Madrid ATTRACTIONS See all

Prado Museum (Museo del Prado)

The Museo del Prado - Prado Museum - is considered to house one of the finest art collections in the world. It displays thousands of European paintings, sculptures, and other works of art throughout its halls - and this is only a fraction of their ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 183 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Beverly G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was totally worth it. My husband and I went on a Thursday morning, when it wasn't too busy. There was only one other pair of tourists in our group. Our guide, Irene, was so knowledgeable about art history, and gave us very detailed yet easily digestible information about the composition and the historical context of each of the works of art she showed us, and was probably 95 of the reason this tour was so amazing. We were able to ask a lot of questions, and due to the comparatively low attendance at the museums that day, were able to study a lot of the artworks at our leisure without being rushed or pushed by crowds. My husband said it was probably the best tour he's ever been on in his life.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

marciryansf

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was great to be able to see so much in one day! Especially loved the Prado tour!

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Bonnie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our young and very pleasant guide was extremely knowledgeable and passionate about the art she showed us and shared a lot of interesting knowledge.
The time for hotel pick-up was too early for this not so busy winter season but after an initial over-long wait to enter the Prado, all went well.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

George M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We enjoyed this tour so very much. Our tour guide was so knowledgeable and fun and really made the day worth while. We enjoyed NOT having a guide in the actual museum. Everyone enjoyed looking at different art pieces and liked that we were not rushed or in a group setting. We used Viator for many of our tours in Spain and will recommend them to anyone taking this trip.

Doing what: Madrid Buen Retiro Park Small-Group Tour and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Ticket

David R

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

An awful lot of detail on the bus tour, perhaps a map of the route would have been useful in order to know where you were? Prado was excellent the guide too.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Arnaldo G

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

It was good. You get a taste from which to follow up in detail if you want to. The visit to El Prado was well handle. Nice details.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Deepika Sri Lanka

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The morning tour was a bit boring as there were only two stops and the rest was on the bus. The guide at Prada museum was very good and explained everything.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Cheryl L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Wished we had more time in the Prado with our guide. She was really knowledgable but due to time constraints, we couldn't get enough time with her as the city tour was later than expected.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

SONDRA A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

Disappointing. The guide was pleasant, but had a bad cough. This was a bit distracting, and somehow the experience was not memorable. The stop at the Hard Rock Cafe was not interesting, although I did get a drink. I did enjoy the Prado Tour, but thought it was too brief. The guide was knowledgeable. I would have liked it to be longer and more inclusive.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Hugh V United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

An excellent tour! I was met at my hotel by my tour guide Irene. She indicated that I was the only person who had signed up for the 800am tour and I would have my own personal tour guide! Irene, a university art history graduate, took me through the Prado and Reina Sofia and provided very helpful information. I would wholeheartedly recommend this tour to others!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Carole W

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

The Prado was incredable but the instructions concerning the time and meeting place were not clear. The guide was very knowledgeable however, I would have liked a longer tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Tour in Madrid

Ronda

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

The museum was great - but it would be much better to have more time in the museum to look around. You don't get early access at all - just more time to wait in line. The guide was very good though.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Janice y

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

A great quick view of the best the Prado has to offer, very knowledgable guide, nice to pass the long line

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Tour in Madrid

Jill C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great day at the Prado! Reservation was easy on line. Met up with our tour guide and group outside the museum. About 15 of us had our own English speaking guide. She led the way speaking into a mic. We had a handset and could easily follow along. Very knowledgable guide. Focused on the Masters and the key works we were interested in. Learned about the museum, the artists and the times they represented. Perfect amount of time for our group of 5 adults -- two late-50's, three ranging in ages 20-25. All of us enjoyed the tour very much and the museum is spectacular. Just the right amount of time. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Tour in Madrid

Margaret I

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Great tour. Ivan at the Prado was fantastic.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Hannah T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wonderful tour all around. Our guide for the Prado tour was amazing in his knowledge of the art we focused on.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Antoinette O

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Complications with this tour as it was the first day at your new office. I didn't feel we saw the city adequately.
However as far as the Prado tour went, it was xcellent and saved the day

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Emilymlow United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Hats off to tour guide Carmen. She provided all her commentary in both Spanish and English, and her information was terrific. We enjoyed the stops, especially at the bullring, and appreciated the specific instructions on time and meeting places. Our driver Jose was pleasant and very professional. Carmen's descriptions and explanations during her Prado tour were very good, and gave us wonderful understanding of the artists and the progression of skill and style through Spanish history.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Richard H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

This tour was interesting, but frankly it is difficult to see a lot of the sights from a bus window. The tour was led in both Spanish and English - Jorge did a nice job of making that work, but it was frequently distracting to have to listen to both languages. However, for the Prado Museum tour, the group was split between English and Spanish speaking customers, so that was much more relaxing and efficient. Jorge was extremely knowledgeable about the background of the artists and paintings of El Grecco, Velasquez, Goya, etc. which we greatly enjoyed.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Esmond S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

This tour was in two parts a morning tour of Madrid city, and an afternoon tour of the Prado art gallery.

The morning city tour was very disappointing. The tour was an hour late getting started, and the guide was very poor. Although apparently knowledgeable, the guide had no people skills whatsoever and bordered on being rude at times. She showed very little interest in us or the tour and people were very bewildered by her attitude.

By contrast, the afternoon tour of the Prado, with a different guide, was excellent. She was knowledgeable and enthusiastic, and showed us the highlight of the gallery. She spoke very well, and we skipped the long line up to get in. After the tour ended, we stayed in the gallery to see more. This part was very good indeed.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Sabrina G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

I found the sightseeing tour superficial and kind of boring. My daughter fell asleep! There was a stop at High Rock Cafe which I thought strange and meaningless, considering we were in Madrid, Spain. I am sure there are more interesting places to visit. The Prado visit was good.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Maria Concessa D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

This Madrid City tour is not worth it. Our tour guide female was boring and uninteresting that I fell asleep in the bus while on tour. It looks like she'd rather be doing or be some where else and she just can't wait to get rid of us. The worst is - she was talking to the driver in Spanish and made some sarcastic comments about us my companion and myself not knowing that we can understand Spanish. VERY RUDE! REALLY RUDE!!!
The Prado Museum tour guide another female is slightly better, just the same, she has the I'd like to get this over with so I will make it quick tour attitude. Apparently the tour guides are unhappy and doing a perfunctory job.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Good guide to take us around the city, great guide in the Prado. So delighted we took the entire tour.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Mercy A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

My tour guide, sorry I forgot her name, excellent. Very thorough specially at Prado

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Judith S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent way to visit this world class museum!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Tour in Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message