Insider's Guide to

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

ATTRACTIONS See all

Medina of Marrakesh

Marrakesh, once the most powerful commercial and political center in the Arab world, was founded in 1062 by Berber chieftain Abu Bakr ibn Umar as the capital of the orthodox-Muslim Almoravid Empire. Full of ornate monuments built mostly between the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 176 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide Latif was excellent. He was very informative, helpful, kind and funny and along with the history told us many personal stories too about his time growing up in Marakesh. Also recommended some excellent restaurants and helped us with bookings.

Brilliant!

Doing what: Marrakech Medina Walking Tour Including Maison Tiskiwin, Bahia Palace and the Photography Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Long day, learned a lot, had a great time, guide highly knowledgable, felt safe, walking pace was good, tour included yummy lunch in a clean beautiful resturaunt . Would do it again!!!!!

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We ended up having a private tour with Mohammed, which was great! The tour was extremely informative. He is very patient, accommodating, and really wants you to learn- if you look away for even a moment when he is talking, he will tap you on the shoulder. The lunch was some of the most delicious food that we had in Morocco.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Mustafa was an excellent and knowledgeable guide. Took us to a spice trader in the souk on request and we got some excellent saffron and spices. One of the highlights of our stay in morocco!

Doing what: Marrakech Medina Walking Tour Including Maison Tiskiwin, Bahia Palace and the Photography Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The walking tour was well worth the money. Our guide is a Marrakech native and very informed on the culture and history. Must be in good shape to walk for three hours. Was able to see all of the historical aspects of the city. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Marrakech Medina Walking Tour Including Maison Tiskiwin, Bahia Palace and the Photography Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

It was a very informative tour of Marrakech. It all started well and ended well. I highly recommend it for first timers in Marrakech as it gives you a glimpse of their culture and traditions.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We spent a whole day's wandering around all the sites of Marrakech. In and out of the Medina and Souk. A stop for a superb meal at lunch time and a break for a drink mid afternoon. The guide took us through the narrow passageways and lanes to see the Palace, Tombs, Mosque, Medersa and work places of the various trades in the city. A facinating journey with the history perfectly explained by our guide. Through the Souk with its colourful sellers of locally made goods and food. Time to wonder back in to the Souk to do a bit of shopping or to relax with a welcomed sit down and a drink over looking the Jemas El Fna Place. Again the pick and return to my hotel was punctual and very well organised. It was good value and very informative.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Top class to recommend .See ,Touch and Feel the local people life .good lunch .

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour was fantastic. Really gave us the highlights of Marrakech! Lunch was delicious and authentic. We had the chance to explore the souks, we were grateful to have had the tour guide lead us through the never ending maze. It gave us the confidence to go back and haggle and bargain for ourselves!

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We felt this trip gave us the real Marrakech. The tour guide was amazing he kept us on our toes by feeding us lots of information and reacting with us .would recommend this trip to all ages.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

very good tour, the guide was very knowledgeable, spoke good English and took the time to explain many interesting aspects of Moroccan life. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Marrakech Medina Walking Tour Including Maison Tiskiwin, Bahia Palace and the Photography Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

My friend and I were given a tour by the wonderful Mustapha. He was very friendly and knowledgable. We had such a fun time and would recommend this tour to anyone going to marrakech for the first time. It gives you a great idea of the city so that you can go back and explore more on your own.

Doing what: Marrakech Medina Walking Tour Including Maison Tiskiwin, Bahia Palace and the Photography Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Would thoroughly recommend this excursion gives you a real taste of marrakech

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great value for money and an excellent way for a first time tourist to understand the medina and its customs.The guide was brilliant and very helpful.The meal was first rate.The tour does involve a lot of walking and perhaps an earlier break would have been better otherwise difficult to fault .The hotel pickup was excellent

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A great day! The tour guide was fantastic. A great way to see Marrakech and all its top sights. It would have been hard to find all those places by yourself and to get all that from it. Very nice lunch as well. Really worth it.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message