Once just a sleepy little resort town 28 mi (45 km) northwest of Madrid, San Lorenzo de El Escorial now hosts thousands of tourists coming in throngs to see the famous royal monastery. In addition to being home to an order of monks, this attraction ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 491 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great Trip, the two guides were very very good and thorough. We liked the radio headsets because you could always hear what they were saying, and we actually spilt into two smaller groups all though we travelled in one large bus to each place together. A bit more time for lunch would have been nice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Segovia, Ávila and El Escorial Monastery Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great to have free entry to all the attractions we wanted. Only the tour bus did not give a discount but the Segway tour gave 15% off and was awesome! The fast pass aspect of the card is great too. Straight in at every venue we tried.

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great to see all the Museums in Madrid and more...Don't miss the visit to El Palacio Real, and El Teatro Real
(the main Opera House in Madiri)
No lines...and all is paid for with the card...

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We are museum people and I am so glad I got this! It was definitely worth it and so easy to get in and out of museums!

Doing what: Madrid Card

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The Monastery itself and the Valley of the Fallen were worth visiting. And we enjoyed these.
The guide however, was too stern and either did not know the answers to questions or was generally of a rude nature and that made it difficult to learn more about the place that we visited. To on question about the guide's statements she said " I don't know. I am not the Pope !"
Such guides are not needed.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour guide was very well prepared and the places visited were excellent, the only problem was that the bus was too small for the amount of people and the seats uncomfortable for the long trip.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Segovia, Ávila and El Escorial Monastery Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had an excellent guide who gave the tour in both English and Spanish. We felt as though we got so much out of this tour since we had a guide showing us where to go, with both admission fees and transportation included. Such a great value for a wonderful tour!

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent benefits to skip the line on the attractions and the hop-on hop-off.

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Jorge was an excellent guide. Very patient with his English-speaking visitors such as us. Thank you! He did a wonderful job addressing the very delicate and sensitive subject of the Civil War, during our visit to Valley of the Fallen - respectful, informative. Escorial was magnificent, we learned a great while simply enjoying this incredible place. A visitor to Madrid really should see these places, and Viator did a great job for us. I hope we get to visit Spain again.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour guide was very kind and knowledgeful

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Eric
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour is very good, and a big part of the high rating of this trip is for our tour guide Elena, she is very accomodating and informative. We learned a lot from her, it would be difficult touring and understanding the places without this tour and the Elena.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Segovia, Ávila and El Escorial Monastery Day Trip from Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message