Once just a sleepy little resort town 28 mi (45 km) northwest of Madrid, San Lorenzo de El Escorial now hosts thousands of tourists coming in throngs to see the famous royal monastery. In addition to being home to an order of monks, this attraction ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 536 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour guides were excellent. Pacing of tour and information presented was to the point, and extremely interesting. Both guides were approachable for questions.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This is a trip worth taking. You can see the enormous cross on the mountain at the Valley of the Fallen from a great distance, and the basilica is built into the mountain and very unique. Our guide was Claudia, and she had Spanish, English, and French tourists to keep informed. She handled it like the professional she is and could go from Spanish to English to French without hesitation. This trip also included the El Escorial Monastery, which is still in use as a monastery and a school. The highlight there was the room where the former kings and queens of Spain are laid to rest though the entire tour was enlightening and enjoyable.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great day with just the right amount of time. Both guides were very good, especially Nuria.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Very chaotic and crowded at the Julia office. The tour was late.
The guide at Escorial was very informative and made the tour very interesting.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great way to get an overview of the city. Staff was knowledgeable and helpful.

Doing what: Madrid Card

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The large group arrangement by a big bus is not good. We asked for an English tour but ended up in a group with 3 different lauguages, a very confusing situation and lots of time waisted.
No morning pick up from the hotel is not convenient.
The tour guide in the morning does not know English very well and her pace was very slow. She also was not considerate to her customers in arrangng for rest room/toilet stops. The wait at the tour office and the group call was very confusing.
The tour guide in the afternoon for Toledo did a much better job. He is very professional, paid attention to the customers and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide, Sofia, was extremely knowledgeable and brought the history to life. She let us know what was coming up and how long each part of the tour would take. I highly recommend this tour to others and only wish we had more time in Madrid to take another one!

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Didn't have much time to use card (took a 4 day tour) but the bull fighting arena was enjoyable and practically gave us our money's worth from the card. We were also able to see several other sights.

Doing what: Madrid Card

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

My son and I took this tour, and we thought our tour guide was very knowledgable and informative. It would have been nice to have just a little more time in both locations, though.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

I enjoyed the tour, but would have loved to spend more time in Toledo. On our particular tour we visited El Escorial and Valle de los Caidos first, then headed back to Madrid and had about an hour down time for lunch before visiting Toledo. However, by the time you get to Toledo, there is just enough time to go on the guided tour before night falls and you are taken back to Madrid. Toledo is beautiful and has so much more to see than could really be appreciated in the short time there. Perhaps starting the day in Toledo and allowing more time to explore the city would be great!

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Card was so useful! Saved waiting in line for tickets to museums, etc.

Doing what: Madrid Card

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Marta was a great guide to both places. El Escorial is definitely worth seeing. Valley of the Fallen is a nice addition, but I would not see it separately.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message