The scenic coast of this tiny island offers visitors plenty to do and see. Whether its time spent enjoying the outdoors, hiking through beautiful landscapes, or exploring quaint villages and historic museums, a trip to Madeira offers unique ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 66 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dean E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Well priced and a great route around Funchal. Make sure you get off at red stop 11 and see the view!
Also, the employee at stop 16 where we got on Diego was an amazing ambassador for the company. Went totally out of his way to show us the best places, how things worked and just a fantastic guy !

Doing what: City Sightseeing Funchal Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Susan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent comprehensive tour of the East of Madeira. Very knowledgeable driver who took us to the important sites, told us about the areas and gave us time to explore on our own. We were picked up from our hotel and returned there. As we were only staying in Madeira for a few days this was an ideal way to get an insight into an important part of the island. Definitely would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

Gerald R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really a lovely island...banana trees everywhere !!.....very clean, and the people are very friendly....best way to see the island, and the least costly !!!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Funchal Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Margo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Lots of hills, curves and narrow roads. But a lovely ride that covers more than just the city, as it travels down the coast.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Funchal Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Gerdi C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Full day trip round Madeira.Great to get your bearings and for things to see and do during your stay.Guide very informative and knowledgeable re flowers and trees etc., also Madeira's history.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

PAULINE G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Exelelent tour only spoilt by rain

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

Ceri J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was great value for money including a very nice lunch. our driver was Pedro who made the day interesting. the view from Pico do Ariero was superb. I have been on this trip twice now and highly recumbent it.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

PETER M W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Driver, punctuality and all - excellent.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

Elaine F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very good trip. Driver was informative and helpful.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

Jane C United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a great tour. We were picked up earlier, which was fine as we were ready. It was a mini bus transport and when we got on I said did we have to pick up other people and he said no we were the only ones. We had a really VIP tour, with no waiting around for other people stopping and looking at what we wanted.
I would recommend this tour to see just a bit of Maderia, which you can then extend another time to see more.

Doing what: Half Day Traditions and Enchanting Valleys - Eira do Serrado, Curral das Freiras, Monte, Madeira Wine Tasting

BIBI D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great guide , great tour , great restaurant and food
Totally worth taking the tour. Real value of the money.
Fantastic.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

Ron

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic. Loved Funchal. Easy to find, easy access.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Funchal Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

paul a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

absolutely perfect!!!!magnificent!!! loved it!!!! lunch and wine was just fab.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

Judith A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent overview of Madiera. We especially enjoyed the green line stop at the small fishing village.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Funchal Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Carol W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Unfortunately we did not have a lot of time. We found the bus and took it two stops. Got off, had lunch then had to get back to ship. Liked what we saw

Doing what: City Sightseeing Funchal Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Andrew P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We arrived by ship and the walk to catch the bus was a short scenic walk. We boarded the bus with our vouchers and the start of our tour was flawless. We rode the full route then went to the furthest stop that we wanted to get off at then worked our way back closest to the port. The stops were scenic and met our needs as far as what we wanted to see. We highly recommend this tour! It's well worth the price!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Funchal Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Kamaladevi C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic tour would totally recommend, extremely good value for money. Maurizzio, our driver, was very informative and provided a tailored experience, he was very good. Be prepared for a very long day, although our driver did not rush us. A must if you want to visit the whole island. Excellent!

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

martin g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

we had an excellent guide for just us two, very personal. the trip was smooth, the scenery stunning, some of the roads can be scary but our driver was super.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

The best of our vacation destinations. Beautiful city, comprehensive tour that took us through all 'elevations' of this little paradise. We would book another tour and wish we had more time on this one. Great value for the price.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Funchal Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Barbara N United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Very good multi-cultural trip. Guests from Brazil, Belgium, Korea, Portugal and UK. Mini bus which enabled us to visit places a large coach could not. Driver excellent, knowledgeable, funny and very accommodating. Lunch was excellent. Very good value for the money. Would recommend.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

Richard H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

We had a very short break in Madeira and wanted to sample some of the beutiful scenary. I've have used Viator several times before and was happy to book another tour with them. It was excellent, out hotel pick up was on time. The driver courteous and knowledegable giving us a commentary of facts and sights as we proceeded. Madeira has such a pleasant climate. Camacha, perched on the hillside with breathtaking views and flowers everywhere was followed by the drive up through the clouds to the mountain top.The views were stunning, looking down on the clouds and through the gaps down into Funchal and the harbour. It would have been nice to have seen to the island of Porto Santo, but the cloud did not break in that direction. The valley of Ribeiro Frio was wonderful, so green fresh with flowers everywhere. We had booked lunch and tucked into a feast of local produce with wine too. The traditional houses of Santana are so colourful and photogenic. The views on from the clifftops from Ponta do Rosto near the eastern tip of the island were beautiful. only spoiled by the fact we were nearing the ends of the day and making our way to Machico, the original landing place of the original settlers. A small but beautiful beach of golden sands topped it off. Alltogether an excellent day whcih I'd happily do again on any future visit.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

LeRoy H USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This tour was a wonderful orientation to an incredible island. Our tour guide was a very friendly Madeiran man who spoke English quite fluently. He delighted in answering our many questions, and that gave us a real insider's view of Madeiran life and culture. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

Elvis P United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The tour was very good, food was lovely, and the guide is brilliant. Can't wait to go back. As for Viator, we would always recommend them.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

Mark P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The tour to East Madeira was breathtaking - a must see. The island is beautiful! The coordination of the tour was perfectly implemented and our tour guide was outstanding!

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message