• USD ($)
  • English

Macau ATTRACTIONS See all

Ruins of the Church of St. Paul

One of the most recognizable, dramatic, and popular icons of the city of Macau are the Ruins of St Paul's Cathedral. Originally constructed in 1580 by Jesuit priests, the church was twice ravaged by fire in 1595 and 1601. Not to be deterred by the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 371 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent... Took the worry out of chaotic transportation... Highly knowledgeable guide... Educational as well as entertaining.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Outstanding professional guided tour. I's a long day but well worth it. More than one day would not be advised.

J

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Excellent day trip.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

From a practical point of view, the tour was extremely well organized and managed. All services were provided as planned and on time. Our main reservation relates to the guides, particularly the one that gave us the guided tour of Macau. She spent the majority of the time cracking unrelated jokes and trying to sell us various tourist trinkets instead of providing information about the sites. The dinner cruise in Guangzhou was also disappointing in that the food was very basic Chinese fare and all the commentaries were in Chinese.

Doing what: 5-Day Guangzhou and Macau Independent Tour from Hong Kong

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

This is a good tour if you are constrained for time although Having done this tour I would strongly recommend staying a day in Macau to soak in the many activities going on in the city particularly the nightlife. Our guide was a matter of fact guy and made it very clear at the outset that it is neither a gambling nor a shopping tour and we literally spent 10 mins in a casino and 5 mins for some quick purchase of souvenirs. The tour was very informative otherwise on Macau and the various customs including Feng shui. The boat ride to and from hongkong was pleasant. One grievance I have personally was that while booking the tour claims to have hotel pick up from city. However, in reality there are only a few hotels they offer this service. I was staying in hongkong SOHO area which is a business district but I was asked to travel quite a distance to causeway bay to another hotel in the early morning. So an additional expense of over HK$100 for both ways over and above a pretty expensive trip.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

James D
New Zealand

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

Guide company was ok, a bit disorganised but no real issues. Macau however is over-rated badly. These days it is really just about casinos and mad development. Plus a more reliable place for mainland Chinese to shop (i.e. less chance of tainted baby formula and other fakes which plague the mainland). Huge dense crowds of people flock to the place for the casinos and the shopping. The historic town centre is just a small blip in a sea of madness. Probably among the most poorly managed places on the planet. The crowds are not really an issue (much the same as central HK on a busy day) but rather just the mad development which now swamps any attraction this place once had.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

We were looking forward to the tour but found it a bit disappointing. Too many stops to sell us things we didn't want and not enough time to really look around Macau. A forty five minute stop at a small gift shop selling cheap trinkets, in a backstreet.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Willis
Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

Firstly, the tour guide Mario, a local of Portugese descent, was biased and prejudiced against the ethnic Chinese community. It was an embarrassment having to listed to his diatribe. Secondly, the tour was a complete waste of money. We didn't see much of the old part of Macau and spent most of the trip either talking about bungy jumping or at the actual bungy jumping tower. I took my wife specifically to see the church façade, but you didn't know before the tour that you had to walk there or you wouldn't see it. Thirdly, as the haze was so bad that your couldn't see for any great distance, Mario should NOT have taken the money off our fellow tourists and taken them up the tower to look at NOTHING. Just a grab for commission????? This would have to be the worst tour I have ever been on anywhere in the world.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent day, Mario our guide made the trip for us.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our tour guide Cisco provided very interesting facts about Macau and its culture. One of the best tours!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our trip was terrific. Our guide was really great. Her English was well-understood and she adapted to our private group requests. We were all very pleased.

Doing what: Private Tour: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Balkis A
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

REALLY WORTH THE MONEY BECAUSE IT WAS WELL ORGANISED AND THE MACAU GUIDE,MARIO WAS EXCELLENT...there was not much to see on a rainy day but his anecdotes kept us intrique.Plus we had the best portugese tarts and home made almond nuts to bring home.First time ever to walk on 88 kg of Gold....

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We had a great day trip to Macau, it was really pleasant experience,very good organized. The guy who was our guide in Macau is the best professional we ever met / we travel a lot /. Thank you Mario! We highly recommend this day trip! Don't miss it!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I love this tour lead by Cisco the guide. He was funny yet knowledgeable. He took us through back streets near the Ruins of Saint Paul's and explained in detail Macau's history and shared little anecdotes such as where the location of Indiana Jones movie was shot. Worth every single cent!!

Doing what: Macau City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

we really enjoyed our tour to Macau, lunch was great tour guide funny and informed us of a lot of the history.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message