Once just a sleepy little resort town 28 mi (45 km) northwest of Madrid, San Lorenzo de El Escorial now hosts thousands of tourists coming in throngs to see the famous royal monastery. In addition to being home to an order of monks, this attraction ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 597 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was excellent. The location was convenient and easy to find. The bus was very comfortable. The tour guide was excellent. Well educated, friendly, helpful. We had a wonderful time. Hard to imagine visiting Madrid without experiencing this monument. No better way to do it.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

So much history!!!! I learned a great deal about the Spanish Civil War.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The guide for El Escorial Monastery, Nuria, was very knowledgeable about the place, I would say the same for Ana at Toledo. Both had very good English . Both places were wonderful, a must to visit while in Madrid. I wish they could give you a little more time at la Cruz de los caidos and Toledo. The lunch was not so good though. The office organization at the beginning of the tour is a little bit chaotic and crowded. Be aware of that.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very conveninet. Free entry to almost all museums...Rolay palace was amazing and also Prado

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very informative and friendly guides on both parts of the tour. You get to see a lot in one day.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. Our guide Carmen was very knowledgeable and informative. Wish we had more time at Valley of the Fallen to walk around on our own. We were given about 20 minutes. Worth the trip.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The sights are fascinating. The guide also knew her stuff. However she was very impersonal and fairly patronising and condescending to the tourists

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Aranjuez Royal Palace Day Trip from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour and guide. However, the Travel office very dis-organised and confusing - mostly because far too small for the number of non-local people and tours departing around the same time.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

We did not leave sufficient time to explore the museums to make this really worthwhile. We found ourselves aiming to go to places that were in the book instead of what we really were motivated to do once we got there. There was no benefit to prepaying. We still needed to stand in the same line to pick up the card as we would have to buy it. However, the skip the line benefits would have been valuable if the museums were crowded when we went, but they weren't.

Doing what: Madrid Card

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The sights were interesting. The guide's English was O.K., but difficult to understand at times.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Escorial is very okay....Valley of the Fallen is more interesting. Toledo should be covered in a whole day trip.....many picture-postcard sights are not covered in the half day tour. One does not get time to absorb the subtleties in just half a day.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

El Escorial and Valley of the Fallen was an excellent tour. The guide was very good and Spanish Royalty made it easy to be interesting. The Valley of the Fallen was amazing. No guide needed. The Toledo day trip left something to be desired. The guide was very hard to hear and the places we saw were somewhat superficial including a video show. We weren't able to go in the Basilica. I might recommend the all day tour except that it was 41C.

I will add last one comment. It's a zoo first thing in the morning when all the tours are going out. The guides do a very poor job organizing their tours. There are no signs and they aren't very loud. God forbid you go into the coffee shop to get a drink while you wait for the guide to show up.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

Trip appeared to be oversold. They eventually got a second bus to handle the overflow, but we were quite late in starting.

Perhaps that is why we sped through everything: I read about the locations afterwards, and I am so disappointed at how much we missed. If all you want is to skim the surface, than this tour may be enough.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

I'd not recommend this tour for two reasons: we went in the morning to El Escorial then came back to Madrid for lunch. At 3pm we left Madrid again for Toledo. The selected restaurant in Madrid was not very good. We didn't eat much. Coming back to Madrid was the waste of time. I wish that we could continue to Toledo and had lunch at Toledo so that we could have more time in Toledo. The second issue is that the tour guide for El Escorial was terrible, unfriendly, and you could tell he didn't like his job.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

The tour was conducted in English and Spanish. Everything therefore took twice as long. The tour guide was knowledgeable but very bossy.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great city and great pass to ease getting around and into places. Office 2 minute walk from puerto del sol. Only thing it doesn't include is the hop on hop off bus. But it's only 25euro extra. Definitely worth it!

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. Learnt so much more about El Escorial. Would have been nice to have a little more 'free' time after the tour of the monastery. Valley of the Fallen moving, as always. Excellent, knowledgeable guide and good clean transport.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Enjoyed both parts of the Escorial and
Valley of the Fallen tours. We did tack on the 3 hour tour of Madrid in the afternoon. That was not as good as the hop off and on tours

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It is a must if you are traveling to Madrid. Wity it comes a book which helped a great deal in locating all the "must see" attractions of madrid. Plus you get to skip al the lines and never worry about money during your trip.

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great value!!!

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent my highlight of trip to Madrid

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Madrid Card

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message