• USD ($)
  • English

Madrid ATTRACTIONS See all

Valley of the Fallen (Valle de los Caídos)

A striking monument to those who lost their lives during the Spanish Civil War, the Valley of the Fallen, or Valle de Los Caidos, is a poignant dedication to the 40,000 victims whose remains lie buried beneath. The immense structure features a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 444 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour.It was pouring with rain but it didn't dampen our spirits too much.The monastery was the first stop and on the way we were able to see the huge cross that dominates the Valley of the Fallen.The. Monastery is a huge beautiful building.One third is a working monastery and another third is a private school.The guide explained the main features of the main rooms of the former palace.The bus parks in the main bus station so you can have a quick pit stop on the way back as there is a bakery nearby if you need to grab a snack.On to the valley of the Fallen.
Cross shrouded in cloud-it was an awful day like I said.
Awesome building.Definitelty makes you think, but so glad to see it.Ive read about it in books and novels but to see it in the flesh was amazing.
,

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Well worthwhile. All went like clockwork. Franco's tomb was chillingly awesome and the valley had the same dark presence that pervades Glencoe.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was wonderful - the tour guide Sofia was excellent - would highly recommend.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Spanish contemporary history in beatiful mountain surroundings

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The monastery is breathtaking, and the Valley of the Fallen (which I had never heard of before going there) is a unique sight. Well worth it.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Good value ! but if want to spend more time in Toledo take a separate tour

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Its very useful, and can get to almost all important places for free and skip the lines. I liked it and would recommend it if you are visiting many places in Madrid.

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I purchased my viator card here in UK, and found it very useful when in Madrid - as I wanted to visit the museums. I wry much enjoyed my visit to Madrid, so much to see and the people were so friendly.

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very well organized and good coverage of subject matter. However, the guide could be more friendly. Although she knew her subject, she has a "I do not care for you" attitude. When she collected us from the tour office, she just announced the tour quickly and quickly turned around and went out and left a number of us wondering if it is the tour for us.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I am usually wary of tour companies that are advertised everywhere. But I took my chance and boy was I in for a surprise. People told me:"you can't do La Escorial, valley of the fallen and Toledo in one day?" But Viator did it. Excellent guide, fantastic service and great people. Would so do it again!

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was we worth the money for the convienve and covered so much of what we wanted to see.

Doing what: Madrid Card

Erickson M
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I absolutely loved this tour! El Escorial Monastery houses the tombs of most of Spain's Royal Family. While the Valley of the Fallen had a Basilica carved inside a mountain. Reminds you of the statues of Gondor in Lord of the Rings. It's quite mind-blowing what people can build. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery, Valley of the Fallen and Panoramic Madrid Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A great trip; morning Escoreal and Valle de los Caides, afternoon Toledo. A little pity: the two hour lunchstop in Madrid. Better would be directly from Valle de los Caides to Toledo and have the lunch for overweighted tourists there. We would have had two more hours for sightseeing in Toledo.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message