Insider's Guide to

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

ATTRACTIONS See all

Museum of Marrakech (Musee de Marrakech)

Marrakech’s foremost museum is housed in a 19th century palace which draws on earlier architectural glories for inspiration, all centered on an Andalusian-style courtyard. The current form of the museum is largely due to patron Omar Benjelloun, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 17 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Well worth doing, the 2 guides were friendly and informative. Quite a bit of walking involved but you get to sample a lot of different parts of Marrakech, places you wouldn't normally walk down yourself.
Highly Recommended

Doing what: Marrakech Palaces and Monuments Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Guide proved to be an interesting character who gave a real personal aspect to the areas we visited combined with a fascinating insight into the religious and historical background of Marrakech. A most like able and interesting gentleman

Doing what: Marrakech Palaces and Monuments Tour

Jim M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our guide was excellent. He took our group of four married couples to areas of the Souk which we would not have normally had the confidence to visit on our own at night. Every aspect of the local diet was thoroughly explained - herbs, spices, vegetables, fruits, nuts, couscous, bread, tea and meat - the lot. The walk through the Souks at night was unforgettable; we felt safe at all times and was the best introduction to Marrakech we could have hoped for. Thoroughly recommended. Five star

Doing what: Marrakech Palaces and Monuments Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Despite the fact there isn't a plethora of historical sights to see in marrakesh the guides were extremely helpful and informative and provided an entertaining tour

Doing what: Marrakech Palaces and Monuments Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2014

We were picked up nearly 20 minutes late. We first visited the well-known mosque and the tour guide gave very little information on the mosque itself. He spent more time focusing on religion, some minor historical facts and pronunciation of vocabulary.
We then went to the tombs and the tour guide carried on about religion rather than discussing the tombs. Feeling a little alienated since our religious beliefs were not the same as his very strong beliefs, we left after the tombs rather than continue to listen to him harp on about religion.
The tour guide missed the opportunity to give us information on each site. He couldn't have told us about the architecture or what the inside of the mosque looked like -- anything about the site rather than telling us we all came from Adam and all worshiped the same god etc.

Doing what: Marrakech Palaces and Monuments Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

I really enjoyed the tours. The tour guide was very informative when he spoke about monuments, also the history of them.

Doing what: Marrakech Palaces and Monuments Tour

Vinay Shanker S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

It was an excellent tour and good value for money. We had 2 guides with us on the tour who took turns to explain the history of the monuments. The palace was amazing with the lovely ceiling and tiled floors. Covered a lot of monuments and they even dropped us back at the square when we requested instead of our hotel.

Doing what: Marrakech Palaces and Monuments Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This is a great value tour. The sites visited do get busy with lots of tourists so it really helps having a tour guide. Our guide was interesting and informative and we covered a lot of sites during the morning. As I was staying in the medina I was picked up from a central location very near Djemaa El Fna which worked out very well. I would recommend this tour for first time visitors to Marrakech.

Doing what: Marrakech Palaces and Monuments Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Great way to see and learn the history

Doing what: Marrakech Palaces and Monuments Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

not that many "palaces or Monuments".

Doing what: Marrakech Palaces and Monuments Tour

Pauline D
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Excellent tour, very interesting mixture of palaces and monuments. Very knowledgeable guide - highly recommended

Doing what: Marrakech Palaces and Monuments Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2013

The description said hotel pick-up/drop-off was part of this tour - not true! We didn't get to see much as we spent so much time at Koutoubia Mosque.

Doing what: Marrakech Palaces and Monuments Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

This trip was definitely worth the price. I booked it after arriving in Marrakech so I had compared the price with the local tour operators and it was less than I could get there. The guide was knowledgable and gave a lot of incidental information that was very useful. He spoke good English and gave a good insight into modern Morocco as well as the history that we were viewing. The French speaking tourists were given a separate guide. Unlike a lot of other tours, I could not have done this myself.

Doing what: Marrakech Palaces and Monuments Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2012

The trip was on time, but there was lot of un-neccessary walking through dirty markets and constant uncomfortable remarks by the tour guide. An experience not to be repeated!

Doing what: Marrakech Palaces and Monuments Tour

Stephen T
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2010

The main problem with the tour was that the hotel we stayed in has 2 receptions but no one at the tour company told me this when I phoned to confirm as requested. In consequence we waited at the reception where we were dropped off throughout our stay and missed the tour on the allotted date. Fortunately the tour company fitted us in on the next day's trip but this was with the Discovery of Marrakech group and did not give us the full tour on which we were booked. I think you should ensure that the local office advise tourists which reception they will collect from to avoid confusion for future travelers!

Doing what: Marrakech Palaces and Monuments Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message