Madrid ATTRACTIONS See all

Valley of the Fallen (Valle de los Caídos)

A striking monument to those who lost their lives during the Spanish Civil War, the Valley of the Fallen, or Valle de Los Caidos, is a poignant dedication to the 40,000 victims whose remains lie buried beneath. The immense structure features a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 614 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very conveninet. Free entry to almost all museums...Rolay palace was amazing and also Prado

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The guide for El Escorial Monastery, Nuria, was very knowledgeable about the place, I would say the same for Ana at Toledo. Both had very good English . Both places were wonderful, a must to visit while in Madrid. I wish they could give you a little more time at la Cruz de los caidos and Toledo. The lunch was not so good though. The office organization at the beginning of the tour is a little bit chaotic and crowded. Be aware of that.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was excellent. The location was convenient and easy to find. The bus was very comfortable. The tour guide was excellent. Well educated, friendly, helpful. We had a wonderful time. Hard to imagine visiting Madrid without experiencing this monument. No better way to do it.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very informative and friendly guides on both parts of the tour. You get to see a lot in one day.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

So much history!!!! I learned a great deal about the Spanish Civil War.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent my highlight of trip to Madrid

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It is a must if you are traveling to Madrid. Wity it comes a book which helped a great deal in locating all the "must see" attractions of madrid. Plus you get to skip al the lines and never worry about money during your trip.

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great value!!!

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. Learnt so much more about El Escorial. Would have been nice to have a little more 'free' time after the tour of the monastery. Valley of the Fallen moving, as always. Excellent, knowledgeable guide and good clean transport.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great city and great pass to ease getting around and into places. Office 2 minute walk from puerto del sol. Only thing it doesn't include is the hop on hop off bus. But it's only 25euro extra. Definitely worth it!

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Enjoyed both parts of the Escorial and
Valley of the Fallen tours. We did tack on the 3 hour tour of Madrid in the afternoon. That was not as good as the hop off and on tours

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Well worth doing. Excellent guide and informative. Franco's basilica at Valley of the Fallen very disturbing but a must see. Hard to imagine that people actually worship in this austere forbidding environment. Would be a much too long day to add Toledo onto the afternoon.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It is very good

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It was everything it promised. We purchased the lunch, and we were pleasantly surprised! Yum!

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great day with just the right amount of time. Both guides were very good, especially Nuria.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This is a trip worth taking. You can see the enormous cross on the mountain at the Valley of the Fallen from a great distance, and the basilica is built into the mountain and very unique. Our guide was Claudia, and she had Spanish, English, and French tourists to keep informed. She handled it like the professional she is and could go from Spanish to English to French without hesitation. This trip also included the El Escorial Monastery, which is still in use as a monastery and a school. The highlight there was the room where the former kings and queens of Spain are laid to rest though the entire tour was enlightening and enjoyable.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour guides were excellent. Pacing of tour and information presented was to the point, and extremely interesting. Both guides were approachable for questions.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Didn't have much time to use card (took a 4 day tour) but the bull fighting arena was enjoyable and practically gave us our money's worth from the card. We were also able to see several other sights.

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide, Sofia, was extremely knowledgeable and brought the history to life. She let us know what was coming up and how long each part of the tour would take. I highly recommend this tour to others and only wish we had more time in Madrid to take another one!

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message