Once just a sleepy little resort town 28 mi (45 km) northwest of Madrid, San Lorenzo de El Escorial now hosts thousands of tourists coming in throngs to see the famous royal monastery. In addition to being home to an order of monks, this attraction ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 528 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

William R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was great and the guide was excellent. Promotion did offer hotel pick up, which would have been nice, but would not be provided by Amigo Tours. Meeting location was switched at last moment which led to some consternation.

Doing what: Madrid and El Escorial Monastery in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Christian H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Tour was great! Really enjoyed the monastery. Tour of monastery was wonderful and tour guide was very knowledgeable. The only thing I would have changed is giving us more commentary at the valley of fallen instead of on the bus on way to the valley of the fallen. Overall great tour!

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Elgreenholio

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Very interesting trip and easily doable in the half day.

The guide did an excellent job explaining everything in Spanish and English.

Recommended

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Amanda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide was wonderful. She held the interest of everyone in our group 5 adults and 3 kids, ages 8-16.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

hugo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The whole tour was well organized. The guide for the morning session to El Escorial and Valley of the Fallen was excellent. These 2 sites are worth visiting. Lunch was good. The afternoon to Toledo was fabulous, a wonderful city. The tour was long but well worth it. Value for money.

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Nelly United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a fun tour. Morning we had one guide, which I forgot his name, for Escorial and Valley of the Fallen. He was very nice and attentive since I was by myself. It was a small group which was nice as well. He gave us the tour and provided a lot of information about the history of both locations. Midday, we drove back to Madrid. I chose the lunch option and was dropped off to enjoy lunch at a little shop near the pick up section for the afternoon tour. Lunch was great! Then I took another bus for the PM portion tour to Toledo. We had guide Maite and she was awesome! She was like an older aunt. Sweet and very informative. It was only 4 of us and it was perfect. The city of Toledo is most beautiful city I've seen. This is a must do tour to see the sights and hear the stories of this ancient city. I liked the Toledo portion more, but I definately recommend it.

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Jean S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent trip with first class guides. Very enjoyable day

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Anthony D

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The tour was very good - the details provided by the tour guide were enough to understand the background and importance of both locations, but not too much to overwhelm you with details. Tour was in both English and Spanish.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Sylvain P

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Although this would have been a great tour, we were disappointed with our guide who was rushing us through the monastery and the Valley of the Fallen as he had to take us back to Madrid by a fixed time. Half-day tour at this speed is not worth it in addition to a guide who may not master all the facts and history of the location. Finally, the fact that this was a mixed English-Spanish tour contributed to the lack of time as the guide was repeating everything twice.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Sylvain P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

This activity would have been nice, however everything was rushed. We were late leaving Madrid which shortened our visit. No photo is allowed in the Monastery and our guide did not seem knowledgeable to provide explanations.The same happened for the Valley of the Fallen, where our stay was very minimal to make time schedule. Time and money wasted for this trip.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Dorothy B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

It was over booked 66 people, only 1 bus, and 1 guide. We had to wait around for a second bus, then there was no guide on the bus to explain things along the way. Then we had to wait again for a second guide to arrive at the monastery and for them to arrange for us to get in. These are things that should have been done ahead of time. Then we were rushed though the Monastery, no time to look around the gift shop not even a post card and we couldn't take pictures so nothing to remember the place. Then it was back on the bus to go to the Valley of the Fallen monument, again no guide along the way. Once there we had to walk up to the monument, go though the security check we did take about 5-10 minutes to take pictures outside and then it was walk down the asile to the high alter only one guide where the guide talked about it for about 10 mins , those of us in the back couldn't hear what he was saying, and then it was back to the bus. there were other rooms we could have seen, there was a ride up to the base of the monument if you want too, but no time. it took us longer to walk to the monument and go though security then we spent at the monument. then it was back to town where they dropped us off, but it wasn't where we started , and when I asked how to get back to the start point, I was give the wrong information so I was lost, it took me 1 hour to get back,
I would not recommend travel for this tour.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Edgar O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was split in a morning portion with one tour guide and an afternoon portion with a different tour guide. Great guided tours. Toledo definitely deserves an entire day, or even an overnight stay!

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

mariovasquez02

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

great tour specially if you have limited time in Madrid. Toledo is breathtaking. if you can afford the time consider spending more time there.

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Dan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great but cannot take pictures inside...

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

David

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Disfruté mucho este tour. Lo recomiendo.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Teng Peow T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This is our first time to Spain and we were glad that we made the right choice to join Viator. We meet nice people, seen beautiful places and had a good lunch. This is going to be a memorable trip for us. Thank you.

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Norria Yee C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour is really amazing. Really informative. We really enjoyed El Escorial.You will understand a lot of Spain's golden age. The Escorial is amazing as well. The Toledo tour is really fantastic. Since it was the old capital before Madrid, you will understand thehistory behind the different culture, arhictecture, and lifestyle. Our tour guide, Maite, is really nice. She even got my 4 year old son involved in the conversations and interested. I truly recommend this tour.

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Tania

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The best option to see the Highlights of Madrid, we spent the right time in each place. Escorial is a place worth to see and easy to get there with this tour

Doing what: Madrid and El Escorial Monastery in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Dudley S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent arrangements and a very well-informed guide provided.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

pie.p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Beautiful, enchanting tour through the most important places of Madrid. I have learned a lot and enjoyed extensive information from the very knowledgeable guide. Absolutely a must!

Doing what: Madrid and El Escorial Monastery in One Day Sightseeing Tour

silvia-canto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Me encantó toda una experiencia que merece la pena disfrutar. Te ofrecen un muy buen servicio con guías profesionales y conocedores de la historia del sitio. El Escorial cuenta con una arquitectura preciosa y una vasta zona de jardines privados hermosa, mi parte favorita fue la biblioteca. Agradezco por el servicio y altamente recomendable el tour.

Doing what: Madrid and El Escorial Monastery in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Terri A

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Guide was exceptionally informative on history. It's a shame that all the patrons were there very early at 8.30 for 8.45 start and yet it seemed disorganised and didn't leave until 9.15. This meant everything was then rushed - basically rush on and rush out. Great sights to see but the local tour operator needs better organisation

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Dennis C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

The morning started off poorly. We were supposed to meet at the Julia travel office in Madrid by 7am. We were there at 6:45. We were a party of 3 with a senior citizen. There were staff inside the office, but they would have rather we waited outside in the cold and in the dark. They simply refused to let us warm up in their office. We really didnt understand why as we had to be leaving their office 15 minutes later.
The morning tours at El Escorial Monastery started OK. The female guide made an effort to explain things in English despite having a predominately Spanish speaking tour group.
The lunch included in between the tours was actually quite good. There we met another senior couple from Venezuela who were kind enough to translate on our behalf. The gentlemen was 87 years old.
The afternoon tour at Toledo was when it all fell apart. This guide was different than during the morning tour. Whilst still having a predominately Spanish speaking tour group, when explaining things, he almost never translated anything back into English. The task was left to the Venezuelan gentlemen to explain to us what was said.
But this isnt the worst of it. Whilst walking around in Toledo, the guide would walk quickly from point to point. At this time I had 2 seniors with me. My own 68 year old mother, and the 87 year old gentlemen. The guide would be rushing us, and at one point went on ahead and left the group of 5 of us behind. Only after 15 minutes he came back to look for us when he walked ahead with the rest of the group back towards the bus. Come on, you know you have a couple of seniors in tow, at least slow down a bit for them. If we cant make it to the metal carving factory then so be it.
Although I had a good experience with Julia tour services in Barcelona, their Madrid personnel were down right unprofessional. I really dont remember the guides name who took us to Toledo, but Viator really needs to vet their tour operators a little better.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message