Madrid ATTRACTIONS See all

Prado Museum (Museo del Prado)

The Museo del Prado - Prado Museum - is considered to house one of the finest art collections in the world. It displays thousands of European paintings, sculptures, and other works of art throughout its halls - and this is only a fraction of their ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 236 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Janice y

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

A great quick view of the best the Prado has to offer, very knowledgable guide, nice to pass the long line

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Tour in Madrid

Jill C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great day at the Prado! Reservation was easy on line. Met up with our tour guide and group outside the museum. About 15 of us had our own English speaking guide. She led the way speaking into a mic. We had a handset and could easily follow along. Very knowledgable guide. Focused on the Masters and the key works we were interested in. Learned about the museum, the artists and the times they represented. Perfect amount of time for our group of 5 adults -- two late-50's, three ranging in ages 20-25. All of us enjoyed the tour very much and the museum is spectacular. Just the right amount of time. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Tour in Madrid

Petra T

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

If you are a cultural lover, this card will help you plan your cultural activities in Madrid. However, if you are not a museum and culture lover, I am not sure that you need this card to plan your trip. You win more in time as you can skip the lines at the 3 great musea Reina Sofia, Prado, Thyssen than in money.

Doing what: Madrid Card

Margaret I

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Great tour. Ivan at the Prado was fantastic.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

d2blake2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Madrid Card certainly expedited getting into the various museums and other tours as well as saving us some money.

Doing what: Madrid Card

Hannah T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wonderful tour all around. Our guide for the Prado tour was amazing in his knowledge of the art we focused on.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Antoinette O

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Complications with this tour as it was the first day at your new office. I didn't feel we saw the city adequately.
However as far as the Prado tour went, it was xcellent and saved the day

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Emilymlow

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Hats off to tour guide Carmen. She provided all her commentary in both Spanish and English, and her information was terrific. We enjoyed the stops, especially at the bullring, and appreciated the specific instructions on time and meeting places. Our driver Jose was pleasant and very professional. Carmen's descriptions and explanations during her Prado tour were very good, and gave us wonderful understanding of the artists and the progression of skill and style through Spanish history.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Richard H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

This tour was interesting, but frankly it is difficult to see a lot of the sights from a bus window. The tour was led in both Spanish and English - Jorge did a nice job of making that work, but it was frequently distracting to have to listen to both languages. However, for the Prado Museum tour, the group was split between English and Spanish speaking customers, so that was much more relaxing and efficient. Jorge was extremely knowledgeable about the background of the artists and paintings of El Grecco, Velasquez, Goya, etc. which we greatly enjoyed.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Esmond S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

This tour was in two parts a morning tour of Madrid city, and an afternoon tour of the Prado art gallery.

The morning city tour was very disappointing. The tour was an hour late getting started, and the guide was very poor. Although apparently knowledgeable, the guide had no people skills whatsoever and bordered on being rude at times. She showed very little interest in us or the tour and people were very bewildered by her attitude.

By contrast, the afternoon tour of the Prado, with a different guide, was excellent. She was knowledgeable and enthusiastic, and showed us the highlight of the gallery. She spoke very well, and we skipped the long line up to get in. After the tour ended, we stayed in the gallery to see more. This part was very good indeed.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Sabrina G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

I found the sightseeing tour superficial and kind of boring. My daughter fell asleep! There was a stop at High Rock Cafe which I thought strange and meaningless, considering we were in Madrid, Spain. I am sure there are more interesting places to visit. The Prado visit was good.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Maria Concessa D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

This Madrid City tour is not worth it. Our tour guide female was boring and uninteresting that I fell asleep in the bus while on tour. It looks like she'd rather be doing or be some where else and she just can't wait to get rid of us. The worst is - she was talking to the driver in Spanish and made some sarcastic comments about us my companion and myself not knowing that we can understand Spanish. VERY RUDE! REALLY RUDE!!!
The Prado Museum tour guide another female is slightly better, just the same, she has the I'd like to get this over with so I will make it quick tour attitude. Apparently the tour guides are unhappy and doing a perfunctory job.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Liz W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

Zero stars. Do not buy this card unless you are a starving student with a lot of time to wait and you want to always take public transportation. I will never buy this type of card ever again. Buy your museum and activity tickets through your hotel concierge.

Doing what: Madrid Card

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Good guide to take us around the city, great guide in the Prado. So delighted we took the entire tour.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Mercy A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

My tour guide, sorry I forgot her name, excellent. Very thorough specially at Prado

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Judith S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent way to visit this world class museum!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Tour in Madrid

rich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

If you plan to see the major museums, royal palace this can't be beat. Even if you don't break even euro for euro on what you go to, the skip the line feature alone is worth the cost.

Doing what: Madrid Card

Kenneth W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

This was the best way to be introduced to the Prado. Our guide whose name escapes me was very knowledgeable about the different pieces, put the pieces into context, and explained what made them significant. And thank goodness for those individual headsets! It made the experience much better as we could hear him very clearly regardless of how many other people were around us.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Tour in Madrid

zad

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The sightseeing was good but the museum tour was too long as the guide spoke in Spanish then translated in English. Just too long so we had to ditch the tour and do it ourselves. Another Viator disappointing tour.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Bruce C

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The only reason this review gets 3 stars is because the Prado Guide Manuelo was excellent. The first part of the city tour was a zero.. The only stops were the Hard rock cafe and a bull fight ring. The guide was very unenthusiastic and by the time she gave the narration we were passed the sights. Very uninspiring and did not give an overall view of the city Really disappointing

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Brian M

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The bus tour part of this trip was excellent with a very informative guide. The visit to the Prado museum was worthwhile, but the guide was surly and unwelcoming. The organisation in the office before the trip however was terrible. The directions of how to find it, the expected check-in time and the distribution of the tickets were a shambles. Lots of different nationalities confused, stressed and annoyed. Needs to be looked at by Viator!

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Christina C

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

I originally booked the tour for Monday 26th but the reservation was pending and then received an email to say the tour was a no-go but I could book for the 27th same booking procedure all over again...surely at time of my original request you would have known that Monday tour was not going to go? Is there not a way to show the tour is completely booked or not available on your web site. It would save a lot of hassle if customers could see the exact dates available. On our way to the tour operator. We met several other people who were waiting at the old travel office so went in to inquire. The employee was not happy and repeatedly told everyone that the office had moved the previous day and how she had to keep coming back to the old office because people didn't know etc. etc. Eventually we got on our bus tour of the city. It was OK, the guide was informative and the tour was given in both English and Spanish. The tour description said that we would have 2 hours after the bus tour by ourselves before going to El Prado - not so. We were immediately dropped off at El Prado where we met Manolo our guide. Skipping the line worked well and Manolo was a very good guide. It was great that we had a small group of only 6 so we were able to navigate the art and the crowds without too much trouble. Upon completion of the guided tour we were able to stay in the Prafo and have lunch and continue the visit by ourselves.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Spain1

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

The Prado was the highlight of this tour, but tour guide was sometimes surly and dismissive of our questions. For example she wouldn't tell us the location of the restrooms in the museum when we first arrived even though we had been on the bus city tour for an hour. Since there was no line when we arrived took the half day morning tour and audio tours were available, I would have probably gone on our own in future. Also, she didn't mention that the bus would not be returning to the tour office, which was near our hotel, and instead left us at the museum.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

SUZANNE O

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

The tour of the Prado was great, but a little too long. The morning tour of the city was totally expendable. The bus didn't stop anywhere and the guide would point out things that could not be seen. She'd say things like, if you'll look behind you, you'll see whatever. How are you going to do that if you're at the front of the bus???

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

penbreen

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

For 3 hours we drove around in circles. Not really seeing that much. There was a great deal of confusion prior to boarding the bus. There were 3 different groups on the bus - English, Italian and Spanish. The bus had approx. 40-45 people on board. Once in the Prado things improved greatly. Approx. 20 people on the Prado portion of the tour - far too many.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message