Marrakech ATTRACTIONS See all

Medina of Marrakesh

Marrakesh, once the most powerful commercial and political center in the Arab world, was founded in 1062 by Berber chieftain Abu Bakr ibn Umar as the capital of the orthodox-Muslim Almoravid Empire. Full of ornate monuments built mostly between the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 186 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I enjoyed the tour. The tour guides were helpful and informative.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a wonderful tour. The tour guides were very knowledgeable and took the time to make sure we were all having a good time. If you are not into walking, this tour is not for you. It was nice to walk through the market and not be harassed by the people selling. The lunch provided was the best we had in our entire stay in Morocco and the amount of free time was perfect.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fantastic introduction to Marrakesh. We spent the entire day (lunch included) with our guide Abderrazak, who showed us all the highlights. Unlike other guides we've had - we weren't left feeling rushed or hurried. Make sure you ask for him if you book this tour. You won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Large group
Well organized
Good lunch
Ticked all the boxes for main sites and good information provided

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was a great idea at the start of our visit to Marrakech. We did it on the first morning, and met our guide Mustapha at the Café de France in the main square at 9AM. It allowed us to get our bearings on the first day. The tour lasted about 4 hours and provided a fascinating first taste of the Medina of Marrakech. Our group was small, only 5 of us in all, which was great because we could ask questions. Our guide was very nice, with excellent English, and made the tour very interesting. He provided enough detail to keep us interested but without bewildering us.
Among other things, we visited the Bahia Palace where you should watch out for the storks nesting on the pillars in front of the Palace! They provide a great photo opportunity. Inside, the palace there are some super friendly cats wandering around which I found charming. We also visited a bakery where locals bring their bread to be baked in a huge oven, and a pharmacy that sold spices and oils where we were given mint tea and offered a short massage for a few dirhams. A tour of the souks was particularly fascinating, as we watched tradesmen of all kinds making goods from leather and metal. The guided walk through the souk provided us with the only opportunity to go in there without being constantly pestered by the stallholders!! The tour finished up in the Museum of photography, where a lovely exhibition of photographs depicted Moroccan culture over the years. Overall, I would happily recommend this tour and our lovely guide. We all enjoyed it.

Doing what: Marrakech Medina Walking Tour Including Bahia Palace and the Photography Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Highly recommend. Covers all the highlights of Marrakesh at a leisurely pace. Visited the Souk and had lots of free time to shop, sit down, eat ice cream and recharge. FACINATING place. Brilliant tour guides, very well knowledged. Amazing lunch - entertaining waiters.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Souks and Medinas of Marrakech Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Ended up with a large group 47 a bit much but the tour guid did a great job on keeping us together and was able to talk loud enough for all to hear

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It was a fabulous experience. We learnt so much about marrakesh. Our guide was ace. It was very well organized . Such s fabulous day. I will definately use visitor next time we holiday in Morocco. I still having come down to earth. Loved it.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was a great introduction to Marrakech discovery, as it says on the tin. Since I had never been to Morocco before I booked it for the first day of my stay and it was worth it. It was a very good value for the whole day of wallking through the city and the streets that I wouldn't have felt comfortable with otherwise on my own. We visited a few museums and had a relaxing lunch break. The guide, Ali, is a very nice man, with good manners and was very attentive to the group, seeing that each and everyone of us reached its hotel all right. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was an excellent start to our Marrakech holiday. We were picked up promptly from our hotel on what was a particularly nice day. Jamal and Aziz were our guides and both proved to be very knowledgable, helpful and attentive - it was a busy day, but the pace was just right as we visited a number of Marrakech sights, had lunch (included) and ventured into some of the more 'interesting' areas in the souks. The pharmacy visit was amusing but too much time was spent here and it was really too focused on making a sale - and watch you don't get pressed into having a 'free' neck massage that you are then expected to pay for. Otherwise, an excellent day and no hesitation recommending to others.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was excellent thanks to our guide who went beyond his call of duty to show and explain everything to us! I would recommend it to anyone who visits Marrakech-step one to understanding this incredible city! Other tours were nowhere near as informative and fun

Doing what: Marrakech Medina Walking Tour Including Bahia Palace and the Photography Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Mustafa was a great guide. Totally recommend the tour to walk around and know about the city!

Doing what: Marrakech Medina Walking Tour Including Bahia Palace and the Photography Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We booked the walking tour as only had 2 days in Marrakech.we would not have been able to see as much as we did on our own.the guide was very good....informative and a great sense of humour. Lunch was included and was delicious! Great value for money and would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We are very happy that we took half-day walking tour of Marrakech’s medina and major attractions on our first day. Our guide Mustapha shared his big knowledge about Marrakech and Marroco. We highly reccomend our guide Mustapha and the tour.

Doing what: Marrakech Medina Walking Tour Including Bahia Palace and the Photography Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Wanted to book the half day tour but glad we couldn't! We wanted to take a tour on our first day to orientate ourselves with the city being a party of two females and so glad we did. We saw so much more than we ever would have on our own including the back streets of the souks that we wouldn't have necessarily felt comfortable exploring on our own. We were collected promptly from our hotel and saw everything we wanted to see in one day. The guides were great and knowledgeable it was a packed itinerary but didn't feel rushed or too long and the lunch was very good. My only negative was that I did get a little bored in the spice and natural remedy centre, the talk was quite interesting but running through the list of products for sale afterwards was a little tedious when there is so much to see outside (although I did expect a bit of this in Marrakesh). All in all fantastic value and would definitely recommend. Do go for the full day we would have been disappointed to leave.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The Marrakech Discovery tour is for you if you want to enjoy the magic and chaos of the this wonderful city in a controlled setting. As a solo traveller on a weekend break, I was pretty chuffed to have been on this tour.
The pick up point was the Jemaa el Fna square at 8:30 am. (I did call and confirm this, as they offer a pick up service for hotels outside the Medina) First stop was the Koutoubia Mosque. Ali's commentary was concise and interesting and laid down the expectations for a good day. Entering via the stork gate (Bab Agnaou) we headed to the Saadian tombs. From there, walking through the Jewish Quarters (the Mellah) we headed to the Bahia palace, apparently a modest replica of the Alhambra. A detour via the quaint Maison Tiskiwin led us to the mid way point, a most sumptuous lunch at the Dar Nejjarine. At all these places Ali and Aziz would give a brief overview of the site and then encourage the group to explore the place by themselves, always at hand to answer any questions. The lunch was excellent and though being a vegetarian, I had my dietary needs catered to.
We then headed back to the square and dived in to the souks. Our next stop was the spice centre, though the demonstration of the various products was long and could get presumably boring for people not interested in spices and oils, we were served mint tea, which was most welcome after the hearty lunch.
Through the souks we reached the magnificent Ben Youssef Madrasa, once a pillar of religious learning. The last item on the agenda was shopping, for the interested. This was a big collection of the items under a single roof, maybe at a higher price, but you still could indulge in bit of haggling without encountering aggressive sales tactics. A final assembly at the square and I headed back to the airport with fond memories.
Cons: Group size was about 25, but I would say that for under £30, it was excellent value for money.
Merci/Shoukran to Ali and Aziz.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Very nice tour, the guide explained everything we saw and knew much about the city history.

Doing what: Marrakech Medina Walking Tour Including Bahia Palace and the Photography Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great tour... and Chaukri a great guide!

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I took this tour with my family mid November on the first day of a short break and I can’t recommend it highly enough. It was a day packed with sights, sounds and smells of the city but our guide for the day; Ali never made it seem rushed or overpowering. In fact there were several opportunities where we could spend a little time on our own exploring or trying a little haggling in the Souk. Value fro money was exceptional given it included entrance to a number of monuments, museum etc plus the inclusion of a delicious lunch which even two suspicious teenagers gave a big thumbs up to. It all ended too quickly with the sun setting over the Jemaa el Fna but we’ve been left with lots of great memories to recall and reminisce now we’re back home.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a great introduction into Marrakech, we did this our first day and it helped give us an insight into Morocco. The lunch that was included was excellent.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide Latif was excellent. He was very informative, helpful, kind and funny and along with the history told us many personal stories too about his time growing up in Marakesh. Also recommended some excellent restaurants and helped us with bookings.

Brilliant!

Doing what: Marrakech Medina Walking Tour Including Bahia Palace and the Photography Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Long day, learned a lot, had a great time, guide highly knowledgable, felt safe, walking pace was good, tour included yummy lunch in a clean beautiful resturaunt . Would do it again!!!!!

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message