Once just a sleepy little resort town 28 mi (45 km) northwest of Madrid, San Lorenzo de El Escorial now hosts thousands of tourists coming in throngs to see the famous royal monastery. In addition to being home to an order of monks, this attraction ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 514 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

worth buying only if you will use it to visit several museums on one day, otherwise just pay as you go.

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour was well-paced, with the proper amount of time allowed to both El Escorial and the Monument to the Fallen. Moreover, we had a terrific guide in Jorge, who spoke clearly and slowly in both English (which was excellent) and Spanish, and was patient with our questions. Also, the price seemed reasonable for the content of the tour. We're glad we went.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved this trip, very informative, and tour guide was great.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful trip. The guide was great. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

An excellent tour and highly recommended.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Big bummer that no pics were allowed inside El Escorial or inside Valley of the Fallen :/ But this was an awesome tour, a must-do if you are staying in Spain for an extended period of time. It was awesome to learn about Spain's history and see the tombs of so many Royals. It was also so amazing to see Franco's grave inside the VOTF Basilica, and know that thousands of soldiers were buried inside the cave. Like most others, I wish there was a bit more time to explore and take in the places, and it was a little bit pricey for my taste. But our tour guide Jorge was very knowledgeable and nice.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

J T
USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

The tour visited both places, but the guide was unenthusiastic which made it less fun and interesting than it could have been. She just shepherded us from place to place and gave just summary information rather than interesting, enthusiastic communication. A better guide would have made for a much better trip.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

Worst trip we've done with aviator. Badly organised. Poorly thought through as regard to the route and when Viator was advised their response was "oh well, bad luck"! The free walking tour was much better.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent. If you are interested in history, this is for you. Enough time in both locations and the guide was very good. There is a fair bit of walking involved.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Very enjoyable trip. Guide was very good.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2014

Many of the things tondo on the card were free on the days we went to them. Several Pisces that we had planned to use the pass at were no no longer on the program. Over all we saved about be third of the cost of the card. Will not use it in the future.

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved the trip especially the Valley of the Fallen, as I subsequently discovered that very few tour operators go there. The tour guide was lovely the driver was fine and the bus very comfortable.
My only complaint was that nowhere on our ticket was there a reference to ' Julias tours' . So we almost missed the bus as we were searching for ' Viator tours' .

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Awesome!!!

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our trip to El Escorial Monastery was most enjoyable and informative. Our tour director was excellent.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Thought small knapsacks provided by the tour company were very useful and thoughtful. Well organized, easy to locate starting point, efficient. Our guide Anna was well organized, very knowledgeable, however her communication style was monotone and less enthusiastic in comparison to other viator tour guides. As tour required the group to be close together, her smokers breath was horrible. Monastery was fantastic, beautifully maintained and the tour moved at a steady pace. Disappointed that the rule was to not have pictures even without flash as unable to bring home memories as we could from all palaces, etc. in other Spain cities. Valley of the Fallen was equally amazing. We would highly recommend this trip, it was an excellent value.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message