Perhaps one of the best advantages of Madrid is its location smack dab in the center of the Spain: this means that if you head in just about any direction, you'll come upon a worthwhile day-trip destination. With so many options to choose from, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 166 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful day trip and comprehensive tour of Toledo. Our group was split into English and Spanish speaking members and our guide's English was excellent. She took the time to explain what we were seeing, the history and other details you wouldn't get if visiting the city on your own. I opted for the traditional lunch which was a bit heavy for a midday meal. It would recommend doing the tour without the lunch included. Definitely worth taking if visiting Toledo for the first time.

Doing what: Toledo Half-Day or Full-Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wonderful day trip from Madrid. Avila's fortress walls were impressive and I learned about St. Teresa and the martyrs Vicente , Sabina, and Cristeta. The walk through the town was nice.
Segovia was fantastic! We walked upto the Roman aqueduct to marvel at the scale and skill of the builders. Then, we had the lunch featuring the famous bean soup and roast suckling pig. It was topped with a nice Rioja wine. Then, it was onto the beautiful Segovia Cathedral just off the Plaza Mayor. As the last Gothic style cathedral in Spain, it had a great blend of styles inside.
Lastly, we went to the Alcazar - said to have inspired Disney and his princess castles. As you walk through the garden, the views of the surrounding areas are awesome. Finally, the castle appears and you are impressed with its beauty and its stature. I can see why this was a favorite castle for the kings of Castile and Leon.
All in all - a great visit for history and architecture buffs.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Avila and Segovia are beautiful cities so this is a day trip not to be missed. I recommend opting out of the lunch option as you will have some free time to explore on your own. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from in Segovia where you can have delicious cochinillo (roasted suckling pig).

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

My husband and I took this tour just last Sunday. We both recommend this day trip from Madrid to visit the medieval walled city of Avila and the 2,000 year old aqueduct in Segovia. The wall around Avila looks like it was built in this century because it is so pristine. You will be amazed by the 100-foot high aqueduct that is still standing even though no mortar was used to hold the stones together. Because it was a Sunday and services were in progress, we were only able to step inside for a peek at several beautiful churches in these two cities.
We opted for the gastronomic lunch in Segovia but we do not recommend that visitors do that. The food was okay and the server was a bit rude, but stopping for this meal left us no time to enjoy the festivities in the plaza, shop for souvenirs, or visit the cathedral because we had to rush to be on time to the meeting point at the Alcazar (a fortress/castle that looks like it was plucked from Disneyland and set down in Spain). We suggest that you bring along some hearty snacks and treat yourself to a nice dinner or yummy tapas and sangria at the Mercado de San Miguel when you return to Madrid.
The people at the tour operator were well organized and handled our transaction very smoothly. When they gave us our tickets, they told us to wait right there in the waiting room, which was already getting crowded and stuffy. We asked if we could wait outside and were given the okay. Maybe that should be part of their instructions as I believe a lot of people stayed inside for fear of missing the call for their bus.
Our guide, Nuria, deserves 6 stars. She was friendly and informative. She shared interesting information in English and Spanish along the way and at the many stops as we walked through the towns. She went above and beyond to help us find a store to buy a replacement media card for our camera by having the bus driver drop us off across from El Corte Ingles that was near our apartment. (Thank you again, Nuria! :o)

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The trip was excellent. Although I was the sole English-only speaking person in the group, the tour guide explained everything in both languages so I enjoyed the trip. I will highly recommend to take full day trip to Toledo as going there without a visit to the cathedral is such a shame.

Doing what: Toledo Half-Day or Full-Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great tour to Toledo. Our guide was very knowledgeable. We needed the full day to see Toledo. Learn more on a tour than you can on your own, plus more relaxing. Toledo is a must see, only an hour from Madrid and full of history. We did lunch on our own which gave us more time to explore. This is the best one day trip from Madrid.

Doing what: Toledo Half-Day or Full-Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A day trip from Madrid is a must for me. Avila and Segovia are absolutely excellent choice.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour was informative and well-designed. Unfortunately, we had rain but it was still terrific. If anyone has a handicapped friend, note that there is LOTS of walking on cobblestone streets with very little support for the infirm. We did the all day trip which is not necessary as the last stop after lunch is not much. However, the highlight of the day was our lunch on our own and we discovered a bakery that was superb!! Had we done the 1/2 day, we would not have had the FUN of being on our own in Toledo!!

Doing what: Toledo Half-Day or Full-Day Trip from Madrid

JL
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The Full Day trip was excellent, with a very knowledgeable guide. We visited and entered many sites. A beautiful city is Toledo and not to be missed. The lunch could have been better, too much food and it was overcooked, the entrée was excellent. Excellent value for the full day tour, would highly recommend.

Doing what: Toledo Half-Day or Full-Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was definitely my favorite tour by Julia Travels. Jorge, our guide, did an excellent job at explaining each and every building and/or street and gave a personal insight into Spanish history, such as the Catholic-Moorish conflicts. The tour brings you back hundreds of years (if you listen!) and overloads you with so much history that you feel like an expert when it comes to "Avila y Segovia". If you are in Madrid, then you must take this tour. No other close-distance day trip from Madrid can beat the wonders of these two small cities.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Everything about this day trip was great. Could not fault and was good value for money. To see the cathedrals, the castle, and the roman aqueduct in real life was amazing. I learnt so much about the history from our guide - she spoke English really well and had so much information to share. Great.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Excellent tour with a very professional guide. Her neme Nuria. No hesitation in recommending the full-day trip. Nuria showed us everything of importance including the best of the "Greco" its name "El entierro del Conde de Orgaz. Well worth to take this tour. The lunch at a restaurant at the Cigarral area was excellent. Her english was one of the best I have heard from a tour guide. I really enjoyned this tour.

Doing what: Toledo Half-Day or Full-Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

An excellent tour with a brilliant multi-lingual guide. Showed us everything of importance and left some ideas for a subsequent visit in our own time. An excellent lunch to finish off the morning followed by a bus trip to avoid the worst heat of the day. No hesitation in recommending the full-day trip.

Doing what: Toledo Half-Day or Full-Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We took the full day trip to Toledo, The guide was great and made our trip fun and enjoyable.

Doing what: Toledo Half-Day or Full-Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a great day trip. Everything was smooth and made easy, so that we could concentrate on seeing and enjoying Toledo. Our guide was very knowledgeable, and Toledo was just fascinating. We seemed to spend just the right amount of time at each one of our stops, and we covered a lot of ground in less than a day. The "tipica" lunch was a total delight too - going just outside the city to such a lovely place.

Doing what: Toledo Half-Day or Full-Day Trip from Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message