Most visitors make their way to Sabah and Sarawak with one goal in mind: encountering the beauty of nature and variety of wildlife in the states’ national parks. The best parks in Sarawak are conveniently located close to the capital, Kuching, while ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We saw three kinds of monkeys, had an expert guide with lots of knowledge, examined a pit viper, learned about many plants and trees, and covered two trails. We were surprised when the additional short boat ride was optional, 15 RM to see the rock formations. The van ride and hiking would be nicer if the guide would use mouthwash or do thorough tooth brushing before talking to close groups.

Doing what: Bako National Park Full-Day Tour from Kuching

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

A good excursion. Great views of the monkeys and wildlife and a pleasant guide. The walk was interesting but it was just before the monsoon season so very hot and humid.
My only gripe was the (it seems) common rort of charging 150Ringit for a fairly short boat trip with, I am sure, the proceeds divied up between the guide and the boat owner. This needs to be fixed.

Doing what: Bako National Park Full-Day Tour from Kuching

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

My wife and I went to KK for our wedding anniversary and took the canopy walkway and Poring Hot Springs and it was OK. But the real highlight was tasting the best durian and the best "marang" along the way. Our guide, Alfred, did a splendid job. He also brought us to a blooming Rafflesia flower.

Doing what: Best Kinabalu Park Canopy Walkway and Poring Hot Springs Full-Day Tour from Kota Kinabalu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Bako was a wonderful experience altogether not least because of the knowledge, sense of humour and sensitivity to our needs of the guide Sali ( Salahin). Thank you to all concerned for a wonderful day full of wildlife and boats, Including the fight to the death between a tarantula and a bee which Sali had never seen before either . The poor tarantula lost and must have made a large meal.

Doing what: Bako National Park Full-Day Tour from Kuching

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Amazing tour! We saw wild pigs, probiscus monkeys,... We took a short trail that direct us to a nice beach, although we couldn't swing because I had an accident just at the end of the walk. Anyway the tour is highly recommended.

Doing what: Bako National Park Full-Day Tour from Kuching

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Highly knowledgeable guide, excellent sights and a chance to see rural Malaysia. We were also fortunate enough to see a Rafflesia blooming.
This was one of the best parts of our 8 night stay.

Doing what: Best Kinabalu Park Canopy Walkway and Poring Hot Springs Full-Day Tour from Kota Kinabalu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Got to see Proboscis monkeys in the wild as soon as we got off boat and again around park headquarters. Also saw Silver Leaf monkey up close.

Doing what: Bako National Park Full-Day Tour from Kuching

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Well organised trip with a variety of species to view. The boat ride was very enjoyable indeed. The jungle trek needs a bit of a health warning as the paths are often steep and some parts are difficult to negotiate. Senior citizens should be cautious about the routes they choose.

Doing what: Bako National Park Full-Day Tour from Kuching

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This was a great trip and we were lucky enough to see the Probiscus monkies really close up. The guide was excellent and we had him to ourselves which was great as we went at our pace, some of the trails are quite tough, but then I am 67 years old. Lots of walks on duckboards so easy and a real chance to see tropical forests close up. The boat trip was exhilarating and overall an excellent trip.

Doing what: Bako National Park Full-Day Tour from Kuching

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Everything went well on our trip. We were picked up on time, taken by boat to the park and saw plenty of wildlife. Our tour guide provided a lot of information and was very helpful. He could have been more environmentally sensitive (not throwing cigarette butts onto beach, for example), but was still very helpful.

Doing what: Bako National Park Full-Day Tour from Kuching

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

It was an amazing tour. The guide was really friendly and if we want to spend more time on the beach, that was no problem. We were only two persons that was more then less a private tour and I enjoyed it. Defently we will come back in future again.

Doing what: Bako National Park Full-Day Tour from Kuching

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

What a great experience! Our guide Herman was wonderful, so knowledgeable and considerate, well worth it!!
Megan, Australia

Doing what: Best Kinabalu Park Canopy Walkway and Poring Hot Springs Full-Day Tour from Kota Kinabalu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

THIS WAS AN AWESEOM HIKE! I thought I was joining a group tour but it ended up being just me and the guide and I was happy with that! He was great. Very nice and catered to what I wanted to see- animals! I highly recommend a visit to this park. Very cool.

Doing what: Bako National Park Full-Day Tour from Kuching

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

The park is quite a long way from KK itself but the scenery to be seen on the drive itself makes it all worth it. During the day we made several stops to go into the rain forest to see the indigenous plants and flowers including the Rafflesia. Also visited the hot springs and the butterfly park.

Doing what: Best Kinabalu Park Canopy Walkway and Poring Hot Springs Full-Day Tour from Kota Kinabalu

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

This is the beginners guide to the rainforest. Highly recommended and going with a guide is a must otherwise you would miss out on so much wildlife that the untrained eye does not see. Guide was so informative, engaging, knowledgeable and enthusiatic about his home that it was an experience I will never forget.

Doing what: Bako National Park Full-Day Tour from Kuching

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Worth doing, but not with this tour company. The guide kept telling us it was not his usual tour, and that he wasn't really interested in these type of tours. Felt like he wanted to go home ASAP.

Doing what: Best Kinabalu Park Canopy Walkway and Poring Hot Springs Full-Day Tour from Kota Kinabalu

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2010

The local provider turned up on time and was very friendly and helpful. We started off at Kubah National Park which is actually a very physically demanding hiking trip. We had no idea of the physical demands of this tour and unfortunately could not participate due to health reasons. As a result, we ended up paying to go on a different tour entirely. I think Viator should include a recommended fitness rating for their tours. If we had known the requirements, we would have booked a different tour in the first instance and saved ourselves close to 300 AUD on an additional tour! I'm sure the park is worth seeing however I cannot comment as we couldn't participate. I would suggest a fitness rating of 45 if planning to book this tour. Before you even get to the trails, it is a 1.5 hr steep incline hike on hard surface.

Doing what: Matang Wildlife Rehabilitation Centre and Kubah National Park Tour from Kuching

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Viator lived up to its reputation completely on this trip. It was a very good day out, made even better by the guide we had: he was fantastic and knew the area and his job very very well. We would give it a five-star rating.

Doing what: Bako National Park Full-Day Tour from Kuching

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Excellent day! The guide was amazing, we saw three varieties of money, three varieties of snakes and two varieties of spiders as well as experincing mangrooves and forest. However, we would have liked longer, we lost an hour in the morning and were not colected due to the tide which was not made back up later as we were still taken back to our hotels at the orginal time.

Doing what: Bako National Park Full-Day Tour from Kuching

Anonymous

Anonymous

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2010

Our trip was like $30 more expensive than the normal local tours I saw. Although we did have the van exclusively. But the food for lunch was simple and not of good quality. I have used Viator for other tours in other countries but this is one that I would not recommend because it is overpriced and the food is not of good quality. The guide was so-so in narration but was accomodating, as was the driver. But I think for the price difference, it's not worth it.

Doing what: Best Kinabalu Park Canopy Walkway and Poring Hot Springs Full-Day Tour from Kota Kinabalu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

We visited the park and botanical garden, had lunch, and then drove to Poring Hot Springs. On the way to the Springs, we were very fortunate to see the Raffalisia flower in bloom. This was one of the highlights of our 10 day trip to Borneo!! The 12-story high canopy walk-way. was another feature of this trip. I have seen other canopy walk-ways but this one is the most "rustic"--being only a plank inside a net--very exciting.

Doing what: Best Kinabalu Park Canopy Walkway and Poring Hot Springs Full-Day Tour from Kota Kinabalu

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

A good experience. We had a friendly and well-informed guide.

Doing what: Best Kinabalu Park Canopy Walkway and Poring Hot Springs Full-Day Tour from Kota Kinabalu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message