Just 50 mi (80 km) north of Madrid, Segovia transports you back to a distant time in history. From its ancient Roman aqueduct to its 13th century castle, this city is full of symbols representing its inhabitants of the past.  Originally ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1007 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great way to see historic villages with excellent tour guide, comfy bus and so easy as a tourist. Just the right amount of time in Avila so that we could go to Segovia for lunch and more walking. I only had 1 day and I am very glad I chose this tour - would highly recommend to others. Good for children and any ages.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Tour was fine, however lots of confusion at the office, delayed departure. Have heard it is difficult to find English speaking tour guides in Spain. The tour guide was not real fluent or comfortable with the English. She gave long narratives for the Spanish speaking tourists, shortened versions to the English. Felt shortchanged.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Our Oct 22, 2014 day trip to Avila and Segovia itself was wonderful. Both are places one should not miss if one is staying in Madrid. The lady tour guide was far less than perfect. Yes, she would tell us the information as if she was reciting from a textbook. But after that, you're almost on your own. She would not care to answer your questions at all. In fact, she was on her cell phone very often when she was on the tour bus, talking about her own private matters. During our 15 minute (washroom) break, she would not tell us that there was a place very close by where we can take good photos of the Avila wall. I finally realized that other tours were going there and taking good and clear photos of the wall from a distance. I suspected we missed a lot of good stuff in this trip.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Really enjoyed seeing both towns. The downside of the tour was the guide. She only knew the information that was scripted for her. She could not answer questions! She lacked knowledge of both towns.
I would go back to both towns~ might try to get a local guide. Our guide also smoked when we were outside which seemed unusual to us.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Really enjoyed seeing both towns. The downside of the tour was the guide. She only knew the information that was scripted for her. She could not answer questions! She lacked knowledge of both towns.
I would go back to both towns~ might try to get a local guide. Our guide also smoked when we were outside which seemed unusual to us.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Really enjoyed seeing both towns. The downside of the tour was the guide. She only knew the information that was scripted for her. She could not answer questions! She lacked knowledge of both towns.
I would go back to both towns~ might try to get a local guide. Our guide also smoked when we were outside which seemed unusual to us.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

The cities themselves are phenomenal, but there isn't time to enjoy them as you move very quickly from place to place. I think you're better off going on your own and renting the audio guides as they provide more information. My primary issue was with one of the guides. My friend and I were 2 minutes late arriving the morning of our tour. Granted, it was our fault, but things happen. We arrived at the bus and the lead tour guide was very rude to us. She gave us a lecture about being late and then said she didn't want to let us on. We went back and forth and she finally called so done that apparently said to let us on, which took longer than the 2 minutes that we were late in the first place. Then when we were in Avila, they gave us 5 minutes to look around the farmers market (which is no time at all). My friend and someone else were buying fruit when it was time to move on so they were planning to catch up at the next stop down the street. We moved on so fast they ended up getting lost and when it was time to get back on the bus, I told the tour guides that we were missing 2 people. The lead tour guide once again make a big deal out of it and said to get on the bus because they weren't going to wait. I was on the phone with my friend at the time who was in a cab on the way to where we were and less than a mile away, but she wouldn't wait. They finally stopped at the Visitors Center after much debate, which again, took longer than if she would have waited a minute or two for their cab to get there in the first place. While we were waiting, she came back to my seat, made a huge scene and lectured me about them getting lost and how we're making 50 people wait on them. I get it that they shouldn't have stayed at the market longer, but it was absolutely humiliating to be lectured like that in front of the entire bus for something that I had nothing to do with. I won't be using this company in the future.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great interesting tour.Carmen spoke in both English and Spanish and was very personable and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was great and very good value for money. Very interesting and well organised. Guide, Carmen, was excellent.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

J T
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The guide was interested in informing the group and was a good communicator. We enjoyed the tour a lot.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a great time, great guides, knew all the local info and the bus was comfy.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide was extremely knowledgable and welcomed questions.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing walls and history...:)

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Enjoyed this tour very much. Full day with many things to see and experience

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message