Just 50 mi (80 km) north of Madrid, Segovia transports you back to a distant time in history. From its ancient Roman aqueduct to its 13th century castle, this city is full of symbols representing its inhabitants of the past.  Originally ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1009 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Definitely worth taking a day trip! Jorge, our guide, is very patient and knowledgable and explained so much about the sites we visited. The bus ride was a bit long, but I think worth taking time away from Madrid.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Avila, the walled city with cathedral and churches was impressive. Likewise in Segovia, the Alcazar, cathedral and Roman aqueduct was impressive. Enough free time to wonder around and have lunch in Segovia. Carmen our tour guide was good.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Grea tour highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This was an excellent day trip from Madrid. The time spent in each location was adequate. Both locations are quite impressive. The guide was knowledgeable and understandable. The tourist lunch was fairly good. The time to Avila and between locations allowed time for a quick power nap if you are still dealing with jet lag. Overall, excellent say trip and we would recommend.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

My sister and I did the full day tour of Avila and Segovia. (approx. 9 hours). We first stop at a rest stop near Avila where we were given the opportunity to take breathtaking photos of the city. Our tour guide Carmen was fluent in both English and Spanish and she thoroughly explains everything in both languages! After Avila, we headed to Segovia. We opted out on the lunch. I suggest you do as well because you will have about a whole hour to explore for yourself,shop,take pictures and even grab your own food. Both cities are absolutely beautiful and if Carmen is your tour guide,you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

I fell in love with Avila and Segovia! I'm a sucker for history and all its glory. If you are as well, then you'll enjoy this all day tour. Make sure to wear good walking shoes, as there will be a lot of it. On the good side, it's not a brisk walk. Many of us were able to stop, take pictures of the gorgeous scenery/facade/etc, and still manage to catch up to the tour guide. Well worth the money!

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

The Avila-Segovia tour was one of five tours I took during my recent trip to Spain. It was also the worst in terms of our tour guide. On each of the previous tours, two in Madrid and two in Barcelona, our tour guides divided their attention and explanations were split fairly and equally between Spanish and English speakers. However, on this tour, the last of the tour I took, our guide rudely ignored participants who were English speakers. When it was brought to her attention, she arrogantly stated that we would get our turn later. When that turn would come, the explanation of a sight was markedly shorter in English than it was in Spanish. Even on the ride to and from the tour sights, explanations about the scenery and other anecdotal information was imparted in Spanish and none AT ALL in English by this guide. VIATOR should remove this person from tours advertising that they are for English speakers because this tour guide refuses to respect that we paid for the service too. I took my tour to Avila and Segovia on January 4, 2015. The design of the trip by Viator was good. It was the service provided by this particular tour guide that was bad.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great way to see historic villages with excellent tour guide, comfy bus and so easy as a tourist. Just the right amount of time in Avila so that we could go to Segovia for lunch and more walking. I only had 1 day and I am very glad I chose this tour - would highly recommend to others. Good for children and any ages.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Thanks for a great tour!!! :-)

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

If you have the time in Madrid this is the ideal day tour. The city wall in Avila was very Impressive. Although the castle in Segovia was not original, it was good to visit a castle in good condition with amours on display and the view over the land was breathtaking. We loved the majestic Roman aqueduct most of all. We added the Segovian lunch and it was yummy. The lunch was in a very old but well maintained restaurant with excellent service so it was very special. All in all we loved the tour.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Tour was fine, however lots of confusion at the office, delayed departure. Have heard it is difficult to find English speaking tour guides in Spain. The tour guide was not real fluent or comfortable with the English. She gave long narratives for the Spanish speaking tourists, shortened versions to the English. Felt shortchanged.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Our Oct 22, 2014 day trip to Avila and Segovia itself was wonderful. Both are places one should not miss if one is staying in Madrid. The lady tour guide was far less than perfect. Yes, she would tell us the information as if she was reciting from a textbook. But after that, you're almost on your own. She would not care to answer your questions at all. In fact, she was on her cell phone very often when she was on the tour bus, talking about her own private matters. During our 15 minute (washroom) break, she would not tell us that there was a place very close by where we can take good photos of the Avila wall. I finally realized that other tours were going there and taking good and clear photos of the wall from a distance. I suspected we missed a lot of good stuff in this trip.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Really enjoyed seeing both towns. The downside of the tour was the guide. She only knew the information that was scripted for her. She could not answer questions! She lacked knowledge of both towns.
I would go back to both towns~ might try to get a local guide. Our guide also smoked when we were outside which seemed unusual to us.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

The cities themselves are phenomenal, but there isn't time to enjoy them as you move very quickly from place to place. I think you're better off going on your own and renting the audio guides as they provide more information. My primary issue was with one of the guides. My friend and I were 2 minutes late arriving the morning of our tour. Granted, it was our fault, but things happen. We arrived at the bus and the lead tour guide was very rude to us. She gave us a lecture about being late and then said she didn't want to let us on. We went back and forth and she finally called so done that apparently said to let us on, which took longer than the 2 minutes that we were late in the first place. Then when we were in Avila, they gave us 5 minutes to look around the farmers market (which is no time at all). My friend and someone else were buying fruit when it was time to move on so they were planning to catch up at the next stop down the street. We moved on so fast they ended up getting lost and when it was time to get back on the bus, I told the tour guides that we were missing 2 people. The lead tour guide once again make a big deal out of it and said to get on the bus because they weren't going to wait. I was on the phone with my friend at the time who was in a cab on the way to where we were and less than a mile away, but she wouldn't wait. They finally stopped at the Visitors Center after much debate, which again, took longer than if she would have waited a minute or two for their cab to get there in the first place. While we were waiting, she came back to my seat, made a huge scene and lectured me about them getting lost and how we're making 50 people wait on them. I get it that they shouldn't have stayed at the market longer, but it was absolutely humiliating to be lectured like that in front of the entire bus for something that I had nothing to do with. I won't be using this company in the future.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message