While the Spanish capital, Madrid, isn’t short of things to do, there are fantastic day trips and longer tours to discover the rich history of this beautiful Spanish region. El Escorial is arguably Spain’s most impressive royal site, frescos in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 796 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Richard H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Hugo and all the local your guides except for the optional tour in Grenada were fantastic.

Doing what: 4-Day Spain Tour: Cordoba, Seville and Granada from Madrid

Douglas K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very nice. A little rushed in Córdoba and Toledo. Would have been nice to get 15 minutes to window shop. Go back into Madrid right on time.

Doing what: 8-Day Southern Spain Tour from Madrid: Cordoba, Seville, Costa del Sol, Granada and Toledo

joknee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Oh WOW, I don't know where to begin! It's a hectic and nonstop tour but there is down time on the bus, thank goodness. The cities we saw were just amazing! We also stopped in Toledo on our way back to Madrid and I was so amazed by view of the city. It was like a fairy tale! I also have to mention our tour guide, GRACE! She was WONDERFUL! She was definitely a people person and made us laugh and was so knowledgable at the same time. The accommodations were very good and although there were some glitches with the restaurants at the hotels, on the whole we were very pleased. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: 4-Day Spain Tour: Cordoba, Seville and Granada from Madrid

Rose A

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Being my first solo holiday I was very nervous, but I needn't have worried as I had a great time. We visited some lovely places, I especially liked Córdoba and Seville, and I met some great people. The local tour company in Madrid were very professional and the guide who was with us throughout the trip Hugo, and the driver Carlos, were a credit to their company and were very kind, informative and helpful. As were the local guides in various places visited. I would definitely take this sort of trip again and would have no hesitation using Viator or the local tour operator. My one tip is when visiting Granada, wear comfy shoes as you are walking for quite a while, wear a hat, sunscreen and take a bottle of water, my sunburnt nose, cheeks and raging thirst showed I didn't! So be on the safe side take them everywhere you visit!

Doing what: 5-Day Spain Tour: Seville, Cordoba, Toledo, Ronda, Costa del Sol and Granada from Madrid

Emmanuel F

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This tour did not start well. First, we did not get adequate directions for picking up the tour 'Bus station at Plaza Orient. Our initial search of the location the day before took us an hour to locate it, and the staff member at the tour office Plaza Orient was not particularly helpful pointing us to the Bus Station at the Plaza Orient, which we already knew. Many others on the tour said the same thing, that instructions were inadequate. This can be easily fixed by adding a few lines - Enter the bus parking area using the stairs closest to the Royal Palace, not the stairs at the far end, which alternatively lead to the car park, one level higher. The bus station cannot be reached by elevator, so avoid large bags. Second, the tour comprised over 50 people, meaning a large completely full bus, and some couples were split up. Third, the weather was bad, raining cats and dogs the first 2 days. The other major negative was the hotel food breakfast and dinner - bland fare perhaps meant for US tourists. On the positive side, we had an excellent and professional tour guide Hugo, who deserves a medal for ably managing 53 cold and wet tourists. Also positive was the tour itself, including local guides and Cordoba and Seville Day 1, with more of Seville including some free time Day 2. Alhambra, Generalife Gardens and Granada Day 3 were also very special. We left the tour early and missed Toledo, visiting that town ourselves later yes, worth a visit, and instead we spent a few extra days in Granada. Overall, a tour I would recommend, but one that I would preferred to have done with a smaller group, with better weather, and with more palatable food!

Doing what: 4-Day Spain Tour: Cordoba, Seville and Granada from Madrid

gincy

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Teledo trip was great ,But madrid trip was boring ,just waste of time.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: Toledo Half-Day Trip and Panoramic Madrid Sightseeing Tour

Rami F

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Very laid back trip. Guide was great but having to repeat everything she said which was a lot i.e. history, interesting facts, etc. in more than one language was a little bit annoying.

Biggest disappointment of the trip was Alhambra in Grenada where we had to visit the Alhambra in my opinion the highlight of the trip at night around 10:00PM. Yes AT NIGHT!!! That meant that we didn't see much of it because it was simply dark and also many of the room that you would typically visit during the day was closed to the public I know that for fact because I visited Alhambra back in 2012 and we saw many rooms at the time. I was excited to take my parents to visit the Andalusia but the Grenada trip was really a bad blow. Julia will argue that it's not their fault and that the Alhambra admins will dictate which hour Julia travelers can visit the Alhambra but that's simply not a good excuse the cruise tourists get to visit it during the day, the local tour operator should ensure their customer visit Alhambra during the day as well. Again, that was the highlight of the trip and I just couldn't be more disappointed.

Other than that, hotels were good and the trip went smoothly and as described in the itinerary.

Doing what: 9-Day Best of Spain Tour Including Madrid, Cordoba, Seville, Granada, Valencia and Barcelona

Lai T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Nice Tour and thanks Magarita as a very responsible and informative guide!! Will join the tours again

Doing what: 5-Day Spain Tour: Seville, Cordoba, Toledo, Ronda, Costa del Sol and Granada from Madrid

Karen L M K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was very good, led by a very professional, experienced and humorous guide. He shared many history and knowledge of his country and the places we went during the 4 days tour. Hotels offered were good though the one at Granada can be better in terms of location accessibility. Its quite a walk from the city centre. Local guides at the various destinations were knowledgeable but it will be great if they can provide us with some time to take photographs. There wasn't enough time to do that when the places are so beautiful. Highly recommended.

Doing what: 4-Day Spain Tour: Cordoba, Seville and Granada from Madrid

Navneet S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour is a great way to see a lot of Spain in a short time! The guided tours are great. I recommend the optional Flamenco show, it was so fun! The standard hotels were really nice and in great locations, I wouldn't even suggest to upgrade because I liked each hotel so much. The bus rides were safe and pleasant and it was a lot of fun getting to know the whole tour group.

Doing what: 5-Day Spain Tour: Seville, Cordoba, Toledo, Ronda, Costa del Sol and Granada from Madrid

mertikakat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was very well organised. Everything was on time. Both Grace and the driver were very patient , polite and in good mood. The superior hotels Melia in Sevilla and Granada were of very high quality and in central locations. The two language guide was tiring. The coach was not very spacy and did not have Wi-Fi. If you do not take a taxi to get you straight to the parking of the coach in plaza Oriente you have to get down the stairs following the label of the local tour operator until the 1st underground floor and then get the lift to the 2nd underground floor where the coach waits for you.

Doing what: 4-Day Spain Tour: Cordoba, Seville and Granada from Madrid

Anne M B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was a super trip! The guide was terrific and took care of everything. We had activities each day that were optional after the daily tours if we wanted more to see or do that was organized or we could go on our own. We chose the premium hotels which was an excellent extra amount of money because the hotels that were a little more were closer to the city center and the main action, plus their buffets for dinner and breakfast were excellent! If you are the type of person that likes to see and learn as much as you can in a short time, likes to have the route planned so you don't waste time looking for things and enjoys a combination of walking tours and panoramic on the bus sight-seeing this is a great deal that brings it all together! It was our best trip yet and ax a result we may look into more extended day tours like this though we have always done just full day tours in the past. Great value for your money, time we'll spent, lots of free or optional time, super food, good company and knowledgeable guide - WHT more could you ask for!

Doing what: 4-Day Spain Tour: Cordoba, Seville and Granada from Madrid

Keith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I highly recommend this tour. I am back home now and telling all my friends about the amazing sights and the historical facts we learned on this tour.
Our guide, Naria not sure about the spelling was wonderful.

Doing what: Small-Group Pedraza and Segovia Tour from Madrid

Terry C Thailand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a fantastic tour, great cities to visit made even better by our tour guide who was fun throughout. We had wonderful times in Seville as it was the time of the fair, saw a great flamenco show, on the way there we stopped off to see 'the man from La Mancha', the visits to Granada and Cordoba were also very interesting, the hotels were great and the whole tour was very well organised, although there was no toilet on the bus, we had regular 'comfort breaks', all the passengers on the trip were really interesting, they came from 'all walks of life' and many Countries, l am sure that we all made new friends, it was a pleasure to have participated in the tour, the value was good, the food was acceptable for 4 star hotel standards, l would recommend this tour to any traveler who is thinking of visiting Spain

Doing what: 4-Day Spain Tour: Cordoba, Seville and Granada from Madrid

cariyee

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Tour guide Gracie, and bus driver Moreno, were super patient, polite and kind to the 60 of us on the bus. Bus had AC and it's own wifi. Local guides were knowledgable. Helpful hints- 1another reviewer mentioned hauling luggage down the stairs. We took a taxi to the location as did others and the drivers will actually take you to the bottom so no hauling down stairs is required. 2based purely on location, would suggest the superior hotels rather than the standard hotel tour package. The Melia hotels are very centrally located to attractions, have lots of electrical outlets in the rooms and decent wifi. However, one reviewer mentioned their room was freezing so I brought sweats to sleep in. My rooms were opposite and others on the tour mentioned the same. The rooms were warm for 60 degree weather. We slept with the windows open because the hotels do not use AC before May. In the case of the hotel in Granada, our window opened up into the elevator shaft so we had no air circulation, no AC and the room was extremely hot. I actually took a cold shower, tried not to move while sleeping, and still woke up sweating in the morning i'm someone who wears a sweater under 75 degrees.

Doing what: 4-Day Spain Tour: Cordoba, Seville and Granada from Madrid

Shi Min M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

great company, awesome guides.
sufficient time for self exploration and tours

Doing what: 5-Day Spain Tour: Seville, Cordoba, Toledo, Ronda, Costa del Sol and Granada from Madrid

Faraz Uddin S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

I would skip Caceres and go for the 5 day tour only. Apart from the abysmal dinner during the first night at Cordoba, the tour was well organized. Watch out for the exclusions in Seville! A recommended tour if you have the time!

Doing what: 5-Day Spain Tour: Seville, Cordoba, Toledo, Ronda, Costa del Sol and Granada from Madrid

Barbara G

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The itinerary was fabulous expect for costa del sol which is nice, but just a beach. The hotels and bus were fine. The food was just OK. The reason for the downgrade to a 3 is for easily fixable things which would make things much better. They dumped us in central Seville during the busies time when it was impossible to get into the Cathedral without a tour. We got lucky and happened upon an English tour starting in 15 minutes. Otherwise, we wouldn't have gotten in. A little advance planning could have made this seemless. The tour hurried us out of Cordoba to get to Seville in the afternoon with nothing planned. They hurried us out of the Alhambra when our tickets allowed us the visit the rest of the grounds to go to central Granada with nothing planned and tourist sites not nearly as good as the Alhambra. The never let us know the plan in advance when we could have taken actions to make our lives happier like buying a buy ahead tour or getting food. With breakfast at 7:30, lunch didn't happen on several days until 3:00. I had Clif bars in the bag, but others were just hungry. All of this is so easily fixable.

Doing what: 5-Day Spain Tour: Seville, Cordoba, Toledo, Ronda, Costa del Sol and Granada from Madrid

Lisa T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our driver John and our guide Isabella picked us up at our hotel right on time. We could not have a better guide for our Segovia trip. Isabella was very knowledgable and easy to understand. I can not begin to tell you how wonderful this trip is. Definitely worth taking a day trip from Madrid. This is a must do.

Doing what: Private Tour: Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Nancy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour guide was very welcoming and knowledgeable.

Doing what: 8-Day Spain Tour from Madrid: Cordoba, Seville, Ronda, Costa del Sol, Granada and Toledo

Karen E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a great tour. Weather was great in March for sightseeing and I have nothing but good things to say about the entire trip, except I didn't enjoy the Flamenco tour to the cave in Granada. There was a mix-up on time, and the show didn't begin until after 11:00 pm. We didn't get back to the hotel until 1:00 am and had an early start planned the next day, so not much sleep. The rest of the tour went as planned. The tour guide Hugo was awesome. He was helpful, informative and dependable. There was enough time at each place to do some souvenir shopping and it was planned well so that there was not much down time. We enjoyed it thoroughly and highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: 4-Day Spain Tour: Cordoba, Seville and Granada from Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message