Madrid ATTRACTIONS See all

Prado Museum (Museo del Prado)

The Museo del Prado - Prado Museum - is considered to house one of the finest art collections in the world. It displays thousands of European paintings, sculptures, and other works of art throughout its halls - and this is only a fraction of their ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 195 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The first part in the Bus City Sightseeing was not ideal. It was supposed to have been in English but actually was Spanish and English so half the time was wasted. The second part in the Prado was good and very informative. Would be better just doing the Prado Tour.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The city tour was nice and the guide provided lots of great information. It really helped you get a good overview of the city and brought you to areas that you may not have found time to see like the Plaza de Toros. However, the guided visit of the Prado Museum was the absolute highlight of this trip! Our guide brought us to the notable pieces of art and provided excellent explanations and stories behind the artwork. After the tour, you are able to stay in the museum for as long as you like.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

great trip the museum is to big to see in one day

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

frew.crew
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Was nice to get quick access and freeing to not have to consider whether a tour was worth the money as it was already paid for. Not sure if we got our total investment's worth, but if you plan to see a lot of museums and the palace, it seems like a good idea.

Doing what: Madrid Card

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Very interesting and knowlegeable guide in Prado museum tour.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The city tour was not good but the Prado Museum Tour was excellent

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Our very knowledgeable guide not only escorted us to the highlights of the museum but set the paintings in their historical context and discussed why each was important.

Doing what: Private Tour: Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Tour taken on 1st full day in Barcelona. Good introductory to city in morning bus tour with stops at Retiro Park and the Madrid Bullring. Prado portion of the tour was informative and the guide was very passionate about the pieces we saw. Be mindful, the major Prado works include Goya, El Grecho, and Velasquez which are pre-1900. Dali and Picasso are post-1900 and are housed in the modern art museum, not visited in this tour. Main negative for both portions of the tour was that tour was not single language, so guide gave talks in Spanish and English. Not as big a deal on the bus but basically cut your Prado tour in half. Would not repeat this tour under these conditions.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Frankly- I thought that the group was way too big to be moving together through such a crowded museum. I thought that the information was too simplistic and actually the plaques beside each image went into greater detail. Overall I think my time would have been better spent touring alone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Frankly- I thought that the group was way too big to be moving together through such a crowded museum. I thought that the information was too simplistic and actually the plaques beside each image went into greater detail. Overall I think my time would have been better spent touring alone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

This was advertised as an English Tour and said it would be approximately 6 hours assuming inclusion of a lunch break, but it was close to 4 with a few delays and there was no lunch break or opportunity to eat. The tour was half English and half Spanish about 60-70 of the tour was in Spanish. The majority of my tour group was English speaking. This was HORRENDOUS given I speak minimal Spanish and PAID FOR AN ENGLISH TOUR!! On the bus, many sites were explained in English when they were out of view. In addition some of the translation made no sense Business area with companies such as PwC, Deloitte, etc...some of the worlds most picturesque companies. That doesn't make any sense and unfortunately was one of 2 English sentences I got in that area.

On the bus tour, we made 2 stops, I of which was at the Hard Rock Cafe for a half hour and has nothing to do with anything related to tourism. We were there for approximately 30 min, which was about 15 of our tour's duration.

The museum tour was good but fairly brief. We only stopped at maybe 6 pieces and got a few sentences on each. The tour guide was knowledgeable on the works we saw here, but again, only a few pieces and lasted an hour max.

Overall, this tour was a waste of time and hard earned money. I am still considering disputing the charge as false advertising. What is a point of paying for an English tour that is mostly in Spanish and not even the full time? If you subtract out the bus loading times, it was approximately 3 to 3.5 hours.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour because otherwise the museum might have been a little overwhelming. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and spoke very good English. She took us to all of the most important works found there but we also had time to explore after the official tour was over. Some very incredible art not to be missed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Good overview of the city - but nothing special. However the Prado guide was superb!!!!

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour and provided a good overview of the city. It also gave a good insight into the history. The city, which was useful. The guide was particularly familiar with the exhibits of the Prado museum, and had the ability of making an art museum come alive to most of the visitors.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very conveninet. Free entry to almost all museums...Rolay palace was amazing and also Prado

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The guide did an excellent job of analyzing major works. He also gave us an overview of the museum so we could continue the tour on our own without fear of missing something really important.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide had great energy and showed us several highlights in the museum. She explained them very well, and so that even art novices like us could follow and were intrigued. But the total only went 1.25 hours. If she had gone the whole time, I would have given 5 stars.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Very knowledgeable tour guide. Gave us all of the highlights of the museum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

I took this tour and also did the Hop-on/Hop-off bus, so I could easily get around. The two were redundant and the narration on the bus was just as good as the live guide on the sightseeing tour. She was very blase. HOWEVER, the skip the line Prado was so worth it. While I normally don't like museums, I could have spent many more hours with our guide, who was limited to only 1 1/2 hours narration. I learned a lot about the artists and art history- loved every minute of this part of the tour.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

We did not leave sufficient time to explore the museums to make this really worthwhile. We found ourselves aiming to go to places that were in the book instead of what we really were motivated to do once we got there. There was no benefit to prepaying. We still needed to stand in the same line to pick up the card as we would have to buy it. However, the skip the line benefits would have been valuable if the museums were crowded when we went, but they weren't.

Doing what: Madrid Card

S K
Thailand

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The trip program mentioned tour was to end at 5pm, but the tour agent was in such a hurry that it ended at 1 pm. No 2hrs free time given before the Museum visit. The Museum visit was so rush rush that we were only in for 45 minutes, which was supposed to be 1.5 Hr. Didn't even go near the Palace, from a distance we were directed where palace was. Never done such a hasty tour.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The City Sightseeing was a bit disappointing because of the limits of the coach. This one is on me, probably should have done hop-on, hop-off. The guide was very good. One thing to note is the guides will generally be speaking multiple languages so every description comes 2-3 times. Our guide at the Prado was very good and I recommend starting with a guide. The Prado is giant and you can easily spend hours there.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

Bad news first: the tour guide was awful. She was abrupt, minimally informative, unconcerned about whether she could be heard mostly wanted to be sure we were timely.Hardly a good ambassador for Madrid. The tour itself was good but she left a bad taste. Also the organization getting us to the tour bus at the beginning was haphazard at best. Good news: The guide at the Prado was excellent getting to bypass the lines worth a lot. Also your staff was very responsive to my last minute email inquiries.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

this was unnecessary as there was no line to skip
the guide spent too much time chasing tourist who didn't want to be in the tour
not enough time spent on museum

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Maria was fantastic, so knowledgeable. she taught me things about the paintings I never knew. the Prado is an amazing art collection, don't miss it if you are in Madrid and higher a guide like Maria to teach you about the art. Would do it again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Private Tour: Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message