The scenic coast of this tiny island offers visitors plenty to do and see. Whether its time spent enjoying the outdoors, hiking through beautiful landscapes, or exploring quaint villages and historic museums, a trip to Madeira offers unique ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 22 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

The best of our vacation destinations. Beautiful city, comprehensive tour that took us through all 'elevations' of this little paradise. We would book another tour and wish we had more time on this one. Great value for the price.

Doing what: Funchal City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Barbara N
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Very good multi-cultural trip. Guests from Brazil, Belgium, Korea, Portugal and UK. Mini bus which enabled us to visit places a large coach could not. Driver excellent, knowledgeable, funny and very accommodating. Lunch was excellent. Very good value for the money. Would recommend.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

Richard H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

We had a very short break in Madeira and wanted to sample some of the beutiful scenary. I've have used Viator several times before and was happy to book another tour with them. It was excellent, out hotel pick up was on time. The driver courteous and knowledegable giving us a commentary of facts and sights as we proceeded. Madeira has such a pleasant climate. Camacha, perched on the hillside with breathtaking views and flowers everywhere was followed by the drive up through the clouds to the mountain top.The views were stunning, looking down on the clouds and through the gaps down into Funchal and the harbour. It would have been nice to have seen to the island of Porto Santo, but the cloud did not break in that direction. The valley of Ribeiro Frio was wonderful, so green fresh with flowers everywhere. We had booked lunch and tucked into a feast of local produce with wine too. The traditional houses of Santana are so colourful and photogenic. The views on from the clifftops from Ponta do Rosto near the eastern tip of the island were beautiful. only spoiled by the fact we were nearing the ends of the day and making our way to Machico, the original landing place of the original settlers. A small but beautiful beach of golden sands topped it off. Alltogether an excellent day whcih I'd happily do again on any future visit.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

Jane H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

One great nature tour. The guide knowledge for the local flora and fauna was vast. In respect to sightseeing, lovely views and great villages. One nature guide to 8 tourist is a great ratio, very dedicated service. Thanks to Viator for finding tours with such quality and dedication.

Doing what: Half Day Birdwatching Tour - East Madeira Island

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

I would highly recommend this tour. It is run by 2 lovely people who are very enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the island, all of its flora and fauna. We seemed to fit so much into our morning. When I return to Madeira I would book tours with these people again. Excellent.

Doing what: Half Day Fauna and Flora Tour to Laurel Forest - Birdwatching and Hiking

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This tour was a wonderful orientation to an incredible island. Our tour guide was a very friendly Madeiran man who spoke English quite fluently. He delighted in answering our many questions, and that gave us a real insider's view of Madeiran life and culture. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

Elvis P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The tour was very good, food was lovely, and the guide is brilliant. Can't wait to go back. As for Viator, we would always recommend them.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The tour to East Madeira was breathtaking - a must see. The island is beautiful! The coordination of the tour was perfectly implemented and our tour guide was outstanding!

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2007

Madeira is just gorgeous!

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

really great tour

Doing what: Funchal City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

John W
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

This trip started off as a disaster. The bus turned up about 10 minutes early and the guide did not check paperwork so a couple called Williams; who had booked a different trip took our place by mistake. At around 14:15 i went to check with the very friendly and helpful "Guest relations" lady, who phoned the tour company and they eventually sent another minibus to do the tour. Due to go at 14:00 went at 15:00. We did the trip in reverse with the wine tasting first. Nice visit , very olde world cellar and interesting tasting the 4 types of madeiran wine. Then off to the top of the nuns valley. No wonder the Madeiran drivers are good as the bad are all dead, going off the steep, narrow roads. Great views from the top, cafe, shop etc. well worth the trip. Then off to the Monte suburb. The gardens are splendid with a great variety of plants, trees etc. Did we want to do the sldge run? 25 euros a couple, and goes downhill for about 2 kilometers down toward Funchal town, pulled by two energetic men. We passed as my wife had done the run 20 years ago and it's no fun on your own. Well worth the money trip.

Doing what: Half Day Traditions and Enchanting Valleys - Eira do Serrado, Curral das Freiras, Monte, Madeira Wine Tasting

John S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Excellent trip lead by Manuel who drove us around the eastern part of the island and was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable about everywhere we went. However, we would prefer not to have spent 3 hours in a Theme Park, although the history of the island pavilion was very impressive and informative. This is a good way to see quite a lot of the island if you're not on the island for very long.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

Denis B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Lovely trip with fine views. The wine tasting was a little disappointing, that was my only critique.

Doing what: Half Day Traditions and Enchanting Valleys - Eira do Serrado, Curral das Freiras, Monte, Madeira Wine Tasting

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2008

Just great. Small bus for just 6 to 8 people. In most cases, stops away from large crowds. Pick up and drop off right at the gate of the ship.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message