tour guide did a great job, recomendable

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Gerald S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A great day out, once you get off the bumpy ferry. Our guide, Mario is very interesting and kept us informed about everything, he is a delight. Lunch was good. So much to see, so little time to do

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

donnieg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic day out made all the better by the very knowledgeable and entertaining CISCO. He made the tour pass very quickly and the stop at the Venetian was awesome. To our limited knowledge of Macau which we thought was a small historic island could not be farther from the truth, with all the casinos and wealth on show it made our jaws drop. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Lance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour! Francisco was a great guide. If you want to know everything and anything about Macau, he knows. From the start of the tour to the end of the tour, he took good care of us. This was an English tour but you had a mix of different nationalities. So, if you have 7 - 8 hours and want to get the most out of Macau, take this tour and hope that you get Francisco.

Doing what: Macau City Sightseeing Tour

LONGXI W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Very good!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Gary

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The day tour of Macau was perfect. Great overview of the entire city in 7 hours. The guides knowledge was fabulous with a lot of knowledge about the history and culture of the city. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Macau City Sightseeing Tour

Ruth M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The trip was fascinating. It started off a little slow but our guide ended up being very informative and interesting.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Martin W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

An interesting trip to a historic place with a variety of sites to see along the way: visiting the Venetian Casino, complete with singing gondoliers passing by some other casinos eating belize custard tarts after visiting a local chinese temple eating a large banquet lunch very busy but filling the church ruins and visiting Jackie Chan's casino, with a lobby full of gold bullion, were highlights. Better to go in good weather that will provide better visibility, better photo opportunities and calmer conditions on the ferry! Tick off another successful location to see when visiting Hong Kong!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Marc S

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

It was a wonderful trip with an excellent and knowledgeable guide, Cisco however it all fell apart at the end when there was no one at the ferry terminal to take us back to the hotel. I believe this was caused by having split up our group into to smaller groups which took two different ferries back from Macau. We were on the later 6:30 ferry and my guess is that the folks who want back on the 5:30 ferry were picked up as per plan. Not good.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

evr.eng

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

It was a good experience to visit Macau. It was raining from Hong Kong until we arrived at Macau and couldn't see anything on the ferry ride. Mario was a very fun tour guide and informative about the history of Macau. It would have been nice to have more time to spend looking around and shopping on our own. We were told to shop at certain places and wished at the end that I had actually bought things at the 1st stop at the Venetian. The lunch was not very good, it was a cheap buffet.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

qwil

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

It was an okay trip. Lunch was served at the hotel and the food was not good.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jeff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Long day, nice ride there and back on the ferry.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Gary M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Nice way to see the city of Macau with no shopping involved. It was nice to walk through the city and see the shops and signts before going to lunch.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

roneel s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

great experience, got to see a lot. great tour guide

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Leslie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Was a good day with lots to see in a short time, our guide Mario was very informative. Lunch could have been better, there were lots of choice but not very hot but overall a good day out

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Piyush S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Good tour. English speaking. Wished they provided transportation from the hotel or gave information on how to use shuttle instead of taxi. Helpful tour operator.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Louis S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a fantastic day. Our guide in Macau was an entertaining and knowledgeable person who gave us all the information we needed and answered all question put to him. We had to alter the tour as it was the 16th anniversary or the hand over to China and so we had to do St Paul's first and have an early lunch. The lunch was in a restaurant overlooking Macau and was a buffet which catered to all culinary tastes. The afternoon was spent touring parts of Macau and going up the Macau Tower ending at a casino giving us time to go into the gambling rooms or take a walk around the area and do some shopping. The ferry trips were comfortable and it was about an hour each way and I was back at the hotel at 1930,12 hours after being picked up.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Alexis M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Covered a lot in a short space of time definitely worth doing if you are in HK for 3 days or more

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Ann Marie United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The tour was a nice way to spend the day. Mario, the guide was full of information about the real Macau and provided a useful perspective on the handover from Portugal to China. We saw both the casinos and the historic part of town. The boat ride over to the island was very smooth although it was a bit bumpier on the way back. The procedures through immigration were clearly explained and flowed very quickly despite the crowds.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Sandra S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Great all round day tour but some of it was just padding. Far too much waiting around. At one stage we waited in the street for over 30mins because two people got lost. Our guide had to leave us standing there while he went searching. Only half an hour to see most places, yet same amount of time for custard tarts and souvenir buying that no one was really interested in. Guide very informative but would rather have had a shorter day with fewer stops that and longer time to see things. Lunch was pleasantly surprising. Great restaurant, clean restrooms. Good service. Very good driver.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

rick.poppleston

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

Not a good start - arrived at Customs in Hong Kong, where the person we met didn't accompany us, just told us to make our own way through Costoms to ferry berth 11 on the other side and look for other people wearing the KS sticker - the ferry we needed actually left from berth 4 and almost missed it! - when we arrived in Macau the tour started off reasonably well however, when the next stop was for St Paul's ruins, our guide Cisco decided to turn it into a walking tour including St Paul's through to the final stop for the day by a majority rules vote by those on the tour - problem with this change was that my wife walks with the aid of a walking stick and couldn't manage the change to a walking tour and, as much as I wanted to see St Paul's ruins wasn't going to leave my wife on the coach alone, so we both stayed on the coach for the drive to the final stop of the day and left solo for something like 90 minutes to keep ourselves amused - that final stop of the day was Empire Hotel/Casino, even though Jackie Chan is part owner as we were told approximately 20 times during the tour in my humble opinion it's not worth the time - this tour was not something I'd spend s on if I knew the outcome in advance!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Note from Viator: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for any inconvenience caused to you and your wife due to the change to a walking tour. We have contacted our local tour operator so that they are aware of the situation.

Hugh C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

We had a great guide called Cisco for the trip, and he worked very hard all day keeping a group of more then 40 people together, sometimes against all odds! I found the morning part of the trip fairly dreary, driving round looking at not very interesting monuments and modern buildings. The lunch at the hotel was very average but things got better in the afternoon, with a walking tour of the old Portuguese area, though it was very packed and everyone watched their wallets and purses like hawks. Overall Macau was not very interesting, and I wouldn't tell any of my friends to go there unless they had run out of attractions to visit in Hong Kong.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Note from Viator: Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback about Macau and the tour guide. We have informed our local tour operator.

Timothy P United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

This was an ok trip. This was a long day of approximately 11-12 hours from hotel pick up to drop off. The transfers were fine.On a personal level we enjoyed the historical tours around Macau. The visit to the high tower did not particularly interest and was an opportunity for the operator to up sell a trip to the top of the tower. The casino visit lasted about 30 minutes. Lunch was fine and consisted of a varied buffet at a good quality hotel in Macau.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Note from Viator: Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback about the length of the tour and your concerns with the tower portion of the tour. We have contacted our local tour operator so that they are aware of the situation.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message