Once just a sleepy little resort town 28 mi (45 km) northwest of Madrid, San Lorenzo de El Escorial now hosts thousands of tourists coming in throngs to see the famous royal monastery. In addition to being home to an order of monks, this attraction ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 505 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tania

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The best option to see the Highlights of Madrid, we spent the right time in each place. Escorial is a place worth to see and easy to get there with this tour

Doing what: Madrid and El Escorial Monastery in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Dudley S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent arrangements and a very well-informed guide provided.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Lydia USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Wonderful trip to these fascinating places! The tour guides were nice and very passionate about what they do. Enjoyed learning about the history of Madrid and how they lived in the monestary. El Escorial is a lovely little town to walk through if you get the chance. Just beautiful! I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Stephen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Wonderful enjoyable excursion. We have very fond memories.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Amnon S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The trip was very interesting, a very good guide with a lot of knowledge

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Ahmed H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The trip was amazing, I liked it very much and the guide was very good. Really I enjoyed this day. but Toledo part was with limited time that we didn't take our time to enjoy this amazing city.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

samfur54

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is a must see tour with very professional guid.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Terry Yee Malaysia

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The places are fantastic especially Toledo and must to visit when you are in Madrid. Both El Escorial Monastery morning and Toledo afternoon trip were handled by different tour guides. The morning trip tour guide is not really friendly and won't care about the guest. The afternoon one is good - friendly and really care about us. I took the package included lunch and lunch served is good, just had it in the restaurant nearby the travel agent office.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

Dana V

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

I want to say how incredibly disappointed I was in this tour. Both of these sights are a must see and using Viator to see them was a huge mistake. The local provider has horrible reviews one star and I understand why. Directions to their office were horrible and had the wrong metro stop and landmark. The rep walked us to the bus depot then disappeared. We were passed off to another operator and left just standing in the bus station with no explanation as to where the rep went. When we finally got on the bus the new guide started rambling off in Spanish which I am fluent in. Someone in our group asked him to please also speak English and it became quickly apparent he could barely speak English he was mad and irritated that he had to try to speak English and it was clear during the entire tour. As I speak both languages, I could understand his long explanations in Spanish, and the barely coherent one to two sentence explanations in English. The English speakers finally opted to use the placards at El Escorial to get the explanation of what we were seeing. Due to how far behind we were due to the delays in the unexplained hand off, we had no time at Valle de los Caidos 20 minutes. The tour guide did not even try to do a tour for the English speakers. We were entirely left on our own. At the Madrid drop off he suddenly announced that at the next corner those of us not going to Toledo needed to get out of the bus. We were nowhere near where we started the tour, and had no idea where they were dropping us it was about 4 miles from our meeting point. This tour was supposed to be a highlight of my trip and it was ruined. I will most likely not make it back to Spain.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Enrique F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Tour guide was informative. Both sites are well worth the short trip.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

George R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide was fantastic. She was so knowledgable and just made the whole experience. This tour was an A.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Alina N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour! Toledo is a jewell to visit

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

Katie P

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was a good tour. The tour guide was great. She was very knowledgeable, friendly and had great energy. The only downside was that some traffic in Madrid in the morning really cut our tour short because the company was focused on getting some of the people back in time for a lunch. Disappointing!

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Diane H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

This trip was well organised and informative. The only fault was that no coffee stop was offered during the whole journey apart from at the Valley of the fallen but meant that the visit was very rushed with the visitors having to make a choice between having a very quick drink or seeing the outside of the memorial

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Anastasiya S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The excursion was very interesting and quite informative. But half of the day is not enough for Toledo, in my opinion.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

Julius B

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

The Monastery and the Civil War Memorial tour was good, if a bit rushed.
The Madrid tour should have been done on an open bus permitting panoramic wiew or/and more stops.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery, Valley of the Fallen and Panoramic Madrid Sightseeing Tour

pierrehsing

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

It is a great pity we did not see the huge cross on the top of the mountain because of heavy fog and mist on that day. I was fortunate I saw it for the first time in 1977 it is a reminder of the savagery and cruelty of the civil war when brothers were figting one another for a cause. The monastery visit was good as the guide gave a good account of the history. Some guests did not take note of her 'advice' not to take a bag or backpack to the interior of the monastery. One young woma had to go out again and deposited her bag in the locker room. The visit to the mausoleum is really awe-inspiring to see the once powerful kings and queens lying there in peace at last, reminding us the full life cycle of life- one needs to reflect on the issue of eternity in life.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Barbara. Ellen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour of both sites. Guide very informative and approachable. Tour well organised.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Rita Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I liked the balance... probably would have liked a little more time in the Valley of the Fallen.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery, Valley of the Fallen and Panoramic Madrid Sightseeing Tour

mdstobbe

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Overall I thought the tour was great. The explanations given by the guide were interesting and were in Spanish and English. As I understood both, I would say there was no difference between the two explanations. There was something a bit reserved about how the guide answered the questions, but she did answer all questions, so it was just a feeling. I do think El Escorial deserves more time. The same for Valley of the Fallen to enjoy the surroundings as well and have a bit more time for a coffee or something like that. I would be great if there would be an option for a longer tour.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Chantal P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Very nice tour. We enjoyed having Nuria as a guide. Very knowledgeable.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Laura D USA

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Took this half day tour on September 29th. We were a big group and once we reached The Escorial we had to be split in two groups to go inside. I ended up with a very interesting guide, to say the least! Had a lot of info about the spanish history and current events! Great views from the Valley of the Fallen.
Overall I enjoyed this tour a lot, but it's true the departure office gets crowded and there are many groups leaving about the same time. Don't arrive at the last minute, give yourself plenty of time AND pay attention to the name of the tour to depart and you'll be ok.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Mark D

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The guide was good but too many people

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message