Madrid ATTRACTIONS See all

Prado Museum (Museo del Prado)

The Museo del Prado - Prado Museum - is considered to house one of the finest art collections in the world. It displays thousands of European paintings, sculptures, and other works of art throughout its halls - and this is only a fraction of their ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 171 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Maria was fantastic, so knowledgeable. she taught me things about the paintings I never knew. the Prado is an amazing art collection, don't miss it if you are in Madrid and higher a guide like Maria to teach you about the art. Would do it again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Private Tour: Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide was so knowledgeable and gave us a new perspective of looking at works of art. The museum is so large and overwhelming that it is good to have someone point out the most important works to see. Our tour was in both English and Spanish but she did such a good job of relating in both languages. we were able to stay after to see more of the museum if desired.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We only had 24 hours in Madrid with a requirement to see the great paintings of the Spanish School in the Prado. We were very happy to have booked the Skip the line tour with Marie. Marie was well informed, delightful and had been guiding Prado and other museum tours for over 25 years. Her stories were fun, lovely sense of humour and managed us around the plethorah of people to see what we wanted to see. The bonus for us was the 10 Picassos which were on exhibition from Basel. I would recommend this tour to anyone who specifically is timebound and wants to see specific galleries in the Prado.

Doing what: Private Tour: Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful. This is a beautiful amazing museum and the Tour Guide for our Private Tour was excellent. Loved it. Only wish we had more time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The Prado is huge and our guide managed to focus us on certain artists that made the visit easier to handle. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We were not in Madrid on high season, so did not get quite as much benefit from the early access as we would have a month later, but it was convenient having prepaid access to museums

Doing what: Madrid Card

Mayra P
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The museum was not crowded so we really didn't need to skip the line, but I recommend you definitely go with a guide to the museum. You set sooo much more insight into the art and the artists than with the self guided tour. Our guide was extremely passionate about art and he provide much more info about the artist and the history of the time so that you get a more rounded appreciation of the art as you view each piece. Well worth the extra money!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour agency and guide was great. I wished the tour bus was open if possible, because it is called sight-seeing and you cannot see much under the closed roof. The bus will drive through the city and the tour guide will explain every roads and building you pass by as much as possible. Since our guide was switching between languages so sometime it doesn't synchronize properly. Our tour bus made a stop at Plaza Mayor, I wished they made at least three more stops. Like one in east, west, north and south. As we were trying to cover the whole city but still it would have been more interesting if we made 3 more stops at least for 5 minutes only. The tour for Prado Museum was worth the visit. If you are an art lover then this is something you shouldn't miss though it is worth a visit. I saw paintings from Greco, Velasquez, Goya and Picasso and it was a nice time. Prado museum is so big that a whole day is never enough to see everything, but we did it in 2 hours as it was part of the whole day tour. I would still recommend this tour and a request to tour company if the sightseeing can be little slow and few more stops.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The Prado visit was excellent. I liked the fact that the Prado visit came immediately after the city tour and that the city guide tour handed us over personally to the Prado guide. But please change your website/ offering so that one knows that is the way it is going to be, instead of stating that there is a 2 hour break between the 2 parts of the tour. If one has only 2 days in Madrid, that matters, because it influences how one plans one's day.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

if you don't have the time to spend all day or you don't choose to spend all day at the museum, then this is the tour for you! the guide highlights the more famous art, along with wonderful history about the people, the times, and the culture..and truly allows for a more appreciative sense of the beauty surrounding you in this fabulous museum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was a quick but nice way to see the highlights of the city. The skip the line Prado Museum tour was also enjoyable. We saw the important works and we were given an explanation of their significance. We stayed at the museum after the tour to look at the other artworks that were skipped. All in all a pleasant experience.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The guide was fine on the bus, but she was very good inside the Prado. She was well informed about art,

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Great overview and skip the line tickets were a good idea. Needed longer in the museum though and wished it was a single language tour. We had thought this was an English only tour and have to sit thru three translations was tedious

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Lots of driving
Very limited opportunities to get off and see the sights
The Prado tour guide was well informed but did not give an overview of the museum
She picked 8-10 paintings by Spanish artists but did not even cursorily mention non-Spanish artists works that are exhibited there

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

KCViva
United States of America

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Good tour! We went to the four corners of Barcelona from the Stadium, to the Palace and more! Most of it's on a bus and your pics are through a window but you just have to understand that's what this tour is! It's a great way to get a view of the city and figure out what you want to do later Prado was greatyou don't need to pay for a skip the line as far as I saw as there was no line at all on either of the 2-3 days that I was running around the city but the Museum guide was great and a must-see part of the tour!

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

The local tour agency in Madrid is the one to be avoided. They lack customer service concept completely. Our train to Madrid did not arrive in time for the booked tour and we were a bit late to the start of the tour.
The agency refused all our requests - let us take another bus tour, another day tour, let us at least use our Prado tickets. All that was done in a very rude fashion , as if we operate train schedules and should have called them in advance! Very disappointing! We went to Prado museum on our own and it was one of the best experiences in Spain. There were no lines, wonderful audio guide for just 3 Euros. Our advise - SKIP THE TOUR! Walk around the old center is free, a free tour starts at 10:30 am every day, from every hotel. You can enter the Palace for free after 6pm. You can enjoy the city so much more affordably, without having to deal with grumpy and unfriendly travel agents a paradox, but true.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was good. There is so much in the Prado that having a guide and skipping any lines was very helpful.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Sightseeing from inside the bus, which might be boring but good to have an overall idea if you have short time. Prado museum is interesting whether you like or not paint. There are masterpieces.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Considering all of the perks associated with this card, it was well worth the amount. Definitely got my money's worth and would recommend it to anyone with a particular interest in the museums and exhibits.

Doing what: Madrid Card

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The Madrid Card was nice and handy to enter certain museums and places quicker but not all the places listed for it use were located in Madrid or even in the center of Madrid. The Madrid Card book was useful and the directions how to get to the different places were included in the book. But some things listed for use of the Madrid Card were free or had very cheap entrance fee. You may be spending more buying the card than paying the entrance fees if you only see a few places but if you see a lot of places within the period of time you selected then it could be a bargain.

Doing what: Madrid Card

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

very good tour.a little disorganized because it looks like we were seeing the pictured that the guide liked the most and not the most interesting pictures of the museum.ie.el bosco,durero,fra angelico,rafael i did it by myself.s pity.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

I found it informative. The museum is very large and whilst the tour only focused on three main artists this was a good introduction to the Prado.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Good tour - sightseeing done mostly from the bus, but it does give you an idea of areas to visit. The museum was fantastic and again the guide was very knowledgable

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

To begin with there was no line to skip. But the guide we had was very passionate. She even agreed to talk also french although the tour was in english and spanish only. Good starting point to explore the museum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

City tour was very superficial and everything seemed to be behind us by the time the guide mentioned it. Very difficult to see -- things always seemed to be on other side of bus. Guide was busy texting... Not impressed. Prado part of tour was much better.. Guide was interesting and was engaged.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message