Insider's Guide to

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

ATTRACTIONS See all

Koutoubia Mosque and Minaret

Built in the 12th century, the Koutoubia Mosque is not only the largest in Marrakech, it is also one of the most influential buildings in the Muslim world. Throughout Spain and beyond you’ll see echoes of its intricate geometric stone work, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 154 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was a great introduction to Marrakech discovery, as it says on the tin. Since I had never been to Morocco before I booked it for the first day of my stay and it was worth it. It was a very good value for the whole day of wallking through the city and the streets that I wouldn't have felt comfortable with otherwise on my own. We visited a few museums and had a relaxing lunch break. The guide, Ali, is a very nice man, with good manners and was very attentive to the group, seeing that each and everyone of us reached its hotel all right. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Communication with the tour provider was a little difficult, to a point where I wasn't sure I was getting picked up. However

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Be aware that this tour is the same route as the morning of the full day tour Marrakesh Discovery

Doing what: Marrakech Palaces and Monuments Tour

Cat
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Highly recommend taking this tour if you're in Marrakech! Amazing guides, happy to help and no opportunistic selling :)

Doing what: Marrakech Palaces and Monuments Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We booked the walking tour as only had 2 days in Marrakech.we would not have been able to see as much as we did on our own.the guide was very good....informative and a great sense of humour. Lunch was included and was delicious! Great value for money and would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was an excellent start to our Marrakech holiday. We were picked up promptly from our hotel on what was a particularly nice day. Jamal and Aziz were our guides and both proved to be very knowledgable, helpful and attentive - it was a busy day, but the pace was just right as we visited a number of Marrakech sights, had lunch (included) and ventured into some of the more 'interesting' areas in the souks. The pharmacy visit was amusing but too much time was spent here and it was really too focused on making a sale - and watch you don't get pressed into having a 'free' neck massage that you are then expected to pay for. Otherwise, an excellent day and no hesitation recommending to others.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A circus of activities. Lots to see and do.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Tour was great delivered by humorous and knowledgeable English speaking guide. Bit of confusion locally re the collection point but this was easily sorted out locally. A great start to our visit to Marrakech as it gives you an insight to the Medina area and the locality of the souks. Lunch was fab!

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Both guides - Jamal and Aziz, were wonderful. Knowledgeable about the history, sharing stories, as well as navigating the souks and winding streets. They were also caring about the tourists and some of our quirky needs. The group was a bit large, and although everyone was nice, 45 is just a big group to navigate. I also would have liked a slightly slower pace. With the cobblestone streets that we aren't used to walking on, and a little more gazing about, it would have been nice. Overall, one way to see Marrakech.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Good introduction, but maybe a bit long. Recomended to do on your first day.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This realy gives you a chance to look into the heart of the souks there are places you would never find again had a lovely time and the meal was the best I had all week.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

It should take much less time exploring the small market streets. The rest was fine.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The Marrakech Discovery tour is for you if you want to enjoy the magic and chaos of the this wonderful city in a controlled setting. As a solo traveller on a weekend break, I was pretty chuffed to have been on this tour.
The pick up point was the Jemaa el Fna square at 8:30 am. (I did call and confirm this, as they offer a pick up service for hotels outside the Medina) First stop was the Koutoubia Mosque. Ali's commentary was concise and interesting and laid down the expectations for a good day. Entering via the stork gate (Bab Agnaou) we headed to the Saadian tombs. From there, walking through the Jewish Quarters (the Mellah) we headed to the Bahia palace, apparently a modest replica of the Alhambra. A detour via the quaint Maison Tiskiwin led us to the mid way point, a most sumptuous lunch at the Dar Nejjarine. At all these places Ali and Aziz would give a brief overview of the site and then encourage the group to explore the place by themselves, always at hand to answer any questions. The lunch was excellent and though being a vegetarian, I had my dietary needs catered to.
We then headed back to the square and dived in to the souks. Our next stop was the spice centre, though the demonstration of the various products was long and could get presumably boring for people not interested in spices and oils, we were served mint tea, which was most welcome after the hearty lunch.
Through the souks we reached the magnificent Ben Youssef Madrasa, once a pillar of religious learning. The last item on the agenda was shopping, for the interested. This was a big collection of the items under a single roof, maybe at a higher price, but you still could indulge in bit of haggling without encountering aggressive sales tactics. A final assembly at the square and I headed back to the airport with fond memories.
Cons: Group size was about 25, but I would say that for under £30, it was excellent value for money.
Merci/Shoukran to Ali and Aziz.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Wanted to book the half day tour but glad we couldn't! We wanted to take a tour on our first day to orientate ourselves with the city being a party of two females and so glad we did. We saw so much more than we ever would have on our own including the back streets of the souks that we wouldn't have necessarily felt comfortable exploring on our own. We were collected promptly from our hotel and saw everything we wanted to see in one day. The guides were great and knowledgeable it was a packed itinerary but didn't feel rushed or too long and the lunch was very good. My only negative was that I did get a little bored in the spice and natural remedy centre, the talk was quite interesting but running through the list of products for sale afterwards was a little tedious when there is so much to see outside (although I did expect a bit of this in Marrakesh). All in all fantastic value and would definitely recommend. Do go for the full day we would have been disappointed to leave.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Overall a good tour. After some bad experiences in Marrakech I was hoping that the tour would be hassle free, interesting and informative - was not let down on any of these fronts. The guides are knowledgable, the tour us exactly what it said it would be. One criticism too much time at the pharmacy

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message