Madrid ATTRACTIONS See all

Royal Palace (Palacio Real)

The Palacio Real (or Royal Palace, also referred to as the Palacio de Oriente) is the lavish site of royal events, but is not home to the royal family (they have lived in the smaller Palacio de la Zarzuela for some time). The Palacio Real is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 308 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sarah H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Too gorgeous to be real. Good signs throughout, but wish I'd taken the guided or audiotour for more background. Make sure you tour the Armory - it's huge. About 15 life-size horse models in full battle or parade gear with their mounted knights - in addition to rooms of amazing armor even for the toddler-size princes and battle-worthy or jewel-encrusted crossbows, swords,...

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

Heber S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The palace tour was very nice I've done it many times.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

spittingfire

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Easy to find the pick up location as it was on the way to the Royal Palace and near Plaza Mayor.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

SILKE C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Great tour about 4 hrs Good tour guide for bus tour, but very rude tour guide for the palace who did not try to hide her dislike of the tourists. Didn't bother us too much, we just laughed it off.

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Royal Palace Tour

Darryl H

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Really enjoyed this tour. Wished the first guide could have taken us through the palace as well. She was very interesting to listen to.

Doing what: Madrid Small-Group Walking Tour including Royal Palace

Pia Anni P

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very nice tour. Our guide gave us lot of information in a funny way :-

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

madhu

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Madrid Palace is a must see on Madrid tour. The card was useful to avoid lines. I hated the fact that you had to walk all the way back to a different entrance to get audiophones. The audioguides are to be purchased by a different company which does not accept credit card and only accepts cash. Extremely inconvenient for a popular tourist destination. Apart from that the palace was incredible

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

caducastro Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Great tour. The palace was ok, but not allowed photos inside. I believe that you aren't allowed to tske photos for you to buy them in the gift shop. Our guide was ver nice and informative.

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Royal Palace Tour

Miriam W

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

For Madrid Sightseeing better use the Red Bus Hop-on Hop-off. Palace Tour was nice.

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Royal Palace Tour

Josephine H

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The palace is magnificent and really gives one a look into the period when the royal family occupied it. The city tour was comprehensive and the guide thorough in her commentary. The one negative is that I was under the impression this was an English only tour, and it was both English and Spanish. I find this really takes away from the tour because the bulk of the commentary is not understandable to the English speaking clients. The multi-language aspect should be advertised up front so that the consumer is aware.

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Royal Palace Tour

Robert S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

Was advertised as English tour. However, guide spoke both English and Spanish all day. Became very distracting.

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Royal Palace Tour

Caroline V

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

The tour brought us to many major highlights in a short amount of time, which we liked. However, our guide did not tell us very much about the sights. We would have liked to hear more about the history and context of the sights we visited -- not so much about there are many shops and restaurants.

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Royal Palace Tour

Heber S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

It's so inconvenient to have to go to only 3 locations to get a card. Specially if you are already in the city. there are two locations at the airport and one in the city. The location in the city opened so late and the rep was on the phone for 45 minutes. I wasted an two hours of my time. I would not recommend this.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

Karon P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent tour and guide with plenty of photo stops and it's always good to have a guide in the palace for all the extra info you find out

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Royal Palace Tour

Ted Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a great way to be introduced to Madrid. And the Royal Palace tour was a nice addition. I ended up returning to many of the sights we saw on the tour, just so that I could spend more time there.

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Royal Palace Tour

Ronda

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

This is definitely a must see when in Madrid!

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

Elizabeth T

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

It was so convenient to be able to bypass the queues, and the correct entrance was easy to find.
The tour was self guided, with no time restraints, so we were able to take as long as we liked to see everything - a big advantage as I am disabled.
A most interesting and enjoyable experience!

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

Coralie F

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Our self guided tour of the palace was worth the hassle of having to go out of our way to collect the tickets.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

Irene B

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

our guide was always rushing us.

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Royal Palace Tour

Lynette D Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great experience, the gardens were worth the visit despite recent storm damage and it was a value for money half day tour.

Doing what: Aranjuez Royal Palace Tour from Madrid

Brenda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour! Much better than visiting the Royal Palace and simply taking photos. Would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Royal Palace Tour

Petra T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

very educated guide and the royal palace is worthwhile. To be recommanded!

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Royal Palace Tour

Remedios E

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Good! I just wished that the group be concentrated with one language so time is not wasted in speaking in different languages. This comment applies to all tours!

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Royal Palace Tour

Kenneth D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour, highly recommend it.

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Royal Palace Tour

Kimberly K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

This tour was awful. The company that did the tour was disorganized and the tour guide was hard to understand and frustrating. The tour started with several different tours mixed together and then broker out the second half according to what you wanted to see. Our tour guide seemed disinterested in the topic and at one point left us behind. We had to scramble to try to reconnect with the bus. Could not get through to the tour company to let them know we got left behind. Will never use them again.

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Royal Palace Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message