The Spanish capital, Madrid, is a sensational city for nightlife lovers, gourmets, art lovers, and football fans alike. Take a Madrid tour, or jump on the hop-on hop-off bus to get a feel for the city.   Day 1: Art & Culture Spain’s most ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2320 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Impressed by the monuments both at El Escorial and Valley of the Fallen. Magnificent views from the Valley of the Fallen Monument. interesting tour of Toledo, a medieval city with a lot of walking on cobbled streets. Good guides.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour, the traditional meal of lamb, the guide and Toledo were terrific. I want to return to Toledo again.

Doing what: Toledo Half-Day or Full-Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Super-fun activity to get acquainted with Madrid nightlife. James was excellent. He was knowledgeable and made you feel very comfortable. A small group does a short walking tour/pub crawl, while experiencing the local culinary delights. Initially I wasn't sure that this tour would be worth it, because you could just explore tapas bars yourself. I was wrong. This is like having a good friend show you around the city. James took us to local places, not full of tourists, with particular strengths. He also will customize the tour according to what you are interested in (ham delights, better wine options, seafood joints, etc). He also explained local customs and traditions. He recommended a number of areas to try after the tour was complete. You can eat and drink as little or as much as you like during the evening. Over the course of 4 hours, you can drink quite a bit, but since you have been walking and eating the whole time, it is well tolerated. ;) The initial tapas bar tab is included with the tour and additional bars are your responsibility for paying, which was fine and not excessively expensive (25-30Euro/person). This was a lot of fun and I thank James for an excellent tour!

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

What a day and what history these places give testament to. Not to be missed!

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Make sure to wear good walking shoes for this!! ...especially for the Toledo tour. As it's only a half day tour, the tour guide will whisk you around Toledo and show a lot of the sites for this small town. No slow walks around the town for this. If you'd like to take your time, I'd recommend an all day tour in Toledo instead. Beautiful city and the guide shows you all the nooks and cranies of this lovley place.

For Madrid, you will be on a bus. No walking needed!! Great excursion after the morning walking tour. It's only about 1 1/2hrs long and is more of a quick guide as to what Madrid has to offer. I suggest doing this at the beginning of your vacation. This way, you can revisit the sites again on your own or with another tour.

Doing what: Toledo Half-Day or Full-Day Trip from Madrid

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Great tour! Very informative and fun.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Very impressive sites. I enjoyed the tour very much.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The tour was efficient but the valley of the fallen part wasn't too informative.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Unfortunately had just missed previous tour and had to wait but made most of time with some refreshments, actual tour, not much to see in museum and tour itself not what I expected, however, it was an experience. Would love to go again when the new stadium is open.

Doing what: Atlético de Madrid Football Stadium Tour and Museum Ticket

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

We booked the Valle de los Caidos and El Escorial half day tour via Viator web site. We arrived at the office at 825, 20 minutes before our scheduled departure. The office was crowded with other customers being December and it was cold outside. We were handed our tickets and asked to wait for the guide. Our tour was announced, but they also said it included Toledo, which caused some confusion. Only after asking were we told this was indeed the correct tour and that some patrons would be continuing on to Toledo in the afternoon. The guides darted out the door with two busloads of people, there was no attempt to keep the group together. I'm young and fit and I even had a hard time keeping up and keeping track of our guide. Where were the signs? The bus was nice but again, no sign in the window describing which tour it was. We boarded and waited and waited and waited. 25 minutes. Then departure. The tour was supposed to be in English, but in fact it was in both Spanish and English. But here's the twist. As we drove the guide would mention the sites. The ratio: 1 minute in Spanish, 20 seconds in English. I honestly know we were missing some detail in the tour. :-) At our arrival at El Escorial, again, no organization as we walked to the monastery. Upon arrival, we were split into two groups (finally) English and Spanish and the tour got it's mojo back. (Despite what seemed like an endless wait in hallways. Here's the important note: BOTH sites are spectacular. A must see! Truly amazing. Just wish this tour had lived up to the quality we experience on a cruise ship tour or other Viator products.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

We arrived at the requested time 8:30am to check in then waited until 9:10am for our guide to call the tour, which he did so quickly and quietly that I did not hear despite him walking right past us - I rushed into the tour office for confirmation then my 80 year-old father and I had to chase the group 2 blocks to catch up with them. We then waited another 15 minutes before the bus met us. All this standing unsheltered in the cold and drizzle. Upon arrival at the monestary, we met our local English guide who as good as ran up to the monestary so quickly we could not keep up. The tour was informative, she was very knowledgeable, but then discovered we could not enter the basilica for a tour as it was Sunday and said 'as we were informed', which we were not. Out of courtesty to everyone, tours should leave when indicated from the advertised location - this tour operator had several tours leaving at the same time and appeared completely unorganised with some people waiting even longer than we were.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

have you bothered to read my emails !

Doing what: Toledo Half-Day or Full-Day Trip from Madrid

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Tour left 45 minutes late!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: Toledo Half-Day Trip and Panoramic Madrid Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

was unable to take this trip after we had booked

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message