Insider's Guide to Madeira

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

The scenic coast of this tiny island offers visitors plenty to do and see. Whether its time spent enjoying the outdoors, hiking through beautiful landscapes, or exploring quaint villages and historic museums, a trip to Madeira offers unique ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 29 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We arrived by ship and the walk to catch the bus was a short scenic walk. We boarded the bus with our vouchers and the start of our tour was flawless. We rode the full route then went to the furthest stop that we wanted to get off at then worked our way back closest to the port. The stops were scenic and met our needs as far as what we wanted to see. We highly recommend this tour! It's well worth the price!

Doing what: Funchal City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic tour would totally recommend, extremely good value for money. Maurizzio, our driver, was very informative and provided a tailored experience, he was very good. Be prepared for a very long day, although our driver did not rush us. A must if you want to visit the whole island. Excellent!

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

we had an excellent guide for just us two, very personal. the trip was smooth, the scenery stunning, some of the roads can be scary but our driver was super.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

The best of our vacation destinations. Beautiful city, comprehensive tour that took us through all 'elevations' of this little paradise. We would book another tour and wish we had more time on this one. Great value for the price.

Doing what: Funchal City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Barbara N
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Very good multi-cultural trip. Guests from Brazil, Belgium, Korea, Portugal and UK. Mini bus which enabled us to visit places a large coach could not. Driver excellent, knowledgeable, funny and very accommodating. Lunch was excellent. Very good value for the money. Would recommend.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

Richard H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

We had a very short break in Madeira and wanted to sample some of the beutiful scenary. I've have used Viator several times before and was happy to book another tour with them. It was excellent, out hotel pick up was on time. The driver courteous and knowledegable giving us a commentary of facts and sights as we proceeded. Madeira has such a pleasant climate. Camacha, perched on the hillside with breathtaking views and flowers everywhere was followed by the drive up through the clouds to the mountain top.The views were stunning, looking down on the clouds and through the gaps down into Funchal and the harbour. It would have been nice to have seen to the island of Porto Santo, but the cloud did not break in that direction. The valley of Ribeiro Frio was wonderful, so green fresh with flowers everywhere. We had booked lunch and tucked into a feast of local produce with wine too. The traditional houses of Santana are so colourful and photogenic. The views on from the clifftops from Ponta do Rosto near the eastern tip of the island were beautiful. only spoiled by the fact we were nearing the ends of the day and making our way to Machico, the original landing place of the original settlers. A small but beautiful beach of golden sands topped it off. Alltogether an excellent day whcih I'd happily do again on any future visit.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

Jane H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

One great nature tour. The guide knowledge for the local flora and fauna was vast. In respect to sightseeing, lovely views and great villages. One nature guide to 8 tourist is a great ratio, very dedicated service. Thanks to Viator for finding tours with such quality and dedication.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

I would highly recommend this tour. It is run by 2 lovely people who are very enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the island, all of its flora and fauna. We seemed to fit so much into our morning. When I return to Madeira I would book tours with these people again. Excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This tour was a wonderful orientation to an incredible island. Our tour guide was a very friendly Madeiran man who spoke English quite fluently. He delighted in answering our many questions, and that gave us a real insider's view of Madeiran life and culture. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

Elvis P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The tour was very good, food was lovely, and the guide is brilliant. Can't wait to go back. As for Viator, we would always recommend them.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The tour to East Madeira was breathtaking - a must see. The island is beautiful! The coordination of the tour was perfectly implemented and our tour guide was outstanding!

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2007

Madeira is just gorgeous!

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The tour of the island is a must if you want to get to grip with what there is available to see and do.
As we were visiting for a day stop off from a cruise ship, this is the best way to capture the essence of life in Madeira.
My only criticism was that there was no audio commentary available; and it was not just a defective headset, others onboard concoured this.

Doing what: Funchal City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

really great tour

Doing what: Funchal City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message