Legend has it that the original tapas were used as covers to keep the sherry in Andalusian taverns safe from flies dropping into the glass. Bread, ham or chorizo were best, and led to the creation of the wide variety of Tapas, from olives, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 597 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michael S United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I had a fabulous time. Our group was very small, the three of us and Andrés, our guide for the evening. I visit Madrid solo a lot and I wanted to experience different places than I am used to going, and to taste some new experiences. Andrés was a great host, interesting, and introduced us to some truly incredible tapas. There's lots of places you can taste mediocre tortilla but truly the one on this tour was perfection. The other tapa dishes were made with great care to flavours and the bars in La Latina were carefully chosen for their food and wine pairings. This walk is easy-going and you get to see Madrid centre beyond what you would do on your own. The wine pairing was excellent and food and drink generous. A really great deal.

Doing what: Old Town Madrid Gourmet Tapas and Wine Tasting Walking Tour

dee a c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This is one of the best tours we've ever done - yep, that good. Do it the first day you arrive and do the afternoon tour - you are going to be introduced to some great food, and more importantly some very cool restaurants where you will want to return for dinner - take notes.. also, go hungry, because you are going to be eating lots of great food. We loved that the tour included such great information about the history of the city and the layout of the neighborhoods as well of course as great culinary information and history. What a deal - we researched many tours - were super happy we picked this one - so save yourself the work, book this tour and know you'll have a great time - one of the best tours ever - or did I mention that already

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Areocat Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very enjoyable, educational and entertaining tour. Pedro, our guide, was most knowledgeable and personable. We made four stops, sampling the best quality Iberian jamon, fried cod snacks, churros and various other delicious noms. Pedro made sure we can distinguish the genuine restaurants that the locals would patronize from the tourist traps. He also recommended several other signature dishes for us to try, such as Cocido Madrileno Madrid stew and rice black rice cooked in squid ink, which we did, much to our delight and pleasure. And to top it off, Pedro provided an entertaining lesson in Spanish and Madrid history as we traveled from stop to stop. We highly recommend anyone visiting Madrid to take this tour. Your stomach will thank you.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Irene B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tapas tour in Madrid was one of the best tour of our whole trip. We had four stops all with great wine and food. Pedro was the best guide.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Danielle I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Loved it! Murium sp? was just lovely.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Brigitta L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great Experience.
We all enjoyed it very much .
Interesting and entertaining at the same time.
Highly recommended to discover Madrid.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Kathryn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We really enjoyed the Tapas tour! It was a perfect mix between learning about the tapas culture and history of the city. We would highly recommend.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Maksim F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Have to repeat: James is good!!!
We were skeptical a bit about this tour after seeing that extra expenses will be needed. Something around 30-35 eur per person. We haven't read all the info just a couple of hours before the tour.
Eventually, James crushed all our skepticism and we spent 20 eur per person extra.
As the tour guide, he was responsive, happy to challenged, and extremely enthusiastic even after all those tour he already had.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Randall W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a wonderful tour and a great introduction to Madrid! Marian was a wonderful tour guide and she went above and beyond expectations with our tour. I would recommend this tour to everyone who doesn't mind staying out a little past midnight!!!

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was an absolutely fantastic tour! Pedro is a great guide and is able to provide information on the history, landmarks and of course great food of Madrid. We visited many wonderful places. I would recommend this as a great tour to do on your first day in Madrid to excite you for the rest of your stay.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Jeff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Tapas and alcohol, repeat. Very informative as well

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Margih

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Pedro explained the history of Tapas and took us to many different venues. We thoroughly enjoyed the tour and it was more like having tapas and wine with family and not a guide. We highly recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Richard C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great way to start your stay in Madrid. James was fun and informative. I would not have stopped in these Tapa bars without this tour, but would visit them gain if and when I make it back to Madrid. This is a great way to start your stay in Madrid since he moves around to various places that it will familiarize you your first night in.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Aaron G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

EXCELLENT Tour. You get to try a lot of good foods, get a good amount of history and most importantly, learn how to do tapas in Madrid. I recommend doing this tour the first couple days of your trip.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Mary Pat k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

James was the best! Highly recommend ! One of our best tours! Ask for James!

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

laup

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Our guide was very informative in all aspects of Madrid which made for great conversation and laughs.
We were glad we did the tour and would do another if the opportunity arose.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Becky C United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great experience! I learned some of the history of Madrid, with tips on where to eat and what to drink while in Madrid. The tapas were awesome and wines delicious. I wish I had done the tour at the beginning of my trip, rather than the end of it!! It was well worth the money.

Doing what: Old Town Madrid Gourmet Tapas and Wine Tasting Walking Tour

Laurel L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Pedro was an amazing tour guide! My husband and I love history and Pedro was very informative. The Tapas were delicious. It was a wonderful mix of walking, eating, talking and drinking good wine and a little vermouth.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Ginelle H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour. Our guide was fantastic and took us great places where the locals go.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Andrea C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Brilliant way to start our trip in Madrid. Host was informative and fun and we tried some things we never would without him. Thanks James

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Christine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

James was a very fun, informative tour guide! I don't eat meat, but it was no problem at all. Plenty of other food. And James always remembered who had food preferences/allergies and accommodated them. I recommend anyone traveling to Madrid for the first time to take this tour at the beginning of their trip. Understanding the local customs is important to having an enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Gill M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Philip S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Brilliant tour of different tapas bar within the city. A lot of walking but it built up an appetite for the next bar. It was lovely trying all the different food from different regions in Madrid. Met some lovely people on the tour as well. Tour guide was brilliant, his English was excellent!

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Linwoe United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Miriam was amazing! She was knowledgeable, led us to interesting sites as well as great taps bars. We were a diverse group from Australia, Canada, Africa, England, and of course the USA. We had a lot of laughs, a lot of food, and yes, a lot of wine. SALUD to Miriam and Viator for a memorable evening!

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Emma B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

James is great! He was so great at tayloring the tour to our taste but remember COME HUNGRY AND OPEN MINDED! This tour only works if you don't mind stepping out of your comfort zone. Go with James' recommendations! He knows what he's talking about. THANK YOU

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message