The souks (covered markets) of Marrakech form the teeming, bewildering sub-conscious of the city, a vast network of alleyways pierced periodically by shafts of sunlight. Each souk has a different specialty, be it rugs, leather goods, spices, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 38 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was an excellent start to our Marrakech holiday. We were picked up promptly from our hotel on what was a particularly nice day. Jamal and Aziz were our guides and both proved to be very knowledgable, helpful and attentive - it was a busy day, but the pace was just right as we visited a number of Marrakech sights, had lunch (included) and ventured into some of the more 'interesting' areas in the souks. The pharmacy visit was amusing but too much time was spent here and it was really too focused on making a sale - and watch you don't get pressed into having a 'free' neck massage that you are then expected to pay for. Otherwise, an excellent day and no hesitation recommending to others.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Tour was great delivered by humorous and knowledgeable English speaking guide. Bit of confusion locally re the collection point but this was easily sorted out locally. A great start to our visit to Marrakech as it gives you an insight to the Medina area and the locality of the souks. Lunch was fab!

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Both guides - Jamal and Aziz, were wonderful. Knowledgeable about the history, sharing stories, as well as navigating the souks and winding streets. They were also caring about the tourists and some of our quirky needs. The group was a bit large, and although everyone was nice, 45 is just a big group to navigate. I also would have liked a slightly slower pace. With the cobblestone streets that we aren't used to walking on, and a little more gazing about, it would have been nice. Overall, one way to see Marrakech.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This realy gives you a chance to look into the heart of the souks there are places you would never find again had a lovely time and the meal was the best I had all week.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The Marrakech Discovery tour is for you if you want to enjoy the magic and chaos of the this wonderful city in a controlled setting. As a solo traveller on a weekend break, I was pretty chuffed to have been on this tour.
The pick up point was the Jemaa el Fna square at 8:30 am. (I did call and confirm this, as they offer a pick up service for hotels outside the Medina) First stop was the Koutoubia Mosque. Ali's commentary was concise and interesting and laid down the expectations for a good day. Entering via the stork gate (Bab Agnaou) we headed to the Saadian tombs. From there, walking through the Jewish Quarters (the Mellah) we headed to the Bahia palace, apparently a modest replica of the Alhambra. A detour via the quaint Maison Tiskiwin led us to the mid way point, a most sumptuous lunch at the Dar Nejjarine. At all these places Ali and Aziz would give a brief overview of the site and then encourage the group to explore the place by themselves, always at hand to answer any questions. The lunch was excellent and though being a vegetarian, I had my dietary needs catered to.
We then headed back to the square and dived in to the souks. Our next stop was the spice centre, though the demonstration of the various products was long and could get presumably boring for people not interested in spices and oils, we were served mint tea, which was most welcome after the hearty lunch.
Through the souks we reached the magnificent Ben Youssef Madrasa, once a pillar of religious learning. The last item on the agenda was shopping, for the interested. This was a big collection of the items under a single roof, maybe at a higher price, but you still could indulge in bit of haggling without encountering aggressive sales tactics. A final assembly at the square and I headed back to the airport with fond memories.
Cons: Group size was about 25, but I would say that for under £30, it was excellent value for money.
Merci/Shoukran to Ali and Aziz.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Wanted to book the half day tour but glad we couldn't! We wanted to take a tour on our first day to orientate ourselves with the city being a party of two females and so glad we did. We saw so much more than we ever would have on our own including the back streets of the souks that we wouldn't have necessarily felt comfortable exploring on our own. We were collected promptly from our hotel and saw everything we wanted to see in one day. The guides were great and knowledgeable it was a packed itinerary but didn't feel rushed or too long and the lunch was very good. My only negative was that I did get a little bored in the spice and natural remedy centre, the talk was quite interesting but running through the list of products for sale afterwards was a little tedious when there is so much to see outside (although I did expect a bit of this in Marrakesh). All in all fantastic value and would definitely recommend. Do go for the full day we would have been disappointed to leave.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Good overview of the medina and souks.
But a lot of walking and going up and down steps.
The lunch was not very good.
Maybe do the trip in 2. 1/2 days ( with no lunch but a drink snack break)

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I took this tour with my family mid November on the first day of a short break and I can’t recommend it highly enough. It was a day packed with sights, sounds and smells of the city but our guide for the day; Ali never made it seem rushed or overpowering. In fact there were several opportunities where we could spend a little time on our own exploring or trying a little haggling in the Souk. Value fro money was exceptional given it included entrance to a number of monuments, museum etc plus the inclusion of a delicious lunch which even two suspicious teenagers gave a big thumbs up to. It all ended too quickly with the sun setting over the Jemaa el Fna but we’ve been left with lots of great memories to recall and reminisce now we’re back home.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We were very impressed with the tour. We were picked up promptly from our hotel and taken to the tour bus to meet up with the guide. He was very knowledgable and the tour of the souks was a real help giving us confidence to go back several times during our stay in Marrakech. We were taken to a small cafe for a complimentary drink and enjoy the panoramic view from their rooftop terrace of the square. However, we felt it very unnecessary to take us by bus for the last hour of our tour to a very high class leather shop selling very expensive leather jackets. Having been made to sit through a cat walk and then offered drinks and being made to feel very uncomfortable. This was not just ourselves but by every person also on our tour. We felt that the last hour could have been spent differently, besides which going to a high class leather shop was never mentioned in your description of the tour and is not something that us Brits take kindly to.
Please rethink what you do for the final hour of the tour or just make the tour 2.30 till 5pm.

Doing what: Souks and Medinas of Marrakech Tour

Susan R
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

Enjoyed the trip but was disappointed to be taken into a pharmacy where we were kept for about 45 minutes listening to a description of various miracle cures followed by a concerted effort to encourage us to make purchases. Having escaped this we spent a further 30 minutes in one specific souvenir shop. The souks and medina were fascinating and we would have preferred more time walking around these- which is what we had booked for. Have done Viator walking tours before and not had this problem.

Doing what: Souks and Medinas of Marrakech Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Good trip, plan was to use this first day tour as a general introduction / overview of Marrakech for the remainder of our time in city, didn't however prevent us from getting occasionally horrendously lost on subsequent trips into the Souks !!. The included lunch was absolutely superb.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Showed our way rounds souks,took us to all the different parts,it can be abit of a maze otherwise.

Doing what: Souks and Medinas of Marrakech Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Loved this tour although it would have been better if we'd had extra time to stop and purchase goods in the souks rather than 1 shop at the end (which wasn't great)

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

We booked this tour not knowing much of the souks and medinas, and i must say for us it was worth doing.
The guide did give us a good tour and explained the history of the souks and madinas, but it was a walk through the area, you didnt get time to stop and shop.The most time was at one stop was at the pharmacy aimed to sell you local items, really good if you were in the market to buy!!
The trip was about the right amount of time, you finish off the tour in the Medina, with enough time for a drink and a quick wander.

Doing what: Souks and Medinas of Marrakech Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We spent a whole day's wandering around all the sites of Marrakech. In and out of the Medina and Souk. A stop for a superb meal at lunch time and a break for a drink mid afternoon. The guide took us through the narrow passageways and lanes to see the Palace, Tombs, Mosque, Medersa and work places of the various trades in the city. A facinating journey with the history perfectly explained by our guide. Through the Souk with its colourful sellers of locally made goods and food. Time to wonder back in to the Souk to do a bit of shopping or to relax with a welcomed sit down and a drink over looking the Jemas El Fna Place. Again the pick and return to my hotel was punctual and very well organised. It was good value and very informative.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message