The southern heart of Morocco, Marrakech has long been a magnet for travelers and trading. These days we’re more likely to arrive by plane than camel but the trading is just as fierce and wonderful. The longevity of this city is evident the minute ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 403 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Loved every minute. Exciting challanging. Fab people.

Doing what: Marrakech Desert and Palm Grove Quad Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Marrakech Desert and Palm Grove Quad Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The Marrakech Discovery tour is for you if you want to enjoy the magic and chaos of the this wonderful city in a controlled setting. As a solo traveller on a weekend break, I was pretty chuffed to have been on this tour.
The pick up point was the Jemaa el Fna square at 8:30 am. (I did call and confirm this, as they offer a pick up service for hotels outside the Medina) First stop was the Koutoubia Mosque. Ali's commentary was concise and interesting and laid down the expectations for a good day. Entering via the stork gate (Bab Agnaou) we headed to the Saadian tombs. From there, walking through the Jewish Quarters (the Mellah) we headed to the Bahia palace, apparently a modest replica of the Alhambra. A detour via the quaint Maison Tiskiwin led us to the mid way point, a most sumptuous lunch at the Dar Nejjarine. At all these places Ali and Aziz would give a brief overview of the site and then encourage the group to explore the place by themselves, always at hand to answer any questions. The lunch was excellent and though being a vegetarian, I had my dietary needs catered to.
We then headed back to the square and dived in to the souks. Our next stop was the spice centre, though the demonstration of the various products was long and could get presumably boring for people not interested in spices and oils, we were served mint tea, which was most welcome after the hearty lunch.
Through the souks we reached the magnificent Ben Youssef Madrasa, once a pillar of religious learning. The last item on the agenda was shopping, for the interested. This was a big collection of the items under a single roof, maybe at a higher price, but you still could indulge in bit of haggling without encountering aggressive sales tactics. A final assembly at the square and I headed back to the airport with fond memories.
Cons: Group size was about 25, but I would say that for under £30, it was excellent value for money.
Merci/Shoukran to Ali and Aziz.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Wanted to book the half day tour but glad we couldn't! We wanted to take a tour on our first day to orientate ourselves with the city being a party of two females and so glad we did. We saw so much more than we ever would have on our own including the back streets of the souks that we wouldn't have necessarily felt comfortable exploring on our own. We were collected promptly from our hotel and saw everything we wanted to see in one day. The guides were great and knowledgeable it was a packed itinerary but didn't feel rushed or too long and the lunch was very good. My only negative was that I did get a little bored in the spice and natural remedy centre, the talk was quite interesting but running through the list of products for sale afterwards was a little tedious when there is so much to see outside (although I did expect a bit of this in Marrakesh). All in all fantastic value and would definitely recommend. Do go for the full day we would have been disappointed to leave.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Overall a good tour. After some bad experiences in Marrakech I was hoping that the tour would be hassle free, interesting and informative - was not let down on any of these fronts. The guides are knowledgable, the tour us exactly what it said it would be. One criticism too much time at the pharmacy

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Good overview of the medina and souks.
But a lot of walking and going up and down steps.
The lunch was not very good.
Maybe do the trip in 2. 1/2 days ( with no lunch but a drink snack break)

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

I am giving 3 stars for a very simple reason: there is nothing special about this tour. If you are on a budget, do it yourself. You can easily plan your itinerary and spend much less with entrance fees. If you are busy and cannot plan your trip, then go for it. I wasnt happy with the fact that they picked us up from a location which was the starting point of the tour, took us by bus to a hotel where we waited 30 minutes to later go back to the same place. No idea why this was organised this way. We could have slept 30 minutes more and met the guide there. Anyway, the tour was well organised and despite reading many bad reviews about the guide talking about his religion, I think that actually this was a positive thing. I really enjoyed listening to his views of the ways people in Morocco and Marrakech live. It doesnt matter whether I agree or not, I was there to learn new cultures and see how people live there. Extremely happy with our guide, who was also funny and friendly. Lunch was also very good.
I didnt like the visit to the pharmacy, but apparently everyone else in the tour did. It was a big group with around 30 people.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

My partner and I did this tour 2 years ago and gave it full marks and a great review. On returning with our 2 teenage daughters we booked the tour again with enthusiasm and anticipation. How disappointed we were. Why? The differences...... 2 years ago it was us and the guide with the most friendly and informative day possible. This time 46 (yes 46) people on the tour being bussed and herded round a busy and chaotic city. The poor guide stood no chance as people struggled to hear him. He tried his best but with 46 on the tour he stood no chance. Many people left the tour early as did we by 4pm. We felt viator put profit above anything else on the tour this time and had a lot of unhappy customers. Finally, a warning, the vegetarian food had fish in it.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

DIDN'T LIKE IR, NOT WORH WHILE - WAS A STRUGGLE TO GET IN TOUCH WITH THE TOUR GUIDES TO PICK US UP OR CONFIRM - THEY PICK US IP LATE , THEY WANT TO DO EVERTHING IN A HASH AND DASH

Doing what: Fantasia Moroccan Dinner and Cultural Show

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

I had to give one star booked two tours but the guide never turned up at hotel or location point even though I emailed and called the day before

Doing what: Souks and Medinas of Marrakech Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Food was terrible. No one else was in the restaurant and there was no show.

Doing what: Marrakech Dinner and Show in a Moroccan Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Loved this tour and the adrenalin junkie who leads it - Hamid. The whole team were good fun - the highlight was the balloon ride over the camel ride and breakfast, both of which also very good.

Doing what: Atlas Mountains Hot Air Balloon Ride from Marrakech with Berber Breakfast and Desert Camel Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great tour... and Chaukri a great guide!

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message