Once just a sleepy little resort town 28 mi (45 km) northwest of Madrid, San Lorenzo de El Escorial now hosts thousands of tourists coming in throngs to see the famous royal monastery. In addition to being home to an order of monks, this attraction ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 534 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide, Sofia, was extremely knowledgeable and brought the history to life. She let us know what was coming up and how long each part of the tour would take. I highly recommend this tour to others and only wish we had more time in Madrid to take another one!

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Didn't have much time to use card (took a 4 day tour) but the bull fighting arena was enjoyable and practically gave us our money's worth from the card. We were also able to see several other sights.

Doing what: Madrid Card

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

My son and I took this tour, and we thought our tour guide was very knowledgable and informative. It would have been nice to have just a little more time in both locations, though.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

I enjoyed the tour, but would have loved to spend more time in Toledo. On our particular tour we visited El Escorial and Valle de los Caidos first, then headed back to Madrid and had about an hour down time for lunch before visiting Toledo. However, by the time you get to Toledo, there is just enough time to go on the guided tour before night falls and you are taken back to Madrid. Toledo is beautiful and has so much more to see than could really be appreciated in the short time there. Perhaps starting the day in Toledo and allowing more time to explore the city would be great!

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Card was so useful! Saved waiting in line for tickets to museums, etc.

Doing what: Madrid Card

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Marta was a great guide to both places. El Escorial is definitely worth seeing. Valley of the Fallen is a nice addition, but I would not see it separately.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Marta was a great guide to both places. El Escorial is definitely worth seeing. Valley of the Fallen is a nice addition, but I would not see it separately.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Marta was a great guide to both places. El Escorial is definitely worth seeing. Valley of the Fallen is a nice addition, but I would not see it separately.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Marta was a great guide to both places. El Escorial is definitely worth seeing. Valley of the Fallen is a nice addition, but I would not see it separately.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Marta was a great guide to both places. El Escorial is definitely worth seeing. Valley of the Fallen is a nice addition, but I would not see it separately.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Marta was a great guide to both places. El Escorial is definitely worth seeing. Valley of the Fallen is a nice addition, but I would not see it separately.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

I was disappointed that metro was not included and as several months had passed, I thought I had paid for Toledo and didn't see it clearly denoted. In any event, I didn't make it to Toledo until after 72 hours. Also, we had seen the Teleferrica operating but when we went there, a day or so later, they were closed. Overall,we broke about even but did enjoy avoiding some lines.

Doing what: Madrid Card

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

The trip was nice. Due the large group sometimes was hard to listen to and follow the guide. The lunch was very good.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Impressed by the monuments both at El Escorial and Valley of the Fallen. Magnificent views from the Valley of the Fallen Monument. interesting tour of Toledo, a medieval city with a lot of walking on cobbled streets. Good guides.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message