Manaus may not rank at the top of most Brazil must-see lists in the way that Rio de Janeiro or São Paulo do, but this major port city has the appeal of a pretty historic center - complete with 19th-century architecture - and its proximity to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is a great tour if you only have time for one day on the rivers. You have ample time to sense the immensity of the river systems and the natural beauty of the river because we tour the Januari ecological park adjacent to the Amazon. The staff was very knowledgeable. Great trip for seniors.

Doing what: Rio Negro Cruise from Manaus to the Amazon River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Obviously, the river tour is going to be the highlight for anyone coming to Manaus, but this one exceeded expectations, I'd say. We had a great trip up the river. We were able to learn a good deal about the river, the city, the history, etc. Tour guide was open to questions and very knowledgeable. The boat was in good condition and comfortable insider tip - bring or buy a hammock, and you can travel like the locals!. The lunch buffet had fantastic local food. The walk along the lake got us up an old bridge to look closely at the plant-life lily pads and animal life a caiman hanging out near the walkway!. The motorized-canoe trip down the tributaries was fun and got us up-close and personal with the forest and river.

Only thing I'd recommend here is bringing bug-spray. There are few mosquitos by the Rio Negro and in Manaus itself, but once you get to the other river, they start biting!

Doing what: Rio Negro Cruise from Manaus to the Amazon River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A bit worried at the start as wasn't convinced we were going to be picked up at the hotel but once that had been overcome it was well worthwhile. Look out for the sloth in the afternoon canoe tour.

Doing what: Rio Negro Cruise from Manaus to the Amazon River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Consider what is included in this one day tour. You are picked up at your hotel and taken in a nice bus to the beginning point for the tour. The tour, on an authenic Amazon river boat, is safe and comfortable. You have a knowledgeable guide who speaks both English and Portuguese, you see the beauties of Manaus from the river, and have a close up view of the Encontra das Aquas. On top of that, you go to a floating restaurant where you eat buffet style from a huge variety of local favorites. After eating all you want, you visit the giant lilly pads, then board a motorized canoe to see the flooded rain forest up close. From there, it's an easy return trip to Manaus, where the bus again takes you to your hotel. We had very nice weather, which was an added feature, and we highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rio Negro Cruise from Manaus to the Amazon River

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Can't believe I did this, but I did. I can now say I survived in the Amazon!

Doing what: Amazon Rainforest Survival Tour from Manaus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Cool tour, I leaned a lot about how to survive in the Amazon! Ate some odd things but it was fun! Definitely worth doing.

Doing what: Amazon Rainforest Survival Tour from Manaus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Very happy that we signed up for this. Everything was perfect - the boat, the guide, lunch, etc. The meeting of the waters was really strange!

Doing what: Rio Negro Cruise from Manaus to the Amazon River

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Great tour and tour guide. We had a good time on all parts of the tour. Interesting about the meeting of the waters!

Doing what: Rio Negro Cruise from Manaus to the Amazon River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Great tour and friendly guide. Some of the tour encompassed well-known attractions (Opera House), but there were other things we would have missed had we not signed up for this!

Doing what: Manaus City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Excellant. Exactly as described. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Rio Negro Cruise from Manaus to the Amazon River

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very professional service and knowledgeable guide. Everything promised was delivered, including excellent meal. I was well looked after for the whole day and fully enjoyed the experience. My one and only gripe was that some of my fellow passengers had paid less for the trip than l did, in one case almost half. Not quite the 'cheapest prices guaranteed'.

Doing what: Rio Negro Cruise from Manaus to the Amazon River

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Reasonable priced tour with a lot a value.
Local tour provider coordinated with my hotel in advance so I didn't need to do that.
Pickup was on time.
Bus to boat transportation was in a new bus and a city tour by itself.
Boat trip up the Rio Negra river to the Amazon and back was relaxing with a pleasant breeze. Nice snack selection and cold beverages available for sale.
Excellent guide.
Lunch buffet was great - selection was excellent.
5 minute walk to lily pad pond gave a worthy jungle perspective - you could see where you'd have to walk in the dry season.
Boat tour through flooded forest was interesting only possible during rainy season - sit in the first boat if more than one small boat will be in the convoy otherwise, you may breathe in diesel fumes from the outboard motor.
Boat trip stop at a village fish tank was well worth seeing the giant Rio Negra fish up close and you could feed the fish - May 2015 cost was 3 times to fish with a fish piece on a fishing pole for 10 local. Everyone loved the opportunity to have one of the giant fish snap up the fish piece. You were supposed to try to pick the fish up out of the water when they grabbed the fish.
We were all nice and tired out by the end of the day.

Doing what: Rio Negro Cruise from Manaus to the Amazon River

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Rio Negro Cruise from Manaus to the Amazon River

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

A tour you must take if you are in Manaus

Doing what: Rio Negro Cruise from Manaus to the Amazon River

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

It was nice tour very informative.

Doing what: Rio Negro Cruise from Manaus to the Amazon River

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour, the highlight being the Opera House. We were fortunate to visit whilst a rehearsal was in progress. Manaus is a fascinating old town with a busy waterfront and municipal market all very interesting. Our guide spoke good English and was very knowledgeable on the history of the city.

Doing what: Manaus City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great trip. The tour guide was knowledgeable and bilingual. Lunch was excellent and the small-boat trip into the flooded forest was nicely capped off by a great view of some monkeys in the treetops. All-around good time.

Doing what: Rio Negro Cruise from Manaus to the Amazon River

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

My tour guide was amazing! Great tour!

Doing what: Rio Negro Cruise from Manaus to the Amazon River

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

As a cruise, it was great. Meeting of the rivers was amazing, a rare natural phenomenon that is not seen in very many places on earth, and the overall ride both on the cruise boat and the smaller boats through the forest were all very enjoyable. The platform walk into the woods to see the lily pads was just as interesting. The tour guide was also very proficient in English. But, the lunch, while very tasty and quite elaborate, needs attention. The restaurant needs to take necessary precautions so that there are no flies sitting on the food and spreading germs and diseases.

Doing what: Rio Negro Cruise from Manaus to the Amazon River

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Great tour overall good value for money. However a certain amount of confusion about which boat we were going on, resolved satisfactorily by determined questioning on our part.
Good lunch included. Ecological aspect fantastic.

Doing what: Rio Negro Cruise from Manaus to the Amazon River

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

knowledgeable guide and boat services. Canoe through the forest was very interesting.
The agency Frontur does a professional job.

Advice to viator: give us the local phone number to make sure we have local access.
the number we had was for Rio de Janeiro, not useful in Manaus.
pc

Doing what: Rio Negro Cruise from Manaus to the Amazon River

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

This was a good tour. It was interesting to learn about the history of the Opera house and how it came to be built when and where it was built.

Doing what: Manaus City Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message