Once just a sleepy little resort town 28 mi (45 km) northwest of Madrid, San Lorenzo de El Escorial now hosts thousands of tourists coming in throngs to see the famous royal monastery. In addition to being home to an order of monks, this attraction ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 600 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great city and great pass to ease getting around and into places. Office 2 minute walk from puerto del sol. Only thing it doesn't include is the hop on hop off bus. But it's only 25euro extra. Definitely worth it!

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. Learnt so much more about El Escorial. Would have been nice to have a little more 'free' time after the tour of the monastery. Valley of the Fallen moving, as always. Excellent, knowledgeable guide and good clean transport.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Enjoyed both parts of the Escorial and
Valley of the Fallen tours. We did tack on the 3 hour tour of Madrid in the afternoon. That was not as good as the hop off and on tours

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It is a must if you are traveling to Madrid. Wity it comes a book which helped a great deal in locating all the "must see" attractions of madrid. Plus you get to skip al the lines and never worry about money during your trip.

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great value!!!

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent my highlight of trip to Madrid

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Madrid Card

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This is a must see - the historic monastery and the tombs of the kings of Spain - simplistic grandeur of El Escorial is breathtaking. The contrast is with a more obvious grandiose monument that Franco created for his own resting place when denied a place among the royals at the monastery - the scale here is even more obvious and in opinion matches Franco's own ego. Our guide was very knowlegdeable and provided interesting historical background on both sites including the fact that the outward signs of fascism associated with Hitler's Nazi party are not banned in Spain but are displayed at the annual event in August commemorating Franco's death!

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Good at avoiding the long queues but a bit on the expensive side at 120 for a 2 day pass for 2 people.

Doing what: Madrid Card

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We were not in Madrid on high season, so did not get quite as much benefit from the early access as we would have a month later, but it was convenient having prepaid access to museums

Doing what: Madrid Card

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This is a fast paced tour but in half a day we saw some amazing sights and had a great historical experience.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Quick half day trip. A bit hurried at Escorial, but plenty of time at the Valley of the Fallen. Overall happy with the experience.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Excellent trip though would have preferred our tour guide take us inside to do the explaination at the valley of the fallen as trying to remember all that was said on the coach was hard. The El Escorial monastery part was very good. Would recommend the trip.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

I didn't use this as much as I should have. Great idea though.

Doing what: Madrid Card

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great Tour, great timing - the guide was very knowledgeable and good!
I only give four stars because my seat in the bus wasn't working well, but I think it was only me.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great trip. Great guides. Panoramic Madrid sightseeing a must to include.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery, Valley of the Fallen and Panoramic Madrid Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

A good but fast tour of three interesting places. We left Madrid 30 minutes late to wait for one person and that set us back for the entire day. Valley of the Fallen was interesting but I didn't feel they properly addressed the circumstances under which it was built. Beautiful places, rushed tour

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The monastery was cool but we spent too long there. The guide was lovely but I couldn't really understand her so it was frustrating. Some of the rooms I didn't need an explanation on. Whereas we didn't spend enough time at the Valley of the Fallen!! Only 15 minutes to take photos! :( still worth it.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The tour was for an English speaking guide but this was not a good experience as the translation was missing a lot of information. Luckily for me I spoke spanish but many of the travelers were confused.
The monastery is an excellent trip and experience.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We followed the directions to pick up MADRID CARD at Atocha.
Not very visible, but the lady there very nice!!!!
It would help if her KIOSK had the work MADRID CARD printed on front.
We just happened to see the sign for TOLEDO CARD. Your notes should say that it a very small kiosk.
The card was well received at restaurants and flamenco and everywhere.

Doing what: Madrid Card

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The sites were definitely worth the trip. The tour itself was pretty basic, not much more than a Rick Steeve's guide. The worst part was the disorganization. We circled in the bus for 30 minutes waiting for the guide to round up participants who did not hear her announce what tour she was leading

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message