Once just a sleepy little resort town 28 mi (45 km) northwest of Madrid, San Lorenzo de El Escorial now hosts thousands of tourists coming in throngs to see the famous royal monastery. In addition to being home to an order of monks, this attraction ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 535 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent. If you are interested in history, this is for you. Enough time in both locations and the guide was very good. There is a fair bit of walking involved.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Our guide was knowledgeable and helpful. The bus was clean and convenient. This was an excellent visit to three locations. The only negative was that it was a bit rushed. I'd have liked some free time In Avila to walk the walls, but this as not possible if we were to make it to El Escorial.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Very enjoyable trip. Guide was very good.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2014

Many of the things tondo on the card were free on the days we went to them. Several Pisces that we had planned to use the pass at were no no longer on the program. Over all we saved about be third of the cost of the card. Will not use it in the future.

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Guide perfect

Amazing tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a terrific tour. Yes, Segovia, Avila and El Escorial in one day is a lot, and no, we didn't have much time to sit a savour Segovia or Avila. But, we did get to visit all three locations while on a short visit to Madrid, our guide was very knowledgeable, and our bus ride was very smooth. Segovia is wonderful. We went to see the aquaduct and were pleasantly surprised by the Alcazar. Avila was much more interesting than we expected: an medieval town complete with its walls in pristine condition. Escorial was pretty much what we expected, and well worth visiting. We did not go into the cathedrals in Segovia or Avila, but that was fine with us. We would certainly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved the trip especially the Valley of the Fallen, as I subsequently discovered that very few tour operators go there. The tour guide was lovely the driver was fine and the bus very comfortable.
My only complaint was that nowhere on our ticket was there a reference to ' Julias tours' . So we almost missed the bus as we were searching for ' Viator tours' .

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Awesome!!!

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

we really enjoyed this tour, Jose was our tour guide, he is very knowledgeable, has answers to all questions and is overall great story teller. we were able to see all main sites in all 3 cities, if you have time for just one day trip, make it this one.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our trip to El Escorial Monastery was most enjoyable and informative. Our tour director was excellent.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Alberto is good. The bus we are in had a breakdown in Segovia. Alberto made us hiked our way up to the castle and it was more fun. We did not waste time waiting for the replacement bus and finished the tour of Segovia, Avila and El Escorial with time to spare for an evening stroll in Madrid.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Super tour! The local operator and the guide Alberto highly recommended.
You get your money's worth.
I don' t like that you start our comment with: It was an amazing tour!??

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a fantastic trip, which I enjoyed thoroughly from start to finish. Our guide, Jose Manuel Vega was excellent. He was so knowledgeable and gave so much information at all three sites it was hard to take it all in. Segovia was my favourite site, and the tour of the castle there was really great. Lunch was at Avila and I appreciated the picture menus so I could choose what to eat. It rained at El Escorial, and some of us got soaked in walking from the bus to the castle part of the building which we toured rather than the monastery part. We also didn't get to tour the gardens as I had hoped but time and the rain were against us. It is a long trip- from 8am to almost 7pm, but there were opportunities to rest on the bus ride. My only issue was the meeting point at Moncloa metro stop for the start of the tour was not clearly described, but thankfully I had a phone to call the agency number. All in all, a great trip which I recommend highly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour guide was very informative and helpful

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A wonderful day from beginning to end. Alberto was an excellent guide whose knowledge was TREMENDOUS! This really enhanced our day in addition to the wonderful sights. He gave us lots of background and general information about Spain and answered all our questions. He organised us well too. It was a shame that we hit the earlier Autumn closing of El Escorial as this did make the last visit a little rushed and maybe this should be considered for future tours outside the summer timetable. We would definitely tour with you again. Thank you.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message