Madrid ATTRACTIONS See all

Prado Museum (Museo del Prado)

The Museo del Prado - Prado Museum - is considered to house one of the finest art collections in the world. It displays thousands of European paintings, sculptures, and other works of art throughout its halls - and this is only a fraction of their ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 119 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We very much enjoyed the bus tour of the city. We especially liked getting off the bus at various sites that allowed time for picture taking. The highlight was the "Skip the Line Tour" at the Prado. Our guide, Carmen, was outstanding. We felt like we had the finest art history lesson ever. She really made the art come alive!

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Overall, this was an excellent tour. Comments: The location to pick up the tour was unclear. Be specific especially for travelers that don't know the city. The guide was excellent but the tour was far too short. One and half hours is simply not enough time to appreciate the Prado.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Can't say we liked the tour company itself (not particularly helpful and hard to find), but the tour leader was great. The City tour was just driving in traffic, but in the Prado Museum the tour guide was knowledgeable and helpful. We got good information and learned from her (Carmen).

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Having card was a big convenience. What we didn't realized, that you can only use it on one time admission at specific point of interest. Not knowing that, we decided to split our visit to Prado Museum -(huge place ), in two separate visits but were turned away by the staff b.c. we already used our card once. We ended up buying another set of tickets (14 euros each) for another day in "Pradodise"

Doing what: Madrid Card

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The morning tour in the bus was OK. The afternoon tour at Prado museum was great, making the museum visit much meaningful. Forget about the morning sightseeing tour. I signed up for the free tour and its much better. I will rate the sight seeing tour 2 stars and 4 stars for the Prado museum

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

In future we will go for the city walking tours. We did one in Madrid the day after the Viator tour and it was far more exhillirating. The gude on the viator tour was as good as she could be, given the limitations of a bus tour, as was the Prado tour. In a city of many authentic tapas bars, we were brought to the Hard Rock Cafe for our break - next to Plaza Margaret Thatcher to make it worse!
I would suggest more walking stops on this tour. And perhaps a 30 minute break in an interesting Square or Calle or Ermita de San Antonio de la Florida?

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A must-do tour. Get to the office early as there is often very busy with multiple tours.
The bus tour guide was OK but the one showing us around the Prado Museum was brilliant.
Your tour finishes at the Prado and I would highly recommend going to Retiro Park nearby.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent, the museum tour was outstanding.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Madrid is a fabulous city and the Madrid card is very useful, We used it at the Prado and the Royal Palace
and it enabled us to by pass the Qs we also used it at several other places including the Bernabau stadium,we saved more than the cost of the card.

Doing what: Madrid Card

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Tour guide was informative. The tour is just through the city neighborhoods with history. The Prado was the best experience in the afternoon with the tour guide. Some of the English Speaking tourists complained that the tour guide was catering more to the Spanish speaking people in her translations and presentations and she was brief on the descriptions in English. Enjoyed the Prado afterwards on my own.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Tour guide was informative. The tour is just through the city neighborhoods with history. The Prado was the best experience in the afternoon with the tour guide. Some of the English Speaking tourists complained that the tour guide was catering more to the Spanish speaking people in her translations and presentations and she was brief on the descriptions in English. Enjoyed the Prado afterwards on my own.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

citytour could be more forefilling, prado excellent

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Good overview of Madrid with enough time at various stops to take pictures. Helps you pick places where you want to return. Our guide was really helpful with Prado tour. Prado is too overwhelming without a guide. Tour operator was easy to work with and even circled back to pick up a few people who arrived about 5 min late. One complaint: tour left you at Prado instead of tour office start point. I expected to be left off where I started. We were left to get a taxi back on our own.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

We liked the guide very much. However, three museums were hard to see in such a short time. We wanted to return to the museums that day following the tour, but our tickets had not been stamped and the museum staff refused to let us back in, although we still had the ticket stubs. Disappointing...

Doing what: Skip the Line: Madrid Art Tour of Thyssen-Bornemisza, Prado and Reina Sofía Museums

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

No benefit to pre booking. Wait of over half hour outside prado meant inside tour really whistle stop in Spanish and English. Would have been better with headsets as previous day. Hard Rock for a stop very odd

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message