Madrid ATTRACTIONS See all

Alcalá Gate (Puerta de Alcalá)

The Puerta de Alcalá - or Alcalá Gate - stands in the center of the Plaza de la Independencia - Independence Square - and just outside of the Parque de Buen Retiro - Park of the Pleasant Retreat. This Neo-classical monument was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 471 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Enjoyed veryuch

Doing what: Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Absolutely no problems at all.
Only possible problem is that stops were a bit hard to find. Could do with bigger or more prominent signage.

Doing what: Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved it! I have lived in Madrid 5 years and walked by these places every day without knowing the stories behind the buildings and the anectdotal history of events. The guide was great, very entertaining. I will definitely do this again when friends come visit me in Madrid.

Doing what: Madrid Myths and Legends Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We only had one day to spend in Madrid and this was definitely the best way to see the city, awesome time!

Doing what: Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The experience was great!

Doing what: Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My wife and I used it for two days, we had not used it before, so we decided to get it since we had the two days with no special things to do, and were very happy with the results, specially with the new ( for us) the EXTENDED route, ( RUTA AMPLIADA ) on both routes 1 and 2 and I think you should tell us all about when buying the tour, and if you already do, I certanly missed it. Next time we go to Madrid, we will get this tour again.

Doing what: Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The double decker bus tour of old and new Madrid was one of the highlights of my visit to Madrid. My kids (ages 8 and 4) had a blast! We did only one day of sightseeing by bus, but after doing so I realized that we could have easily spent two or even three days touring and sightseeing via the bus. The kids wanted to hop back on the bus each time we saw it after our one day of touring by bus! It was well worth the fairly modest price of the tickets. The routes were great, and it made it easy to navigate the city with two young kids. I highly recommend continuing to ride for awhile after sunset - seeing Madrid's city lights by bus was magical. We live in Des Moines, Iowa, so seeing a city like Madrid was almost other-worldly, particularly for the kids.

Doing what: Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

2 day ticket was fantastic way to see this city. Discount for seniors when purchasing online was a bonus.

Doing what: Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I really like the hop on hop off buses as we only had a very short time there and wanted to see as many landmarks as possible.

Doing what: Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Choice of two routes through the city, excellent overview and orientation. Could also take it at dusk and have a wonderful night tour of the city with beautiful lights. The two day tour was a great value for the cost.

Doing what: Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Friendly staff and very educational

Doing what: Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was interesting and good fun. Our guide Fernando was informative and amusing. The hot chocolate and churros were delicious. Would definitely recommend

Doing what: Madrid Myths and Legends Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent!

Doing what: Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Brilliant tour routes, frequent as you can imagine and a great way to get around the city. Definitely book the two days, there are two routes and you need plenty of time given the amount of stops there are, a must-do!

Doing what: Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message