• USD ($)
  • English

Manaus ATTRACTIONS See all

Encontro das Aguas

The city of Manaus lies at the confluence of two great rivers, the Solimões and the Black. Although borders on water are typically impossible to see, that is not the case in Manaus. Because of the different colors of the two rivers, it's ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A bit worried at the start as wasn't convinced we were going to be picked up at the hotel but once that had been overcome it was well worthwhile. Look out for the sloth in the afternoon canoe tour.

Doing what: Rio Negro Cruise from Manaus to the Amazon River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Consider what is included in this one day tour. You are picked up at your hotel and taken in a nice bus to the beginning point for the tour. The tour, on an authenic Amazon river boat, is safe and comfortable. You have a knowledgeable guide who speaks both English and Portuguese, you see the beauties of Manaus from the river, and have a close up view of the Encontra das Aquas. On top of that, you go to a floating restaurant where you eat buffet style from a huge variety of local favorites. After eating all you want, you visit the giant lilly pads, then board a motorized canoe to see the flooded rain forest up close. From there, it's an easy return trip to Manaus, where the bus again takes you to your hotel. We had very nice weather, which was an added feature, and we highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rio Negro Cruise from Manaus to the Amazon River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Very happy that we signed up for this. Everything was perfect - the boat, the guide, lunch, etc. The meeting of the waters was really strange!

Doing what: Rio Negro Cruise from Manaus to the Amazon River

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Great tour and tour guide. We had a good time on all parts of the tour. Interesting about the meeting of the waters!

Doing what: Rio Negro Cruise from Manaus to the Amazon River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Excellant. Exactly as described. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Rio Negro Cruise from Manaus to the Amazon River

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

It was nice tour very informative.

Doing what: Rio Negro Cruise from Manaus to the Amazon River

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great trip. The tour guide was knowledgeable and bilingual. Lunch was excellent and the small-boat trip into the flooded forest was nicely capped off by a great view of some monkeys in the treetops. All-around good time.

Doing what: Rio Negro Cruise from Manaus to the Amazon River

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

My tour guide was amazing! Great tour!

Doing what: Rio Negro Cruise from Manaus to the Amazon River

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

As a cruise, it was great. Meeting of the rivers was amazing, a rare natural phenomenon that is not seen in very many places on earth, and the overall ride both on the cruise boat and the smaller boats through the forest were all very enjoyable. The platform walk into the woods to see the lily pads was just as interesting. The tour guide was also very proficient in English. But, the lunch, while very tasty and quite elaborate, needs attention. The restaurant needs to take necessary precautions so that there are no flies sitting on the food and spreading germs and diseases.

Doing what: Rio Negro Cruise from Manaus to the Amazon River

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Great tour overall good value for money. However a certain amount of confusion about which boat we were going on, resolved satisfactorily by determined questioning on our part.
Good lunch included. Ecological aspect fantastic.

Doing what: Rio Negro Cruise from Manaus to the Amazon River

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

knowledgeable guide and boat services. Canoe through the forest was very interesting.
The agency Frontur does a professional job.

Advice to viator: give us the local phone number to make sure we have local access.
the number we had was for Rio de Janeiro, not useful in Manaus.
pc

Doing what: Rio Negro Cruise from Manaus to the Amazon River

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Very little to see except lots of water and trees. No wildlife at all. The boat ride was lovely but boring. In hindsight, probably not worth doing given the expense of the trip.

Doing what: Rio Negro Cruise from Manaus to the Amazon River

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

A good boat ride on the Rio Negro to where it meets the Amazon. Tour includes a buffet lunch (which was very good) and a canoe trip into part of the jungle where there are locals waiting to greet you with a variety of animals to have picture taken with for a few Real. All a little bit false for me and I didn't like the way some of the animals were being handled. We did see wild river dolphin though.

Doing what: Rio Negro Cruise from Manaus to the Amazon River

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

The tour was good. The tour guide was very friendly.
However there is a misscommunication or gap between viator and the tour company. No email, phone, person to contact for both parties.
Viator phone line keeps you in the loop when you call. It needs to improve customer support.

Doing what: Rio Negro Cruise from Manaus to the Amazon River

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message