Madrid ATTRACTIONS See all

Alcalá Gate (Puerta de Alcalá)

The Puerta de Alcalá - or Alcalá Gate - stands in the center of the Plaza de la Independencia - Independence Square - and just outside of the Parque de Buen Retiro - Park of the Pleasant Retreat. This Neo-classical monument was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 708 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

rey

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Vouchers for drinks/food were bad value only used half of them. some places hard to find. Out of the vouchers only 2 were worth the visit. Enjoyed the 2 days on bus.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

Viviane Z

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Very Pleasant and convinient

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

Mommyof3

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The food tasting option is a must and definitely worth the money but the details on the tour do not give instructions that you need to get the food tasting voucher booklet from Julia Travel.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

Heather R M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great way to see the city and get orientated. Often the announcements interrupt the informative recordings.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

Glenn D

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Just as tour ride this would have been worth the cost. With the two longer routes, one gets a good over-view of the city and most of the 'interesting' areas/places and the guide in your chosen language was a bonus. The only negative was having to get off the bus and go to the Julia Tours office to pick up our food tickets. This should be pre-arranged and left for us at the tour kiosk rather than our having to make an extra trip. Especially due to the limited hours of Julia on a Sunday. Either this was not explained or we missed it in the literature we received or when we reconfirmed a few days be we traveled.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

G D

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Ok to get bearings in the city

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

Karen S C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

We did not really enjoy this trip. Our bus missed crossing the river to circle the Vatican??? The traffic was horrible and the bus couldn't make any progress.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

hilly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The Hop-on Hop-Off in Madrid was one of the best that I've done so far! The buses arrived approximately every 10 mins and the city tours didn't take long. The bus stops were easy to find, the staff was friendly and helpful, and gave us earphones to listen to a guide speaking about the city. Cheapest and easiest way to get around Madrid, highly recommend

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

my.c.cotton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour was wonderful. I enjoyed it totally.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

Linda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great way to see the city!

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

denley

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

We bought the two day pass and found it to be a good service. The attendants who first greeted us on all the busses were very friendly, and spoke fluent English. We were able to purchase tour passes to the Real Madrid soccer stadium on the bus, same price as at the stadium, but an added convenience. If you get off at a location, and end up staying past the running time of the tour bus, you are never far from the Metro, or, depending on where you are staying, a nice walk through the city will get you where you want to go.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

Cesar R

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Better buses than other cities, but in one ocasion after one hour waiting we decided to take a cab

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

Claudio P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A beautiful city worth the time to see it all by bus. Great picture opportunities.
CP

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

Linda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great way to see the sights and areas of the city. Plus you get the audio description during the tour. You can mark the places you wish to return to explore more thoroughly and at your own pace. We do Hop-On, Hop-Off City Tours in many of the cities we visit.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

glendahall13

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

We had a lovely day in Madrid and chose the trip so we would not miss any of the important sites.
Unfortunetly although there were 2 routes we found that there wasn't enough information on the commentary for us to understand the sites. also far too much music blasting in your ear in between stops.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

C J A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Not great. Main plus was it allowed me to get my bearings of the city.
But even though I'd pre-booked I couldn't get on at the nearest stop - I had to go and change the letter I had into tickets. I was told that there would be a lot of disruption on the second day because there are always demonstrations on a Saturday could have been pointed out before.
There were also long queues for the buses so couldn't always get on.
Poor quality headphones and some terminals not working.
A far better story could have been told for the price - I've been on many across Europe not City Tours and they have been a lot better.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

Edrwin G. F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent option. Cover almost all the landmarks of the city, the stops are very well located to main attraction. Good service. The staff very kind.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

Paul G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Enjoyed the tour. Had the same problem with this tour as with EVERY tour with hop on hop off through Europe. It is not clear where to catch the bus. No maps that can be seen are printed on the internet and often if there is a location listed- it is so general as to not be able to be found. I would not buy tickets in advance for any of the tours. Look up the tours locally and buy the ticket on the bus. There are several companies and you should go with the first one you find, not do a scavenger hunt for a bus in a strange city.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

Eugene B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very easy way to se a lot!

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

Christine C S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is the best, we always do Hop on Hop off you see things you would not see other wise.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

alisabrache Dominican Republic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The bus was right in front of the hotel in GRAN VIA....excelente information on the bus,we enjoyed our trip

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

so

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Perfect way to see the city at your own pace!! And very affordable!

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message