• USD ($)
  • English

Madrid ATTRACTIONS See all

Valley of the Fallen (Valle de los Caídos)

A striking monument to those who lost their lives during the Spanish Civil War, the Valley of the Fallen, or Valle de Los Caidos, is a poignant dedication to the 40,000 victims whose remains lie buried beneath. The immense structure features a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 480 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour guide was very kind and knowledgeful

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Jorge was an excellent guide. Very patient with his English-speaking visitors such as us. Thank you! He did a wonderful job addressing the very delicate and sensitive subject of the Civil War, during our visit to Valley of the Fallen - respectful, informative. Escorial was magnificent, we learned a great while simply enjoying this incredible place. A visitor to Madrid really should see these places, and Viator did a great job for us. I hope we get to visit Spain again.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent benefits to skip the line on the attractions and the hop-on hop-off.

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had an excellent guide who gave the tour in both English and Spanish. We felt as though we got so much out of this tour since we had a guide showing us where to go, with both admission fees and transportation included. Such a great value for a wonderful tour!

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was surprising how well the "priority" status worked at the museums and the Royal Palace. We were glad we purchased this.

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Mainly we wish we had more time, particularly at the Valley of the Fallen. We happened to visit on Sunday of Corpus Christi so enjoyed part of the mass, but it limited the time inside the basilica.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was very moving! The tour guide was very professional and informative. Highly reccomended!

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

So happy I did these tours. Each was a significant addition to understanding the Spanish culture and history.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Way to beat the crowd in certain attractions.

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Escorial and the Valley of the fallen were amazing. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

excellent value for money. I spent lots of time in the Prado and also in the thyssen.

Doing what: Madrid Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent tour with excellent guides. The only negative is it isn't long enough. Another hour would have helped

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

It was excellent, really good, highly recomended

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Highly recommend this tour - we learnt so much Spanish history. The monastery is very austere in parts and ornate in others. It is amazing to learn that all the kings and queens of Spain are entombed here. Have a coffee and croissant in the little café. Delicious! The Valley of the Fallen is definitely worth a visit. It is certainly not a happy place but it gives you such an insight into the Franco regime in Spain.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message