Marrakech ATTRACTIONS See all

Majorelle Garden (Jardin Majorelle)

The Majorelle Garden is one of the most magical places in a city with no shortage of enchantment. Its founder, French painter Jacques Majorelle, fell in love with Marrakech in the early 20th century and after developing this charming oasis, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robert C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The tour fulfilled my expectations the tour guide was highly knowledgeable and pleasant. Through no fault of his own, the public garden was in disastrous shape perhaps disgusting, while the Majorelle garden was sublime. I would use the tour guide again. He and his driver were courteous, professional and sensitive to their customers' needs.

Doing what: Marrakech Botanical Tour

Zeca G

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Very nice tour to visit Jardin Majorel and also to get a cariage trip. Our guide was very useful, worth it for the money.

Doing what: Marrakech Botanical Tour

Paul M A

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

An excellent tour which included coach tours to the Marjorelle and Menara Gardens with a horse and carriage ride back to the centre of Marrakesh.
The Majorelle Garden is superb, well designed, full of interesting plants and extremely well maintained. By comparison the Menara Garden is not so interesting. Just a small pavilion plus a large reservoir surrounded by olive groves much litter around and some mud brickwork in need of repair. However the splendid horse and carriage ride back soon made up for this disappointment.
One word of advice the Viator website states, Your Marrakech garden tour begins with an afternoon pickup from your central hotel or riad. Ours nearly did not. Our riad was in the Medina and therefore central but the first advice from the local tour operator was to report to a meeting point some 3.3 km from the riad. It took an email to Viator and a second call from the UK to the tour operator in Marrakesh to secure a local pick-up in a minibus. On the day this arrangement worked well, but both Viators and the local operators communication skills need improvement.

Doing what: Marrakech Botanical Tour

Katrina W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

We were not given the opportunity to visit Menara Garden. went ot a reservoir instead which was not very good. Majorelle Garden was lovely

Doing what: Marrakech Botanical Tour

Alicia E

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Enjoyed the Majorelle gardens and horse and carriage ride. Not much to see at the Menara gardens. Excellent pick up from hotel. Had difficulty confirming trip by phone, no answer the first few times.

Doing what: Marrakech Botanical Tour

Sarah P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2014

"Botanical Tour" is a complete misnomer. The bus-ride to the Jardin Majorelle was on-time, well-organised and the guide during the bus-ride gave some interesting basic statistics about Morocco (not, however, about gardens). The Jardin Majorelle was interesting but I could have easily got there by taxi and had more time to explore. The second "garden" was not a garden at all but an extremely dirty, heavily littered public park made up of a muddy concrete pond and several acres of drab olive trees knee-deep in plastic bags, cans and other assorted rubbish. NOT a garden, I repeat NOT a garden. The trip back into the city by pony-and -trap was cute but we shared it with another couple and had to sit facing backwards and saw practically nothing. I am sure there must be other gardens in Marrakech but this tour certainly didn't even consider them. I would not advise ANYONE to take this tour.

Doing what: Marrakech Botanical Tour

rachelanne

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Majorelle Gardens was a fantastic surprise. Such cool lush surroundings, so unexpected. Enjoyed the ride on the caliche. A bit too long walking through the olive grove though.

Doing what: Marrakech Botanical Tour

Stephanie M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

My booking stated English speaking guide however I was in a French speaking group. Only 2 gardens visited. You are left in Majorelle garden for an hour then driven to Menara which is not really garden but open space and again wander for set time. Horse carriage ride back to Main square. Wouldn't recommend this trip. Better to take taxi to Majorelle Gardens.

Doing what: Marrakech Botanical Tour

Bazzerb

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2013

The Majorelle gardens were very good but, unfortunately, it started to rain and got heavier which ruined the rest of the tour. Not much fun in an open carriage which was covered over and you could see nothing. Not the operators fault. They cannot control the weather.

Doing what: Marrakech Botanical Tour

Craig B

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Majorelle Gardens are stunning. The Menara gardens are more like an orchard and the Agdal gardens were closed as the King was in residence. However, the carriage ride is a good way to spend an hour or so and the tour was still good value for money.

Doing what: Marrakech Botanical Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message