Mounds of colorful seafood paella served up on giant silver platters; a table spread with bite-sized tapas shared among friends; sugary piping hot churros (fingerlike fried donuts) dipped in rich hot chocolate. Whatever comes to mind when you think ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 37 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Heather R M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

AWESOME!!! I did the evening tapas class. It was really fun and interesting and delicious. The teacher was amazing and invited us to ask about the city, culture, or anything else Spain-related. It was a lovely evening! I would recommend it to anyone!

Doing what: Spanish Cooking Class in Madrid

Kathryn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a cool way to spend the afternoon. The instructor was entertaining and the food was delicious. We were able to get a tour of the market and learn a lot about the food in the area. We really enjoyed the class!

Doing what: Madrid Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Paella

Jeff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great class. Made not just paella, but also a cod fish salad and a Spanish omelette.

Doing what: Madrid Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Paella

Bobby B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent cooking class. The instructor was great. I met some amazing people when enjoying authentic cuisine

Doing what: Madrid Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Paella

MJ Lee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was amazing experience on my Spain honeymoon. I could be closed to Spain through this cooking class :
Thumbs up!

Doing what: Spanish Cooking Class in Madrid

Stefanie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this cooking experience. We went on a Wednesday afternoon and we were the only people who registered for that slot which meant we essentially had a private cooking class with an excellent chef! The class was on the second floor of the market. Once we arrived, the chef took us around the market to give us tips on selecting quality ingredients e.g., ham, saffron. Then we washed up, put on our aprons, and got started. We received plenty of cooking tips and learned a few new cooking techniques. It's definitely a hands on class. We made sangria, tortilla, a cod/citrus salad, paella and a dessert with caramelized bananas. Since it was only the two of us, we had plenty to eat since the ingredients were enough to feed several more. The food was delicious and the chef was patient and informative. We were emailed the recipes after the class. This was a great experience - and we didn't have to do any dishes!

Doing what: Madrid Paella, Tortilla and Sangria Cooking Experience

Philip S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent cookery lesson. Superb location as well in the market. The food we made was absolutely delicious too!!

Doing what: Madrid Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Paella

Jackson V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had an amazing time doing the tapas class! We cooked some amazing traditional dishes and learnt a few local secrets. It was a great night with sangria, food and great company. Will definitely come back to try the paella class next time we are in Madrid.

Doing what: Spanish Cooking Class in Madrid

Kenneth D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was absolutely one of the very best cooking classes I have attended in all my travels. Chef Soy is one of the best instructors, easy to understand and giving you lots of information, not only on the different foods in Spain and how to prepare the dishes he was showing us that day, but really great tips in the kitchen. I will book another cooking class with Chef Soy in the near future, but instead of only a half day, it will be a full day or even a week as he's a master in the kitchen.

Doing what: Madrid Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Paella

Emiko N

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

It was a lot of fun and great experience. But.... the chef assured us we would receive all the recipes via email but I never did.

Doing what: Madrid Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Paella

Sandra F

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

this was a great day HOWEVER I never did receive the recipes that they took our emails for and said they would send. Otherwise it was a 5 star experience. Could you get me the recipes?

Doing what: Madrid Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Paella

Mark D

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

It was okay. Some good information. The chef may have been drinking. Never e-mailed recipes as promised.

Doing what: Madrid Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Paella

Visleibis62

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great!!!
I highly recommend it
The Chef is full of information and very proffessional.
Of course, the food was excellente

Doing what: Madrid Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Paella

Carmen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Best class ever! The chef was very personable, very knowledgeable. Easy to follow and prepare new recipes. Highly recommend this. Loved it!

Doing what: Madrid Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Paella

Wanda L USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My wife, daughter and sis-in -law along with myself spent the afternoon with Fernando in an informative, entertaining and delicious cooking class. We have been to several classes the last couple years and found we learned as much about cooking and cooking skills and tricks as we did about making Tortillas and a wonderful Paella. Fernando is the type of teacher where you feel you have absorbed the information, not just entertained and fed. A Special thanks to Fernando as my daughter is Vegetarian and he made 2 types of Paella, effortlessly. Well worth the cost and more.

Doing what: Madrid Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Paella

HEATHER R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

So, far this was the best tour I have done with Viator. Chef Fernando Cler was a great teacher! Very detailed in his instructions and provided nice little tips you would only learn when cooking with your mama. I thoroughly enjoyed this class.

Doing what: Madrid Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Paella

Nurse Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Had a fabulous time.
Group of eleven, we all got involved with preparing the dishes.
We learnt how to cook an authentic Spanish omlette and Spanish paella. Saffron and the right paprika can be purchased in the market below.
Flambé bananas were served to us as we ate the omelette and paella with the only decent Spanish wine while we were in Spain.
Such a good time and all recipes were emailed. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Madrid Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Paella

Nurse Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Had a fabulous time.
Group of eleven, we all got involved with preparing the dishes.
We learnt how to cook an authentic Spanish omlette and Spanish paella. Saffron and the right paprika can be purchased in the market below.
Flambé bananas were served to us as we ate the omelette and paella with the only decent Spanish wine while we were in Spain.
Such a good time and all recipes were emailed. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Madrid Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Paella

Jean

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Not only did I learn how to make Paella, but Fernando our chef also taught the small group how to make a special salad and a tortilla - all of which we ate - plus he made a special dessert for us. If you are looking for a cultural experience with a difference, this is it!

Doing what: Madrid Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Paella

Jens E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was best cooking class I ever attended! Our teacher Fernando was great ant I learned a lot of things. Food and whine was perfect

Doing what: Madrid Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Paella

JAMES K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful hands on cooking class. Professional chef taught our small group Spanish omelette, Orange Cod Salad, Paella, Flaming Banana dessert. Everyone got an apron and some jobs to do. Very social time with other guests as we enjoyed our feast, including lovely wines. We had a walking tour of local market prior to starting to gain further insight into culture. Easy to get to on Metro at Goya station. Fun break from touring palaces, cathedrals and shops.

Doing what: Madrid Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Paella

Geoffrey W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the perfect size class. There were only five of us and so we all had a chance to do the hand's on work. The salad, Spanish omelette, the paella and the orange fried bananas were great! Our instructor, Fernando, was excellent! He was hilarious and made sure we knew what we were doing and told us how to adapt the recipes to wear we each lived based on altitude. DEFINITELY do this if you can!

Doing what: Madrid Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Paella

Patrick K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our cooking class in Madrid! The class was held at a beautiful, modern market, which was about a 12 Euro cab ride from the Plaza Mayor where we were staying. The chef was very entertaining and informative. First we toured the market and learned about some of the ingredients we would be using. We also had the opportunity to purchase smoked paprika and saffron from the market that were used in the paella, at a much lower price than they would cost in the US. We learned to cook Paella and Spanish Tortilla, with everyone participating in the preparation, and at the end we were given wine and ate our meal while the chef prepared a delicious dessert. There were 6 people in our group and we were the only ones in the class. It was a great experience, enjoyed by all.

Doing what: Madrid Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Paella

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Madrid Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Paella

nela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This class was fabulous!

Doing what: Madrid Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Paella

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message