Madrid ATTRACTIONS See all

Prado Museum (Museo del Prado)

The Museo del Prado - Prado Museum - is considered to house one of the finest art collections in the world. It displays thousands of European paintings, sculptures, and other works of art throughout its halls - and this is only a fraction of their ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 190 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Beverly G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was totally worth it. My husband and I went on a Thursday morning, when it wasn't too busy. There was only one other pair of tourists in our group. Our guide, Irene, was so knowledgeable about art history, and gave us very detailed yet easily digestible information about the composition and the historical context of each of the works of art she showed us, and was probably 95 of the reason this tour was so amazing. We were able to ask a lot of questions, and due to the comparatively low attendance at the museums that day, were able to study a lot of the artworks at our leisure without being rushed or pushed by crowds. My husband said it was probably the best tour he's ever been on in his life.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

marciryansf

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was great to be able to see so much in one day! Especially loved the Prado tour!

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Barry F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our Guide on this tour was Irene and she gave us an amazing tour of the imporetant and interesting paintings in the Prado..
I cannot praise her enough how she explained all the different aspects of the artists and their work,
Due to unexpected circumstances I could not continue to the Reina Sofia but I can thoroughly recommend her to anyone wanting to make this tour. Barry

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Bret G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Everything about this tour was perfect. Our guide, Irene, was a delight: friendly and pleasant, knowledgable and articulate, and her explanations of the art and artists made it all come alive.
Getting in before the crowds even just a little was a real plus, too.
Both.the Prado and Reina Sophia contain more exhibits than one could see in one day, but the tour gets you started right! I can not recommend this tour highly enough.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Anna D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A friendly, charming and extremely knowledgeable guide with a degree in art history eased our tour of the Prado and the Reina Sofia. It was a huge advantage to be able to view the Garden of Earthly Delights and other important paintings without throngs of other people.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

nayla e

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very good tour that highlighted the main attractions in Madrid from Cibeles Fountain, Alcala gate, independencia gate to Espana Plaza. El Prado Museum tour was interesting also although it did not cover the whole sections but we visited the most important works such as Goya's and Velasquez.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Faye K

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

It was good and informative. We didn't have much time to spend and we needed an afternoon tour. The only thing that we didn't like was that we took it on Sunday when there is a free entrance. We paid , though.The good thing was that there was another queue, a short one. Also, we were dropped there at, approximately, 5 or 5.30. Though we were told that the museum closed at 8 o' clock, it closed at 7. Too little time for Prado museum.

Doing what: Madrid Panoramic Tour with Museo del Prado

Allan W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Good tour even if it only shows you a small sample of what is on offer in the Prado. Ran out of time , which I suspect is normal. Expect crowds.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Tour in Madrid

bkiedrowski1

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Our guide was brusk and tired. She wanted to march us through the Prado. I'm sure this task is daunting with groups, but I'm been on enough tours to know there is a nice way to do it. Guide seemed to know her stuff, but was not there.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Tour in Madrid

Bonnie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our young and very pleasant guide was extremely knowledgeable and passionate about the art she showed us and shared a lot of interesting knowledge.
The time for hotel pick-up was too early for this not so busy winter season but after an initial over-long wait to enter the Prado, all went well.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

George M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We enjoyed this tour so very much. Our tour guide was so knowledgeable and fun and really made the day worth while. We enjoyed NOT having a guide in the actual museum. Everyone enjoyed looking at different art pieces and liked that we were not rushed or in a group setting. We used Viator for many of our tours in Spain and will recommend them to anyone taking this trip.

Doing what: Madrid Buen Retiro Park Small-Group Tour and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Ticket

David R

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

An awful lot of detail on the bus tour, perhaps a map of the route would have been useful in order to know where you were? Prado was excellent the guide too.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Arnaldo G

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

It was good. You get a taste from which to follow up in detail if you want to. The visit to El Prado was well handle. Nice details.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Deepika Sri Lanka

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The morning tour was a bit boring as there were only two stops and the rest was on the bus. The guide at Prada museum was very good and explained everything.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Cheryl L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Wished we had more time in the Prado with our guide. She was really knowledgable but due to time constraints, we couldn't get enough time with her as the city tour was later than expected.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

SONDRA A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

Disappointing. The guide was pleasant, but had a bad cough. This was a bit distracting, and somehow the experience was not memorable. The stop at the Hard Rock Cafe was not interesting, although I did get a drink. I did enjoy the Prado Tour, but thought it was too brief. The guide was knowledgeable. I would have liked it to be longer and more inclusive.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Hugh V United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

An excellent tour! I was met at my hotel by my tour guide Irene. She indicated that I was the only person who had signed up for the 800am tour and I would have my own personal tour guide! Irene, a university art history graduate, took me through the Prado and Reina Sofia and provided very helpful information. I would wholeheartedly recommend this tour to others!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Carole W

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

The Prado was incredable but the instructions concerning the time and meeting place were not clear. The guide was very knowledgeable however, I would have liked a longer tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Tour in Madrid

Ronda

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

The museum was great - but it would be much better to have more time in the museum to look around. You don't get early access at all - just more time to wait in line. The guide was very good though.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback. We wanted to let you know that we take your feedback very seriously and we are currently working with the supplier to guarantee that all customers get Early Access, no matter the circumstances. We apologize for any inconvenience this situation may have caused, but we do hope this information helps you and future travelers as you research your tour options.

Janice y

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

A great quick view of the best the Prado has to offer, very knowledgable guide, nice to pass the long line

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Tour in Madrid

Jill C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great day at the Prado! Reservation was easy on line. Met up with our tour guide and group outside the museum. About 15 of us had our own English speaking guide. She led the way speaking into a mic. We had a handset and could easily follow along. Very knowledgable guide. Focused on the Masters and the key works we were interested in. Learned about the museum, the artists and the times they represented. Perfect amount of time for our group of 5 adults -- two late-50's, three ranging in ages 20-25. All of us enjoyed the tour very much and the museum is spectacular. Just the right amount of time. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Tour in Madrid

Margaret I

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Great tour. Ivan at the Prado was fantastic.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Hannah T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wonderful tour all around. Our guide for the Prado tour was amazing in his knowledge of the art we focused on.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Antoinette O

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Complications with this tour as it was the first day at your new office. I didn't feel we saw the city adequately.
However as far as the Prado tour went, it was xcellent and saved the day

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Emilymlow United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Hats off to tour guide Carmen. She provided all her commentary in both Spanish and English, and her information was terrific. We enjoyed the stops, especially at the bullring, and appreciated the specific instructions on time and meeting places. Our driver Jose was pleasant and very professional. Carmen's descriptions and explanations during her Prado tour were very good, and gave us wonderful understanding of the artists and the progression of skill and style through Spanish history.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message