Legend has it that the original tapas were used as covers to keep the sherry in Andalusian taverns safe from flies dropping into the glass. Bread, ham or chorizo were best, and led to the creation of the wide variety of Tapas, from olives, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 629 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Erez H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

great food and guide with a bit of history

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Fang N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We enjoyed it. Although not born and raised locally, James was very knowledgeable and has a way of bringing people together and creating a fun atmosphere. He also wrote down a ton of recommendations for the rest of our stay.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Bonnie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our evening tour with Pedro was one of the definite highlights of our Madrid visit!
His explanations of the history of the city were in-depth and supplied us with important background info and the visits to the various tapas bars etc were wonderful. Here too he supplied us with a lot of interesting info and went out of his way to help me find some equipment I was interested in.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Cheryl W F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely fantastic! Great group and great fun. After talking to other travelers who took other tours we realized just how great this one is. You can't go wrong with Andre - very gracious and fun to be around.

Doing what: Old Town Madrid Gourmet Tapas and Wine Tasting Walking Tour

Miho K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a great Tapas Tour that you should not miss. Andres, the guide, was very knowledgeable and explained about the city and each taberna, and he always looked around and took care of us, putting us together in an unified atomosphere. Food was great tortilla, Jamon Iberico de Bellota, Almejas, and much more!! and best matching wines to go with vermut, red, White and dessert wine. They can be seasonable and may change time to time, but I really recommend this tour if you would like to experiece Spanish traditional gastronomy.

Doing what: Old Town Madrid Gourmet Tapas and Wine Tasting Walking Tour

Susan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was perhaps the highlight of our trip to Madrid, thanks to Pedro, a Madrid native with a passion for the best food and history of his city. We chose the lunch tour. We walked around Madrid learning about the history and stopped and some amazing restaurants for tapas and drinks. The restaurants were not tourist places and the food was authentic and delicious. We learned about Iberian ham and tasted other preserved meats. We had salted cod, fried up so tenderly in a tiny place where the line went out the door. We had pork with raisin sauce, stuffed mushrooms and fried potatoes at a third place. We ended with churros and chocolate at a place that is open 24 hours a day. Our host, Pedro was so informative and just fun to be with. I definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting Madrid. It will enrich your travel experience.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Sheridan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Interesting tour which provided a good insight into culture in Madrid. A great way to get to know the city meet new people and try lots of new tapas with a very insightful guide.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Howard C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great night of fun, fabulous food and drink and local color. Our guide Pedro was friendly, knowledgeable, and clearly enjoying himself. Not an employee of some bigger outfit, Pedro takes pride in his tours and in his city.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

ICinFL United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great, great tour and passionate tour guide! So much fun, mixed with history and delicious out of the tourist core spots mainly frequented by locals. Gave us recommendations for follow up restaurants based on our interests and tastes. The group was small, just us and a mother/daughter from Scotland, which made it that much more fun. Would recommend.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Richard M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

When we first considered a tapas tour, we thought there was no needwe could find our own places and figure out what to order. But fortunately, we reconsidered and had the most wonderful first night in Madrid with Pedro. He was born and raised in Madrid, pointing out his grandparents home just off the plaza where we met, and his love of the city and knowledge of Spanish history made the city come alive as we walked and stopped at tapas restaurants and bars that we definitely would not have found on our own. Each one was unique and authentic and full of locals. The food and wine was some of the best we had during our trip. It was one of the highlights of our time in Spain. Thank you Pedro!

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

James F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent walking tour of central Madrid and food tour of four different parts of Spain. James brought wit, knowledge and joy to a rare rainy evening. He also gave us some fantastic recommendations for the rest of our stay, which brought us even more tapas and helped us fit in more with the Spanish way. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

LESLEY A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was one of the highlights of our brief 3 day visit to Madrid. The tour guide, James, was absolutely brilliant and great fun. The pace of the night was just right and some of James recommendation for both tapas and wines were spot on. This is a great tour and I would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Susan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Just amazing tour guide! We LOVED it so much. I traveled to Madrid with four teenage girls my two daughters and two friends and we were so tired, and the guide was so fun and accommodating and gracious in every way. He showed us some wonderful treats and places to go and we were so impressed. A MUST in Madrid. Thanks!!!!

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Cheryl L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

James-our guide was just fabulous! He took us all over the old quarter and we tried all kinds of different foods and drink. You can tell that he loves Madrid and his job! I would recommend this tour to everyone who wants to know what the insiders know-that Madrid is a gastronomic delight!

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Erez H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

great food and guide with a bit of history

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Gillian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a most amazing evening on our first night in Madrid. Pedro was an excellent guide - enthusiastic and passionate about good food. We were able to get a feel for Madrid and it history not to mention tasting some delicious food which we would never have found otherwise. A superb night spent with other like minded foodies with a warm and dedicated guide. Would highly reccomend this tour

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Ted Canada

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

I really have no idea what this tour is like because I couldn and #39;t book it. As a solo traveller, Viator required a minimum of 2 travellers. Well, how about 2 solo travellers? There must be some way to arrange this! Very disappointed.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Edgar O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

One of the best tours we enjoyed in Madrid. From the start, Pedro made us feel relaxed and welcome. He began the tour by relating a relevant historic background about Madrid. As we walked to each of the tabernas we were visiting, Pedro would add significant information about the area we were in. Also, before entering a taberna, he would add interesting facts about the food and drink we would be sampling and their connection to Madrid. Everything we sample was of excellent quality. Pedro was very skilled at clearly conveying his knowledge of Madrid's history and gastronomy which made this tour very unique. He also provided tips and suggestions on what, when and where to eat during our stay. We are very glad for those tips! Pedro was courteous from beginning to end and created a very pleasant evening for us. We highly recommend not leaving Madrid without enjoying this unique tour.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Jerome B Falk F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide was knowledgeable and fun to be with. We enjoyed every minute with her, and were shown m wonderful places we would never have found on our own. There could not have been a more wonderful introduction and personal welcome to Madrid.

Doing what: Madrid Market and Tapas Walking Tour Including Lavapiés Visit

Amanda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I rarely give reviews for tours, but this one was so good, I had to make an exception!!

On this tour we got to eat some amazing tapas and drink beautiful wine away from the Tourist traps and we learnt a bit about Madrid's history and traditions. We met some fantastic people, and because we were in a group, we got to try lots of new dishes we probably wouldn't have ordered on our own. James was a brilliant guide and really looked after us, suggesting what to order and giving us tips for other restaurants to try. I would recommend that you take this tour as soon as you arrive to Madrid. That way you know exactly what to order the next time you're in a bar.

So... if are looking to visit Madrid, this tour is an absolute must! .

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

NICOLE F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I went on this night tour with my boyfriend and we had a lot of fun! James was awesome, very knowledgeable and witty. He gave us a bit of history background and showed us awesome food and drink dishes. Highly recommend to anyone wanting to know more about tapas and the Spanish culture.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Ronda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

James was a lot of fun. Very fluent in both Spanish and English. We enjoyed it very much and highly recommend taking this tour.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

MLT

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Really knowledgeable and passionate guide tasted some great food.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Mrs V Y G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Pedro was a excellent guide. Tapas and drinks were really authentic. Bars were very traditional and lively. We even went back to one for a evening meal of Pealla. Good value for money and a great way to start our stay in Madrid.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message