Insider's Guide to

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

ATTRACTIONS See all

Marrakech Souks

The souks (covered markets) of Marrakech form the teeming, bewildering sub-conscious of the city, a vast network of alleyways pierced periodically by shafts of sunlight. Each souk has a different specialty, be it rugs, leather goods, spices, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 29 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Susan R
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

Enjoyed the trip but was disappointed to be taken into a pharmacy where we were kept for about 45 minutes listening to a description of various miracle cures followed by a concerted effort to encourage us to make purchases. Having escaped this we spent a further 30 minutes in one specific souvenir shop. The souks and medina were fascinating and we would have preferred more time walking around these- which is what we had booked for. Have done Viator walking tours before and not had this problem.

Doing what: Souks and Medinas of Marrakech Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Good trip, plan was to use this first day tour as a general introduction / overview of Marrakech for the remainder of our time in city, didn't however prevent us from getting occasionally horrendously lost on subsequent trips into the Souks !!. The included lunch was absolutely superb.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Showed our way rounds souks,took us to all the different parts,it can be abit of a maze otherwise.

Doing what: Souks and Medinas of Marrakech Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Loved this tour although it would have been better if we'd had extra time to stop and purchase goods in the souks rather than 1 shop at the end (which wasn't great)

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

We booked this tour not knowing much of the souks and medinas, and i must say for us it was worth doing.
The guide did give us a good tour and explained the history of the souks and madinas, but it was a walk through the area, you didnt get time to stop and shop.The most time was at one stop was at the pharmacy aimed to sell you local items, really good if you were in the market to buy!!
The trip was about the right amount of time, you finish off the tour in the Medina, with enough time for a drink and a quick wander.

Doing what: Souks and Medinas of Marrakech Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We spent a whole day's wandering around all the sites of Marrakech. In and out of the Medina and Souk. A stop for a superb meal at lunch time and a break for a drink mid afternoon. The guide took us through the narrow passageways and lanes to see the Palace, Tombs, Mosque, Medersa and work places of the various trades in the city. A facinating journey with the history perfectly explained by our guide. Through the Souk with its colourful sellers of locally made goods and food. Time to wonder back in to the Souk to do a bit of shopping or to relax with a welcomed sit down and a drink over looking the Jemas El Fna Place. Again the pick and return to my hotel was punctual and very well organised. It was good value and very informative.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour was fantastic. Really gave us the highlights of Marrakech! Lunch was delicious and authentic. We had the chance to explore the souks, we were grateful to have had the tour guide lead us through the never ending maze. It gave us the confidence to go back and haggle and bargain for ourselves!

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

A most enjoyable few hours spent around the souks and medina rather like a magical mystery tour

Doing what: Souks and Medinas of Marrakech Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Long day of touring but this was a great opportunity to get an introduction to multiple sights. Our guides were fantastic - welcoming, humorous, extremely willing to share knowledge and shepherd along our big group. I wished we had more time to explore the souks rather than moving along quickly while trying not to get run over by motorbikes. Lunch was quite enjoyable on a rooftop terrance with a nice view. The day was a nice mix of peaceful enclaves (Ben Youssef Madrasa, Saaid Tombs) and high activity in the medina. Glad we did it!

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We we're meet on time and taken to meet rest of party low number of around 15 ish the tour was explained to us and were we were going to and what we were going to see, as we were going into city guide showed us the sites and palace very pleasent. Very good tour of souks you get a very good feel of the place and we were not hazeled at all enjoyed vey much

Doing what: Souks and Medinas of Marrakech Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

the tour was really enjoyable, the guide very knowledgeable and patient with us, the lunch delicious in a very comfortable setting, having been in the souks independently, felt much more comfortable with the guide, a great day out and very good value for money.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Vinay Shanker S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

It gives you a bearing of the vast area of the souks and medina. There is a lot of walking involved and you just walk through the small bye lanes. If you are adventourous enough to venture into the bye lanes yourself then you can skip the tour. However if you prefer walking in a group and not bother about people chasing you to buy stuff it is worth doing the trip.
The trip gave us an idea where to go and find things. We spent the next 2 days within the souks walking and shopping on our own.

Doing what: Souks and Medinas of Marrakech Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

If you only have a couple of days in marrakech it's better to get a tour as its a not big, but a confusing city, especially the souks which you can get lost at easily. For the money I guess it's ok for what we saw, but if you have time in marrakech you could do it yourself cheaper and its all in the walking distance to be fair. It does seem staged when you visit the pharmacy to get some Argan oil so I just hope it's a real thing and not a fake one like many of them sell in the souks.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

For those who are unsure to wander the souks and medina alone, this is the perfect tour for you to familiarise yourself with the place!

We covered so much, had lunch at an AMAZING restaurant where an Alfred Hitcock movie was filmed and covered so much of Marrakech's top 10 places of interest.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

A very full and quite tiring day with an excellent guide. He knew his way through the souks, where it would be very easy to get lost, so that we saw a lot of things you would miss if you were on your own. He gave a very good explanation of the tombs and the palace. Excellent Moroccan lunch.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message