Once just a sleepy little resort town 28 mi (45 km) northwest of Madrid, San Lorenzo de El Escorial now hosts thousands of tourists coming in throngs to see the famous royal monastery. In addition to being home to an order of monks, this attraction ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 531 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Guide perfect

Amazing tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a terrific tour. Yes, Segovia, Avila and El Escorial in one day is a lot, and no, we didn't have much time to sit a savour Segovia or Avila. But, we did get to visit all three locations while on a short visit to Madrid, our guide was very knowledgeable, and our bus ride was very smooth. Segovia is wonderful. We went to see the aquaduct and were pleasantly surprised by the Alcazar. Avila was much more interesting than we expected: an medieval town complete with its walls in pristine condition. Escorial was pretty much what we expected, and well worth visiting. We did not go into the cathedrals in Segovia or Avila, but that was fine with us. We would certainly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved the trip especially the Valley of the Fallen, as I subsequently discovered that very few tour operators go there. The tour guide was lovely the driver was fine and the bus very comfortable.
My only complaint was that nowhere on our ticket was there a reference to ' Julias tours' . So we almost missed the bus as we were searching for ' Viator tours' .

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Awesome!!!

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

we really enjoyed this tour, Jose was our tour guide, he is very knowledgeable, has answers to all questions and is overall great story teller. we were able to see all main sites in all 3 cities, if you have time for just one day trip, make it this one.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our trip to El Escorial Monastery was most enjoyable and informative. Our tour director was excellent.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Alberto is good. The bus we are in had a breakdown in Segovia. Alberto made us hiked our way up to the castle and it was more fun. We did not waste time waiting for the replacement bus and finished the tour of Segovia, Avila and El Escorial with time to spare for an evening stroll in Madrid.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Super tour! The local operator and the guide Alberto highly recommended.
You get your money's worth.
I don' t like that you start our comment with: It was an amazing tour!??

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a fantastic trip, which I enjoyed thoroughly from start to finish. Our guide, Jose Manuel Vega was excellent. He was so knowledgeable and gave so much information at all three sites it was hard to take it all in. Segovia was my favourite site, and the tour of the castle there was really great. Lunch was at Avila and I appreciated the picture menus so I could choose what to eat. It rained at El Escorial, and some of us got soaked in walking from the bus to the castle part of the building which we toured rather than the monastery part. We also didn't get to tour the gardens as I had hoped but time and the rain were against us. It is a long trip- from 8am to almost 7pm, but there were opportunities to rest on the bus ride. My only issue was the meeting point at Moncloa metro stop for the start of the tour was not clearly described, but thankfully I had a phone to call the agency number. All in all, a great trip which I recommend highly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour guide was very informative and helpful

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A wonderful day from beginning to end. Alberto was an excellent guide whose knowledge was TREMENDOUS! This really enhanced our day in addition to the wonderful sights. He gave us lots of background and general information about Spain and answered all our questions. He organised us well too. It was a shame that we hit the earlier Autumn closing of El Escorial as this did make the last visit a little rushed and maybe this should be considered for future tours outside the summer timetable. We would definitely tour with you again. Thank you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Thought small knapsacks provided by the tour company were very useful and thoughtful. Well organized, easy to locate starting point, efficient. Our guide Anna was well organized, very knowledgeable, however her communication style was monotone and less enthusiastic in comparison to other viator tour guides. As tour required the group to be close together, her smokers breath was horrible. Monastery was fantastic, beautifully maintained and the tour moved at a steady pace. Disappointed that the rule was to not have pictures even without flash as unable to bring home memories as we could from all palaces, etc. in other Spain cities. Valley of the Fallen was equally amazing. We would highly recommend this trip, it was an excellent value.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great way to do your own thing.

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed every part of our tour. Our guide Elena was excellent in her historical knowledge and facts. She was also warm and friendly. We felt like we were in a history class. We would highly recommend this particular tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The trip was well beyond our expectations. The tour guide, Jose, is very educated and passionate about sharing his knowledge about Spanish history, art, society and politics. He coached us during the entire trip!
We felt like our time was well spent, and we would not have been able to learn and enjoy as much had we gone without Jose.
I believe that the "City Wanders" agency's approach is superior to others' in a comparable price segment.
You should try to buy their trips if available.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message