While the Spanish capital, Madrid, isn’t short of things to do, there are fantastic day trips and longer tours to discover the rich history of this beautiful Spanish region. El Escorial is arguably Spain’s most impressive royal site, frescos in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 587 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a terrific tour. Yes, Segovia, Avila and El Escorial in one day is a lot, and no, we didn't have much time to sit a savour Segovia or Avila. But, we did get to visit all three locations while on a short visit to Madrid, our guide was very knowledgeable, and our bus ride was very smooth. Segovia is wonderful. We went to see the aquaduct and were pleasantly surprised by the Alcazar. Avila was much more interesting than we expected: an medieval town complete with its walls in pristine condition. Escorial was pretty much what we expected, and well worth visiting. We did not go into the cathedrals in Segovia or Avila, but that was fine with us. We would certainly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Segovia, Ávila and El Escorial Monastery Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

we really enjoyed this tour, Jose was our tour guide, he is very knowledgeable, has answers to all questions and is overall great story teller. we were able to see all main sites in all 3 cities, if you have time for just one day trip, make it this one.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Segovia, Ávila and El Escorial Monastery Day Trip from Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved the tour. Guides were knowledgeable. Visits and scenery were beautiful. Hotels and food were very good.

Doing what: 8-Day Southern Spain Tour from Madrid: Cordoba, Seville, Costa del Sol, Granada and Toledo

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Good tour which takes in some very interesting towns.

Doing what: 4-Day Spain Tour: Cordoba, Seville and Granada from Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The tour is conducted in 2 languages, English and Spanish, and the tour operator is very commercialized. The local guides appointed was so-so, most of the time they are mumbling to themselves.

Doing what: 4-Day Spain Tour: Cordoba, Seville and Granada from Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Tour overall okay, food in hotels poor to okay, tour organisation needs to be looked at, very sloppy.

Doing what: 5-Day Spain Tour: Seville, Cordoba, Toledo, Ronda, Costa del Sol and Granada from Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The cities, towns and special places on this tour are wonderful. The hotel rooms were fine but the hotel food was apalling. The organistion of the local tour operator also needs to be streamlined. I would recommend visiting all these amazing places but would be hesitant to recommend this tour operator!

Doing what: 5-Day Spain Tour: Seville, Cordoba, Toledo, Ronda, Costa del Sol and Granada from Madrid

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

The Tour was kind of ok. There has been long drives for only 2/3hours of guided tours in the towns visited. The local guides of Sevilla, Cordiba and Granada were excellent and really nice and professional. The guided tour of Toledo was poor and some questions were not answered.
We didn't get the opportunity to stay long in the Costa del Sol to enjoy the hotel and all the activities around.
The Hotel Catalonia in Sevilla, Hotel Sol Principe in Torremolinos (Costa del Sol) were top class and I enjoyed the stay.
Meanwhile the hotel Los Angeles in Granada seriously needs a renovation of the rooms (only 2 plugs for electriciy: 1 for the TV and 1 in the bathroom for the hairdryer = where do you plug in your phone/camera???). I got a room facing the wall, dark and depressing so I requested to change room and got one on the street (thankfully there was no passage in these narrow, hilly, small streets). The air conditioning is only switched on from the afternoon around 3pm.
Finally, we stopped twice in the village of Don Quichotte. On the second time we would have preferred to go directly to Toledo and have free time to visit more of the city instead of being blocked 45min in that small village we have been in at the beginning of our Tour.
To summarize, this was an ok tour value for money but needs some improvements in some areas....

Doing what: 5-Day Spain Tour: Seville, Cordoba, Toledo, Ronda, Costa del Sol and Granada from Madrid

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

The timing was kind of "rush" through Toledo. The guide and staff should have some consideration for those who are having a hard time walking through those streets.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

We got there and were unable to find info for the bus. We called and were unable to get someone on the line that would help us locating the bus. When we finally located the bus, the bus left early so we missed out tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Segovia, Ávila and El Escorial Monastery Day Trip from Madrid

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

This tour was awful! We left after two days and took a train back to Madrid. The bus was late so we had only 20 mins in cordoba to go to the washroom and get water. There should be washrooms on the bus.
Our room in Seville was horrible! It smelled, the carpet was dirty and ripped and the wall paper was peeling off the wall. The dinner was horrible and there was very little that was edible for breakfast.
During the tour in cordoba the head sets did not work properly and in Seville we had no headsets and couldn't hear the tour guide. A horrible experience.

Doing what: 4-Day Spain Tour: Cordoba, Seville and Granada from Madrid

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

We booked an English tour and the tour was multilingual which meant a lot of time was spent in translation. The tour guides for all cities except Toledo had poor English and accents made comprehension very difficult.
Our trip tour guide did what he had to do but didn't provide any added value. He did not accompany us on any evening options. The 'gypsy cave' tour required an hour of us stumbling over dark, dangerous cobblestone streets with an extremely incompetent guide. A young student who was uncommunicative and seemingly just filling in time. In Granada we arrived at hotel at 3.00 pm and our rooms were not ready. Our guide's attitude was very blasé regarding the room preparation and his handling of our passports. He collected our passports and told us to collect them whenever. We had to wait 2 hours for our rooms. Our intention on our return to Madrid was to use Viator again for further tours to Montserrat and the Valley of the Fallen. However due to our previous experience we chose to explore other options.

Doing what: 4-Day Spain Tour: Cordoba, Seville and Granada from Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message