Insider's Guide to

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

ATTRACTIONS See all

Atlas Mountains

Sprawling along the frontier of the Sahara, Morocco’s mighty Atlas Mountains run all the way from the Atlantic coast to the northern Rif Mountains, separating the cities from the desert. Capped with snow throughout the winter months and cloaked ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 36 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ryan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic Tour! Hamid and Halid were excellent hosts, as well as the rest of the staff!

Hamid was full of dad jokes that made us feel at ease or incredibly nervous when he pretended to drop a rope from the balloon! It was funny though!

It was serene and breath-taking to watch the sun over the Atlas mountains. Well worth the time and money!

Doing what: Atlas Mountains Hot Air Balloon Ride from Marrakech with Berber Breakfast and Desert Camel Experience

Rima M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Would recommend this tour to anyone! The staff on the tour are very friendly and helpful! We really enjoyed our time camping in the desert and riding the camels. The time riding camels was just enough without being too much. The dinner in the desert was very good and the accommodation was simple but clean and great for one night. The tour includes quite a bit of driving time but it was well worth it to get into the desert and see the incredible views best stargazing there is. The Atlas Mountains are very beautiful and the Ouarzazate visit was great for getting a feel for the culture of the area. Great tour!

Doing what: 2-Day Zagora Tour from Marrakech Including the Atlas Mountains, Camel Trek and Desert Camp

Lacey L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I cannot recommend this tour highly enough, everyone we met along the way, both our drivers and the balloon pilot had the best sense of humour, we were laughing the whole time. They were extremely considerate and made sure we got some great photos by slowing down along the way at picturesque points in the car goats! and taking group photos for us on the balloon to get all the scenery in. We felt very safe, excited and the views from the balloon were unbelievable. The berber breakfast was delicious, you HAVE to try the cactus fruit, it will become your new favourite thing. The camel ride was great fun, not long 20 mins ish but its at the hottest part of the day and you'd get a sore bum doing it for much longer! Mostafa our wonderful guide then gave us his number and offered himself at our disposal for the rest of our stay, so we went into the Atlas Mountains with him on a private tour the next day, and climbed a waterfall with someone who had lived in that village his whole life. It was an incredible experience. The men running these tours are all fantastic people, and Mostafa has become a real friend! Can't wait to go back!

Doing what: Atlas Mountains Hot Air Balloon Ride from Marrakech with Berber Breakfast and Desert Camel Experience

Nikolaos C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had a great day visiting the valleys in the Atlas mountains. Our guide, Abdul, was very friendly and went to great lengths to show us the best places in the area. He was happy to stop along the way for us to take in the views and take photos. An amazing experience that we would highly recommend! One thing that could be improved is the communication with the agent, who only informed us a day before the tour about the pick-up place and time after I had to contact them and enquire about it. It would be much better, if they were a bit more proactive...

Doing what: Three Valleys Day Trip from Marrakech with Optional Visit to Takerkoust Lake and Kik Plateau

Chris P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A thoroughly entertaining experience from from start to finish with break taking views of the sunrise over the Atlas Mountains. There was very little hanging around as the team were very efficient and had the balloon set up and ready to go very quickly. For memorable views and an entertaining crew and pilot then this is the trip for you! Chris and Jess

Doing what: Atlas Mountains Hot Air Balloon Ride from Marrakech with Berber Breakfast and Desert Camel Experience

sue

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolute highlight of our trip - Hamid and Mustafa were great guides and made the early morning start on my birthday a very happy one! We were joined by some lovely people on the trip too. Thanks guys for a fantastic time :
Tip would be to definitely go for the early morning ballon ride - watching the sun come up over the Atlas Mountains is quite something.

Doing what: Atlas Mountains Hot Air Balloon Ride from Marrakech with Berber Breakfast and Desert Camel Experience

Penny C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a wonderful day. It was worth the long trip through the Atlas Mountains in order to see the terrain on the other side. The guide was very knowledgeable and considerate and stopped when we asked and suggested photo opportunities that we might have missed. I loved this tour and this company. I would travel with them again.

Doing what: Ouarzazate and Ait Benhaddou Day Trip Through the Atlas Mountains from Marrakech

Kiana A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Without a doubt the highlight of our trip so far. The tour exceeded our expectations and was well worth the price.
The day was long albeit interesting throughout thanks to our fantastic tour guide Mustafa who was funny and informative during our trip.
The three valleys are beautiful with the landscape changing through each one with amazing views of the Atlas mountains. Mustafa was only too willing to stop when we requested to take photos at points along the way.
The argan oil visit was interesting; we did not feel pressured at all to buy anything.
The trip to the waterfalls was a extremely fun experience; without a doubt you need a guide as the route is very tricky and involves some level of fitness and courage.
Our meal in the berber house had an incredible setting of the mountains; our group could not believe how beautiful it was. And for the price you get a lot of food!
We completed our trip with a visit to plateu kiki which was a beautiful clear blue.
I'm not usually one to write reviews but this was such a good tour. Even when my friend left her coat in the 4x4 the company kindly dropped it off the next day.

Doing what: Three Valleys Day Trip from Marrakech with Optional Visit to Takerkoust Lake and Kik Plateau

Maria S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a long trip but the views going over the Atlas Mountains are breathtaking, Ait Benhaddou is brilliant and well worth the visit. This was a fantastic excursion

Doing what: Ouarzazate and Ait Benhaddou Day Trip Through the Atlas Mountains from Marrakech

Luke Jackson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A truly magical experience watching the sun rise over the atlas mountains. The balloon was piloted by a very entertaining captain who was very attentive throughout the day. Strongly recommend.

Doing what: Atlas Mountains Hot Air Balloon Ride from Marrakech with Berber Breakfast and Desert Camel Experience

Monkeywrench

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Absolutely incredible. It's an early start but from start to finish it was just amazing. I must admit I was terrified when I saw the balloon being inflated but once you're up it's perfectly silent and peaceful and get to watch the sun coming up over the Atlas Mountains. Our pilot was so funny too.

Doing what: Atlas Mountains Hot Air Balloon Ride from Marrakech with Berber Breakfast and Desert Camel Experience

Peter D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great day out, away from the bustle of Marrakech, seeing some of the beautiful Atlas mountains and enjoying a delicious lunch in a local home. Interesting stop off points, a very informative guide, comfortable vehicle, fantastic scenery, all very enjoyable and good value. Just the right duration too.

Doing what: Three Valleys Day Trip from Marrakech with Optional Visit to Takerkoust Lake and Kik Plateau

sabrina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Trip was cancelled due to bad weather.. But they recommended another day trip of the 4 valleys..
Had an amazing day in the Atlas Mountains.. Seeing snow, greenery..
The best was eating lunch in a local Berbers house! An absolute amazing experience

Doing what: Ouarzazate and Ait Benhaddou Day Trip Through the Atlas Mountains from Marrakech

Peter L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was our first trip to Morocco and our first full day there. The tour was a day well spent learning something as to the history and cultures of the country. The three valleys are very different to plain that Marrakech sits on; the scenery is excellent, especially with the snow on the Atlas Mountains. If you do the waterfall walk, make sure that you take some substantial footwear with you and be aware that the Argan oil products offered can be bought for a fraction of the price in the souks or Marrakech. Our guide was helpful and informative. It was a full day and we would recommend it.

Doing what: Three Valleys Day Trip from Marrakech with Optional Visit to Takerkoust Lake and Kik Plateau

Emily

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was a brilliant trip out of Marrakech and into the beautiful Atlas mountains. It was great to have a break from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech and each valley we visited felt very different. The walk up to the waterfall at Ourika Valley was definitely worth the climb and the views from the top are great. The highlight was the delicious lunch in a Berber village. It was lovely to be away from other tourists and the view was spectacular. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Three Valleys Day Trip from Marrakech with Optional Visit to Takerkoust Lake and Kik Plateau

LAUREN J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great tour across the atlas mountains and to meet the Berber people. Tour guide was very informative and had a good sense of humour. Lunch was good food and everything was reasonably priced. Fantastic going to a berber house and having authentically made mint tea (tasted great). As we were parked along the side of the road looking at a site, a massive herd of goats came up the road impromtu. Incredible scenery I was not expecting. Well organised trip, we really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Berber Trails 4WD Day Trip from Marrakech

colin k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

we returned to Marrakech with this trip in mind as the highlight of our trip.we were not disappointed.i emailed the tour reps in Marrakech before leaving the uk.they gave us a time that they would be picking us up and arrived no more than a few minutes late.we requested an English speaking guide and that's what we got .the views on this trip are stunning and I was amazed at the amount of small villages spread out and cut into the steep hillside of the atlas mountains.for me personally I was intrigued by the people you see on the way.you can be miles from the nearest village ,yet you will see people walking or just standing by the roadside.i would recommend having a light breakfast ,as the lunch that you are provided with is quite substantial.you will get one or two street sellers approach you on a couple of the stops but a firm no thankyou will stop them bothering you .I would certainlyrecommend this trip and if I was to return to Marrakech then I would more than likely do this tour again

Doing what: Berber Trails 4WD Day Trip from Marrakech

Salah Saad M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Excellent trip through the breath-taking scenes of Atlas Mountains. Visiting the Berber Village was the icing on the cake.

Doing what: Berber Trails 4WD Day Trip from Marrakech

Ian H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Thoroughly entertaining day, which exceeded my expectations.
The Atlas mountains trip there and back were exactly the contrast I wanted from urban Marrakech.
The Land Cruiser was comfortable ( especially as I "bagged" the front seat beng a lone traveller. Our driver's english was not brilliant which saved us from being inundated with trivia but he was an outstanding driver (I guess you have to be to survive in Marrakech traffic.
The Berber house was fascinating and the view from the lunch-stop restaurant worth the trip by itself.
Go on this trip and book with Viator...mine was the cheapest in our car.

Doing what: Berber Trails 4WD Day Trip from Marrakech

ian d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

We had a great experience on this tour. Seeing the sights of the Atlas mountains and Berber villages. The guide and drivers were excellent with a good number of stops along the way to take everything in. Sharing tea with a Berber family was also a pleasure. The views at the lunch stop were first class and a good meal to go with them.

All in all well worth it

Doing what: Berber Trails 4WD Day Trip from Marrakech

Eric W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The main reason I went on this trip was to see a bit of the Atlas mountains and Ait Benhaddou. This meet my expectations. I got to see part of the Atlas mountains in stunning views and go to see the desert on the other side at a fairly reasonable price.

I have already been to Tangiers, Rabat, Fes, Marrakesh, Casa Blanca, Meknes and a handful of other places in Morocco mostly without guides. But in general: Manage your expectations and read up on the sites before you go. Guides can be hit or miss and companies rotate through 5 or 6 guides for a given trip to spread the work and to make sure there is always someone, so quality may drop because there is a new person in the rotation.

This is a day trip. Expect around 12 hours on this trip. Each way due to mountain roads and traffic will be about 4 to 4:30 hours. Make sure to buy any souvenirs on the way out to Ouarzazate because all the shops will be closed on your way back. You will get about one hour in Ouarzazate and about 2 hours in Ait Benhaddou to eat and see it. Prices at the cafes in Ait Benhaddou were reasonable for a tourist trap.

My guide, Abdul, spoke fluent French and English. Which was great because I need some French practice. But he mostly spoke English for the other travelers.

He will not guide you through the sites when you arrive, but he did give realistic times for spending at the places had to ask him. You are going to have to pay more for a better package for that.
He drove very well in the mountains, safely passing. He explained lot of little details for the other passengers. We made short stops along to way out Ait Benhaddou and Ouarzazate in order to see some views and he explained some of the berber culture and other background information.

He also gave tips like fair prices for some of the stuff to buy. He did not push or drop us at any stores or shops to be harassed by vendors this is way too common in Morocco, but every stop was for a view the place on the tour.

Doing what: Ouarzazate and Ait Benhaddou Day Trip Through the Atlas Mountains from Marrakech

johnmeyrick233

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

An amazing experience with an excellent guide and very good driver. Everything was very well organised from pick up at hotel to our return. We didn't realise that this part of the Atlas Mountains , with its three valleys would be so green and wooded.Spectacular scenery. We learnt a lot about the Berber people and it was good to visit a Berber House and meet the family. The lunch provided before we headed home was very tasty!
We were in a small convoy of 4X4s but this didn't detract from the day's enjoyment.

Doing what: Berber Trails 4WD Day Trip from Marrakech

Juliane S

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Great day crossing the High Atlas mountains with diverse countryside and wonderful views. Our driver, Chakib, was fantastic - he was safe and very knowledgeable about the areas and local customs. We loved climbing to the top of Ait Benhaddou, and this was really the highlight of the trip. Ouarzazate was, in my opinion, not really worth visiting apart from eating in a nice restaurant with a good view. We went to the museum of cinema (waste of time). I think this trip would be improved by making Ouarzazate the first and shorter stop (or omitting it altogether) and coming back to and spending more time at Ait Benhaddou - we felt we didn't have enough time here (only 45 minutes).

Doing what: Ouarzazate and Ait Benhaddou Day Trip Through the Atlas Mountains from Marrakech

Nancy USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic experience all the way to the Atlas Mountains. Our driver and tour guide was fabulous. He was very patient and was an excellent driver going up and down the mountain range. Great experience in the desert and mountains.

Doing what: Ouarzazate and Ait Benhaddou Day Trip Through the Atlas Mountains from Marrakech

ERICG723

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Beautiful drive thru the Atlas Mountains to get to Ouarzazate! Our driver/tour guide was great. He picked us up promptly at pick-up time and told us to take our time finishing breakfast as we were the only two people on tour that day. I felt bad for the guy, he drove us around for ten hours that day. Five up and five back and never once complained about the drive or his job. We were so impressed with our driver we hired him the next day for a Marrakech private city tour. We both tipped our guide $20 USD each which he was very happy to receive. The conditions going thru the Atlas Mountains were at times bad as it was mid-January. There was heavy snow in the morning, but cleared up going back to Marrakech late afternoon. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone looking for an adventure!

Doing what: Ouarzazate and Ait Benhaddou Day Trip Through the Atlas Mountains from Marrakech

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message