Built by the Jesuits to repel an attack from the sea, the Monte Fort (Fortaleza de Monte) is the oldest military fortification in the peninsula of Macau. With construction beginning in 1617 the Monte Fort was also seen as a measure of defense for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 19 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Elizabeth R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Patrick was a great guide, explaining the history behind everywhere we went. The time for each place could have been just a tad bit longer, but if you're not an avid picture taker like me, then the timing would be perfect. In the event you didn't want to go to the casino, you had the option to just wander the city and come back at the specified time, which I thought was wonderful.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Nico S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour was great. The tour guide, Patrick, was very friendly, funny, and informative. The tour itinerary is very good. We managed to visit almost all of must visit place in Macau in one day. We can also enjoy every sightseeing object in sufficient time. The other good thing was we arrived in Kowloon before 6 pm, therefore we still had plenty of time to hang around Kowloon for the rest of the day.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

rico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour was amazing, all were on schedule and customer service are great. Our tour guide in macau, PATRICK, was really great , so professional. He really knows every aspect iof the tour package. The lunch buffet at the hotel is so perfect, excellent food, friendly staff. A 5 star experience.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Klose

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

I am a mandarin speaker and I called the operation company. The company is run by Chinese so I took advantage with speaking native language.

However, I found the operation company knows very little about the administration. I inquired about the VISA requirement for entering Macau and the customer support told me Please inquiry the relevant department. And I asked What is this 'relevant department'? , the customer support said they don't do that. And I asked have you ever run into such a question before? The support said We usually serve foreigners.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback. We have heard back from the tour operator concerning your VISA requests. Please note, that we do list the following details on the tour page:

'You MUST confirm and obtain any visa requirements prior to border crossing. All visa requirements are the sole responsibility of the traveler.'

Unfortunately, we - and our tour operators - are not able to assist with VISA requirements. Generally speaking, these inquiries must be made to the Travel Consulate for your country, however each country may have different requirements - which is why the tour operator told you to contact the relevant department concerning VISAs.

We hope this information helps you, and future travelers, in having the smoothest possible tour experience. Thank you again for your feedback, and we wish you Happy Travels.

ClaireH

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Well worth the experience. Some amazing buildings old and new to see.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Dante V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Both our tour guides Federic in HK and Patrick in Macau did an excellent job.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Ashish

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Well, to start with.... Our trip was well organised and well arranged! Recommend this trip to Macau, would suggest a night stay to experience the night life of Macau which we couldn't. Patrick was a great tour guide and took good care of us. He was witty and entertaining and delivered his best about the places we visited.
We had a nice time apart from tight schedule.
Thanks guys!

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour

Patrick our tour guide was both knowledgeable and entertaining.

He ensured that we all had a fantastic experience.

His local knowledge ensured that we were treated well in all of the locations we visited and were able to secure excellent prices with local vendors.

Most enjoyable and a pleasure

Jamie

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Connie B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Patrick was a great tour guide and took good care of us. My only complaint was that since my hotel was on Hong Kong island and everyone else in the tour was in Kowloon there was no transportation from my hotel or any other on the island. I was on my own to get to and from the Ferry terminal. If I had known, I could've gone to a hotel in Kowloon to meet up with others. I wish I would've been given that option.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

pritisinha45669

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

While the tour guide was very nice we really didn't see much and he did not explain much. This was another tour spent mostly on a bus and when we did get off the tour guide wanted to take us shopping. He tried to show us how the poor and rich of Macau live but instead he was too busy making jokes to point things out. We spent the same amount of time at the souvenir shop as we did at the Cathedral. At the temple the guide did not escort us to the temple but rather took time that we had to visit the temple to take us to the bakery. We only had about 10 mins to browse the temple by the time we finished at the bakery. It would have been nice to have a guide to explain the rituals that were being performed at the temple. Additionally the food was not very good at the restaurant as it seemed the food had been sitting there for a while. Additionally the guide was poorly organized with the pickup and the tour guides not explaining how everything was going to work. After getting off the ferry we spent about a 1/2 hour trying to locate the Macau tour guide. After having been a loyal viator customer for many years, I was disappointed with the quality of this tour.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Roger S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a fantastic day spent in Macau. From sampling Portuguese Tarts to having a bet at a Casino, my family had a fantastic time. Our tour guide Patrick was very entertaining, witty and knew all the great spots to go to.
Thank you Viator for a very well managed and enjoyable tour of Macau!

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Cheetah

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: 5-Day Hong Kong and Macau Independent Tour

Valkhrie United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

The Guangzhou part of the tour was amazing but the local Macau tour operator was horrible.

Doing what: 5-Day Guangzhou and Macau Independent Tour from Hong Kong

Dmitry Evteev Germany

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The tour is worth doing, anyway. The organization was very good, it worked always with every guide / hotel / activity. Also there was enough leisure time to enjoy the cities by ourselves. Many thanks for smooth process of the journey!
The only thing I would maybe optimize for all travellers who arrive in Far East from Europe is the sequence/duration of the activities. Since all the flights arrive in the morning, it would be better to organize a early check-in on the first day in Hongkong, notwithstanding a potential higher price. It would give the traveller an opportunity to systemize himself/herself after a long flight and to plan the first leisure day better.
The second day - great thanks to our best ever guide Ross - is very rich on experiences, we learned much and it was optimally organisied.
The third day we experienced the same as on our first: due to the impossibility to check-in earlier in Macau we were constrained to walk around in the city with all the "cabin luggage" till 15:00. As Macau is very small and all points of interest one can see within 5 Hrs (as prooved on our 4th day there), it might be better to involve the travellers in the sightseeing tour immediately upon the arrival with the ferry: so the early-checkin in the hotel can be avoided (economized) and the day can be put actively at the disposal. In this case the day 4 can be used for leisure and the ferry back to Hongkong can be taken already in the evening of the day 4.
I strongly believe, that the described 4-day-version would be completely sufficient. An option to prolong might be offered separately.
All in all I am glad to have gained this experience with you and with Hongkong and would anytime reccomend your services to my friends. Thank you very much!

Doing what: 5-Day Hong Kong and Macau Independent Tour

keith.luckcuck

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

From a practical point of view, the tour was extremely well organized and managed. All services were provided as planned and on time. Our main reservation relates to the guides, particularly the one that gave us the guided tour of Macau. She spent the majority of the time cracking unrelated jokes and trying to sell us various tourist trinkets instead of providing information about the sites. The dinner cruise in Guangzhou was also disappointing in that the food was very basic Chinese fare and all the commentaries were in Chinese.

Doing what: 5-Day Guangzhou and Macau Independent Tour from Hong Kong

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Enjoyable trip with nice hotels!

Doing what: 5-Day Hong Kong and Macau Independent Tour

James A

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Hotel in Macau was excellent I can definitely recommend this trip.

Doing what: 5-Day Hong Kong and Macau Independent Tour

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Top notch hotels and guide service! It saved all the hassle of arranging transportation, lodging and finding things to do in HK, Macau and Ghuangzhou. Overall enjoyed it very much! Thank you Viator!

Doing what: 5-Day Guangzhou and Macau Independent Tour from Hong Kong

Barry F

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The guides were all excellent. So much more can be achieved in one day with a driver and guide. The accommodation was extremely good perhaps a bit too classy. We have two concerns. The font on the ferry voucher is so small that we were given tickets to HK not Kowloon. Fortunately, we had contact details for Stephen Hou and were able to phone him and be collected at the ferry terminal. The itinerary for our full day in Macau was misleading. We were to visit the Macau Museum and the Macau TV tower with the admission price included. We did not go the Museum and when we went to the tower we had to pay the guide HK$130 each for admission.

Doing what: 5-Day Guangzhou and Macau Independent Tour from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message