• USD ($)
  • English
Insider's Guide to

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

ATTRACTIONS See all

Atlas Mountains

Sprawling along the frontier of the Sahara, Morocco’s mighty Atlas Mountains run all the way from the Atlantic coast to the northern Rif Mountains, separating the cities from the desert. Capped with snow throughout the winter months and cloaked ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 21 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Absolutely incredible. It's an early start but from start to finish it was just amazing. I must admit I was terrified when I saw the balloon being inflated but once you're up it's perfectly silent and peaceful and get to watch the sun coming up over the Atlas Mountains. Our pilot was so funny too.

Doing what: Atlas Mountains Hot Air Balloon Ride from Marrakech with Berber Breakfast and Desert Camel Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great day out, away from the bustle of Marrakech, seeing some of the beautiful Atlas mountains and enjoying a delicious lunch in a local home. Interesting stop off points, a very informative guide, comfortable vehicle, fantastic scenery, all very enjoyable and good value. Just the right duration too.

Doing what: Three Valleys Day Trip from Marrakech with Optional Visit to Takerkoust Lake and Kik Plateau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Trip was cancelled due to bad weather.. But they recommended another day trip of the 4 valleys..
Had an amazing day in the Atlas Mountains.. Seeing snow, greenery..
The best was eating lunch in a local Berbers house! An absolute amazing experience

Doing what: Ouarzazate and Ait Benhaddou Day Trip Through the Atlas Mountains from Marrakech

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was our first trip to Morocco and our first full day there. The tour was a day well spent learning something as to the history and cultures of the country. The three valleys are very different to plain that Marrakech sits on; the scenery is excellent, especially with the snow on the Atlas Mountains. If you do the waterfall walk, make sure that you take some substantial footwear with you and be aware that the Argan oil products offered can be bought for a fraction of the price in the souks or Marrakech. Our guide was helpful and informative. It was a full day and we would recommend it.

Doing what: Three Valleys Day Trip from Marrakech with Optional Visit to Takerkoust Lake and Kik Plateau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was a brilliant trip out of Marrakech and into the beautiful Atlas mountains. It was great to have a break from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech and each valley we visited felt very different. The walk up to the waterfall at Ourika Valley was definitely worth the climb and the views from the top are great. The highlight was the delicious lunch in a Berber village. It was lovely to be away from other tourists and the view was spectacular. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Three Valleys Day Trip from Marrakech with Optional Visit to Takerkoust Lake and Kik Plateau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great tour across the atlas mountains and to meet the Berber people. Tour guide was very informative and had a good sense of humour. Lunch was good food and everything was reasonably priced. Fantastic going to a berber house and having authentically made mint tea (tasted great). As we were parked along the side of the road looking at a site, a massive herd of goats came up the road impromtu. Incredible scenery I was not expecting. Well organised trip, we really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Berber Trails 4WD Day Trip from Marrakech

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

we returned to Marrakech with this trip in mind as the highlight of our trip.we were not disappointed.i emailed the tour reps in Marrakech before leaving the uk.they gave us a time that they would be picking us up and arrived no more than a few minutes late.we requested an English speaking guide and that's what we got .the views on this trip are stunning and I was amazed at the amount of small villages spread out and cut into the steep hillside of the atlas mountains.for me personally I was intrigued by the people you see on the way.you can be miles from the nearest village ,yet you will see people walking or just standing by the roadside.i would recommend having a light breakfast ,as the lunch that you are provided with is quite substantial.you will get one or two street sellers approach you on a couple of the stops but a firm no thankyou will stop them bothering you .I would certainlyrecommend this trip and if I was to return to Marrakech then I would more than likely do this tour again

Doing what: Berber Trails 4WD Day Trip from Marrakech

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Excellent trip through the breath-taking scenes of Atlas Mountains. Visiting the Berber Village was the icing on the cake.

Doing what: Berber Trails 4WD Day Trip from Marrakech

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Thoroughly entertaining day, which exceeded my expectations.
The Atlas mountains trip there and back were exactly the contrast I wanted from urban Marrakech.
The Land Cruiser was comfortable ( especially as I "bagged" the front seat beng a lone traveller. Our driver's english was not brilliant which saved us from being inundated with trivia but he was an outstanding driver (I guess you have to be to survive in Marrakech traffic.
The Berber house was fascinating and the view from the lunch-stop restaurant worth the trip by itself.
Go on this trip and book with Viator...mine was the cheapest in our car.

Doing what: Berber Trails 4WD Day Trip from Marrakech

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

We had a great experience on this tour. Seeing the sights of the Atlas mountains and Berber villages. The guide and drivers were excellent with a good number of stops along the way to take everything in. Sharing tea with a Berber family was also a pleasure. The views at the lunch stop were first class and a good meal to go with them.

All in all well worth it

Doing what: Berber Trails 4WD Day Trip from Marrakech

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Beautiful drive thru the Atlas Mountains to get to Ouarzazate! Our driver/tour guide was great. He picked us up promptly at pick-up time and told us to take our time finishing breakfast as we were the only two people on tour that day. I felt bad for the guy, he drove us around for ten hours that day. Five up and five back and never once complained about the drive or his job. We were so impressed with our driver we hired him the next day for a Marrakech private city tour. We both tipped our guide $20 USD each which he was very happy to receive. The conditions going thru the Atlas Mountains were at times bad as it was mid-January. There was heavy snow in the morning, but cleared up going back to Marrakech late afternoon. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone looking for an adventure!

Doing what: Ouarzazate and Ait Benhaddou Day Trip Through the Atlas Mountains from Marrakech

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Driver was great to talk with on this long trip ... and it is long! This is really an all-day adventure. The scenery was fantastic with wonderful views of the Atlas Mountains and the uplands. The walking tour was awesome, but you need to be reasonably fit. This part of the trip is not recommended for older folk. The views after the climb were worth it! The Berber people do not run on Western time so you need to be a bit patient at times. Expect to find mountain folk trying to hawk their wares to you even in the most unlikely of places. The views from the roads as we wound our way up were extraordinary. I thought our lunch was delicious, but it was served after four o'clock by which time I and the three others in my group were starving. I recommend the excursion to Lake Takerkoust and the Kik Plateau for the views and for the sundown. Just remember to plan for a long day!

Doing what: Three Valleys Day Trip from Marrakech with Optional Visit to Takerkoust Lake and Kik Plateau

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Fine trip - journey of 4 hours to ourazazate over the Atlas Mountains was long and worth it. However, it's nowhere near the Sahara desert as the itinerary suggests.

Ait Benhadou was picturesque as well. Basically, it's 8 hours in the car for 3-4 hours of sightseeing. Not bad but not great either.

Doing what: Ouarzazate and Ait Benhaddou Day Trip Through the Atlas Mountains from Marrakech

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Loved the Atlas Mountains!

Doing what: Berber Trails 4WD Day Trip from Marrakech

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Really good day out of the hustle of Marrakech. Excellent way to experience the Berber lifestyle and see the Atlas mountains.

Doing what: Berber Trails 4WD Day Trip from Marrakech

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message