• USD ($)
  • English
Earning its place in the guidebooks back in the 1960s, when iconic musicians like Jimi Hendrix, Mick Jagger, Frank Zappa and Cat Stevens descended on its shores, the tranquil beach town of Essaouira might be over its hippie heyday, but its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 17 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A well organised visit with stops on the way and on the way back to break up quite a long journey. The organisation to collect you from your hotel or riad was punctual and superbly organised. The guide was very informative. A bit of spare time to wonder around the souk and do that extra bit of site-seeing or shopping. Essaouira is a lovely fishing port facing the Atlantic with the bracing winds coming off the Atlantic on one side and beautiful sandy beaches on the other. A small souk in the middle of the town selling lots of Moroccan wares as well as the necessities for living. Altogether a good day's visit well worth the journey.

Doing what: Essaouira Day Trip from Marrakech

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

This was a brilliant day out and really good value for money. We were treated very professionally, and our guide was friendly and informative. It was the perfect mix of guided tour group and free time once we got to Essaouira, and the restaurant our guide took us to for lunch was great, with delicious, fresh fish. A relaxing day out and a good chance to go round the markets without the stress and hassle of Marrakech.

Doing what: Essaouira Day Trip from Marrakech

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

It's a long drive from Marrakesh to Essaouira so we could have done without the additional stops along the way. Essaouira is beautiful though and a much more laid back place the Marrakesh; beautiful beach - if a little windy!

Doing what: Essaouira Day Trip from Marrakech

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

An enjoyable day with enough time to explore Essaouira on our own. Taken in a minibus the trip did not feel like we were being herded about, but it was friendly and informative. The usual tourists stops at an argan oil co-operative and a wood skills co-op but both were interesting and not too much hard pressure selling. I would recommend a visit to this beautiful town.

Doing what: Essaouira Day Trip from Marrakech

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

I was picked up from my hotel and taken to the tour operator offices where everyone else was waiting in a minibus. The bus ride was 3 hours with a stop to use the toilets and have a drink. Essaouira is a very nice little fishing village at the end of a long beach. It was so nice to breathe in the sea air. We had time to wander on our own. The guide there was excellent and very friendly. He took the time to talk to everyone and was very helpful. He spoke French and English very well. He also suggested a restaurant by the beach that was very good and reasonable. The guide on the bus was a little difficult to understand as the microphone was too loud. The trip back took a little less time. However, some of us had to get into a different car to be taken back to our hotels. I was not happy about not being dropped ast my hotel. I wsas left on the wrong side of a multi lane road, in the dark and had to negoitate trying to cross in the middle of all the heavy traffic as there were no proper crossings, and think they could have gone around the square to drop me off. Otherwise a really nice day out and can definitely recommend it as it is completely different to Marrakech.

Doing what: Essaouira Day Trip from Marrakech

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

Great day out from Marrakech. Really enjoyed seeing Essaouira.

Doing what: Essaouira Day Trip from Marrakech

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This was an interesting trip to the coast. Essaouira itself was delightful to visit. There was adequate time to explore the old town , either by tagging onto the tour guide, or going it alone. The tour was good value for money. The guide was excellent!!!!! T

Doing what: Essaouira Day Trip from Marrakech

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Eassaouira is a nice change from the chaos in Marrakech. It is way more relaxed and cosy. You'll have the opportunity to see the argan oil manufactures, visit the medina and the wood manufactures and generally understand the history of Essaouira.

Doing what: Essaouira Day Trip from Marrakech

Jandy
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

The trip to Essaouira was great; the visit to the argan co-operative on the way was really interesting too. Yemeni (probably spelt wrongly) our guide, was extremely knowledgeable and pointed things out along the way. Also, our guide in Essaouira itself was extremely good. The only downside was that the restaurant we were all taken to in Essaouira was one of the more expensive ones. Also, we were dropped off after the tour in an area that we did not know and found it difficult to get a taxi. Despite those last two points, I would recommend this trip and Essaouira is absolutely beautiful.

Doing what: Essaouira Day Trip from Marrakech

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Good tour for the price. The Essaouira tour was informative at the port area, but then it was more a walking tour where the guide walked us through the city. I've been to Essaouira before so it didn't bother me, but my friends weren't all that impressed.

Doing what: Essaouira Day Trip from Marrakech

Iwonka
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Good trip- it was what I expected from reading previous reviews. The pick-up from the hotel was efficient and the trip was well organized. It is a long ride from Marrakech with many stops along the way, as mentioned in previous reviews. The beach was nice; however, that particular day it was too windy to stay on the beach. The guided tour around town was also interesting and permitted to have a brief overview of the city since if we spent only a few hours in Essaouira.

Doing what: Essaouira Day Trip from Marrakech

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2009

Provided the opportunity to see more of Morrocco just then Marrakech. Comfort stops on the way were interesting and the good weather ensured a pleasurable day out. There was a music festival going on at Essaouira when we were there so the place was quite busy. The coach did break down on the way back and we had to wait for another to arrive, but these things happen.

Doing what: Essaouira Day Trip from Marrakech

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

The Hotel is really cute, very well locatted. The restaurant is very nice either, and the food? Amazing.
Get some time to enjoy the riad.
The sunset is beautiful.
Essaouira is small. I think is too much time just for this city. It will be nice to schedule local tours as the cascates, tracking in the mountains, windsurf classes, maybe fishing...

Doing what: 3-Day Independent Essaouira Tour from Marrakech

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

We stayed a week in Marrakech and this was one of the day trips we booked. With us travelling at the end of October, we were unlucky enough to have the one rainy day. This did impact on the experience itself as we were pretty miserable all cold and wet. I personally very much enjoyed the three hour bus journey from Marrakech to Essaouira. I enjoyed watching the landscape go by, trying to image what life must be like as it must be a hard life trying to make a living off the dry land. We had a quick stopover at an women cooperative for Argan Oil. It was certainly a 'sales stop' but we also did get to see how the oil is made and I glady did spend some coins in their shop - good for women who work there and that was some xmas gifts sorted, too, at the same time! Essaouira itself is, I suppose, pretty if the weather is nice. The beach looks really lovely and if you are in Marrakech for more than a couple of days and are looking for a nice day out by the sea then this is your trip! The tour guide will take you round on guided tour and even though at first the alleyways of the souks are just as confusing as Marrakech it is on a lot smaller scale and you will quickly get to grips with it. After the guided walk you have a couple of hours or so on your own. Take a walk to the harbour to see the fishing boats coming in at 3pm or just enjoy some relaxing time on the beach.

Doing what: Essaouira Day Trip from Marrakech

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Essaouira I would give 5 stars! But the tour- a three!

The tour operator was on time and very, very friendly. The coach was clean our tour guide's language skills are highly proficient. One negative, we did not have much time on our own to explore and the restaurant that was "highly" suggested had awful food but the service was excellent. Would absolutely do another tour with this company but would not go where the tour guide directed us. Essaouira is worth the trip. The souks are not as expensive as Marrakech and the quality is marginally better. The stand out of the trip: the argan oil coop! The women were awesome and the work they do is bio-environmentally pure and culturally sound.

Doing what: Essaouira Day Trip from Marrakech

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message