Legend has it that the original tapas were used as covers to keep the sherry in Andalusian taverns safe from flies dropping into the glass. Bread, ham or chorizo were best, and led to the creation of the wide variety of Tapas, from olives, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 443 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Super-fun activity to get acquainted with Madrid nightlife. James was excellent. He was knowledgeable and made you feel very comfortable. A small group does a short walking tour/pub crawl, while experiencing the local culinary delights. Initially I wasn't sure that this tour would be worth it, because you could just explore tapas bars yourself. I was wrong. This is like having a good friend show you around the city. James took us to local places, not full of tourists, with particular strengths. He also will customize the tour according to what you are interested in (ham delights, better wine options, seafood joints, etc). He also explained local customs and traditions. He recommended a number of areas to try after the tour was complete. You can eat and drink as little or as much as you like during the evening. Over the course of 4 hours, you can drink quite a bit, but since you have been walking and eating the whole time, it is well tolerated. ;) The initial tapas bar tab is included with the tour and additional bars are your responsibility for paying, which was fine and not excessively expensive (25-30Euro/person). This was a lot of fun and I thank James for an excellent tour!

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Great tour! Very informative and fun.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

was unable to take this trip after we had booked

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The best way to learn tapas in Madrid

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent walking tour visiting different types of tapas places We had a really fun group and had an absolute blast. Our guide, Miriam, was excellent and proved to be a wonderful guide. I'm not a huge fan of tapas but Miriam was hell bent to make me a convert! My friend wanted to have tapas and I thought it would be a fun way to see it through a local's eyes. I would definitely do this tour again, just for the fun experience!

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Nick W
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I did this tour in October on a Monday night and I'm pleased we did... I thought it would be a very quiet night, but as it turned out that was an advantage for us, as the bars weren't so packed and jammed full of people- which made it far more comfortable for us.

I highly recommend doing this tour!

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Awesome, Highly recommended.
We had a great tour guide, who showed us how to order, and encouraged us all in the group to try new foods, that we would not have had the courage to do so without this tour.
Now, the next time, I will be able to go out on my own. A+++Tour

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide James was so wonderful. We had so much fun. We took this tour our first night in Madrid. It was perfect because the tour oriented us to that area of Madrid.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a fantastic tour! We scheduled on our first night and was really happy about that decision. James was a wonderful guide! Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My only regret is that I can not give more stars to James. There are many tapas tours in Madrid, so be aware who is being reviewed. This tour was led by James from Adventurous Appetites. He was enthusiastic, knowledgeble, accommodating, and absolutely incredible. He got almost everyone to try just about everything. The bars were charming and warm, the drinks were delicious and the food was amazing. This tour was the highlight of our Madrid trip!

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent, would highly recommend and James takes you to some tucked away bars you would not stumble across by accident and these are real authentic Spanish Bar's. Also rather than paying a high price up-front you get to chose what you want to eat or drink (Obviously with some top recommendations from James). Very useful if it is your first visit to Madrid to help with orientation - would recommend to do on your first day. Glenn and Shelley

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I've done this tour twice now, that's how good it is! James is a great host. I'd suggest doing it at the start of your visit to Madrid because it gives you the confidence to go into tapas bars of all shapes and sizes, and to try things you wouldn't normally try. You meet at 8 and he stays with you til midnight, dropping you off at a bar he recommends if you want to carry on. In that time you go to 4 tapas bars, all different from each other. There is loads to eat. You need to budget about another €30 on top of the money you pay in advance.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Hugely valuable start of 5 day trip. Enlightening, fun and educational

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message