Madrid ATTRACTIONS See all

Parque del Buen Retiro

Parque del Buen Retiro - or Park of the Pleasant Retreat - is Madrid's most expansive park and landmark, covering 1.4 km2 (350 acres). Known locally as just "El Retiro", the park is referred to as "The Lungs" of Madrid, providing ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 118 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A fantastic 3 hours riding a bike around Madrid in 38deg heat. Well worth the money! It was 3 hours too, no short change here. Nothing too strenuous for any of the group (there was about 16 of us) and with a short break in the middle at a nice bar for nibbles and a drink. Our guide was knowledgeable with lots of tips about where to visit for the best Tapas. Great to see things off the beaten track.

Doing what: Madrid Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We were fortunate to this tour on a Sunday but if you do it on any other day you will be taking your life in your hands. Madrid is not a cycling city and not all the local pedestrians approve of bikes so progress is slow in pedestrianised areas. The range of sites covered is excellent and the refreshment stop is first rate. A great way to get orientated in the city. The guide was good but a little more history at some of the sites would have been useful.

Doing what: Madrid Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was amazing. I can't remember my tour guide's name but he was from Calgary. Great Guy. Very knowledgeable about the city and the tour he took us on was spectacular. It helped that we also had a great group of people to spend the later part of the day with. My recommendation is to do the 4 o'clock tour. The weather is nicer and you end the tour at the beach as the sun is setting. Perfection!

Doing what: Madrid Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The best way to see Madrid! Especially on a Saturday in August, when the traffic was lighter. Very good guide. Easy bikes. Good company.

Doing what: Madrid Bike Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Cycling in Madrid's city centre was a an exciting experience. I have done guided cycling tours in other cities. To be honest: I have met more inspiring tour guides as the tour guide in Madrid.

Doing what: Madrid Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I truly enjoyed this bike tour. I am a cyclist at home do I thought that this would be a great way to see Madrid. I wish it was longer. Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly. The bikes were well maintained. Personally, I could have rode all day! Thanks a bunch for the experience.

Doing what: Madrid Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great way to see Madrid. In 3 hours we covered a lot of territory, saw many different sights, and at each one the tour leader told us some interesting and historical information. It was a welcome break from walking, and lots of fun.

Doing what: Madrid Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A fun way to see the sights. If you don't have long in Madrid then this is a great way to see Palacio Real, Plaza Mayor, Plaza De Espana and Parque De Buen Retiro. Physically the ride isn't very strenuous, it is fairly flat and there are many rest stops. Parts of the tour are on the road and towards the end on a main road, so it was a little frightening although the guide had it all under control. We also had to weave amongst pedestrians. There is a drink provided but not until near the end of the ride. It was very hot and we were parched. In summer I recommend you bring a small bottle of water with you.

Doing what: Madrid Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was the best experience that I have ever had on a vacation. I went to Madrid on my own and enjoyed every bit of my tour. The two gentlemen that guided us through Madrid were very well informed, personable, friendly and humorous. Thank you so much!
As soon as I can I will upload pictures. BEST TOUR EVER!
Susan Knapp

Doing what: Madrid Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I would highly recommend for all ages. It was a much easier way to see the city and some of the city highlights. We did a similar tour in Rome, Italy. I was surprised as to how busy the streets if Madrid were in comparison. That made it a bit more difficult to navigate.

Doing what: Madrid Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great way to see the city through use of little back roads and short cuts. Well informed guide, easy pedalling and so much to see. A real pleasure

Doing what: Madrid Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wanted a more interactive experience after using hop on hop off buses in other cities. And we got this and more with the Madrid Bike Tour! There were 5 of us on the tour plus the guide Jose who was excellent.
Bikes were well maintained and distance travelled was around 15km but that was so easy as it was over 2 1/2 hours or so.
If all bike tours are like this one never another hop on hop bus again! You learn so much from the guide.

Doing what: Madrid Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Interesting and informative tour with a great guide. Really recommend it as the best way to see Madrid without taking a whole day.

Doing what: Madrid Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our group was about 12 or 13 in size, which seemed quite a good number. The bike tour was one of, if not the, highlights of a long weekend in Madrid! This was mainly down to the enthusiasm and knowledge of the tour guide. The whole thing was just good fun from start to finish. Interesting side streets and squares, some of the main tourist sites and good information at all times. The tour lasted from about 11am until 2.20pm or so and was good value for money. The cycling was not strenuous but we still managed to cover 9 miles and had time for a refreshment stop. Good way to get to know the city. Also a good way to discover new parts if you do already know a lot of the main sights. Perhaps the best compliment to the tour would be that we returned to two squares that we would almost certainly not have visited and had a good lunch in one and very enjoyable evenings drinks in another. Top marks, would thoroughly recommend it!!

Doing what: Madrid Bike Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

I had a full day tour. The morning part to El Escorial was grate, but when we have tour around Madrid it was horrible. When I booked this trip it was Spanish / English , but it was also French . It was impossible for the guide and for us. We got completely lost in three languages and the guide had no time to tell us what we are seeng. Waste of money and time. It will be more cheaper and and informative on "hop on hop off". We were very disappointed!!!

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery, Valley of the Fallen and Panoramic Madrid Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message