Also known as the Palau de l’Almudaina, this ancient palace was originally built as a citadel on the hill by the Romans sometime around 123 BC in Palma, the capital city of the island of Majorca, Spain. Later conquered by the Moors, and then again ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 157 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Bus service was quick, good balance of stops/interesting sites, exactly as described.

Doing what: Palma de Mallorca Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Palma de Mallorca Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

Not a fan of hop off tours-pick up points not well labelled.

Doing what: Palma de Mallorca Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Palma de Mallorca Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent experience. Buses ran very often and very friendly staff on the buses. Would highly recommend this bus service.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Palma de Mallorca Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Great informative way see the main attractions. We looked at the map and decided where we wanted to get off with the assistance of the assistant on the bus. The only thing I could say is that there needs to be better signage when getting off the ship. We passed the main loading area and had a very rude driver tell us that we needed to walk back as he couldn't let us on at the stop he was at even though we had our tickets in had.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Palma de Mallorca Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The hop on/hop off was a good way for us to Palma in the short time that we had. It covered the key stops in the city with thorough explanations. In the future, I would probably opt for a tour with a guide.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Palma de Mallorca Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

The audio wasn't in sync with the different attractions, and the bus driver wasn't in to helping out, to point out the attractions. Wanted to see where Modigliani lived. It was one of the stops. Asked the bus driver. He ignored me. Wasn't in port long enough to do any thing else.

Doing what: Palma de Mallorca Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Palma de Mallorca Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Arrived via the cruise ship terminal and was able to get on the first bus coming by. Simple, easy way to navigate the city, stopped at the beach for a bit and see the pretty island. Very happy to have done it. We got off the bus at the stop prior to the cruise ship to do a little shopping and walked back. Very easy as well. 2 thumbs up!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Palma de Mallorca Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is my favorite way to get an initial look at a new city! It is always a relaxing, low stress way to get a good lay of the land sort of look around town and have the most prominent sites located and described for you. It is also a good way to skip the taxi and local buses if you have a language problem getting around.to the local tourist areas. Mallorca is a wonderful place to visit. The beaches that I visited along Cala Major were beautiful with that warm and lovely Mediterranean water and clean sandy beaches and lovely rocky alcoves. This was a tourist area with plenty of beach shops and restaurants.

Palma de Mallorca is a large and vibrant city with lots of shopping and restaurants. The people by and large do not speak much English but they are welcoming and friendly. There are many cruise ships stopping in and the majority of visitors are from Germany and Scandinavia. Don't miss the Cathedral or the Castle Bellver!

My only complaint is that the local bus company expects you to have a printed ticket in hand and does not accept a digital confirmation which is fine if you plan things from home and bring a ticket along, but I was staying in a rental unit and did not have access to a printer. I had to ask for a favor from a local student to print my pass. The next hurdle was that there were no maps of the bus stops available on-line, I had no idea what the bus stop sign looked like or where to find a bus stop. They did have a list of stops, but it was just a list of Spanish words to me with no location assistance. I could see that the buses were traveling the road that I was on, so I eventually found a bus stop by showing various people along the road the list that I was carrying and someone was able to tell me one of the stop areas 3 stops past the closest stop to my unit. Once I boarded a bus, all was well and I was able to pick up a bus stop map and finally figure out where I was going, although the route differed from the map at times.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Palma de Mallorca Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is my favorite way to get an initial look at a new city! It is always a relaxing, low stress way to get a good lay of the land sort of look around town and have the most prominent sites located and described for you. It is also a good way to skip the taxi and local buses if you have a language problem getting around.to the local tourist areas. Mallorca is a wonderful place to visit. The beaches that I visited along Cala Major were beautiful with that warm and lovely Mediterranean water and clean sandy beaches and lovely rocky alcoves. This was a tourist area with plenty of beach shops and restaurants.

Palma de Mallorca is a large and vibrant city with lots of shopping and restaurants. The people by and large do not speak much English but they are welcoming and friendly. There are many cruise ships stopping in and the majority of visitors are from Germany and Scandinavia. Don't miss the Cathedral or the Castle Bellver!

My only complaint is that the local bus company expects you to have a printed ticket in hand and does not accept a digital confirmation which is fine if you plan things from home and bring a ticket along, but I was staying in a rental unit and did not have access to a printer. I had to ask for a favor from a local student to print my pass. The next hurdle was that there were no maps of the bus stops available on-line, I had no idea what the bus stop sign looked like or where to find a bus stop. They did have a list of stops, but it was just a list of Spanish words to me with no location assistance. I could see that the buses were traveling the road that I was on, so I eventually found a bus stop by showing various people along the road the list that I was carrying and someone was able to tell me one of the stop areas 3 stops past the closest stop to my unit. Once I boarded a bus, all was well and I was able to pick up a bus stop map and finally figure out where I was going, although the route differed from the map at times.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Palma de Mallorca Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Easy way to get a quick overview of the city. It goes around the outside of the city center, the Cathedral, newer parts of Palma and the Bellver Castle. The frequency in the summer was very good, I never waited more then 5 minutes for a but.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Palma de Mallorca Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Typical tour not a bad way to see Palma, what there is of it.

Doing what: Palma de Mallorca Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Palma de Mallorca Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

This was a PRIVATE tour for our group of 7. Your agent No Frills Excursions sent a mini coach for over 20 people to pick us up. The obvious intention was to add on other passengers. Also as it happened 5 persons from our group did not join the tour as they were very tired from the previous day's tour. The guide told us that since 5 persons in our group were not coming he was taking other passengers. This was not true as he had already come with a mini coach. Then he told us that since the other passengers had Valledemosa on their itinerary, he was going to skip the Palma sightseeing and take us to Valledemosa, Deia and Sollet Valley. Hence we could not see the beautiful Cathedral of Palma. Also after we had gone a few miles, he told us that he had to pick up some more people from the Port and so the coach returned to the Port to pick up 3 more people. Then despite the delay, he gave a half hour break in Valledemossa and in Soller valley. As a result of all this, we barely managed to get back to the cruise ship 5 minutes before the All Aboard time of 6.30 pm. The guide had told us that if we had time on our return trip he would take us to the Cathedral to take some pictures. Even that could not be done as we simply had no time. To say that we were very very disappointed on this tour would surely be an understatement!!

Doing what: Palma de Mallorca Shore Excursion: Private Tour of Palma, Deia and Soller Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent way to see palma. Friendly staff and good commentry whilst on the bus. The castle is worth a visit for great views over palma.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Palma de Mallorca Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Gives an excellent overview of Palma

Doing what: City Sightseeing Palma de Mallorca Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Lines are very long at the cruise ship terminal, suggest you walk to the stop BEFORE the terminal...saved us over an hour of line waiting!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Palma de Mallorca Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Enjoyed this tour very much. The tour was just perfect for our time off the cruise ship! make sure you see the church!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Palma de Mallorca Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was a good tour, but it was difficult to find the bus pick-up area when coming off the cruise ship. We had to ask several people where to go. It would be helpful if there were signs directing people to the pick-up location and if it were emailed to the customer immediately after signing up for the tour so they know where to go when they get off the ship. A large colorful red Hop-on Hop-Off Tour sign would be helpful also. .

Doing what: City Sightseeing Palma de Mallorca Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was good, reliable. The drivers were friendly and helpful.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Palma de Mallorca Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The overall tour was good, easy way to get around the city and see the sites. It was frustrating to get to the stops on where the buses pick up at but learn from our mistakes. If you're porting from cruise (ours was Royal Carribbean), take the shuttle into town and hop on the bus across the street

Doing what: Palma de Mallorca Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Palma de Mallorca Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Good basic tour of Palma de Mallorca, but the English description was hard to understand and follow on the map. Would have been great to have each location number announced somehow.

Doing what: Palma de Mallorca Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Palma de Mallorca Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message