Legend has it that the original tapas were used as covers to keep the sherry in Andalusian taverns safe from flies dropping into the glass. Bread, ham or chorizo were best, and led to the creation of the wide variety of Tapas, from olives, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 663 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Andrew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A fantastic night with Pedro.
My wife and i were the only two people on this tour and Pedro i am sure could of passed this up because of our late booking, but kindly agreed to show us around and it was definitely a highlight of this trip. Due to the rain we spent more time indoors eating and drinking quality food and wine and getting a very informative Spanish lesson.
Pedro was very passionate about his work and his city and a very nice genuine guy.
Our tour started at seven and we parted around midnight. It was like going out with an old friend.
Thanks very much Pedro. The places you took us to were exceptional and we frequented them again during our stay.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Sanna C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had this tour on on first day in Madrid. We were very tired but still very excited to explore the city and most importantly experience the food culture since all four of us are foodies. Pedro was our tour guide. He was very knowledgeable, passionate about the culture and history of Madrid. He showed us around four different places...all very different and fun! We went to many other tours throughout barcelona, rome and paris. Now that our trip is over, we all agree that Pedro's tour was the ultimate best. Thank you Pedro for showing us around town and the great food/drinks. I will always remember this experience and will recommend him to all my friends who are already asking.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

davidpatterson44 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful, lots of fun, great food, plenty to drink! Guides Pedro and Pablo were personable, fun, and very knowledgeable and helpful. Very unique bars and variety. Do it, you won't regret it.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

stonesq

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful time in the first night in Madrid. Pedro was very knowledgeable with Madrid and Spain history. We learned a lot of Madrid history from him in a short time. Pedro took us to 3 tapas restaurants where tourists don't typically go. The first place we went was the oldest tavern in Madrid. All tapas and wine were delicious. The second place Pedro took us was a local jamon shop. We had slices of fresh top quality Iberico ham and it melted in my mouth! Wine and cheese were also very good. The third place we went was tapas restaurant where they served canned seafood but nothing like canned seafood we get in the US, the quality was so good it reminded me Anthony Bourdain's travel show where he went to tapas restaurant in Madrid and had a high quality canned seafood. The last place we went was a café where they served traditional chorizo and chocolate. Thank you for the wonderful evening, Pedro!
We had a great time. We highly recommend this tour to anyone who enjoys good food, wine and company.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

tklohr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We werent quite sure what to expect, but were very impressed with the variety of tapas and wine that they selected to share with us. Pedro was great and it was a very fun way to see and learn about the city, and experience things we would never have found on our own.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Amy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a wonderful tour! Pedro was amazing and gave us great historical information along with showing us wonderful places to eat and drink. I would book this walking tour again in an instant.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

helen.jelich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great tour, we learned not just about tapas but also about where to buy shoes and other Madrid cultural insider information. Enjoyed it a lot.

Doing what: Madrid Market and Tapas Walking Tour Including Lavapiés Visit

John R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Only my girlfriend and I booked the lunchtime trip but that was no problem and we enjoyed the full attention of Pedro our guide who was excellent. He took us around a number of great venus and each one we sampled tapas accompanied by a suitable drink. Some really different food and drink which we found informative and very enjoyable. We wished we had skipped breakfast as eventually we ran out of room to eat! A great introduction to Spanish history and Madrids role in it.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Mita B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great night!

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Ann L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My husband and I had the most fantastic tour with Pablo. He was so knowledgable and enthusiastic about all that Madrid can offer a visitor. We were so lucky that we were the only couple who had booked for the lunchtime tour. He told us that eight people had booked for the evening tour on the same day. One might expect that because there was only two of us, that he would have kept the tour short, but not a bit. In fact we asked so many questions and he was so informative that our tour which started at 11.30 didn't end until nearly 4pm. We sampled delicious food and discovered the best jamon we have ever tasted. We cannot praise this tour enough. It was a talking point for the rest of our trip. Ten out of ten!

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Tanya R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

For my youngest sister's 30th we went to Madrid and for our last night we booked this tour. With paying extra on top to sample all that our guide JAMES could offer in local Tapas, it is absolutely worth it...... I would book this tour again if we return to Madrid as I am certain we will receive better Tapas this way than doing it of our own accord, unless of course you speak good Spanish and / or know the area etc well..... and we do not!.
Thoroughly great booking :

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Adrian F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide James gave us a real insite into what Tapas is all about and Madrid life and history in general, with lots of witty, funny annicdotes along the way. A truly fun experience which we highly recommend - you will love it!

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Susan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We chose the lunch tour. Our guide, Pedro was fantastic. He was entertaining as both a historian and a foodie. We got to see the major historical sites of Madrid and then visited several restaurants for their prime tapas and drinks. We returned to a couple of the places later on in our stay. This would be a super tour to take when you first arrive in Madrid because Pedro pointed out great restaurants and markets to see. Gracias to Pedro! Well worth our time and money!

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Maxine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Myself and two friends booked on to this tour, and we thoroughly enjoyed it.
The tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable and took us to visit sights that we would have not found on our own, we visited 4 eating/drinking tapas bars and tasted a good variety of local foods, beer and wine all of a very high quality.
I would recommend this tour to anyone who may visit Madrid.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Karen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Flew into Madrid and hit the ground running. We needed to eat and drink so why not have a guide show us the sites. We had a big group-18, so guide brought an extra guide. Very organized and it was no problem getting our group into the small spots. Hit five locations, all different, worth the $$

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Dain G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really enjoyed this. We were sceptical in meeting our Scottsman guide James, but as usual the Scot was a great guide and bloke and not short of a joke or two. The food was exceptional matched with drinks. The cost will be about $30 to $40 Euro on top of costs of the tour if u eat and drink like a kiwi

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

MATTHEW WILLIAM D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was excellent and good value. The guide gave a great personal perspective and we all got to know a few people. I thought when I saw that only the first tapas and drinks were included that it might come out expensive, but it didn't.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Tracie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent tour!! Our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. He took us to all the authentic yet trendy places for tapas and wine. If you are looking for something different to do in Madrid consider this tour.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Amy O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Incredible tour met amazing people from all over the world and our guide Inez was incredible. Must do if you are in Madrid! Highlight of the trip!

Doing what: Madrid Market and Tapas Walking Tour Including Lavapiés Visit

saul a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

James was great. Would do it again.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Kosta H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour was fun, food and wine was great, people were friendly, tour guide was very good. Would definitely recommend this tour to others

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Anna E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I think the tour was really nice. There were 8 of us plus a guide (Andreas). There were 4 people from the UK and 4 from the States, nice bunch. Andreas took us to 3 places where we tried 5 wines and different tapas. we went to places full of locals rather than tourists so we discovered and #34;locals and #34;Madrid

Doing what: Old Town Madrid Gourmet Tapas and Wine Tasting Walking Tour

Benjamin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was the highlight of our time in Madrid. Pedro was a superstar. We were the only two on the tour that evening and he still gave us a superb experience. I loved the history and the context - Pedro actually got us hooked on learning more about Spain's history. And the food, well, it speaks for itself too. The stop at the deli where we had the Iberian ham, that was just wonderful. If you have the time, do this tour, you won't be disappointed. Both your mind and stomach will leave it well fed.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

HEATHER C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour. Small group 6ppl in 20's and 30's. I was a solo traveller and there were others the same as well as couples. I did the 8pm tour. Miriom is a fabulous guide. She's personable and willing to answer any questions. The food and bevvies were excellent too. A great starting point to a trip to Madrid. Highly recommend and I'm not one to typically take tours but did so because of the great reviews.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Adam K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

James is a great host and guide. Had a great time and ended up hanging out with other attendees afterwards.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message