Madrid ATTRACTIONS See all

Alcalá Gate (Puerta de Alcalá)

The Puerta de Alcalá - or Alcalá Gate - stands in the center of the Plaza de la Independencia - Independence Square - and just outside of the Parque de Buen Retiro - Park of the Pleasant Retreat. This Neo-classical monument was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 493 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

very good way to see the city, especially as there are two routes to take

Doing what: Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Good tour! very popular///..so buses are full and may pass you, but another one comes in less than10 minutes.

Doing what: Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Great way to see the city, however, I'm not a huge fan of audio tours so I did not really take advantage of what they offered

Doing what: Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

This tour was a horrible failure. I was traveling with my daughter, who is fluent in Spanish, so it was not a language issue. We could not find anywhere in the website a map of the bus stops so we did not know where to get on the bus. It just says you can jump on at any of their stops. They do not provide a map of those stops until you get on the bus! Once we did find it, we rode a few stops and got off at the Prado. When we tried to get back on the bus, there was a printed paper notice in Spanish that the stop was closed on that date (29 Nov 2014) due to demonstrations in the area from 11a-1600p or something like that - I do not recall the exact hours, but most of the day. We walked along what we thought was the bus route, but it was difficult since the printed map they gave us had large blue or green numbers showing their stops that actually blocked out the name of the street or square it was on making it very difficult to navigate to the right place. And it never said which side of the street was the stop. So we saw the bus go past us on the other side of the street several times. We did see quite a few of the Madrid City Tour buses, but not at any of the stops we were waiting at. We found numerous signs posted about the closed stops. We even had a bus drive right past us at a stop. It was raining, cold and fairly miserable and we ended up just going home. I did call the phone number on the busstop but the Madrid City Tours person answering said it was not his company and to call another number, but eventually the rain made the number run off the page I wrote it down on, so we couldn't call them. I did try sending messages online later to complain. Again, Madrid City Tours said I needed to contact Viator. I have done this online with no response after 48 hours. I did just speak with a nice lady on the phone from the US and she told me where to send my complaint. However, getting my $ back will not give me the tour of Madrid that we missed.

Doing what: Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I recommend take the Hop on Hop off Tour, in every new city you go to.
Do it first and stay on for a complete cycle of each bus line, this way you will have your bearing, and have ideas of how to get to and from places when not on the buses.
It give you a better overview of each city.

Doing what: Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

i enjoyed my tour very much vound the staff friendly and helpful
and the comentary informotive

Doing what: Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We found this city break amazing, it was so easy to find our hotel using the excellent metro system from Barajas airport. Also the city bus tour was great as it gave us an idea of the attractions that we wanted to visit. The architecture, parks, museums, eateries, and the people too made our holiday

Doing what: Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Best way to see the city!

Doing what: Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The Hop-On Hop-Off bus was a pleasant means to see the city sights. Having two routes, with convenient transfer points, added to our enjoyment.

Doing what: Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed each of our Hop on Hop offs: Madris, Malaga; Palma de Majorca; Valencia; Monte Carlo; and Marseille. We heartily recommend each one.

Doing what: Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great staff, a must do tour.

Doing what: Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great value for a great tour

Doing what: Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message