• USD ($)
  • English

Madrid ATTRACTIONS See all

Parque del Buen Retiro

Parque del Buen Retiro - or Park of the Pleasant Retreat - is Madrid's most expansive park and landmark, covering 1.4 km2 (350 acres). Known locally as just "El Retiro", the park is referred to as "The Lungs" of Madrid, providing ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 100 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It was the best! We came with our teenage kids and we all love it!
I will definitely do it again.

Doing what: Madrid Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It was the best! We came with our teenage kids and we all love it!
I will definitely do it again.

Doing what: Madrid Bike Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

A very high potential tour taht could use quite a bit of improvement. There don't seem to be many tourists taking it (the bus was empty, there were maybe 10-12 people all in all) but it was still in Spanish and English (with only two people being non-English speakers). The bus was comfortable, the ride on a Saturday morning was quick (a bit of delay on the way back but nothing unmanageable). I understand it's more economical to have bilingual tours, but it really takes away from the experience.

Both sites are very impressive, Valley of the Fallen being my son's and my favourite. Timing was bad though - we had 45 minutes total left for the Valley of the Fallen, which deserves A LOT more - both from the architectural and natural points of view. This is a real pity, time should have been distributed differently.

As to the Madrid sightseeing tour, we really couldn't figure out much of what was said in English and eventually gave up. If you don't need a full-blown bus and have time, I think hop-on hop-off option would be a much better option with pre-recorded information available and freedom to explore areas of Madrid at your own pace.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery, Valley of the Fallen and Panoramic Madrid Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

El Escorial Monastery is definitely a must-see and what a monstrosity of a building and it sometimes makes one wonder how the holy fathers used to live in those days! It was a bi-lingual tour and the tour guide for us that morning was not very informative, but regardless, we enjoyed the day.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery, Valley of the Fallen and Panoramic Madrid Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent way to see the sights and a really informative guide. Job did a great job.

Doing what: Madrid Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Our morning tour of the Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen was amazing. Our guide was very knowledgeable and gave everyone lots of information. Very good. Our afternoon guide was too soft-spoken and it was frustrating because there were too many people saying "what did he say?". The tour was nice but the guide fell short. Would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery, Valley of the Fallen and Panoramic Madrid Sightseeing Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Good tour !. Bus went to bus station in El Escorial and had a walk with many stairs up and down to the monastery. Guide covered high spots. Walked back to bus station and had time for coffee. Then to Valley of the Fallen. Had limited input from guide as she did not go inside the church part to give commentary. Walking needed here too. City tour was good. Guide had a new driver and did a good job of directing and commentary was good too. Guides spoke in English and Spanish - so sometimes you were not sure if what you were looking at was what was being described.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery, Valley of the Fallen and Panoramic Madrid Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great tour guide, never did a bike tour before but will do one every city I visit now.

Doing what: Madrid Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I highly recommend this bike Tour. The tour guide is well informed and shared with us lots of history about Madrid and in the most passionate way. He was professional, friendly, has great English and other languages.
This tour was one of my highlights of Madrid. I learned so much history on this tour and found the bike ride to be refreshing. A great way to take you off the walking mode and take in some exercise while learning about the city.
This tour was the Urban tour that covered a large portion of Madrid. We rode through the Mayer Plaza, down narrow cobblestone roads, by major monumental sites and through Retiro Park. We stopped at beautiful scenic sites and was given ten minutes to take in the grand site.
This all at a moderate speed and safely down major streets. Any level of bike riders can enjoy this tour.
After this tour I will always take in a bike tour wherever I go. It was fun, refreshing, relaxing and a great way to learn the city at a faster pace.
If you enjoy bike rides, Don't miss out on this one. You will be pleased and the price is very reasonable.
The bikes were well maintained and easy to ride.

Thank You Viator for this opportunity and providing us with a excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Madrid Bike Tour

Erickson M
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I absolutely loved this tour! El Escorial Monastery houses the tombs of most of Spain's Royal Family. While the Valley of the Fallen had a Basilica carved inside a mountain. Reminds you of the statues of Gondor in Lord of the Rings. It's quite mind-blowing what people can build. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery, Valley of the Fallen and Panoramic Madrid Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This tour was good but it probably helps if you are an experienced bike rider. There is a lot of dodging of pedestrian traffic even though the guide tries to take as many back roads as possible. The tour was quite large with 9 of us. None got lost but the tail of the tour could be up to 50m and considering the competition with the foot traffic that was quie a distance between first and last. Having done a similar tour in Seville it was ironic that Seville which was easy to ride around only had a max of 6 per tour but it was Madrid that probably needed to have up to 5 only. The guide was informative and knew a lot. I enjoyed it a lot and helped fill a few gaps in knowledge that I didn't get when wandering Madrid 2 years ago.

Doing what: Madrid Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Great way to see the city but Madrid isn't really bike friendly .

Doing what: Madrid Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Great day out. So good to ride thru the beautiful city of Madrid.

Doing what: Madrid Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message