Insider's Guide to

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

ATTRACTIONS See all

Atlas Mountains

Sprawling along the frontier of the Sahara, Morocco’s mighty Atlas Mountains run all the way from the Atlantic coast to the northern Rif Mountains, separating the cities from the desert. Capped with snow throughout the winter months and cloaked ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 31 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had a great day visiting the valleys in the Atlas mountains. Our guide, Abdul, was very friendly and went to great lengths to show us the best places in the area. He was happy to stop along the way for us to take in the views and take photos. An amazing experience that we would highly recommend! One thing that could be improved is the communication with the agent, who only informed us a day before the tour about the pick-up place and time after I had to contact them and enquire about it. It would be much better, if they were a bit more proactive...

Doing what: Three Valleys Day Trip from Marrakech with Optional Visit to Takerkoust Lake and Kik Plateau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A thoroughly entertaining experience from from start to finish with break taking views of the sunrise over the Atlas Mountains. There was very little hanging around as the team were very efficient and had the balloon set up and ready to go very quickly. For memorable views and an entertaining crew and pilot then this is the trip for you! Chris and Jess

Doing what: Atlas Mountains Hot Air Balloon Ride from Marrakech with Berber Breakfast and Desert Camel Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolute highlight of our trip - Hamid and Mustafa were great guides and made the early morning start on my birthday a very happy one! We were joined by some lovely people on the trip too. Thanks guys for a fantastic time :
Tip would be to definitely go for the early morning ballon ride - watching the sun come up over the Atlas Mountains is quite something.

Doing what: Atlas Mountains Hot Air Balloon Ride from Marrakech with Berber Breakfast and Desert Camel Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a wonderful day. It was worth the long trip through the Atlas Mountains in order to see the terrain on the other side. The guide was very knowledgeable and considerate and stopped when we asked and suggested photo opportunities that we might have missed. I loved this tour and this company. I would travel with them again.

Doing what: Ouarzazate and Ait Benhaddou Day Trip Through the Atlas Mountains from Marrakech

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Without a doubt the highlight of our trip so far. The tour exceeded our expectations and was well worth the price.
The day was long albeit interesting throughout thanks to our fantastic tour guide Mustafa who was funny and informative during our trip.
The three valleys are beautiful with the landscape changing through each one with amazing views of the Atlas mountains. Mustafa was only too willing to stop when we requested to take photos at points along the way.
The argan oil visit was interesting; we did not feel pressured at all to buy anything.
The trip to the waterfalls was a extremely fun experience; without a doubt you need a guide as the route is very tricky and involves some level of fitness and courage.
Our meal in the berber house had an incredible setting of the mountains; our group could not believe how beautiful it was. And for the price you get a lot of food!
We completed our trip with a visit to plateu kiki which was a beautiful clear blue.
I'm not usually one to write reviews but this was such a good tour. Even when my friend left her coat in the 4x4 the company kindly dropped it off the next day.

Doing what: Three Valleys Day Trip from Marrakech with Optional Visit to Takerkoust Lake and Kik Plateau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a long trip but the views going over the Atlas Mountains are breathtaking, Ait Benhaddou is brilliant and well worth the visit. This was a fantastic excursion

Doing what: Ouarzazate and Ait Benhaddou Day Trip Through the Atlas Mountains from Marrakech

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A truly magical experience watching the sun rise over the atlas mountains. The balloon was piloted by a very entertaining captain who was very attentive throughout the day. Strongly recommend.

Doing what: Atlas Mountains Hot Air Balloon Ride from Marrakech with Berber Breakfast and Desert Camel Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Absolutely incredible. It's an early start but from start to finish it was just amazing. I must admit I was terrified when I saw the balloon being inflated but once you're up it's perfectly silent and peaceful and get to watch the sun coming up over the Atlas Mountains. Our pilot was so funny too.

Doing what: Atlas Mountains Hot Air Balloon Ride from Marrakech with Berber Breakfast and Desert Camel Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great day out, away from the bustle of Marrakech, seeing some of the beautiful Atlas mountains and enjoying a delicious lunch in a local home. Interesting stop off points, a very informative guide, comfortable vehicle, fantastic scenery, all very enjoyable and good value. Just the right duration too.

Doing what: Three Valleys Day Trip from Marrakech with Optional Visit to Takerkoust Lake and Kik Plateau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Trip was cancelled due to bad weather.. But they recommended another day trip of the 4 valleys..
Had an amazing day in the Atlas Mountains.. Seeing snow, greenery..
The best was eating lunch in a local Berbers house! An absolute amazing experience

Doing what: Ouarzazate and Ait Benhaddou Day Trip Through the Atlas Mountains from Marrakech

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was our first trip to Morocco and our first full day there. The tour was a day well spent learning something as to the history and cultures of the country. The three valleys are very different to plain that Marrakech sits on; the scenery is excellent, especially with the snow on the Atlas Mountains. If you do the waterfall walk, make sure that you take some substantial footwear with you and be aware that the Argan oil products offered can be bought for a fraction of the price in the souks or Marrakech. Our guide was helpful and informative. It was a full day and we would recommend it.

Doing what: Three Valleys Day Trip from Marrakech with Optional Visit to Takerkoust Lake and Kik Plateau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was a brilliant trip out of Marrakech and into the beautiful Atlas mountains. It was great to have a break from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech and each valley we visited felt very different. The walk up to the waterfall at Ourika Valley was definitely worth the climb and the views from the top are great. The highlight was the delicious lunch in a Berber village. It was lovely to be away from other tourists and the view was spectacular. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Three Valleys Day Trip from Marrakech with Optional Visit to Takerkoust Lake and Kik Plateau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great tour across the atlas mountains and to meet the Berber people. Tour guide was very informative and had a good sense of humour. Lunch was good food and everything was reasonably priced. Fantastic going to a berber house and having authentically made mint tea (tasted great). As we were parked along the side of the road looking at a site, a massive herd of goats came up the road impromtu. Incredible scenery I was not expecting. Well organised trip, we really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Berber Trails 4WD Day Trip from Marrakech

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

we returned to Marrakech with this trip in mind as the highlight of our trip.we were not disappointed.i emailed the tour reps in Marrakech before leaving the uk.they gave us a time that they would be picking us up and arrived no more than a few minutes late.we requested an English speaking guide and that's what we got .the views on this trip are stunning and I was amazed at the amount of small villages spread out and cut into the steep hillside of the atlas mountains.for me personally I was intrigued by the people you see on the way.you can be miles from the nearest village ,yet you will see people walking or just standing by the roadside.i would recommend having a light breakfast ,as the lunch that you are provided with is quite substantial.you will get one or two street sellers approach you on a couple of the stops but a firm no thankyou will stop them bothering you .I would certainlyrecommend this trip and if I was to return to Marrakech then I would more than likely do this tour again

Doing what: Berber Trails 4WD Day Trip from Marrakech

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Excellent trip through the breath-taking scenes of Atlas Mountains. Visiting the Berber Village was the icing on the cake.

Doing what: Berber Trails 4WD Day Trip from Marrakech

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message