Madrid ATTRACTIONS See all

Prado Museum (Museo del Prado)

The Museo del Prado - Prado Museum - is considered to house one of the finest art collections in the world. It displays thousands of European paintings, sculptures, and other works of art throughout its halls - and this is only a fraction of their ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 150 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Sightseeing from inside the bus, which might be boring but good to have an overall idea if you have short time. Prado museum is interesting whether you like or not paint. There are masterpieces.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Considering all of the perks associated with this card, it was well worth the amount. Definitely got my money's worth and would recommend it to anyone with a particular interest in the museums and exhibits.

Doing what: Madrid Card

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The Madrid Card was nice and handy to enter certain museums and places quicker but not all the places listed for it use were located in Madrid or even in the center of Madrid. The Madrid Card book was useful and the directions how to get to the different places were included in the book. But some things listed for use of the Madrid Card were free or had very cheap entrance fee. You may be spending more buying the card than paying the entrance fees if you only see a few places but if you see a lot of places within the period of time you selected then it could be a bargain.

Doing what: Madrid Card

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

To begin with there was no line to skip. But the guide we had was very passionate. She even agreed to talk also french although the tour was in english and spanish only. Good starting point to explore the museum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

City tour was very superficial and everything seemed to be behind us by the time the guide mentioned it. Very difficult to see -- things always seemed to be on other side of bus. Guide was busy texting... Not impressed. Prado part of tour was much better.. Guide was interesting and was engaged.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Because of traffic we had to miss important sights (Plaza Mayor) and spend too much time walking around the park or in the bus. Museum tour was fine, but unnecessary as no line to get in. Your was ok but I left disappointed.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The Madrid bus tour was flat and uninspiring. The guide was monotonous and seemed to be disinterested. Bilingual tours should be avoided if possible . The visit to Prado museum was excellent.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

The Prado was great to visit but we had booked an English-speaking guide who unfortunately had to do double-duty by combining a Spanish-speaking tour! So there's a lot of wasted time. They should stick to just one language. We were a family of four and there was also 2 other English-speaking people.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

VERY disappointing! Although we arrived one hour early, we were unable to connect with our tour leader.
My husband called Viator and was on hold for 10 minutes - I called the emergency number for our tour leader , and the person on the other end said he was unable to help, to call Viator. OF COUSE, I called Viator back, and they said too late, she would be inside now and could not answer the phone. More than disappointedSaw the Prado on our own, it is lovely.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

The tour guide was terrible. She was in-sensitive to the two wheel chair bound people on our tour. Also, she rushed through the tour and it seemed as though all she wanted to do was finish the tour and get out of the museum. We have taken other Viator tours and always been very pleased with the quality of those tours. This tour was a huge disappointment.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The line at the Prado was quite long when we entered and when we left, so we were glad we chose this tour. There were about a dozen people in our group, and it was a good size. I wish I new our guide's name as she was absolutely fantastic. She explained artists - particular three well-known Spanish artists - in a way that made us understand their work better. I can now recognize the work of one of them simply by looking at one of his paintings, and I've found I want to know more about his work. We are not big art enthusiasts, but we try to visit the big museums when in cities with world-renowned museums. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit here and would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was much better than expected. The Prado guide was top notch and a highlight of our visit to Madrid. I liked that the city sightseeing part of the tour stopped at enough places for photo ops and enjoying the scenery. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Julia bus had lightweight commentary with long gaps which we supplemented from guide book next time would use hop-on, hop-off bus.

Prado tour, however, was excellent and our French sic! guide Matilde gave an insightful one-hour tour of Goya's, Velazquez's and El Greco's most famous works. Absolutely worth doing.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

The guide we had was very difficult for us to understand. And he was over bearing. We had little or no time to enjoy the museum as he kept us on such a tight leash. Would just have a head set next time and go at our leisure.

Doing what: Private Tour: Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Very poor tour. It was supposed to be 3 hours Madrid sightseeing in the morning and 2 hours Prado in the afternoon. However we were given a 1.5 hour sightseeing followed immediately by a 1 hour Prado visit. It was a con trick mainly because I think there were only 12 of is on a big bus. Good guides

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The quide was very knowledgable. I am glad that we have booked this tour. Prado is a such large museum. Without this guided tour I would not know where to start with and I would prpbably missed many highlights.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Card was so useful! Saved waiting in line for tickets to museums, etc.

Doing what: Madrid Card

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Sightseeing tour was so-so the guide didn't seem terribly interested and never even offered his name. The Prado tour, however, was excellent - Nuria was a fantastic, enthusiastic, and very knowledgeable guide to the major works in the Prado.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A good way to see the city and become acquainted with it. The tour itself was OK. The best part being the tour at the Prado. Our guide was very knowledgeable and did a great job. For that alone the tour was worth it.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

worth buying only if you will use it to visit several museums on one day, otherwise just pay as you go.

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The Prado is one of the greatest art museums in the world. We also went the next day during the late day free admission period.
The meeting place with the guide before the tour was very confusing though.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We really enjoyed the bus trip throughout Madrid, but we had such trouble locating the meeting place. I would suggest an exact address or a map attached to tics. The Prado tour was excellent...so much to see and hear about. We saw about 20 paintings and had them all explained, went to lunch in Prado thinking we would go back to see more and after eating found we were exhausted. Really takes more than one day to take it all in.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This showed us things to see in Madrid. The guide to the Prado was incredible.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Excellent, This was a great way to see the museum. It is so big that you will get lost. The guides know their way around. They also have the history and inside stories of the paintings that you would not get on your own.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message