• USD ($)
  • English
Insider's Guide to

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

ATTRACTIONS See all

Marrakech Souks

The souks (covered markets) of Marrakech form the teeming, bewildering sub-conscious of the city, a vast network of alleyways pierced periodically by shafts of sunlight. Each souk has a different specialty, be it rugs, leather goods, spices, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 23 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour was fantastic. Really gave us the highlights of Marrakech! Lunch was delicious and authentic. We had the chance to explore the souks, we were grateful to have had the tour guide lead us through the never ending maze. It gave us the confidence to go back and haggle and bargain for ourselves!

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

A most enjoyable few hours spent around the souks and medina rather like a magical mystery tour

Doing what: Souks and Medinas of Marrakech Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Long day of touring but this was a great opportunity to get an introduction to multiple sights. Our guides were fantastic - welcoming, humorous, extremely willing to share knowledge and shepherd along our big group. I wished we had more time to explore the souks rather than moving along quickly while trying not to get run over by motorbikes. Lunch was quite enjoyable on a rooftop terrance with a nice view. The day was a nice mix of peaceful enclaves (Ben Youssef Madrasa, Saaid Tombs) and high activity in the medina. Glad we did it!

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We we're meet on time and taken to meet rest of party low number of around 15 ish the tour was explained to us and were we were going to and what we were going to see, as we were going into city guide showed us the sites and palace very pleasent. Very good tour of souks you get a very good feel of the place and we were not hazeled at all enjoyed vey much

Doing what: Souks and Medinas of Marrakech Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

the tour was really enjoyable, the guide very knowledgeable and patient with us, the lunch delicious in a very comfortable setting, having been in the souks independently, felt much more comfortable with the guide, a great day out and very good value for money.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Vinay Shanker S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

It gives you a bearing of the vast area of the souks and medina. There is a lot of walking involved and you just walk through the small bye lanes. If you are adventourous enough to venture into the bye lanes yourself then you can skip the tour. However if you prefer walking in a group and not bother about people chasing you to buy stuff it is worth doing the trip.
The trip gave us an idea where to go and find things. We spent the next 2 days within the souks walking and shopping on our own.

Doing what: Souks and Medinas of Marrakech Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

If you only have a couple of days in marrakech it's better to get a tour as its a not big, but a confusing city, especially the souks which you can get lost at easily. For the money I guess it's ok for what we saw, but if you have time in marrakech you could do it yourself cheaper and its all in the walking distance to be fair. It does seem staged when you visit the pharmacy to get some Argan oil so I just hope it's a real thing and not a fake one like many of them sell in the souks.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

For those who are unsure to wander the souks and medina alone, this is the perfect tour for you to familiarise yourself with the place!

We covered so much, had lunch at an AMAZING restaurant where an Alfred Hitcock movie was filmed and covered so much of Marrakech's top 10 places of interest.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

A very full and quite tiring day with an excellent guide. He knew his way through the souks, where it would be very easy to get lost, so that we saw a lot of things you would miss if you were on your own. He gave a very good explanation of the tombs and the palace. Excellent Moroccan lunch.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

Lots of walking and sometimes hard to keep whole group together esp through narrow souks. Too much to see in 1 day. Guide was rubbish! Loved the sound of his own voice and kept every1 listening to him talk about irrelevant things whilst at the sites instead of allowing time to explore/take pictures.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

The tour was brilliant. Excellent value for money. The day was from 8.30am to 6pm and it had a 3 course lunch included. Cannot beat the value. The tour guide was very knowledgable and informative and made the tour very enjoyable and educational. A must as you will get lost in the souks by yourself!

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Good for a first trip into Marrakech City, gives you the confidence to venture out on your own the next time. Guide was very good especially as it was the Sunday after Eid, a lot of the souk shops were closed, so no hassle

Doing what: Souks and Medinas of Marrakech Tour

Jose S
Portugal

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

A good way to start the contact with Medina and its souks and people. It is calm enough and guides are really helpful and we feel that take care about us and we never get lost thanks to their attention. Next day it is really easy to walk trough Medina and Marrakesh.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

First of all, regarding pick-up from "selected hotels", I had assumed that because my riad was in the medina, that it would be included in the pick up, but apparently if you book online you will only be picked up from "central" hotels in the new city area, not from the Medina. Tourists who book directly through their riad/hotel in the Medina will be picked up, but they pay a higher rate. This caused us a problem as we had to travel to the Viator office in the "new city" at our own expense and our taxi driver, who was late picking us up, dropped us off in the wrong place. We finally made it to the coach and visited various historic sights. Many of the people with us in the morning had booked the "historic tour". They left us at lunch time and we went on to lunch at a restaurant, Dar Es Salaam. Service was slow and food was bland, but the surroundings were attractive. The afternoon tour consisted of the souks and the tanneries, factories, etc. You were not given the opportunity to buy anything at the market stalls, but were taken to a particular gift shop (like a fair trade shop?) where you could purchase, although there was no huge pressure to buy. All in all, it was a long day and the next day I had blisters on my feet! With hindsight, I would have booked separate half-day tours through my riad and ensured transport to the tour coach was included. Otherwise, the content of the tour was interesting.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

After a blip in our original planned schedule, this tour was great. I did not think there was too much walking. Had our 9 year old with us and she never got bored. she enjoyed the stop at the government sponsored craft shop--the women let her work the loom. Lunch was very good and filling. I wouldn't buy from the gov't shop. There are really nice markets away from the main touristed souk (closer to the Koranic school) that have really nice and better priced carpets, tea pots.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message