Settled by the Phoenecians around the 7th century BC, later conquered by the Muslims and finally settling under Spanish rule, Ronda has had a long and varied history marked by war, trade, and geographic wonder.  Today, most visit the small town of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 102 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Francesca

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We left Marbella in the pouring rain and arrived in Ronda with beautiful sunshine. So don't let the weather stop you from going. It changes quickly with altitude. Our guide was wonderful and very organized. We toured the Old section, a winery, churches and the bull ring. We then had free time to explore or eat. Highly recommend Don Miguel's Terraza. You dine perched on the edge of the gorge. Their tapas are amazing! On our return to Marbella we were treated to a tour of the old city. It was decorated for Christmas and beyond quaint. Small shops, winding pedestrian streets and many cafes made it a charming area to enjoy the evening.

Doing what: Ronda and Tajo Gorge Day Trip from the Costa del Sol

dmayone

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Ronda was an unexpected gem as I had never heard of the city nor its amazing bridge. Our tour guide was great and the tour highlighted all of the sites. A wine tasting was also an unexpected extra.

Doing what: Ronda and Tajo Gorge Day Trip from the Costa del Sol

Frank R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a wonderful outing even though we had rain. I had read that the pick ups took a long time before heading up into Ronda, with this being said I was prepared for it and got to see beaches that we wouldn't have seen if not on the bus. The only one thing that we could really complain about was finding the tour bus. We were told that the bus picked up on n11 bus route in Malaga in front of a bank and a green newspaper stand, they are every where. Luckily another tour bus took us down the street to our ride. The tour guide was really very good and informative. Great tour and wine tasting.

Doing what: Ronda and El Tajo Gorge Day Trip with Wine Tasting from Malaga

Jim P

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Guide was upset with us for not a Reception when we were in the Marriott Reception not at the gate. No one told us that we were to meet the tour bus at the gate. He was rude when we got on the bus and never apologized during the tour. He did a great job of the tour in Ronda and true pleasure to visit.

Doing what: Ronda and Tajo Gorge Day Trip from the Costa del Sol

Mrs A C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Straight forward pick up, comfortable coach and informative guides. Ronda is lovely with a spectacular gorge and the oldest bullring in Spain. Our guide was very informative and ensured that after some free time to explore Ronda we could fiind our way back to the coach park easily. Only issue is the fact that 48hours prior to taking the trip, one has to phone during office hours to get an English speaker. With modern communications, surely an email or text with relevant details reference number and name should be sufficient to confirm that one is travelling!

Doing what: Ronda and El Tajo Gorge Day Trip with Wine Tasting from Malaga

Maureen L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The pueblos blancos section of the tour was a bit disappointing in that little historical information was provided. However, I enjoyed the walk up into the township. Warning though to others - you need to be pretty fit as it is quite a steep climb. The local guide in Ronda was very knowledgable and informative, despite his rather abrupt manner. This didn't detract from the tour and I enjoyed his commentary. It would have been great to have had more time in the bullring museum as we raced through there - perhaps a re- entry ticket for the free time later in the afternoon. The view from the bridge is wonderful. Worth doing.

Doing what: Ronda Day Trip from Seville: Wine Tasting, Bullfighting Ring and Optional Pueblos Blancos Tour

Jon

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Please don't be mislead by the rating. The trip itself to Ronda was great, but I am very sorry to say that our tour guide was very inconsiderate and seemed to not want to be there. Attention VIATOR, please advise people on vouchers that ANOTHER bus company may be used and to not necessarily look for of the actual tour company bus 'logo' on the side of the bus. Look for a SIGN in the 'front window of the bus' as well with the tour company's name and destination. This can be very misleading as we already were waiting at 7am looking for the tour bus when another one appeared. Initially, the guide did not even get out to see if anyone was waiting and when we told him we were looking for the tour bus, he very grumpily said that they used a different bus. No good morning either. He never introduced himself by name, but some say he was Paco NOT to be confused with the other 'nice' Paco that took us to Tangier days earlier. This 'Paco' was terrible! He was rushing through the tour, jumped from one location to another without looking or taking a head count and we basically had to chase him. We lost several people on the trip and 2 missed the Plaza de Toros bullring and its museum. Keep in mind this was a prepaid trip and some lost out. In addition, when we went to wine tasting--we had to use the restroom and the group was gone. He never said they were leaving and we luckily rushed out and ran to find the group. In the end, he never said goodbye to anyone in the group and even got into a tiff with one of the patrons in the group. Aside from that--Ronda was beautiful and worth the majestic views and great wine tasting. We were told it's get VERY HOT during the summer and it's very quiet then. Best time to visit is when the weather is cooler. Again, the views are stunning and the town is very quaint. Worth the trip hopefully with a better guide.

Doing what: Ronda and El Tajo Gorge Day Trip with Wine Tasting from Malaga

Carmen

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

It was a great tour. Ronda is beautiful and full of history. There was an incident I would like to bring to your attention to prevent it from happening again. At the end of the tour, the tour guide left with those that had purchased the lunch option. There was an elderly French couple in their eighties that didn't know how to get back to the meeting point. The elderly woman was in tears, so my husband and I had to ask an interpreter from another tour company who spoke French to explain to her and her disabled husband that we will make sure they will make it back to the bus on time. We had lunch with them and stayed with them until we got back on the bus.The point I'm trying to get across is that the tour guide should have taken the time to make sure that the elderly couple understood how to get back to the meeting point before leaving for lunch.

Doing what: Ronda and Tajo Gorge Day Trip from the Costa del Sol

GLORY N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was good , we were only four in a comfortable van and the drive wasn't to long, the driver was good who gave us a short tour in Pueblos Blanco, after the tour we then continue and meet by the local guide in Ronda. After the tour around the city and the Bullring we went for wine tasting. We had about an hour of free time to have lunch and spend by ourselves before going back to Seville. We took two tours with Andalsur and both enjoyed the tours and would be happy to recommend this tours company.

Doing what: Ronda Day Trip from Seville: Wine Tasting, Bullfighting Ring and Optional Pueblos Blancos Tour

Brian A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A really excellent trip with a very knowledgeable guide. Ronda is a lovely town to explore. Travel time from Malaga with hotel pick-ups is a bit long so take a book.

Doing what: Ronda and El Tajo Gorge Day Trip with Wine Tasting from Malaga

Sophia J

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Ronda is simply beautiful. I would definitely recommend a visit.
I wish we had a few hours more there to perhaps have a walk into the gorge.
We didn't get to see the bullring as advertised, because there was a big bull fight happening on the day so instead we were shown a rather stunning church.
It was also the day of the fair or festival so an interesting mix of activity and excitement and very well dressed attenders lots of traditional Spanish dress .
The 'english' guide at Ronda kept swapping languages which made it difficult to follow at times, but he got us to a few cool spots like the winery which i'm sure we would have found if we'd gone on our own.
Pickup and drop off was lengthy, but i suppose there is no way around that other than running smaller tours from each town.
On the whole it was a good day out.

Doing what: Ronda and El Tajo Gorge Day Trip with Wine Tasting from Malaga

Loo Fern C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Ronda is a lovely old town. The only downside is that the guide was not organised and didn't care too much about the group. There were a couple of times when group members were lost and didn't know where to go as she was walking so fast. The lunch was a disappointment.

Doing what: Ronda and El Tajo Gorge Day Trip with Wine Tasting from Malaga

Lizette G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

THIS IS A BILINGUAL REVIEW -- ENGLISH FIRST, THEN SPANISH:
FANTASTIC!!! EXCELLENT!! We had Alicia as our guide and Juan Jose as our driver, from Andalsur and we couldn't have been more pleased with this tour. There's alot to cover but Alicia was not only knowledgeable, but had a warm personality. She actually had us singing on the bus!!! Our guide in Ronda was equally knowledgeable and was fantastic. We wish more guides were like them. The Pueblo Blanco we visited was Zahara de la Sierra and speechless is how you are left with the views!! This tour is a MUST for those who want to see Ronda...which we highly recommend as you cover some of the MAIN sites. After going on this tour and seeing what Ronda has to offer, we decided that next time around, we will spend a full day there or even make two trips...next time we are in Malaga. Our thanks to Alicia and Juan Jose for a wonderful day...you really made our trip to Ronda special.

Que podemos decir...este viaje fue magnifico!!! Alicia fue nuestra guia y Juan Jose el chofer, ambos de Andalsur, y estamos sumamente complacidas con este viaje. Mucho que cubrir en este viaje pero Alicia es toda una profesional que conoce la materia y en varios idiomas, ademas de tener un caracter placentera..pues hasta nos tenia cantando canciones en el autobus!!! Nuestra guia en Ronda era igualmente profesional y con pleno conocimiento de su pueblo, Ronda. Ya quisieramos que todos los guias fueron como ellas... El Pueblo Blanco fue Zahara de la Sierra y uno se queda sin palabras con las vistas!! Recomiendo este viaje a Ronda porque cubre mucho de los sitios que uno, como visitante, quiere ver. Para nosotros, despues de pasar un dia fantastico en Ronda y disfrutar de todo lo que Ronda tiene que ofrecer, hemos decidido hacer uno o dos viajes para ver mas de Ronda, mientras estemos en Malaga en nuestro proximo viaje. Queremos darles la gracias a Alicia y a Juan Jose por hacer este viaje a Ronda muy especial!!!

Doing what: Ronda Day Trip from Seville: Wine Tasting, Bullfighting Ring and Optional Pueblos Blancos Tour

Tamas D Hungary

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

the old town of Ronda was very nice, however too much free time given in the city center 2,5-3 hours. that was way too much as that is basically 1 street only and not nice at all. The guide was terrible. He was an old dude and spoke English, Spanish and German. His English was really bad, and his German just terrible. I speak both languages but I still had a hard time to get what he was trying to say in any of those languages. Sometimes I understood some words in German, than others in English and tried to find out what he wanted to tell. He was also quite rude, he did not smile at all. Not once during the day.

The 40 minutes stop in Marbella on the way back was a nice surprise, I really liked that

Doing what: Ronda and Tajo Gorge Day Trip from the Costa del Sol

Wendy M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

The tour guide really didn't have much useful information to share. She seemed most concerned with sticking to a timeline and taking us from place to place rather than sharing background/information about the beauty and history of Ronda. In effect, it was basically just a ride to Ronda and at that point, we probably would've been better off doing a self-guided tour with our own guide books. At least that way, we could've gone at our own pace and really absorbed everything we had hoped to see and learn about this beautiful part of Spain.

Doing what: Ronda and Tajo Gorge Day Trip from the Costa del Sol

Antti R

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Both Destination and tour in Ronda were excellent, but I would have rather taken a bus or train Malaga straight to Ronda, because travelling there and back took so long. E.g. why did we had to have a 40 min break in Marbella on the way back? People were tired and just would have liked to get back to their hotels. We had driven for only about an hour. Several people complained about this and freelance guide did not know the reason to this. And why did we have to stop several times in the morning in Torrellimos and Marbella, but only once in Malaga? It took over two hours before we could even start to head towards Ronda.

Doing what: Ronda and El Tajo Gorge Day Trip with Wine Tasting from Malaga

Christine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide Carlos was super!! He was extremely knowledgeable about everything he showed us.This tour delivered so much more than was advertised . From an old castle in the middle of no where,the white villages Zahara and Graselema that I didn't expect to see .. also a small olive oil producer where we got to see how the oil was extracted.Carlos also directed us to the best place to eat in Graselema , that had the best gaspachio I've ever had !!! The tour of Ronda was great ,,as it was on my bucket list I was so happy to have such a wonderful guide to walk us through it. This tour really gives you bang for your buck.Did this tour May 7th so the weather was perfect .

Doing what: Ronda Day Trip from Seville: Wine Tasting, Bullfighting Ring and Optional Pueblos Blancos Tour

Deirdre S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Ronda is an exceptional lovely town. Wish we had more time there. Our first stop on the way was for an hour in a small village, this could be shorten by half an hour to spend more time in Ronda. The Ronda tour guide was fantastic. Our guide from Seville , Julia is a lovely caring person who we all liked. Next time have an iternary for the guests. Highly recommended. Well done Julia. Greg Stegman

Doing what: Ronda Day Trip from Seville: Wine Tasting, Bullfighting Ring and Optional Pueblos Blancos Tour

janet.pollock1

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

This trip was not worth it we spent only 40 minutes in Ronda and did not visit the bull ring or the wine tasting . Very very disappointed. Instead we visited some out of the way free entry crumbling fort that was built to guard a water supply and the guides mates olive oil shop! Really not what was booked!,,

Doing what: Ronda Day Trip from Seville: Wine Tasting, Bullfighting Ring and Optional Pueblos Blancos Tour

Mikael L

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

trevlig reseledare, smidig resa från hotell till Ronda Pueblos Blancos Tour. Ronda stad samt kul avstickare till Pueblos Blancos.
- Ronda lokala guide kunde väldig dålig engelska samt oengagerad trött?. Ingen vinprovsmakning enligt beskrivning.

Doing what: Ronda Day Trip from Seville: Wine Tasting, Bullfighting Ring and Optional Pueblos Blancos Tour

Hazem L

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The tour was good. But the journey was advertised as under 2 hours one way. In reality it was 4 hours each way as the coach was picking up passengers. So 8 hours in the bus and 4 hours in Ronda. It is ok for the bus to pickup more passengers but it should be clearly mentioned in the advert

Doing what: Ronda and El Tajo Gorge Day Trip with Wine Tasting from Malaga

maychangi

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide Sylvia was great! She kept us excited by telling us more about Seville and its happening throughout the journey to Ronda. The tour at Ronda and bull fighting ring by another special tour guide from Ronda was informative n good.

Doing what: Ronda Day Trip from Seville: Wine Tasting, Bullfighting Ring and Optional Pueblos Blancos Tour

Catherine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The trip I took to Ronda was terrific. It was all day and worth every minute. MRonda is a most unusual place with buildings perched on top if the gorge, but it is so worth seeing. Out tour guide was terrific andnv very informative also. A must, don't miss this tour.

Doing what: Ronda and El Tajo Gorge Day Trip with Wine Tasting from Malaga

Magne A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

Malaga - Ronda is 1.5 hours by bus. We spendt 8 hours on the bus and 3 hours in Ronda.
Had to pick up people along the coast at their hotels. We in Malaga had to walk to a Meeting point.
hours on the bus abd 3 hours in Ronda, NOT A GOOD DAY

Doing what: Ronda and El Tajo Gorge Day Trip with Wine Tasting from Malaga

Roslyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great day out. The guide was lovely and the driver was very good. Optional stop at Zahara was well worth the detour and the energetic young ones made it to the castle on top of the hill. Ronda is spectacular and very interesting. The guided tour here was very good starting at the bull ring and then going through the old town. Not at all strenuous. Wine tasting had six options for you to try!

Doing what: Ronda Day Trip from Seville: Wine Tasting, Bullfighting Ring and Optional Pueblos Blancos Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message