Once just a sleepy little resort town 28 mi (45 km) northwest of Madrid, San Lorenzo de El Escorial now hosts thousands of tourists coming in throngs to see the famous royal monastery. In addition to being home to an order of monks, this attraction ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 556 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Manuela-Lidia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Friendly guide, excellent driver and awesome places to visit!

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Kathleen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was wonderful to hear all the history associated with El Escorial. The Valley of the Fallen gave us a different aspect of Spanish history which whilst different from El Escorial proved just as interesting. Our guide was very knowledgeable and made the trip a great experience. Not to be missed.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Russ O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Alfonso was wonderful and we really enjoyed the walking tour of Madrid. He provided a lot of information and made it really fun. Good walking tours make you feel like you learned more than a guide book and Alfanso did that. We would highly recommend the walking tour portion of this tour. We did not enjoy the monastery portion as much.

Doing what: Madrid and El Escorial Monastery in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Grizel F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour which is a must when travelling to Madrid. Tour guide was knowledgeable. The overall tour was a bit hurried, really counted each minute. There is a lot to see in a very specified period of time. Nonetheless, the tour was very good.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Bernadette S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very interesting and quite spectacular seeing the basilica at valley of the fallen. The tour through the monastery was also very interesting but unfortunately we were not able to go into the basilica due to masses we were told but there was none happening at the time. However overall a very enjoyable few hours.

Doing what: El Escorial and Valley of the Fallen Half-Day Tour from Madrid

monitor ano

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesomely me places to live history.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

stuart w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent guide. Excellent lunch. Only problem was part of El Escorial was closed and the headphones were not available. Exceeded expectations.

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

jmac United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great tour and great guide.

Doing what: El Escorial and Valley of the Fallen Half-Day Tour from Madrid

Cesar Q

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great tour!! Andres was the guide and he was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Mario USA

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

A wonderful tour but a very moody and rude guide. She even engaged in a confrontation with a tourist from another group. Don't let this discourage you. This trip is worth every penny.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

Benjamin I

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

All of the sites were amazing! Our tour guide was polite but was not very relatable and lacked energy.

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Carolina M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great tour, just too bad we almost didnt make the bus back because we had lost track of time and we had no watch.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Carolina M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful tour, guide very knowledgeable.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

dougmoffatt

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

An easy ride from the city to see one of the more significant monastaries as well as the pantheon of the Spanish Royal Family. The monument of the Valley of the Fallen is extraordinary as a 20th century basilica carved into the side of a mountain.

Doing what: El Escorial and Valley of the Fallen Half-Day Tour from Madrid

Lyn F

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was a terrific tour. It was easy to find the start location and the trip was executed as promised. The guide spoke English very well and was quite knowledgable. The coupling of Escorial and Valley of the Fallen was exactly what I wanted to see and they got us to both points quickly and safely.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

carla g

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

the places were good the tour director was just okay

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

Howard L

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

I was unhappy with the day trip to El Escorial and the Valley of the Fallen. The guides were pleasant but not very informative and the Escorial visit left no free time and did not include the library, one of the most important rooms in the monastery. Next time I would go it alone.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

C M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Thanks for collecting us from our hotel.
The bus was fine. But the tour of El Escorial was very hurried. There was a lot to see, but the guide kept moving us along, anxious to finish the tour on time.

Doing what: El Escorial and Valley of the Fallen Half-Day Tour from Madrid

pbrophynz

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

A good enough tour. Two guides - a Spanish and an English speaking guide. It and #39;s a quick trot through El Escorial, where like most of these tours you and #39;re left wanting to have more time to look around. It and #39;s the only way you can visit the Valley of the Fallen outside of renting a car!

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Oana I

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

The tour guides were great very knowledgeable. The only negative point is that it would have been nice to be informed prior to booking the tour that we wouldn't be able to see the Cathedral at El Escorial since there was a Sunday service. If I had known this fact, I would have gone another day. I feel a bit misled and ripped off compared to other days.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Shahid Z

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

This tour was a mixed one. The first half covering El Escorial was excellent, though a bit rushed. The second half was not good, with a hurried tour of a monument built by the dictator Franco to aggrandize himself and his murderous regime. A bit of unnecessary propaganda and thoroughly self serving.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Ronald E

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

The tour guide spoke very little English on this tour. It was unfortunate, but her explanations would be lengthy in spanish, and then she would spend about a minute in English. I felt cheated and would not recommend to any primary English speaking person.

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Thomas E

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Tour guide did a good job and the tour was interesting. The low rating is for the fact there was no provision to get us back to our hotel after the tour. The tour ended about 5 mikes from our hotel where they picked us up in the morning. We did not find this out until during the tour. The tour guide took pity on us and arranged for the bus driver to drive us to an area voids to our hotel.

Doing what: El Escorial and Valley of the Fallen Half-Day Tour from Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message