Madrid ATTRACTIONS See all

Prado Museum (Museo del Prado)

The Museo del Prado - Prado Museum - is considered to house one of the finest art collections in the world. It displays thousands of European paintings, sculptures, and other works of art throughout its halls - and this is only a fraction of their ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 183 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour because otherwise the museum might have been a little overwhelming. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and spoke very good English. She took us to all of the most important works found there but we also had time to explore after the official tour was over. Some very incredible art not to be missed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Good overview of the city - but nothing special. However the Prado guide was superb!!!!

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour and provided a good overview of the city. It also gave a good insight into the history. The city, which was useful. The guide was particularly familiar with the exhibits of the Prado museum, and had the ability of making an art museum come alive to most of the visitors.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very conveninet. Free entry to almost all museums...Rolay palace was amazing and also Prado

Doing what: Madrid Card

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide had great energy and showed us several highlights in the museum. She explained them very well, and so that even art novices like us could follow and were intrigued. But the total only went 1.25 hours. If she had gone the whole time, I would have given 5 stars.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Very knowledgeable tour guide. Gave us all of the highlights of the museum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

I took this tour and also did the Hop-on/Hop-off bus, so I could easily get around. The two were redundant and the narration on the bus was just as good as the live guide on the sightseeing tour. She was very blase. HOWEVER, the skip the line Prado was so worth it. While I normally don't like museums, I could have spent many more hours with our guide, who was limited to only 1 1/2 hours narration. I learned a lot about the artists and art history- loved every minute of this part of the tour.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

We did not leave sufficient time to explore the museums to make this really worthwhile. We found ourselves aiming to go to places that were in the book instead of what we really were motivated to do once we got there. There was no benefit to prepaying. We still needed to stand in the same line to pick up the card as we would have to buy it. However, the skip the line benefits would have been valuable if the museums were crowded when we went, but they weren't.

Doing what: Madrid Card

S K
Thailand

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The trip program mentioned tour was to end at 5pm, but the tour agent was in such a hurry that it ended at 1 pm. No 2hrs free time given before the Museum visit. The Museum visit was so rush rush that we were only in for 45 minutes, which was supposed to be 1.5 Hr. Didn't even go near the Palace, from a distance we were directed where palace was. Never done such a hasty tour.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The City Sightseeing was a bit disappointing because of the limits of the coach. This one is on me, probably should have done hop-on, hop-off. The guide was very good. One thing to note is the guides will generally be speaking multiple languages so every description comes 2-3 times. Our guide at the Prado was very good and I recommend starting with a guide. The Prado is giant and you can easily spend hours there.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

Bad news first: the tour guide was awful. She was abrupt, minimally informative, unconcerned about whether she could be heard mostly wanted to be sure we were timely.Hardly a good ambassador for Madrid. The tour itself was good but she left a bad taste. Also the organization getting us to the tour bus at the beginning was haphazard at best. Good news: The guide at the Prado was excellent getting to bypass the lines worth a lot. Also your staff was very responsive to my last minute email inquiries.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

this was unnecessary as there was no line to skip
the guide spent too much time chasing tourist who didn't want to be in the tour
not enough time spent on museum

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Maria was fantastic, so knowledgeable. she taught me things about the paintings I never knew. the Prado is an amazing art collection, don't miss it if you are in Madrid and higher a guide like Maria to teach you about the art. Would do it again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Private Tour: Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide was so knowledgeable and gave us a new perspective of looking at works of art. The museum is so large and overwhelming that it is good to have someone point out the most important works to see. Our tour was in both English and Spanish but she did such a good job of relating in both languages. we were able to stay after to see more of the museum if desired.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We only had 24 hours in Madrid with a requirement to see the great paintings of the Spanish School in the Prado. We were very happy to have booked the Skip the line tour with Marie. Marie was well informed, delightful and had been guiding Prado and other museum tours for over 25 years. Her stories were fun, lovely sense of humour and managed us around the plethorah of people to see what we wanted to see. The bonus for us was the 10 Picassos which were on exhibition from Basel. I would recommend this tour to anyone who specifically is timebound and wants to see specific galleries in the Prado.

Doing what: Private Tour: Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful. This is a beautiful amazing museum and the Tour Guide for our Private Tour was excellent. Loved it. Only wish we had more time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The Prado is huge and our guide managed to focus us on certain artists that made the visit easier to handle. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We were not in Madrid on high season, so did not get quite as much benefit from the early access as we would have a month later, but it was convenient having prepaid access to museums

Doing what: Madrid Card

Mayra P
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The museum was not crowded so we really didn't need to skip the line, but I recommend you definitely go with a guide to the museum. You set sooo much more insight into the art and the artists than with the self guided tour. Our guide was extremely passionate about art and he provide much more info about the artist and the history of the time so that you get a more rounded appreciation of the art as you view each piece. Well worth the extra money!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour agency and guide was great. I wished the tour bus was open if possible, because it is called sight-seeing and you cannot see much under the closed roof. The bus will drive through the city and the tour guide will explain every roads and building you pass by as much as possible. Since our guide was switching between languages so sometime it doesn't synchronize properly. Our tour bus made a stop at Plaza Mayor, I wished they made at least three more stops. Like one in east, west, north and south. As we were trying to cover the whole city but still it would have been more interesting if we made 3 more stops at least for 5 minutes only. The tour for Prado Museum was worth the visit. If you are an art lover then this is something you shouldn't miss though it is worth a visit. I saw paintings from Greco, Velasquez, Goya and Picasso and it was a nice time. Prado museum is so big that a whole day is never enough to see everything, but we did it in 2 hours as it was part of the whole day tour. I would still recommend this tour and a request to tour company if the sightseeing can be little slow and few more stops.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The Prado visit was excellent. I liked the fact that the Prado visit came immediately after the city tour and that the city guide tour handed us over personally to the Prado guide. But please change your website/ offering so that one knows that is the way it is going to be, instead of stating that there is a 2 hour break between the 2 parts of the tour. If one has only 2 days in Madrid, that matters, because it influences how one plans one's day.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

if you don't have the time to spend all day or you don't choose to spend all day at the museum, then this is the tour for you! the guide highlights the more famous art, along with wonderful history about the people, the times, and the culture..and truly allows for a more appreciative sense of the beauty surrounding you in this fabulous museum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was a quick but nice way to see the highlights of the city. The skip the line Prado Museum tour was also enjoyable. We saw the important works and we were given an explanation of their significance. We stayed at the museum after the tour to look at the other artworks that were skipped. All in all a pleasant experience.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The guide was fine on the bus, but she was very good inside the Prado. She was well informed about art,

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Great overview and skip the line tickets were a good idea. Needed longer in the museum though and wished it was a single language tour. We had thought this was an English only tour and have to sit thru three translations was tedious

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message