The scenic coast of this tiny island offers visitors plenty to do and see. Whether its time spent enjoying the outdoors, hiking through beautiful landscapes, or exploring quaint villages and historic museums, a trip to Madeira offers unique ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 48 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Driver, punctuality and all - excellent.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very good trip. Driver was informative and helpful.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

Jane C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a great tour. We were picked up earlier, which was fine as we were ready. It was a mini bus transport and when we got on I said did we have to pick up other people and he said no we were the only ones. We had a really VIP tour, with no waiting around for other people stopping and looking at what we wanted.
I would recommend this tour to see just a bit of Maderia, which you can then extend another time to see more.

Doing what: Half Day Traditions and Enchanting Valleys - Eira do Serrado, Curral das Freiras, Monte, Madeira Wine Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great guide , great tour , great restaurant and food
Totally worth taking the tour. Real value of the money.
Fantastic.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic. Loved Funchal. Easy to find, easy access.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Funchal Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic. Loved Funchal. Easy to find, easy access.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Funchal Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

absolutely perfect!!!!magnificent!!! loved it!!!! lunch and wine was just fab.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent overview of Madiera. We especially enjoyed the green line stop at the small fishing village.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Funchal Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Unfortunately we did not have a lot of time. We found the bus and took it two stops. Got off, had lunch then had to get back to ship. Liked what we saw

Doing what: City Sightseeing Funchal Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We arrived by ship and the walk to catch the bus was a short scenic walk. We boarded the bus with our vouchers and the start of our tour was flawless. We rode the full route then went to the furthest stop that we wanted to get off at then worked our way back closest to the port. The stops were scenic and met our needs as far as what we wanted to see. We highly recommend this tour! It's well worth the price!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Funchal Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic tour would totally recommend, extremely good value for money. Maurizzio, our driver, was very informative and provided a tailored experience, he was very good. Be prepared for a very long day, although our driver did not rush us. A must if you want to visit the whole island. Excellent!

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

we had an excellent guide for just us two, very personal. the trip was smooth, the scenery stunning, some of the roads can be scary but our driver was super.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

The best of our vacation destinations. Beautiful city, comprehensive tour that took us through all 'elevations' of this little paradise. We would book another tour and wish we had more time on this one. Great value for the price.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Funchal Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Barbara N
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Very good multi-cultural trip. Guests from Brazil, Belgium, Korea, Portugal and UK. Mini bus which enabled us to visit places a large coach could not. Driver excellent, knowledgeable, funny and very accommodating. Lunch was excellent. Very good value for the money. Would recommend.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

Richard H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

We had a very short break in Madeira and wanted to sample some of the beutiful scenary. I've have used Viator several times before and was happy to book another tour with them. It was excellent, out hotel pick up was on time. The driver courteous and knowledegable giving us a commentary of facts and sights as we proceeded. Madeira has such a pleasant climate. Camacha, perched on the hillside with breathtaking views and flowers everywhere was followed by the drive up through the clouds to the mountain top.The views were stunning, looking down on the clouds and through the gaps down into Funchal and the harbour. It would have been nice to have seen to the island of Porto Santo, but the cloud did not break in that direction. The valley of Ribeiro Frio was wonderful, so green fresh with flowers everywhere. We had booked lunch and tucked into a feast of local produce with wine too. The traditional houses of Santana are so colourful and photogenic. The views on from the clifftops from Ponta do Rosto near the eastern tip of the island were beautiful. only spoiled by the fact we were nearing the ends of the day and making our way to Machico, the original landing place of the original settlers. A small but beautiful beach of golden sands topped it off. Alltogether an excellent day whcih I'd happily do again on any future visit.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This tour was a wonderful orientation to an incredible island. Our tour guide was a very friendly Madeiran man who spoke English quite fluently. He delighted in answering our many questions, and that gave us a real insider's view of Madeiran life and culture. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

Elvis P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The tour was very good, food was lovely, and the guide is brilliant. Can't wait to go back. As for Viator, we would always recommend them.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The tour to East Madeira was breathtaking - a must see. The island is beautiful! The coordination of the tour was perfectly implemented and our tour guide was outstanding!

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2007

Madeira is just gorgeous!

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Was easy to find stsrting point formthe tour, However through no fault of Viator's, there was another vus line which would have given us more of what we had wanted to see in Funchal, but we did not realize this when booking!...the tour we did take, was well worth the money and gave us a good overview!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Funchal Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Exactly what we wanted. We got a birds-eye view of the city, stopped for lunch and had a great time. Hopped off and back on three times for points of special interest.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Funchal Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Good way to see places in Funchal you might want to explore in greater depth.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Funchal Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This Hop-On Hop-Off bus even took us to another small city. You really get a great overview of the port and area. We again hopped off to see a flower market and fruits and vegetables. The vendors gave us samples but were upset when we did not buy their additional products. We walked the street and had lunch at a park where booths were set up displaying local wares.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Funchal Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

very good, liked it. thank you

Doing what: City Sightseeing Funchal Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message