Madrid ATTRACTIONS See all

Royal Palace (Palacio Real)

The Palacio Real (or Royal Palace, also referred to as the Palacio de Oriente) is the lavish site of royal events, but is not home to the royal family (they have lived in the smaller Palacio de la Zarzuela for some time). The Palacio Real is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 331 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

MR S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A historical and cultural gem. Avoid the queues with the card. Visit the mercado San Miguel after for fantastic tapas, wines and gateaux.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

NancyFalanga

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Nice short tour of Madrid. Guide knowledgable and pleasant.

Doing what: Madrid Small-Group Walking Tour Including Royal Palace

Robert P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guides was great for the old town and see then passed us off to another guide who was also very good that toured the palace. First rate!

Doing what: Madrid Small-Group Walking Tour Including Royal Palace

Lisa T Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Palace was very picturesque on the outside and every room had its own expression of opulence and grandeur. We chose to visit in the evening to avoid the throng of tourists and two hours proved to be plenty of time to see everything on offer. It also gave us space to look at things of interest and to get some great photos of the forecourt and facade without too many people being in the shots. It is worth buying a book ahead ticket even though we had to walk some distance to the office on a nearby street to pick them up. Well worth a visit.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

Jess0725

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was a good way to get a quick overview of the city and to help acclimate to where things are located in case you want to go back. Enjoyed doing the Royal Palace tour as part of this tour as the line to get in the Royal Palace on your own can be quite long.

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Royal Palace Tour

Alan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great place to see. Only concern was that it took some time to find an office to collect our tickets , then to be told we could only collect from another Viator office which was still some distance from the Palace. It would have been easier to queue and buy on the day at the Palace!

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

mariaarenasfors

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great, the magnificent palace is unexpected. Highly recommend this tour. No photos allowed inside.

Doing what: Aranjuez Royal Palace Tour from Madrid

Abbie B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We enjoyed seeing the Royal Palace, it was quite magnificent. I was disappointed to find that we had paid for this tour and the day we scheduled to go was a free day for all museums in Madrid. We paid for a tour that was free. You should know and advise that this would be the case.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

queenie

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Royal Palace Tour

margie

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The bus tour was good and relaxing. The Palace tour was excellent!

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Royal Palace Tour

Brian R

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The palace is definitely worth the visit if you are in Madrid. The Palace isn't exactly as spectacular as other Spain highlights Alcazar, La Alhambra. The Madrid card works fine you just need to know you have to pick up the card before you go to the palace the info centre where you can pick up is only a couple blocks away.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

dlhcaldg

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The Madrid sight seeing tour was disappointing. We were trapped on a bus for 3 hours and the guide had to speak 3 different languages to accommodate the guests. I was very disappointed. However, the Royal Palace tour (which was the last 1.5 hours) was amazing.

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Royal Palace Tour

boswellfield

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

It was difficult to understand our tour guide on the bus, even though she spoke English. The ride was probably too long and it was loud. It was not easy to see the sights from the bus, but it was nice to stop and see the bullring and walk around a bit.

Doing what: Madrid Panoramic Tour with Royal Palace Entrance Ticket

Roman T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Hard to find ticket location and museum is free after 6pm.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

Hong Q

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

The palace was magnificent. The reason why I gave 2 stars is because the ticket we printed stated it can be used in the palace itself but when we went to the express lane the staffs there told us that we have to go walk 1.5 miles to an information centre to collect a tourist card in order to go in.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

hjc293

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Have to keep it short so sorry for the lack of details.

Tour giudes were excellent.

1st tour of 8pp- toured around plaza mayor for about 1.5 hrs. Tea break followed, which I think it was there to smoothly combine with the 2nd group of 20 other ppl. couldnt see some small rooms bc of too many ppl

Doing what: Madrid Small-Group Walking Tour Including Royal Palace

Nirav P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The Royal Palace was the first stop of my sightseeing day and I would highly recommend this to be your first spot. As you get closer to the palace, you start to see the sheer wealth and beauty of the largest palace in all of Europe. I rented the audio tour guide and it allowed you to go at your own pace and to truly understand the history and who were the key Kings and Queens that made Madrid what it is today.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

cookie2852

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Beautiful !

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

Carole C T

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Good tour in a comfortable bus. Some walking but not strenuous. Guides were informative and easy to understand in English and Spanish. The half day Toledo felt a bit rushed. I would recommend a full day. It is interesting and worth going even if only for a half day.

Doing what: Madrid Combo Tour: Toledo and Aranjuez Royal Palace Day Trip

NIGEL S United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

ok - guide could have sounded a little more interested in the topic

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Royal Palace Tour

Edward W

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Thought we would get out of bus more and actually see the sights.

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Royal Palace Tour

Sarah H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Too gorgeous to be real. Good signs throughout, but wish I'd taken the guided or audiotour for more background. Make sure you tour the Armory - it's huge. About 15 life-size horse models in full battle or parade gear with their mounted knights - in addition to rooms of amazing armor even for the toddler-size princes and battle-worthy or jewel-encrusted crossbows, swords,...

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

Heber S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The palace tour was very nice I've done it many times.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message