Meaning "Great Road", Gran Vía is a main thoroughfare in Madrid, built to connect Calle de Alcalá to Plaza de España. Lined with a mixture of high end shops, eateries, and bars that cover both ends of the spectrum, this ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1045 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

These tours are the best way to get to know what is available in a place, and easy to use. Highly recommended!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I usually explore a city on foot but due to tempratures of 43 degrees I chose this option. Its an excellent way to explore the city buses were on a regular basis. However, to save time and repition of sites take the extended tour which is twice daily in the summer. This includes the bullring and the Bernabau stadium. Staff are friendly and polite.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

By far the best Hop on Hop Off Bus Tour--great commentary and such a great way to have transportation and see the entire city! I highly recommend!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The city tour was nice and the guide provided lots of great information. It really helped you get a good overview of the city and brought you to areas that you may not have found time to see like the Plaza de Toros. However, the guided visit of the Prado Museum was the absolute highlight of this trip! Our guide brought us to the notable pieces of art and provided excellent explanations and stories behind the artwork. After the tour, you are able to stay in the museum for as long as you like.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

great trip the museum is to big to see in one day

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The bus was very good value and a great way to see the city,the commentary though was rubbish.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Great way to see all the important sights in Madrid if you are staying for a short visit. We also liked that there was a covered shade when riding on the top. That little extra made it bearable on a hot summer day! I just wish the commentary matched what we were seeing. Many times it was about a half second off and we missed the sight. But overall, I would recommend.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Overall a great experience. Buses arrived regularly as advertised, stopped at all major sightseeing points within the city and staff was courteous. Only negative would be that the air conditioning, for those choosing to ride below, was not on regularly in any of the buses which made it extremely uncomfortable with 100F/40C weather outide.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Wonderful tour of Sagrada, guide very passionate and informative of the history and art.
Seperate guide for Park Gueli tour was very good, but the tour should have lasted longer to allow tourists to see more of the park.
Did not get to see the buildings, felt rushed

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Great time. Worth the time and cost. Wish it had been a smaller group, however.

Doing what: Madrid City Tour and Santiago Bernabeu Stadium

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Tour was very informative and offered a great varietly of sights and activities of Madrid.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Very interesting and knowlegeable guide in Prado museum tour.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015
4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The city tour was not good but the Prado Museum Tour was excellent

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Wait between buses was inconsistent. Sometimes two or three would come at once. Sometimes had to wait over twenty minutes. Several times there were no seats and had to stand.
It did take you all over the city, and the operators were very nice.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

Andrew C
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

On the whole it was good but sometimes the narrative was out of sync with the location. Definitely good way to see where you want to return to on foot during your stay

Doing what: City Sightseeing Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Over all the tour was good.
We did not get offered erphones on our first trip or the map of where the bus was going.
The main bug bear was that some of the audio was not matching the area on the Route 2 bus and the audio was sometimes had gaps in it on this route.

Good way to see the city.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Sightseeing segment of the trip needs more stops for taking pictures. I felt rushed through the tour.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

In general it's a good tour, especially because of the guide.
However, the stop at the end is totally useless and a waste of time. People who really wants to go at the Hard Rock Cafe can go on their own, it should not be part of the tour.

Doing what: Panoramic Madrid Sightseeing Tour

frew.crew
United States of America

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Only good as a means of transportation. There was more music played than understandable information given.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

the date selected for the tour had to close down early due to the Gay Pride Parade, but they didn't tell us that they would not be able to pick up at various spots prior to the closing time due to barricades. We ended up walking back to our hotel because we could not find a stop that the bus could get to. Sometimes the narrative was hard to understand due to background noise, but the bus was nice, open to air, it was hot up on top due to weather, but did give you a good overview of the city and the sites. Glad I took the tour, next time will have to pick a better day.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Tour taken on 1st full day in Barcelona. Good introductory to city in morning bus tour with stops at Retiro Park and the Madrid Bullring. Prado portion of the tour was informative and the guide was very passionate about the pieces we saw. Be mindful, the major Prado works include Goya, El Grecho, and Velasquez which are pre-1900. Dali and Picasso are post-1900 and are housed in the modern art museum, not visited in this tour. Main negative for both portions of the tour was that tour was not single language, so guide gave talks in Spanish and English. Not as big a deal on the bus but basically cut your Prado tour in half. Would not repeat this tour under these conditions.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

Terrible in every way. Lousy bus. No sound bad trip

Doing what: City Sightseeing Madrid City Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message