Just 50 mi (80 km) north of Madrid, Segovia transports you back to a distant time in history. From its ancient Roman aqueduct to its 13th century castle, this city is full of symbols representing its inhabitants of the past.  Originally ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1019 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Magnificent historical places, Tour guide Carmen gave her best. Thank you so much.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Highly recommended. Our guide, Sylvia, was knowledgeable and patient. She took the time to explain everything in both Spanish and English without missing a beat. If you have time during your trip, I would strongly advise you to go on this tour.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic tour with wonderful and knowledgable guide! The churches are beautiful and fascinating to be in the room where St Teresa was born. History lovers will be thrilled to stand in the same room as Ferdinand and Isabel that launched Columbus's voyage!

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing tour, amazing guide, amazing places. Our guide (was a female guide, sorry I can't remember the name) was so incredible knowledgable. She filled us with history and interesting facts, about architecture and useful information. Definetly a tour that really worth it and made our trip to Spain more colorful and magic.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

My wife and I enjoyed the tour immensely

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Had a great time, would have enjoyed a little more time in Avila but with the locations being far from Madrid the time made sense. make sure if you go during cooler months dress warm as it is colder in the mountains of Avila and Segovia.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Excellent guide. Could not have done this much without a tour. Would have stayed longer on my own at each city, but the comfort was a good trade off/

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

If you are visiting Madrid and have a free day this is worth doing. If you have never been to Madrid before I would recommend spending the time exploring Madrid instead. They are both picturesque small villages with interesting cathedrals. the highlight is the aqueduct in Segovia and the panoramic view of Avila with the wall in full view. Some of the free time was almost too much. The villages are small and we found ourselves congregating and waiting. I would recommend not doing the optional lunch. The food was OK, but i found myself wishing I had been able to locate a restaurant on my own. I was traveling by myself and it was a little awkward to have to share a small table with a couple who did not speak any English during lunch.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

If you are visiting Madrid and have a free day this is worth doing. If you have never been to Madrid before I would recommend spending the time exploring Madrid instead. They are both picturesque small villages with interesting cathedrals. the highlight is the aqueduct in Segovia and the panoramic view of Avila with the wall in full view. Some of the free time was almost too much. The villages are small and we found ourselves congregating and waiting. I would recommend not doing the optional lunch. The food was OK, but i found myself wishing I had been able to locate a restaurant on my own. I was traveling by myself and it was a little awkward to have to share a small table with a couple who did not speak any English during lunch.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

This tour wasn't my favorite. I have been on a number of guided tours throughout the world and this was probably my least favorite of all. The aqueduct in Segovia was cool and the walls around Avila were also great but the overall tour and guide left a lot to be desired. There were way too many people and there wasn't a microphone so we couldn't hear the guide at times. Skip this one and do Toledo is my advice!!

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Definitely worth taking a day trip! Jorge, our guide, is very patient and knowledgable and explained so much about the sites we visited. The bus ride was a bit long, but I think worth taking time away from Madrid.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Avila, the walled city with cathedral and churches was impressive. Likewise in Segovia, the Alcazar, cathedral and Roman aqueduct was impressive. Enough free time to wonder around and have lunch in Segovia. Carmen our tour guide was good.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Grea tour highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This was an excellent day trip from Madrid. The time spent in each location was adequate. Both locations are quite impressive. The guide was knowledgeable and understandable. The tourist lunch was fairly good. The time to Avila and between locations allowed time for a quick power nap if you are still dealing with jet lag. Overall, excellent say trip and we would recommend.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

My sister and I did the full day tour of Avila and Segovia. (approx. 9 hours). We first stop at a rest stop near Avila where we were given the opportunity to take breathtaking photos of the city. Our tour guide Carmen was fluent in both English and Spanish and she thoroughly explains everything in both languages! After Avila, we headed to Segovia. We opted out on the lunch. I suggest you do as well because you will have about a whole hour to explore for yourself,shop,take pictures and even grab your own food. Both cities are absolutely beautiful and if Carmen is your tour guide,you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message