Meaning "Great Road", Gran Vía is a main thoroughfare in Madrid, built to connect Calle de Alcalá to Plaza de España. Lined with a mixture of high end shops, eateries, and bars that cover both ends of the spectrum, this ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1165 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

twong12

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour, lots of time on bus seeing sights, but you get to view all the key highlights of the city.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Viviane Z

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Very Pleasant and convinient

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

Mommyof3

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The food tasting option is a must and definitely worth the money but the details on the tour do not give instructions that you need to get the food tasting voucher booklet from Julia Travel.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

Heather R M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great way to see the city and get orientated. Often the announcements interrupt the informative recordings.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

Glenn D

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Just as tour ride this would have been worth the cost. With the two longer routes, one gets a good over-view of the city and most of the 'interesting' areas/places and the guide in your chosen language was a bonus. The only negative was having to get off the bus and go to the Julia Tours office to pick up our food tickets. This should be pre-arranged and left for us at the tour kiosk rather than our having to make an extra trip. Especially due to the limited hours of Julia on a Sunday. Either this was not explained or we missed it in the literature we received or when we reconfirmed a few days be we traveled.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

G D

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Ok to get bearings in the city

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

Karen S C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

We did not really enjoy this trip. Our bus missed crossing the river to circle the Vatican??? The traffic was horrible and the bus couldn't make any progress.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

ELZA E. PALUMBO P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We enjoyed our trip to Toledo. And our tour guide was very knowledgeable. The stop at the sword producing shop on our way back, I thought it was boring.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: Toledo Half-Day Trip and Panoramic Madrid Sightseeing Tour

hilly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The Hop-on Hop-Off in Madrid was one of the best that I've done so far! The buses arrived approximately every 10 mins and the city tours didn't take long. The bus stops were easy to find, the staff was friendly and helpful, and gave us earphones to listen to a guide speaking about the city. Cheapest and easiest way to get around Madrid, highly recommend

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

my.c.cotton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour was wonderful. I enjoyed it totally.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

Linda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great way to see the city!

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

denley

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

We bought the two day pass and found it to be a good service. The attendants who first greeted us on all the busses were very friendly, and spoke fluent English. We were able to purchase tour passes to the Real Madrid soccer stadium on the bus, same price as at the stadium, but an added convenience. If you get off at a location, and end up staying past the running time of the tour bus, you are never far from the Metro, or, depending on where you are staying, a nice walk through the city will get you where you want to go.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

Margaret I

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Great tour. Ivan at the Prado was fantastic.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Jeff

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Good way to see the city in a short time frame.

Doing what: Panoramic Madrid Sightseeing Tour

Amir Z

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

too much traffic to see at appropriate times

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Cesar R

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Better buses than other cities, but in one ocasion after one hour waiting we decided to take a cab

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

trn679

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

In the beginning the tour is a slow start, in Barcelona and Madrid, you basically get an airport transfer and half day tour to see the outside of popular sites. You're better off skipping the tour and just getting a hop on hop off tour or just get a metro pass and site see so that you're on your own schedule, seeing what you want when you want. By the time we did the half day tour we had already seen the sites on foot earlier in the day. The only thing we didn't get to do that was part of the tour is Park Guell which is really nice, that's the picture in the 8 Day Spain tour. The tour really starts after you go to Madrid and get on a bus to go to Cordoba through Toledo, which I could have bought the 4 day tour. There aren't too many entrance fees included, so you're on your own for a lot of it. The tour guide really was the savior on this trip because up to this point we were a little bummed with the package cause it seemed like we overpaid for some transfers and hotel bookings. Our tour guide Josep was very funny, gave us really good tips for food, where to go, and the usual tour history of each destination. The rest stops were nice, they were large and hardly a line for the bathroom. Josep and the bus driver Sergio were very patient with the group, at two separate hotels, each guest left their passport and had to return so we were almost delayed 30 minutes going back and forth to each hotel, but they were very kind and did not embarrass the guests. The excursions are additional cost and you have to pay in cash, but they are relatively reasonable at around 40EUR per excursion. If you opt out of the excursions, all the cities that you visit are walking friendly. When in Spain, you have to try tapas, gin and tonic, marzipan and their ham sandwiches. The hotel meals that are included are bland and in Seville you have to pay for your drinks, so you could skip these too even though they are included in the tour.

Doing what: 8-Day Spain Tour Including Barcelona, Madrid, Cordoba, Seville, Granada and Toledo

Claudio P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A beautiful city worth the time to see it all by bus. Great picture opportunities.
CP

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

Hannah T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wonderful tour all around. Our guide for the Prado tour was amazing in his knowledge of the art we focused on.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Linda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great way to see the sights and areas of the city. Plus you get the audio description during the tour. You can mark the places you wish to return to explore more thoroughly and at your own pace. We do Hop-On, Hop-Off City Tours in many of the cities we visit.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Food Tastings

Antoinette O

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Complications with this tour as it was the first day at your new office. I didn't feel we saw the city adequately.
However as far as the Prado tour went, it was xcellent and saved the day

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Emilymlow

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Hats off to tour guide Carmen. She provided all her commentary in both Spanish and English, and her information was terrific. We enjoyed the stops, especially at the bullring, and appreciated the specific instructions on time and meeting places. Our driver Jose was pleasant and very professional. Carmen's descriptions and explanations during her Prado tour were very good, and gave us wonderful understanding of the artists and the progression of skill and style through Spanish history.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message