Just 50 mi (80 km) north of Madrid, Segovia transports you back to a distant time in history. From its ancient Roman aqueduct to its 13th century castle, this city is full of symbols representing its inhabitants of the past.  Originally ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1054 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A long day from Madrid so this was a better option than taking public transport. Avila was more interesting than I expected an Segovia was everything I expected. An English/Spanish speaking guide who's voice was struggling at the end after all of his talking but we enjoyed his speeches very much.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A long day from Madrid so this was a better option than taking public transport. Avila was more interesting than I expected an Segovia was everything I expected. An English/Spanish speaking guide who's voice was struggling at the end after all of his talking but we enjoyed his speeches very much.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We booked easily via internet once in country and easily found tour operator office with phone call for directions. Tour operator was very professional, clean, safe, modern coaches and great bilingual tour guide. Avila and Segovia were both worth the effort of getting to them.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Segovia is absolutely magical and well worth the trip from the imposing aqueduct to the soaring castle. Our guide, Juan, was the same guide we had for the tour of Toledo and extremely knowledgeable. He kept us at a good pace and ensured we saw and became familiar with the history of all the key sights, including the castle. Don't miss the suckling pig!

Doing what: Private Tour: Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Ana was a terrific guide and was so knowledgable. We thoroughly enjoyed the day and would recommend it to friends

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is a great tour and a must if visiting Madrid. When we did the tour there was only 4 of us and Martha our guide was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable. She spoke excellent English and made the tour enjoyable.
Segovia and Pedraza are both very beautiful towns and highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Pedraza and Segovia Tour from Madrid

Meisam
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I am glad we did this tour during our stay in Madrid. It gives you idea about Spain history and how this country united in 15 century. Drive was not long, and our tour guide was explaining the history and main attractions while we were driving from one point to the other.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It was a wonderful trip and Marta was a warm friendly guide.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Lee V
United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Tour guide was very knowledgeable and took his time to explain things in different languages, he talked when needed and kept quiet when necessary. My only suggestion is that after lunch in Segovia the tour allowed more shopping time in the city and got to discover the many local treasures.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Overall, this was a good tour. We saw a lot of sights in a short amount of time. Unfortunately, we weren't able to see much of the aqueducts at Segovia and the tour guide didn't tell us that we weren't coming back to them, so that was a small disappointment. Otherwise, would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Very good. Avila a little difficult as it was Sunday and churches closed. Segovia was great. Good tour guide

Recommend this tour

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The bus tour was good all round. I felt we should have been given some more time in the churches and cathedral of Avila and Segovia. The beautiful Segovia cathedral visit was quite rushed, not giving enough time to admire and appreciate the beautiful interiors.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Avila I could have done without it. The best part of going to Avila is seeing the wall city which is impressive. But the tour took us inside the wall city and that is where we saw very little 2 churches and the place St. Theresa of Avila was suppose to have been born at. Only stayed in Avila for about 1 hour... too little time and too little to see there. The wall part of the city is worth 5 stars but the inside for me is worth only 2 stars.
Segovia is a 5 star place to see. The Roman aqueduct there is amazing beautiful, which has survived over 1000 years already. We had more time there than in Avila.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

A great day trip and lovely lunch too! My only criticism would be, that for some of the tourists there was probably too much walking.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

mollyzr1
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This was my second time on this tour. It is an awesome day tour from Madrid. We did lunch on our own because if you eat with the group there's not enough time to check out the aquaduct and climb the steps to the top--which is spectacular. We had an hour and a half on our own, climbed to the top, took pix, and had a nice lunch at a cafe/bar, and had no trouble reconnecting with our group to visit the Cathedral and the Alcazar. The only reason it's getting 4 stars instead of 5 is that we were not allowed to go into the Convent of St. Teresa de Jesus in Ávila, which is supposed to be part of the tour, because mass was running long. We would not have minded returning to Madrid later in order to have waited to see the church, but the group was not asked.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Very informative guide. Assembly point for the start of the tour was the only negative since the place was packed with people with no toilet facilities. Opted for the gastronomic lunch which was very heavy.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Avila and Segovia were wonderful, the tour operator and the gourmet surcharge left alot to be desired. The check-in was one of the rudest unprofessional experiences we have encountered. My wife and I have done 4 viator tours in the last year and they have all been wonderful. Can't say that about this one. I didn't let it ruin my trip, but when we return to Madrid, we definitely will not be using this tour company. The actual tour guide was OK, efficient, but not overly friendly. Seemed as though the english speakers got the cold shoulder while the spanish speakers were greeted more warmly. I gave the tour 3 stars because the locations merit 5 but the tour operator and guide would probably rate a 2.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

These were both beautiful cities and we enjoyed visiting them but it was apparent from the little Spanish we know that the information provided in English was much less than in Spanish. We would have liked to learn more about the cities and sites visited.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Highly rec booking an English-only tour next time. We left Madrid late as we were waiting for others, which resulted in feeling rushed in Segovia. Our guide, Isabel, spoke more Spanish than she gave English translations, and she became argumentative and sassy when asked to speak more English. D-.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great Tour!
Great prepaid Lunch and Service!

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Segovia is not to be missed

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was organized and highly recommended! My daughter and I enjoyed the trip! Our tour guide's knowledge about the history of Segovia and Avila helped us in appreciating the rich history of the 2 places. We loved the lunch served in a Segovian restaurant especially the soup and conchinillo.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I enjoyed the tour to Avila and Segovia. The guide was knowledgeable and shared the same information for English- and Spanish-speaking guests. We spent a good amount of time in each city and saw some of the most important aspects of each town. I would recommend the experience to those who wish to visit these cities.

Me gustó el tour de Ávila y Segovia. La guía sabía mucho sobre las ciudades y nos contó la misma información en inglés y español. En el tour vimos algunos de los aspectos más importantes en cada ciudad. Yo recomendaría este tour.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message