Just 50 mi (80 km) north of Madrid, Segovia transports you back to a distant time in history. From its ancient Roman aqueduct to its 13th century castle, this city is full of symbols representing its inhabitants of the past.  Originally ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1006 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Avila is a nice town with a beautiful and well preserved Medieval wall. Segovia is awesome with its Aqueduct. I didn't include lunch, but found a nice restaurant in Segovia, near the Plaza where the Basilica is located. You can shop while waiting for the tour during lunch (in Segovia, not in Avila). Both cities are far from Madrid (about an hour), so bring something to read or sleep while traveling. If you want to buy something in Avila do so prior to beginning the tour. The guide gives some time for bathrooms. The tour guide was very amicable and helpful. The bus was comfortable.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Amazing sights, unbelievable history. Guide was Professional, knowledge, passionate about the sights place in Spanish history meal great

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Our guide was knowledgeable and helpful. The bus was clean and convenient. This was an excellent visit to three locations. The only negative was that it was a bit rushed. I'd have liked some free time In Avila to walk the walls, but this as not possible if we were to make it to El Escorial.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

We enjoyed this tour. Isabella was our guide and she was easy to understand. One of the main reasons to go to Segovia is for the aqueduct and I felt like this was a little underplayed once we arrived there, though adequately described on the bus prior to our arrival. We opted to get lunch on our own and enjoyed a fantastic Italian meal at Il Tiempietta. I would've liked more free time to browse the town/shops on our own.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

The guide this day was ver good. Animated and although it was a long day she was indefatigable. We enjoyed the gastronomic lunch even though the restaurant was very busy the staff kept the food coming.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

The tour guide and the sites were fine. The luncheon (we took the more expensive option) was not only horrible, there was no difference in what we ate and what everyone else ate. The restaurant was barely habitable. It was very hot with low ceilings and no ventilation. The electricity went out and if you could have seen the overloaded extension cord you would know why. The tour company needs to get another restaurant or leave lunch out all together as there are plenty of restaurants in the immediate area. The major church was closed. The level of physical activity should be noted. It is not moderate. Even much younger tour members were exhausted from the climb and walk.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Tour was alright but would've liked to spend more time in the cities. I've taken day trips in the past, but this is a walking tour. Which means you hardly spend any time at any of the places.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

The tour was nice, the balloonist was a very nice guy, we expected to see more from Segovia from above,but this was just a Short experience,
I recommend the tour to everyone who hasn't done a balloontour yet
It's a nice experience and a good price for get balloon tour.

Doing what: Hot-Air Balloon Ride over Toledo or Segovia with Optional Transport from Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

The choice of sites and the organization of the trip was excellent. My husband and I experienced unique sites that were very memorable. We had never seen a Roman aqueduct in any of our travels. It was fun imagining what it would have been like to be there while it was under construction.
However, the guide did not attempt to interact with any of us and indeed when asked a question, was curt in not answering it. She seemed to have a scripted presentation for each stop and refused to deviate from the script.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

I am in agreement with my wife's evaluation. The mechanics of the trip were excellent. The sites, the bus, the meal were well planned and provided a unique experience.
The tour guide has room for improvement.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

The tour was too fast. The guide has no evident sign like an umbrella or something else to
identy her from far.

I have to say that the informations were good. Very severe accent in english.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Balkis A
Singapore

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

SPOILED BY HUMORLESS TOUR guide who has to
explain in 3 different languages.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Guide perfect

Amazing tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a terrific tour. Yes, Segovia, Avila and El Escorial in one day is a lot, and no, we didn't have much time to sit a savour Segovia or Avila. But, we did get to visit all three locations while on a short visit to Madrid, our guide was very knowledgeable, and our bus ride was very smooth. Segovia is wonderful. We went to see the aquaduct and were pleasantly surprised by the Alcazar. Avila was much more interesting than we expected: an medieval town complete with its walls in pristine condition. Escorial was pretty much what we expected, and well worth visiting. We did not go into the cathedrals in Segovia or Avila, but that was fine with us. We would certainly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful tour with excellent guide. A not to miss experience!

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message