Once just a sleepy little resort town 28 mi (45 km) northwest of Madrid, San Lorenzo de El Escorial now hosts thousands of tourists coming in throngs to see the famous royal monastery. In addition to being home to an order of monks, this attraction ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 524 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a terrific tour. Yes, Segovia, Avila and El Escorial in one day is a lot, and no, we didn't have much time to sit a savour Segovia or Avila. But, we did get to visit all three locations while on a short visit to Madrid, our guide was very knowledgeable, and our bus ride was very smooth. Segovia is wonderful. We went to see the aquaduct and were pleasantly surprised by the Alcazar. Avila was much more interesting than we expected: an medieval town complete with its walls in pristine condition. Escorial was pretty much what we expected, and well worth visiting. We did not go into the cathedrals in Segovia or Avila, but that was fine with us. We would certainly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Segovia, Ávila and El Escorial Monastery Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved the trip especially the Valley of the Fallen, as I subsequently discovered that very few tour operators go there. The tour guide was lovely the driver was fine and the bus very comfortable.
My only complaint was that nowhere on our ticket was there a reference to ' Julias tours' . So we almost missed the bus as we were searching for ' Viator tours' .

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Awesome!!!

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

we really enjoyed this tour, Jose was our tour guide, he is very knowledgeable, has answers to all questions and is overall great story teller. we were able to see all main sites in all 3 cities, if you have time for just one day trip, make it this one.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Segovia, Ávila and El Escorial Monastery Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our trip to El Escorial Monastery was most enjoyable and informative. Our tour director was excellent.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Alberto is good. The bus we are in had a breakdown in Segovia. Alberto made us hiked our way up to the castle and it was more fun. We did not waste time waiting for the replacement bus and finished the tour of Segovia, Avila and El Escorial with time to spare for an evening stroll in Madrid.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Segovia, Ávila and El Escorial Monastery Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Super tour! The local operator and the guide Alberto highly recommended.
You get your money's worth.
I don' t like that you start our comment with: It was an amazing tour!??

Doing what: Skip the Line: Segovia, Ávila and El Escorial Monastery Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a fantastic trip, which I enjoyed thoroughly from start to finish. Our guide, Jose Manuel Vega was excellent. He was so knowledgeable and gave so much information at all three sites it was hard to take it all in. Segovia was my favourite site, and the tour of the castle there was really great. Lunch was at Avila and I appreciated the picture menus so I could choose what to eat. It rained at El Escorial, and some of us got soaked in walking from the bus to the castle part of the building which we toured rather than the monastery part. We also didn't get to tour the gardens as I had hoped but time and the rain were against us. It is a long trip- from 8am to almost 7pm, but there were opportunities to rest on the bus ride. My only issue was the meeting point at Moncloa metro stop for the start of the tour was not clearly described, but thankfully I had a phone to call the agency number. All in all, a great trip which I recommend highly

Doing what: Skip the Line: Segovia, Ávila and El Escorial Monastery Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour guide was very informative and helpful

Doing what: Skip the Line: Segovia, Ávila and El Escorial Monastery Day Trip from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Best guide I had. Nice tour. Should let people know the parking is far from the venue.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Fascinating tour with an excellent guide who was hugely knowledgable and enthusiastic about Spanish history. The only thing was that it was all a little bit too rushed! These two sites need all day to visit them, and not just a morning.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The morning tour to El Escorial and Valley of Fallen was excellent and the guide did a wonderful job of getting us through to see everything possible within the allotted time. Her English was very good and she spoke clearly and informatively. I was not impressed by the afternoon Madrid panoramic tour because the guide spoke far too quickly in a Spanish style and was difficult to understand. Also the journey was confusing because one couldn't see much out of the windows of a coach. I would have preferred an open top bus tour which would not only have made the 'sights' visible but would have provided a much better orientation of the City.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery, Valley of the Fallen and Panoramic Madrid Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Good but too fast the Escorial tour.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message