Legend has it that the original tapas were used as covers to keep the sherry in Andalusian taverns safe from flies dropping into the glass. Bread, ham or chorizo were best, and led to the creation of the wide variety of Tapas, from olives, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 519 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We joined a group of 4 other couples for a wonderful evening from 8pm-12. Our guide was very informed and attuned to the group. We visited four bars and enjoyed different drinks and food at each one. Our first stop was included in the fee. We all agreed to put in E20 each to enjoy suggested drinks and food at the other three stops. This tour really added to our experience of Madrid.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour. Miriam was great, very informative and an excellent hostess for our mixed group. We all had a ball and although we started the tour as strangers, we finished as good friends!

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I researched many tapas tours before choosing this one and I am happy to say that I chose the right one! I can not imagine a better first night in Madrid. Pedros love of Madrid, knowledge and understanding of history, and his desire to see seven strangers turn into siete amigos in just four hours, made for an unforgettable birthday for me! In fact, after the tapas tour was over, most of our group decided to stay together and experience Madrid's vibrant nightlife, while we continued to celebrate my birthday in as many time zones as possible!

I would recommend this tour to anyone who is interested in learning about Madrids fascinating history while sampling some of Madrids famous tapas. The information Pedro gave us about Spains past was very helpful during the rest of my time in Spain. I was able to identify which dynasties and rulers were associated with different types of architecture and statues around town.

But the star of the tour was definitely the food and drink!. While I found all of the food in Spain to be very good, the places Pedro chose for us were very warm and welcoming, and some of the best tapas I had during my 10 day stay. Pedro also gave me some great advice for other restaurants I would never have known about, and emailed me photos taken during the tour which I am happy to have.

Just thinking about it, I am very jealous of anyone who will be joining Pedro on a Madrid Tapas Trip in the future! Thank you again Pedro, por un muy feliz cumpleanos!

Doing what: Authentic Tapas and History Walking Tour in Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic tour! James is a great. Awesome way to learn about Madrid, enjoy some great food and drink and meet people. I will suggested this tour to my friends and family visiting the area.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wonderful tour of Madrid. Great tapas and got to see so much of the city centre. Well worth the money. Food was amazing. Great day out! Would recommend!

Doing what: Authentic Tapas and History Walking Tour in Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We loved our tapas walking tour. Our guide took us to some great places and educated us on tapas and the how the locals do it. We had a beautiful night of walking, eating and drinking. We had a small group and we enjoyed getting to know everyone throughout the night. It was a great experience and we felt more comfortable going into a bar/restaurant and ordering tapas. We also tasted foods that we wouldn't have ordered ourselves so it was a very enriching experience. Our guide was very easy going and she had a great sense of humor and she made us all feel like we were all friends going out at night.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

James was great, we enjoyed a variety of places and outstanding food/drink.
would definitely recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an amazing way to get our bearings in Madrid, get some local history and try some amazing wine and tapas. Best tapas we had throughout Spain. We would've never found these places on our own. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had an amazing evening with our tour guide, Pedro, who showed us around Madrid and gave us many interesting insights into the history and the food of Madrid. We were lucky to have a small group, so it was easier to be seated in some of the busier tapas bars, and restaurants. He showed us a diverse range of establishments, while explaining the cuisine of Madrid, and how it differed from other parts of Spain.. He gave us knowledge on how to differentiate between the varied grades of ham - explaining the different curing processes, and what wines went best with different tapas. In each bar, we had a taste of the tapas that Pedro felt made each place unique, and got a real sampling of local culture. A great evening and a highlight of our trip to Spain!

Doing what: Authentic Tapas and History Walking Tour in Madrid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

One of the highlights of our trip. Great food, lots of laughs, and a very memorable experience!

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Yoyo L
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an absolutely fun tour. Even though we had to cut our tour short as my parents were tired, the visit to the couple of tapas bars were eye opening and fun. The guide was super knowledgeable and we enjoyed listening about the local cultures, history, learning about the different locations and landmarks as we went from bar to bar. For food lovers, the tapas and drinks were awesome !

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Excellent guide. Locations could have been more upscale. Tapas was average.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great experience ! James was superior , knowledgable , fun and took care of us as if we were long time friends. I would recommend this to to anyone . Worth every dime !

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

this wa really good value actually as we had several different drinks and food. guide was very nice. meeting place is little tricky if you dont know the way but not far from tube. people in group were really friendly and was lovely evening. i went on my own and one other person was also alone. couples were very nice people.Im actually going again!!! this is best tapas tasting tour. the others dont offer as much even if they are bot cheaper.

Doing what: Old Town Madrid Gourmet Tapas and Wine Tasting Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Absolutely amazing! So much fun and our guide was perfect!

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was the best tour of all the very good to excellent tours on our trip. Gloria was outstanding ! the tour was informative and fun !

Doing what: Madrid Market and Tapas Walking Tour Including Lavapiés Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

James was incredible and an excellent guide for a fun night in Madrid! A MUST!!!

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great Tour!! I advise this tour early on in your Madrid stay. Great way to learn the art of tapas! Tour guide was wonderful!

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Susan A
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An absolutely fantastic tour! James Fraser our guide was outstanding, humorous, clear, concise, so personable and very knowlegable. We were so thrilled we opted to do this tour on our first night in Madrid as it served as a wonderful introduction to the city, its layout, history and monuments, and then to the tapas way of dining with its traditions, and really excellent tapas bars and restaurants all of which we returned to as they were so good.. The food in each bar/restaurant was simply delectable ..all recommended and organised by James, with relevant accompanying drinks. Each person in our group of 9 was so pleasant, we enjoyed a truly memorable evening and a highly recommendable tour. Thank you so much James.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awsome must do !

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour, made great by the guide Merriam and a great group limited to 8. I didn't have high expectations but this turned out well with an extra stop tacked on to the end. A lot of good information on the regional variations in Tapas.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

James was very personable and knowledgeable. He gave us a great introduction to tapas and the local drinks and was even willing to give suggestions about other activities in Madrid. My family of 6 had a marvelous time. I would highly recommend this tour, especially if no one in your group is fluent in Spanish.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

We booked a Small group tour with a maximum of eight people quote direct from Viator Highlights. Unfortunately, an additional 7-8 people showed up unannounced/unplanned, for a total of 13-15 people on the tour. James, flustered a bit, was able to adjust on the fly and change our stops to tapareias that could handle a larger group, but it felt like we lost out on the positive experience other people have relayed in previous reviews.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

This was booked for the wrong day. I booked it on June 4 for my arrival on July 4. Still trying to get this fixed.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My tour was amazing! James is a wonderful tour guide. He really knows his stuff. I would highly recommend him.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message