Madrid ATTRACTIONS See all

Prado Museum (Museo del Prado)

The Museo del Prado - Prado Museum - is considered to house one of the finest art collections in the world. It displays thousands of European paintings, sculptures, and other works of art throughout its halls - and this is only a fraction of their ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 106 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Tour guide was informative. The tour is just through the city neighborhoods with history. The Prado was the best experience in the afternoon with the tour guide. Some of the English Speaking tourists complained that the tour guide was catering more to the Spanish speaking people in her translations and presentations and she was brief on the descriptions in English. Enjoyed the Prado afterwards on my own.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Tour guide was informative. The tour is just through the city neighborhoods with history. The Prado was the best experience in the afternoon with the tour guide. Some of the English Speaking tourists complained that the tour guide was catering more to the Spanish speaking people in her translations and presentations and she was brief on the descriptions in English. Enjoyed the Prado afterwards on my own.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

We liked the guide very much. However, three museums were hard to see in such a short time. We wanted to return to the museums that day following the tour, but our tickets had not been stamped and the museum staff refused to let us back in, although we still had the ticket stubs. Disappointing...

Doing what: Skip the Line: Madrid Art Tour of Thyssen-Bornemisza, Prado and Reina Sofía Museums

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

No benefit to pre booking. Wait of over half hour outside prado meant inside tour really whistle stop in Spanish and English. Would have been better with headsets as previous day. Hard Rock for a stop very odd

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutely excellent. Very well organised. Prado tour exceptional.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great to see all the Museums in Madrid and more...Don't miss the visit to El Palacio Real, and El Teatro Real
(the main Opera House in Madiri)
No lines...and all is paid for with the card...

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great trip. Our guide was fluent in English (she switched between the English and Spanish speaking group members) and was very knowledgeable about the history of the artwork and the Prado museum itself. Our free time after the tour was ideal to go back and revisit the works at a more leisurely pace. Highly recommend it for first time visitors to the Prado.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We are museum people and I am so glad I got this! It was definitely worth it and so easy to get in and out of museums!

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

What a great experience! Well worth the price to skip the line - which was substantial. The tour guide was absolutlely phenomenal; knowlegable, well-spoken and with a great sense of humor. She was able to hit all the Prado highlights and provide a real sense of the art and the role of the artist within their time. Just a fabulous experience.. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Tour guide was a little stiff and distant. She seemed very knowledgeable, though. The Prado tour guide was phenomenal! She was very knowledgeable, fun and enthusiastic about her job and getting us to enjoy our experience. The only downside was that we did not realize until we were at the Prado that we were responsible for our own transportation back from the Prado to our hotel. It would have been nice to have either received a reminder email beforehand, or have been reminded when we checked in in the morning. Also, when we check in in the morning, there was so much confusion over what tours were boarding at the main office that we couldn't hear any tour guide announce their tour. The main office is very small and there hundreds of people waiting on the sidewalk to be called. Add the noise from the traffic and it wasn't organized very well and a bit off-putting.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We recently spent a week in Madrid, and this was a great way to start the week. This tour gives you a nice overview of the city. After this tour, we were able to decide what else to see and do in Madrid. The Prado Museum tour was interesting and enjoyable.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We met the tour guide at the appointed place and time outside the museum, and although there were no crowds that day, it was convenient to go in immediately. The size of our group was perfect with about 8-9 people requiring either English and Spanish explanations. I loved that the guide focused on the Spanish artists. She was extremely knowledgeable, and she gave us a broad understanding, along with details, of the artist's key pieces. It could be overwhelming to see/comprehend all of the paintings without the assistance of an expert such as our tour guide. Due to translating in both languages, the guide extended our time by half an hour, to ensure that we saw as much as possible, which was appreciated. The Prado is a wonderful art museum, well organized, with an outstanding collection. It is not to be missed!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Express Ticket and Tour in Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Our Museum guide was awesome! She had a real love for the artwork and conveyed it with her descriptions. You can walk around any museum and look at pretty paintings but its so much better to know the history behind them. I would do the Prado tour any day and skip the city tour.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The combined tour was a great way to start my trip in Madrid. It was a bit confusing at first because we we're actually supposed to meet in front of Julia's travel across the street from the plaza and check in. Three tours were grouped together for the bus tour then we split up for our individual tours which required some cris-crossing the city. The tour of the Prado was very informative as the museum is very large and the guide pointed out the main works of three prominate Spanish artists. She spoke good English and was attentive and interesting. I would recommend.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The bus tour was only ok because the sight line for tourists to see out the windows is not good. We could not see most of the buildings and monuments because they reach for the sky and the bus windows did not go up high enough. Also, even though the tour guide did a very good job translating from Spanish to English (as I speak both, I was aware of the good translating that occurred), there should have been more interesting facts given about each site. Lastly, our guide did a terrific job touring the Prado with us. She gave a lot of interesting and important information that helped bring the works of art come to life.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message