Marrakech ATTRACTIONS See all

Marrakech Souks

The souks (covered markets) of Marrakech form the teeming, bewildering sub-conscious of the city, a vast network of alleyways pierced periodically by shafts of sunlight. Each souk has a different specialty, be it rugs, leather goods, spices, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 54 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Margaret S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

It was great to see all the main points, but our tour guide was either uninterested in explaining them/didn and #39;t really know the history. More interested in hustling us from 1 location to another including to his friends souks! Tour supposed to be 9.5hrs but we and #39;re done in under 7. Don and #39;t waste your time

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Mememenot

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Started well. Guide was informative but we were guided to a 'Herboriste' for an hour. It was interesting as I am a Medic but was a 'this is good for this, try this' ended up spending 120. We were then in tour around the Souks 'guided' to 2 areas. Very slick, centred around selling. Jewellery shop made my wife very uncomfortable so we walked out, and were followed out of the shop even after we said no many, many times. Would have been a good tour and 'we could have gone to other areas I.e. The Majorelle Gardens instead of being 'guided' to shops where we didn't want to go, or ask to go to.' I did ask about 2 things and I ask told we would be shown these things but it appeared to be forgotten later. The guide has his own ideas where and for how long he wanted to take us and and our wishes/questions were ignored. I understand that this can happen with unofficial guides but did not expect it with an offically recognised guide. Knowing what I know now I would not recommend this trip with this guide and Viator need to act on this feedback to avoid other customers being guided to areas/shops for a hard sell approach. This approach spoiled the day.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Chia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great Tour. The guide walked us through the Kasbah, Medina and Souk. We had a great lunch which was included and we saw all the important historical sites in a timely manner. I highly recommended tour if you only have a day or two to enjoy Marrakech.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Sara L

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Absolutely loved the tour around the souks but felt a lot of pressure to buy a carpet / rug. As a first time visitor to Marrakech I wanted to go with a guide to feel more secure but I felt cornered in the carpet place and ended up buying a rug to get back out :(

Doing what: Shopping in the Souks of Marrakech Private Tour

Navneet S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was great! We got a slightly late pickup from our location specially arranged at no extra charge. The palace was beautiful and the lunch was great. Walking through the market was really fun, and Mickey took us to see many artisan souks. He even asked if we wanted to see or do something specific, then took me to a shop to buy what I was looking for. Mickey was very friendly and full of great information about the sights on the walking tour.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Wibke B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I had a fabulous day. It was my first time visiting Marrakech and as a single female traveller who only speaks little French and no Arabic I found the thought of visiting the Souks on my own extremely daunting. The tour gave me confidence to explore on my own, showed me what and #39;s where and what and #39;s what.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Anna S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

The group was to big, the guide didn't speak english very well, and it was a very hurried tour. We spent most of our time at a shop for aragan oil and spices, which none of us were interested in we had paid for a tour of the Medina and Souks, which we felt we got a very mini and extremly quick version of.

Doing what: Souks and Medinas of Marrakech Tour

Avik C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

The tour was OK.
Positives:
- exploring the souks with a local and not getting lost
- getting historical context of the many features, etc from the tour guide
Negatives:
- did not last the full day as was expected
- the tour guide didnt speak very good english
- the location of the lunch was great, but the food was terrible

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Marc B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fantastic friendly guides who looked after everyone. Having the bus to jump onto between visits was handy, and worked very well. Good to have all entrance fees covered in the price, so we could just walk straight in to everything. My only slight qualm is I felt we were a little rushed through the souks - but it would be hard to stop and huddle around our guide in such a dense and busy place. Lunch was chicken tagine - of course - in a restaurant that seems to cater for large tour groups.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Roy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

What an amazing day around Marrakech with our guide Aziz, He showed us as much as he could pack into a day and a superb lunch in a beautiful restaurant included in the price. Saw the Medina, Bahia, Mosque, Souks, College museum, Berber museum and the Royal cemetery as well as stopping at a herb and spice specialist and given time to explore the main square. Absolute bargain and a must do for anyone travelling to Morroco. Superb value for money and much better than wondering around alone getting hassled of the locals, who are a nightmare, especially in the square.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Linnette K

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Our tour guide had a good working knowledge of the city, but was unable to respond to questions that were not a part of the tour. Be prepared to walk for most of the day. the lunch in the Souk was excellent.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Sally S

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Great tour with a good pace. Our tour guide was good, although his responses to questions were selective and often questions were ignored. Good lunch and a good overview of the old city and the souks. Good way to get to know the city.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Milensu S

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

A good way to get an overview of the souks. Better to do this as the first thing when you arrive. I would recommend it.

Doing what: Souks and Medinas of Marrakech Tour

Trisha C

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

The tour was interesting and comprehensive. However we were guided to a shop in the souk that I had been taken to previously by another guide. It is obviously an arrangement between guides and the shop. Prices were higher than other resellers and I felt pressured into buying by their tactics. Altogether it left a bad taste in my mouth. I was disappointed in the integrity of the guides. I also did not receive the balance of my overpayment for the previous day's tour.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Kirsty B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

After reading all the reviews we were really excited but in the end were left a bit disappointed. Although we got to see a lot of beautiful places that we wouldn't have necessarily seen if we were to do it ourselves our guide was pretty poor. We didn't feel that we leant an awful lot and after a pretty good lunch and tour or the souks we ended up in his 'friends' shop which took quite a bit of time. Following that we didn't have a lot of free time at the end to try and find the things we had spotted on our foetus time round as we didn't feel that we could stop and haggle! I think that if it was a different guide it would've been a much better experience as we found the guide a bit rude and when approached by a very rude man he just laughed.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Tracy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Highly recommend. Covers all the highlights of Marrakesh at a leisurely pace. Visited the Souk and had lots of free time to shop, sit down, eat ice cream and recharge. FACINATING place. Brilliant tour guides, very well knowledged. Amazing lunch - entertaining waiters.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Ray P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was an excellent start to our Marrakech holiday. We were picked up promptly from our hotel on what was a particularly nice day. Jamal and Aziz were our guides and both proved to be very knowledgable, helpful and attentive - it was a busy day, but the pace was just right as we visited a number of Marrakech sights, had lunch (included) and ventured into some of the more 'interesting' areas in the souks. The pharmacy visit was amusing but too much time was spent here and it was really too focused on making a sale - and watch you don't get pressed into having a 'free' neck massage that you are then expected to pay for. Otherwise, an excellent day and no hesitation recommending to others.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Paul C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Tour was great delivered by humorous and knowledgeable English speaking guide. Bit of confusion locally re the collection point but this was easily sorted out locally. A great start to our visit to Marrakech as it gives you an insight to the Medina area and the locality of the souks. Lunch was fab!

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Vicki R

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Both guides - Jamal and Aziz, were wonderful. Knowledgeable about the history, sharing stories, as well as navigating the souks and winding streets. They were also caring about the tourists and some of our quirky needs. The group was a bit large, and although everyone was nice, 45 is just a big group to navigate. I also would have liked a slightly slower pace. With the cobblestone streets that we aren't used to walking on, and a little more gazing about, it would have been nice. Overall, one way to see Marrakech.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

heather n

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This realy gives you a chance to look into the heart of the souks there are places you would never find again had a lovely time and the meal was the best I had all week.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Shibu K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The Marrakech Discovery tour is for you if you want to enjoy the magic and chaos of the this wonderful city in a controlled setting. As a solo traveller on a weekend break, I was pretty chuffed to have been on this tour.
The pick up point was the Jemaa el Fna square at 8:30 am. (I did call and confirm this, as they offer a pick up service for hotels outside the Medina) First stop was the Koutoubia Mosque. Ali's commentary was concise and interesting and laid down the expectations for a good day. Entering via the stork gate (Bab Agnaou) we headed to the Saadian tombs. From there, walking through the Jewish Quarters (the Mellah) we headed to the Bahia palace, apparently a modest replica of the Alhambra. A detour via the quaint Maison Tiskiwin led us to the mid way point, a most sumptuous lunch at the Dar Nejjarine. At all these places Ali and Aziz would give a brief overview of the site and then encourage the group to explore the place by themselves, always at hand to answer any questions. The lunch was excellent and though being a vegetarian, I had my dietary needs catered to.
We then headed back to the square and dived in to the souks. Our next stop was the spice centre, though the demonstration of the various products was long and could get presumably boring for people not interested in spices and oils, we were served mint tea, which was most welcome after the hearty lunch.
Through the souks we reached the magnificent Ben Youssef Madrasa, once a pillar of religious learning. The last item on the agenda was shopping, for the interested. This was a big collection of the items under a single roof, maybe at a higher price, but you still could indulge in bit of haggling without encountering aggressive sales tactics. A final assembly at the square and I headed back to the airport with fond memories.
Cons: Group size was about 25, but I would say that for under £30, it was excellent value for money.
Merci/Shoukran to Ali and Aziz.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Rebecca D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Wanted to book the half day tour but glad we couldn't! We wanted to take a tour on our first day to orientate ourselves with the city being a party of two females and so glad we did. We saw so much more than we ever would have on our own including the back streets of the souks that we wouldn't have necessarily felt comfortable exploring on our own. We were collected promptly from our hotel and saw everything we wanted to see in one day. The guides were great and knowledgeable it was a packed itinerary but didn't feel rushed or too long and the lunch was very good. My only negative was that I did get a little bored in the spice and natural remedy centre, the talk was quite interesting but running through the list of products for sale afterwards was a little tedious when there is so much to see outside (although I did expect a bit of this in Marrakesh). All in all fantastic value and would definitely recommend. Do go for the full day we would have been disappointed to leave.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Denise D

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Good overview of the medina and souks.
But a lot of walking and going up and down steps.
The lunch was not very good.
Maybe do the trip in 2. 1/2 days ( with no lunch but a drink snack break)

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Craig B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I took this tour with my family mid November on the first day of a short break and I can’t recommend it highly enough. It was a day packed with sights, sounds and smells of the city but our guide for the day; Ali never made it seem rushed or overpowering. In fact there were several opportunities where we could spend a little time on our own exploring or trying a little haggling in the Souk. Value fro money was exceptional given it included entrance to a number of monuments, museum etc plus the inclusion of a delicious lunch which even two suspicious teenagers gave a big thumbs up to. It all ended too quickly with the sun setting over the Jemaa el Fna but we’ve been left with lots of great memories to recall and reminisce now we’re back home.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Andrea S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We were very impressed with the tour. We were picked up promptly from our hotel and taken to the tour bus to meet up with the guide. He was very knowledgable and the tour of the souks was a real help giving us confidence to go back several times during our stay in Marrakech. We were taken to a small cafe for a complimentary drink and enjoy the panoramic view from their rooftop terrace of the square. However, we felt it very unnecessary to take us by bus for the last hour of our tour to a very high class leather shop selling very expensive leather jackets. Having been made to sit through a cat walk and then offered drinks and being made to feel very uncomfortable. This was not just ourselves but by every person also on our tour. We felt that the last hour could have been spent differently, besides which going to a high class leather shop was never mentioned in your description of the tour and is not something that us Brits take kindly to.
Please rethink what you do for the final hour of the tour or just make the tour 2.30 till 5pm.

Doing what: Souks and Medinas of Marrakech Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message