Legend has it that the original tapas were used as covers to keep the sherry in Andalusian taverns safe from flies dropping into the glass. Bread, ham or chorizo were best, and led to the creation of the wide variety of Tapas, from olives, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 639 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anna E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I think the tour was really nice. There were 8 of us plus a guide (Andreas). There were 4 people from the UK and 4 from the States, nice bunch. Andreas took us to 3 places where we tried 5 wines and different tapas. we went to places full of locals rather than tourists so we discovered and #34;locals and #34;Madrid

Doing what: Old Town Madrid Gourmet Tapas and Wine Tasting Walking Tour

Benjamin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was the highlight of our time in Madrid. Pedro was a superstar. We were the only two on the tour that evening and he still gave us a superb experience. I loved the history and the context - Pedro actually got us hooked on learning more about Spain's history. And the food, well, it speaks for itself too. The stop at the deli where we had the Iberian ham, that was just wonderful. If you have the time, do this tour, you won't be disappointed. Both your mind and stomach will leave it well fed.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

HEATHER C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour. Small group 6ppl in 20's and 30's. I was a solo traveller and there were others the same as well as couples. I did the 8pm tour. Miriom is a fabulous guide. She's personable and willing to answer any questions. The food and bevvies were excellent too. A great starting point to a trip to Madrid. Highly recommend and I'm not one to typically take tours but did so because of the great reviews.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Adam K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

James is a great host and guide. Had a great time and ended up hanging out with other attendees afterwards.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Susan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My son and I went on this tour and had a great time. Food is a great way to learn about the culture of a place and this tour didn't disappoint in this regard. Pedro is passionate about his city, the food and an avid history buff. It was a nice addition to learn about Madrid's history while enjoying the food and wine of the region.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

perfect evening

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Nicole B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved this tour, we did a different one in October last year and thought that was good till we did this one, it was much much better. James was brilliant, very down to earth, very easy to chat too and ask questions. The tour itself took us to some brilliant authentic tapas bars, make sure you try the Cider, the way of pouring it, excellent... LOL... both myself and my partner 100 rate this tour, book now..!

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Joanne T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

great evening led by knowledgeable James who adapted all foods to those in the group who had different dietary requirements
great food, banter and time

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

DrWright66

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved this tour! 4 wines, 4 bars, 4 hours. Our only regret was scheduling. We wished we had this tour on our first night in Madrid instead of our last night. It would have kept us from making rookie mistakes like ordering too many tapas at one time and tipping 20 of every food bill like we do in the US. We gave away lots of euros!!! James was energetic, engaging and empowering. We really felt like we could hold our own at a tapas bar after taking this tour with James. The tapas selections at each bar were tasty and we tried everything just like James suggested. Unless you are allergic, I encourage you to follow his advice and try everything!!!! You will be pleasantly surprised. I learned that it is not just about what you are eating, the place and context makes a difference. Your taste buds will love you for it. Remember, you're in Spain. Do as the Spainards do!

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Graham F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We booked this trip for our first night in Madrid and it was a great way to start a holiday - full of anticipation at what the night would hold and everyone in high spirits. James, the guide, is English but has lived in Madrid long enough to know where to go, what to eat and drink and what the local customs dictate so he's a great advocate of adventuring and trying new things. Thought the trip a little expensive at first but James delivers fabulous value for money, orders all the food and drinks himself and brings them to you, as well as the information and knowledge he imparts, and handles the kitty backed up with receipts - all the stuff which is hard work for anyone who doesn't speak Spanish or know what things are called. When James leaves you in the last bar after a trip of at least 4 hours, just check on the prices before you cary on drinking there - probably best to leave with him and find another one since there are so many. Thanks, James, for a great night - well worth a gentle hangover the following morning!

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Jill H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a fun way to try all the different sherry's available with informative information via the audio guide. As there was two of us we found it easier once we found a table for one of us to stay there with the sherry and the other to go and get the tapas as the market on that day was very busy, but it was a lovely tour which the gave us the prompt to go back to the market to sample much more food and drink.

Doing what: San Miguel Market: Sherry and Tapas Tasting Tour in Madrid

Fang N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We enjoyed it. Although not born and raised locally, James was very knowledgeable and has a way of bringing people together and creating a fun atmosphere. He also wrote down a ton of recommendations for the rest of our stay.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Bonnie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our evening tour with Pedro was one of the definite highlights of our Madrid visit!
His explanations of the history of the city were in-depth and supplied us with important background info and the visits to the various tapas bars etc were wonderful. Here too he supplied us with a lot of interesting info and went out of his way to help me find some equipment I was interested in.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Cheryl W F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely fantastic! Great group and great fun. After talking to other travelers who took other tours we realized just how great this one is. You can't go wrong with Andre - very gracious and fun to be around.

Doing what: Old Town Madrid Gourmet Tapas and Wine Tasting Walking Tour

Miho K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a great Tapas Tour that you should not miss. Andres, the guide, was very knowledgeable and explained about the city and each taberna, and he always looked around and took care of us, putting us together in an unified atomosphere. Food was great tortilla, Jamon Iberico de Bellota, Almejas, and much more!! and best matching wines to go with vermut, red, White and dessert wine. They can be seasonable and may change time to time, but I really recommend this tour if you would like to experiece Spanish traditional gastronomy.

Doing what: Old Town Madrid Gourmet Tapas and Wine Tasting Walking Tour

Susan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was perhaps the highlight of our trip to Madrid, thanks to Pedro, a Madrid native with a passion for the best food and history of his city. We chose the lunch tour. We walked around Madrid learning about the history and stopped and some amazing restaurants for tapas and drinks. The restaurants were not tourist places and the food was authentic and delicious. We learned about Iberian ham and tasted other preserved meats. We had salted cod, fried up so tenderly in a tiny place where the line went out the door. We had pork with raisin sauce, stuffed mushrooms and fried potatoes at a third place. We ended with churros and chocolate at a place that is open 24 hours a day. Our host, Pedro was so informative and just fun to be with. I definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting Madrid. It will enrich your travel experience.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Sheridan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Interesting tour which provided a good insight into culture in Madrid. A great way to get to know the city meet new people and try lots of new tapas with a very insightful guide.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Howard C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great night of fun, fabulous food and drink and local color. Our guide Pedro was friendly, knowledgeable, and clearly enjoying himself. Not an employee of some bigger outfit, Pedro takes pride in his tours and in his city.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

ICinFL United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great, great tour and passionate tour guide! So much fun, mixed with history and delicious out of the tourist core spots mainly frequented by locals. Gave us recommendations for follow up restaurants based on our interests and tastes. The group was small, just us and a mother/daughter from Scotland, which made it that much more fun. Would recommend.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Richard M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

When we first considered a tapas tour, we thought there was no needwe could find our own places and figure out what to order. But fortunately, we reconsidered and had the most wonderful first night in Madrid with Pedro. He was born and raised in Madrid, pointing out his grandparents home just off the plaza where we met, and his love of the city and knowledge of Spanish history made the city come alive as we walked and stopped at tapas restaurants and bars that we definitely would not have found on our own. Each one was unique and authentic and full of locals. The food and wine was some of the best we had during our trip. It was one of the highlights of our time in Spain. Thank you Pedro!

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

James F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent walking tour of central Madrid and food tour of four different parts of Spain. James brought wit, knowledge and joy to a rare rainy evening. He also gave us some fantastic recommendations for the rest of our stay, which brought us even more tapas and helped us fit in more with the Spanish way. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

LESLEY A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was one of the highlights of our brief 3 day visit to Madrid. The tour guide, James, was absolutely brilliant and great fun. The pace of the night was just right and some of James recommendation for both tapas and wines were spot on. This is a great tour and I would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Susan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Just amazing tour guide! We LOVED it so much. I traveled to Madrid with four teenage girls my two daughters and two friends and we were so tired, and the guide was so fun and accommodating and gracious in every way. He showed us some wonderful treats and places to go and we were so impressed. A MUST in Madrid. Thanks!!!!

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Cheryl L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

James-our guide was just fabulous! He took us all over the old quarter and we tried all kinds of different foods and drink. You can tell that he loves Madrid and his job! I would recommend this tour to everyone who wants to know what the insiders know-that Madrid is a gastronomic delight!

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Erez H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

great food and guide with a bit of history

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message