Insider's Guide to

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

ATTRACTIONS See all

Medina of Marrakesh

Marrakesh, once the most powerful commercial and political center in the Arab world, was founded in 1062 by Berber chieftain Abu Bakr ibn Umar as the capital of the orthodox-Muslim Almoravid Empire. Full of ornate monuments built mostly between the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 221 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ahmed M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Mekki the guide was the best thing in the whole tour. It and #39;s a walking tour so be ready for hitting beyond your target step count. Full of things to see so stay focused. The lunch was tasty and beautiful. I highly recommend it

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Tomasz K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was a very good tour with guide Mickey. Very relaxed, no rush, planty of time and lots of useful information. Fantastic lunch has been included in the price. The group was very small 6 people and we all had a lovely chat during the meal. The only problem - I was sure, I was going to be picked up from my hotel- didn't notice an information about the meeting point!!! But after my call to an emergency number, extra pick up - just for me only- has been immediately arranged with no extra costs!!! SUPER PROFESIONAL. Thank you very much Viator for a great day in Marrakech. 100 will use your services again, even go on the same trip, when I'm back in town.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Roy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

What an amazing day around Marrakech with our guide Aziz, He showed us as much as he could pack into a day and a superb lunch in a beautiful restaurant included in the price. Saw the Medina, Bahia, Mosque, Souks, College museum, Berber museum and the Royal cemetery as well as stopping at a herb and spice specialist and given time to explore the main square. Absolute bargain and a must do for anyone travelling to Morroco. Superb value for money and much better than wondering around alone getting hassled of the locals, who are a nightmare, especially in the square.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

martin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

My time in Marrakech was amazing! I booked a private tour through Viator with the local tour operator and it was a great choice. A private tour allows you more time to see the things you want to see, and move at your own pace. My guide Abdul was fantastic, very friendly and knowledgeable and he spoke very good English. I could never have seen, done or learned as much as I did that day without a professional guide. The tour ended in a beautiful riad where I was served a delicious lunch. It is amazing how much I was able to do in just one day. Book this private tour right now, you won't be disappointed!

Doing what: Private Guided City Tour: Discover the Authentic Marrakech

Marc B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fantastic friendly guides who looked after everyone. Having the bus to jump onto between visits was handy, and worked very well. Good to have all entrance fees covered in the price, so we could just walk straight in to everything. My only slight qualm is I felt we were a little rushed through the souks - but it would be hard to stop and huddle around our guide in such a dense and busy place. Lunch was chicken tagine - of course - in a restaurant that seems to cater for large tour groups.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Jeanne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

had a very good tour with guide Mickey.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Angela A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fab fab fab, lunch incredible and in a beautiful venue!

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Iain R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a first class way of introducing Marrakech and the local people to us shortly on arrival. We joined a group of 5 and we all got on really well . Could not fault this tour. We had continental breakfast at Cafe de France a bargain at 35MAD. Well done for getting our trip off to such a great start.

Doing what: Marrakech Medina Walking Tour Including Bahia Palace and the Photography Museum

Mrs C A A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour Mustapha was very knowledgeable and took his time to allow me to explore, unfortunately my husband found the walking too much so caught a taxi back to the Hotel. I would certainly recommend this walking tour to anyone visiting Marrakesh as it allowed us to get our bearings for exploring on out own.

Doing what: Marrakech Medina Walking Tour Including Bahia Palace and the Photography Museum

Sheila C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent orientation tour. Very good guides.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Awesome tour-I was lost in morocco and they they saved me!! Run don't walk and book this tour ASAP! Thank you for a safe and incredible experience.

Doing what: Private Guided City Tour: Discover the Authentic Marrakech

Stella H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We really enjoyed it. Our guide Abdul shared with us useful information and it was a great way to see the Medina and get a sense of the city. We were very pleasantly surprised that the tour included more sites than mentioned in the description. Thank you!

Doing what: Marrakech Medina Walking Tour Including Bahia Palace and the Photography Museum

Deb H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was great to start our trip to Marrakech with a tour guide like Mustapha. His English is impeccable and he has a wealth of knowledge on many topics. Our group was fairly small so he had the time for all of our questions, and there were a lot of questions! He seemed to cover more than what we expected, which was a treat, plus it was much easier to navigate the endless winding souks on our own after having been introduced to them by Mustapha.

Doing what: Marrakech Medina Walking Tour Including Bahia Palace and the Photography Museum

Nancy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The best tour I have been on. Our Guide could not have been better on any level. It was so informative as well as an intimate look at Marrakech. We learned so much about the culture,the people,the history..what a great experience. I would recommend this tour to anyone !!

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

annechien.oldersma

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

An excellent tour with an excellent guide: Mustapha !!
He was great really knew a lot on Marrakesh and Marocco and was never tired to tell more.

Doing what: Marrakech Medina Walking Tour Including Bahia Palace and the Photography Museum

Carolyn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

EXCELLENT TOUR.
We did think oh no, when a full TUI coach arrived, and we were part of the group.
Even with a large group, the tour was handled efficiently and there were no problems.
Excellent knowledge of Marrakech, and lunch was also excellent.
Good Value for the money paid.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Gifty A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I enjoyed the tour. The tour guides were helpful and informative.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Carmen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a wonderful tour. The tour guides were very knowledgeable and took the time to make sure we were all having a good time. If you are not into walking, this tour is not for you. It was nice to walk through the market and not be harassed by the people selling. The lunch provided was the best we had in our entire stay in Morocco and the amount of free time was perfect.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Perez M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fantastic introduction to Marrakesh. We spent the entire day (lunch included) with our guide Abderrazak, who showed us all the highlights. Unlike other guides we've had - we weren't left feeling rushed or hurried. Make sure you ask for him if you book this tour. You won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Jean Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Large group
Well organized
Good lunch
Ticked all the boxes for main sites and good information provided

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Anne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Susan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was a great idea at the start of our visit to Marrakech. We did it on the first morning, and met our guide Mustapha at the Café de France in the main square at 9AM. It allowed us to get our bearings on the first day. The tour lasted about 4 hours and provided a fascinating first taste of the Medina of Marrakech. Our group was small, only 5 of us in all, which was great because we could ask questions. Our guide was very nice, with excellent English, and made the tour very interesting. He provided enough detail to keep us interested but without bewildering us.
Among other things, we visited the Bahia Palace where you should watch out for the storks nesting on the pillars in front of the Palace! They provide a great photo opportunity. Inside, the palace there are some super friendly cats wandering around which I found charming. We also visited a bakery where locals bring their bread to be baked in a huge oven, and a pharmacy that sold spices and oils where we were given mint tea and offered a short massage for a few dirhams. A tour of the souks was particularly fascinating, as we watched tradesmen of all kinds making goods from leather and metal. The guided walk through the souk provided us with the only opportunity to go in there without being constantly pestered by the stallholders!! The tour finished up in the Museum of photography, where a lovely exhibition of photographs depicted Moroccan culture over the years. Overall, I would happily recommend this tour and our lovely guide. We all enjoyed it.

Doing what: Marrakech Medina Walking Tour Including Bahia Palace and the Photography Museum

ANTONIO A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Tracy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Highly recommend. Covers all the highlights of Marrakesh at a leisurely pace. Visited the Souk and had lots of free time to shop, sit down, eat ice cream and recharge. FACINATING place. Brilliant tour guides, very well knowledged. Amazing lunch - entertaining waiters.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Souks and Medinas of Marrakech Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message