Built by the Jesuits to repel an attack from the sea, the Monte Fort (Fortaleza de Monte) is the oldest military fortification in the peninsula of Macau. With construction beginning in 1617 the Monte Fort was also seen as a measure of defense for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

adi United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Mr. Patrick was excellent. Planning was efficient as expected from viator. The turbojet trip and immigration from Hong Kong was well planned. The bus in Macau and the stops were just right.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

AKEZHAN K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Micke

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

A little country with many casinos. Lack of souvenirs and shopping, except cookies and snack, lunch food was average, nothing special. The bus tour and the guide were good enough. Thanks

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Micke

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

A little country with many casinos. Lack of souvenirs and shopping, except cookies and snack, lunch food was average, nothing special. The bus tour and the guide were good enough. Thanks

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Micke

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

A little country with many casinos. Lack of souvenirs and shopping, except cookies and snack, lunch food was average, nothing special. The bus tour and the guide were good enough. Thanks

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Micke

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

A little country with many casinos. Lack of souvenirs and shopping, except cookies and snack, lunch food was average, nothing special. The bus tour and the guide were good enough. Thanks

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Justine R O

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

We were picked-up early, that was great. Our tour guide in Macau was awesome and very helpful. We were told we would be back by 6. We did make it back to the dock by 6 but on Hong Kong Island not Kowloon where we left from. So we had to wind through traffic to make it to our hotel. We didn't finish until between 7 and 7:30 - not what I was expecting especially with a 4 year old, who had I had to pay full price for.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

ysivapat

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Guide company changed initial location the night before the tour. I got to Macau and was not greeted by anyone and ended up waiting at a counter with someone who did not speak english and passed me on to someone else who also did not speak english--finally got to the english-speaking guide who was nice enough, but has clearly done this tour many times because she kept repeating herself when educating us about macau. the lunch was disappointing and the tour overall was lacklustre.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Alycia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Amazing tour. Guide was fantastic and very knowledgeable. Able to keep everyone entertained. Lunch exceeded my expectations.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Andrew P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Firstly our guide Patrick was exceptional with a great sense of humour and it was only him that kept this day trip from total disaster.
People want to know about and see culture and learn about the history and not casinos.
Patrick should be given an immediate pay rise for keeping this tour on the rails.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Clifford T

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Very poor value for money. Not a lot to see. Was quite disappointed. At the end of the tour we were sent to a very poor seconds shop that I suspect had an arrangement with the guide. Afterwards, we noticed a much better shop near the hotel we had to meet up at that he never mentioned.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Amanda B. United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour is so worth it! I didn't have a lot of time to spend in Hong Kong, but definitely wanted to see Macau while I was there. The tour touched on all of the main sights. It was really fast paced, but there was a lot of ground that was covered so I didn't mind it. I liked that there was a little time for exploration at the end. I didn't want to spend a lot of time in the casino, so I was able to look around Senado Square for a while.From start to finished, it was all very organized. Patrick, our tour guide, was hilarious! Lunch was also pretty good. Definitely recommend!

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Martin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very fast ferry trip to Macau in the morning and luckily everyone had their HK entry paperwork as well as their passports for I,migration! Guide in Macau itself was brilliant. Very knowledgeable abs entertaining. Sights as per the itinerary and plenty of time at each. Lunch was excellent and a pleasant change after weeks of same year Asian food. Great free time at the end and then back to HK on the ferry. All in all, top notch!

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Edouard V

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

Our guide was not very good. We felt hearded more than anything else. There is not much to see in Macau except a small part of the portuguese settlement which is well preserved. The rest looks more like Vegas than Hong Kong. Our guide did provide historic information but again, it was limited. And we spent too much time not shopping in stores he brought us to. To be fair, the view of Hong Kong from the boat on the way to Macau and back is very interesting.
With a better guide, it might have been more interesting.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

huihua Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The trip is very well organized and proper. Patrick is one of the best guides i met all over the world. He is entertaining, caring and explained the places of interest well. He is not pushy over purchasing of any items and is on time.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Elizabeth R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Patrick was a great guide, explaining the history behind everywhere we went. The time for each place could have been just a tad bit longer, but if you're not an avid picture taker like me, then the timing would be perfect. In the event you didn't want to go to the casino, you had the option to just wander the city and come back at the specified time, which I thought was wonderful.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Nico S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour was great. The tour guide, Patrick, was very friendly, funny, and informative. The tour itinerary is very good. We managed to visit almost all of must visit place in Macau in one day. We can also enjoy every sightseeing object in sufficient time. The other good thing was we arrived in Kowloon before 6 pm, therefore we still had plenty of time to hang around Kowloon for the rest of the day.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

rico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour was amazing, all were on schedule and customer service are great. Our tour guide in macau, PATRICK, was really great , so professional. He really knows every aspect iof the tour package. The lunch buffet at the hotel is so perfect, excellent food, friendly staff. A 5 star experience.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Klose

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

I am a mandarin speaker and I called the operation company. The company is run by Chinese so I took advantage with speaking native language.

However, I found the operation company knows very little about the administration. I inquired about the VISA requirement for entering Macau and the customer support told me Please inquiry the relevant department. And I asked What is this 'relevant department'? , the customer support said they don't do that. And I asked have you ever run into such a question before? The support said We usually serve foreigners.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback. We have heard back from the tour operator concerning your VISA requests. Please note, that we do list the following details on the tour page:

'You MUST confirm and obtain any visa requirements prior to border crossing. All visa requirements are the sole responsibility of the traveler.'

Unfortunately, we - and our tour operators - are not able to assist with VISA requirements. Generally speaking, these inquiries must be made to the Travel Consulate for your country, however each country may have different requirements - which is why the tour operator told you to contact the relevant department concerning VISAs.

We hope this information helps you, and future travelers, in having the smoothest possible tour experience. Thank you again for your feedback, and we wish you Happy Travels.

ClaireH

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Well worth the experience. Some amazing buildings old and new to see.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Dante V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Both our tour guides Federic in HK and Patrick in Macau did an excellent job.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Ashish

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Well, to start with.... Our trip was well organised and well arranged! Recommend this trip to Macau, would suggest a night stay to experience the night life of Macau which we couldn't. Patrick was a great tour guide and took good care of us. He was witty and entertaining and delivered his best about the places we visited.
We had a nice time apart from tight schedule.
Thanks guys!

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour

Patrick our tour guide was both knowledgeable and entertaining.

He ensured that we all had a fantastic experience.

His local knowledge ensured that we were treated well in all of the locations we visited and were able to secure excellent prices with local vendors.

Most enjoyable and a pleasure

Jamie

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Connie B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Patrick was a great tour guide and took good care of us. My only complaint was that since my hotel was on Hong Kong island and everyone else in the tour was in Kowloon there was no transportation from my hotel or any other on the island. I was on my own to get to and from the Ferry terminal. If I had known, I could've gone to a hotel in Kowloon to meet up with others. I wish I would've been given that option.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

pritisinha45669

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

While the tour guide was very nice we really didn't see much and he did not explain much. This was another tour spent mostly on a bus and when we did get off the tour guide wanted to take us shopping. He tried to show us how the poor and rich of Macau live but instead he was too busy making jokes to point things out. We spent the same amount of time at the souvenir shop as we did at the Cathedral. At the temple the guide did not escort us to the temple but rather took time that we had to visit the temple to take us to the bakery. We only had about 10 mins to browse the temple by the time we finished at the bakery. It would have been nice to have a guide to explain the rituals that were being performed at the temple. Additionally the food was not very good at the restaurant as it seemed the food had been sitting there for a while. Additionally the guide was poorly organized with the pickup and the tour guides not explaining how everything was going to work. After getting off the ferry we spent about a 1/2 hour trying to locate the Macau tour guide. After having been a loyal viator customer for many years, I was disappointed with the quality of this tour.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message