Toledo, just 44 mi (70 km) south of Madrid, is the former capital of Spain and is known as "the city of three cultures". Inhabited by everyone from the Romans to the Christians, Toledo has served as a homebase for each of its conquerors. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1859 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

The trip cover only few of the sights but the guide was worthwhile. Overall you can do good either on your own on coming again to spend some time lost in Toledo narrow streets and endless gift shop. The actual site seeing was about 4 hours of the 8 hour trip. The most upsetting part was a visit to an overpriced gift shop with a little choice. Because of this visit where I hoped to buy made on site Damascene jewellery I missed all the other gift shops. Also was very disappointed a refusal by Julia travel to give me a ride to Toledo so I can by some Damascene jewellery for my wife as I missed an opportunity relying on the suggested gift shop. Instead I was offered to by a half day excursion for 55 euro while train trip to Toledo cost about 24 euro including Toledo's bus. The bottom line - if you take this tour plan another trip to Toledo on your own or skip their lunch and stay behind to enjoy Toledo and its museums they will only take you to 4 sites worth about 20euro entrance fees and amazing shops and take train to Madrid with Toledo's bus about 12 euro. You may need to buy the train ticket in advance from Attaches train station.

Doing what: Toledo Half-Day or Full-Day Trip from Madrid

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

We loved Toledo but wished that we would have just gone on our own. It was nice to take a bus into town and to have a tour of the Cathedral but that was about it. Also, the Toledo pass was not as helpful as we had thought. We are so glad that we didn't purchase with the lunch as that would have been a total loss. Save yourself some change and enjoy Toledo on your own. It is well worth a visit!

Doing what: Independent Toledo Day Trip: Toledo Card and High-Speed Train Transport from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was excellent and saved me a lot of planning. It took me to places that were fabulous and that I would not have known to see: the Moskita in Cordoba, the Alcazar in Seville, and of course the Alhambra. The people were terrific and most of the tour guides were excellent. The hotels were excellent first tier hotels. The only negatives: The buses should have toilets, and they could use more leg room between seats. The food at the Melia in Seville was pretty bad but at the Melia in Granada, it was excellent.

Doing what: 4-Day Spain Tour: Cordoba, Seville and Granada from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fun tour. Stayed at the 4 star hotels. They were good. Wish we had more time in Toledo. Our guide and driver were fantastic. Will definitely be going on more tours. Would recommend to all my friends.

Doing what: 5-Day Spain Tour: Seville, Cordoba, Toledo, Ronda, Costa del Sol and Granada from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was fantastic! We would have never seen so many interesting and beautiful places on our own in 4 days. Our guide Josef was experienced, knowledgeable and funny. Our driver Miquel made sure we got everywhere safe and on time.
Hotels were nice. Food good and plenty to choose from. We did not purchase any extra activities but used our free time to explore more on our own. We even had a chance to sit by the rooftop pool in a hotel in Seville after all day walking. We highly recommend this tour if you are time constrained. Next time we would continue all the way to Barcelona as they have a longer tour option as well.

Doing what: 4-Day Spain Tour: Cordoba, Seville and Granada from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Nuria was a wonderful guide. She told us information and made it sound like she was telling it for the first time-with interest.
Toledo is a location I would highly recommend. I am especially glad we had a guide because of so many winding streets.

Doing what: Toledo Half-Day or Full-Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was wonderful and the gift shop at the end was the best part.

Doing what: Toledo Half-Day or Full-Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The guide for El Escorial Monastery, Nuria, was very knowledgeable about the place, I would say the same for Ana at Toledo. Both had very good English . Both places were wonderful, a must to visit while in Madrid. I wish they could give you a little more time at la Cruz de los caidos and Toledo. The lunch was not so good though. The office organization at the beginning of the tour is a little bit chaotic and crowded. Be aware of that.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide was exceptional and very patient with us. I loved it. It was my second time in Toledo and I learned more this time. Thank you.

Doing what: Toledo Half-Day or Full-Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour of Toledo was fun and informative. Our guide was great speaking in both English and Spanish.

Doing what: Toledo Half-Day or Full-Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very informative and friendly guides on both parts of the tour. You get to see a lot in one day.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

Susan A
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a very good tour and a great opportunity to see beautiful Toledo with limited time available. We opted for the half day so were not able to visit the Cathedral other than to see it from the outside. The bus trip of an hour was very comfy and the 2h 30 minute walking tour of Toledo was most enjoyable covering the main sights with our good guide, the Old Town with its charming alleys and buildings is so pretty and the highlight was surely seeing El Greco's masterpiece. Sadly we werent offered any free time to wander or shop in town, but rather taken to a typical ''tourist shop out of town for 30 mins which lacked any character or authenticity and that was the only opportunity to buy a souvenir and Marzipan from a very limited range which Toledo is famous for. We would much rather have had 30mins free time in the Old Town. The trip back was very comfy and in all it was a great tour and highly recommended. If time permits the full day tour would be highly desirable.

Doing what: Toledo Half-Day or Full-Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This trip was good beyond our expectations! Our tour guide, Enrique was incredible, providing us with knowledge of Tarragona and Sitges in a very understandable way and without boring us with details nobody wants to hear. He also recommended us things to do in our free time, and all his recommendations were fantastic! I would recommend this trip to anyone, and ask for Enrique the writer to be your tour guide!

Doing what: Toledo Half-Day or Full-Day Trip from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The trip was well worth it. We saw many interesting things in the 5 days due to the good planning and organization of the tour. We stayed in the non-luxury hotel and it was just as good as the luxury one, so save some money and stay in the normal hotel. Food was fine. Bus was comfortable and driver capable and friendly. Plenty of needed free time allowed. We used some of that time to pay for added side trips, such as to a Roma event. One thing that could have been an extra benefit was guidance on the many activities during Holy Week, as we were there then and saw the preparations, but did not connect with the activities.

Doing what: 5-Day Spain Tour: Seville, Cordoba, Toledo, Ronda, Costa del Sol and Granada from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Marta was an excellent tour guide. Toledo is a beautiful old city and we highly recommend seeing it if you are going to Madrid. Only down side was the lunch traditional lunch. The service was poor and the food wasn't that good compared to other food we ate in Spain.

Doing what: Toledo Half-Day or Full-Day Trip from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Somewhat difficult to understand the bilingual guide. Also, took extra time, as this was a bilingual tour, not only in English. We could have done without the souvenir stops, and spent some more time at some of the sites. At half a day, it was a good overview of Toledo, but not educational enough.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: Toledo Half-Day Trip and Panoramic Madrid Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Nive tour but too much time spent on church.

Doing what: Toledo Half-Day or Full-Day Trip from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This trip is worth doing because Toledo is a beautiful little town in the mountains. Its a shopping haven for those who enjoy street shopping for cute little leather bags, hats, caps and other accessories. Actually you need to stay there for a night to really soak in this beautiful little hamlet. I would recommend taking the last train back home as you need one full day to see this place on foot. Its quite hilly so do take your walking shoes and lots of water. The guide was a graceful lady who was very helpful and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Independent Toledo Day Trip: Toledo Card and High-Speed Train Transport from Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Need at list a day there!, some many things I missed!

Doing what: 5-Day Spain Tour: Seville, Cordoba, Toledo, Ronda, Costa del Sol and Granada from Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Escorial is very okay....Valley of the Fallen is more interesting. Toledo should be covered in a whole day trip.....many picture-postcard sights are not covered in the half day tour. One does not get time to absorb the subtleties in just half a day.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The bus driver was fantastic. The local tour guide in Seville was factual and interesting. This tour was advertised as an English language tour with an English guide. It was actually a Spanish/ English tour with a guide whose translation skills weren't that great. She is fortunate that she had some very tolerant travellers with her. The guide in Cordoba was okay and so was the guide at the Alhmabra. The accommodations were not what was advertised.

Doing what: 4-Day Spain Tour: Cordoba, Seville and Granada from Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

You do get to see a lot in this four day tour, but a lot of time is wasted on the bus. If you want something easy with little planning required on your part, I would recommend this tour. However, with a little effort, you can take the train which will be much nicer and also give you more time in each city.

Doing what: 4-Day Spain Tour: Cordoba, Seville and Granada from Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

El Escorial and Valley of the Fallen was an excellent tour. The guide was very good and Spanish Royalty made it easy to be interesting. The Valley of the Fallen was amazing. No guide needed. The Toledo day trip left something to be desired. The guide was very hard to hear and the places we saw were somewhat superficial including a video show. We weren't able to go in the Basilica. I might recommend the all day tour except that it was 41C.

I will add last one comment. It's a zoo first thing in the morning when all the tours are going out. The guides do a very poor job organizing their tours. There are no signs and they aren't very loud. God forbid you go into the coffee shop to get a drink while you wait for the guide to show up.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

I'd not recommend this tour for two reasons: we went in the morning to El Escorial then came back to Madrid for lunch. At 3pm we left Madrid again for Toledo. The selected restaurant in Madrid was not very good. We didn't eat much. Coming back to Madrid was the waste of time. I wish that we could continue to Toledo and had lunch at Toledo so that we could have more time in Toledo. The second issue is that the tour guide for El Escorial was terrible, unfriendly, and you could tell he didn't like his job.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message