Insider's Guide to

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

The southern heart of Morocco, Marrakech has long been a magnet for travelers and trading. These days we’re more likely to arrive by plane than camel but the trading is just as fierce and wonderful. The longevity of this city is evident the minute ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 722 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alena V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The flight was awesome. The view from the top was magnificent it was calm and not at all scary as I was afraid of. The breakfast was yummy but quite high on breads which is apparently just a local thing. Dont expect a ride to be a real ride youll be dressed in some local clothes and led around for 10-15 min on a camels back. Just to get some cute pictures and some laughs which was perfectly fine with me. All in all I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Atlas Mountains Hot Air Balloon Ride from Marrakech with Berber Breakfast and Desert Camel Experience

Jasmine J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Go on this tour! If you are looking to ride a camel without the commitment of taking an overnight trip to the desert, you need to do this. There are many tours offering rides in the palm grove but i did not see many offering the ride during the sunset. Trust me, this is the best time to go! You get the best photos and best views. The tour guide was perfect and does not bore you with too much information. He also stops several times to take your photo so do not worry about that. I recommend this tour to everyone going to Marrakesh !

Doing what: Sunset Camel Ride in the Palm Grove of Marrakech

Chia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great Tour. The guide walked us through the Kasbah, Medina and Souk. We had a great lunch which was included and we saw all the important historical sites in a timely manner. I highly recommended tour if you only have a day or two to enjoy Marrakech.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Sonnia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Was fantastic, We want to go again. I recomended

Doing what: Fantasia Moroccan Dinner and Cultural Show

Eshe S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was absolutely exceptional! our tour guide Mustapha was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. As we walked from stop to stop he told us about the history of the area we were in, and was able to answer virtually any question we had. Lastly, but certainly not least, you get A LOT of food!!! It is not like other food tours I've been on where they give you small bites at each stop, they give you full servings on this tour. I highly recommend letting your guide know you will share your portion with someone you are traveling with, Only because I felt bad leaving behind picked over food. But all in all great tour, I highly recommend it to anyone who is looking to try Moroccan food where Moroccans eat!

Doing what: Experience Marrakech: Food and Market Tour of Djemaa El Fna Including Traditional Dinner

Jahedul A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was the first time I did Camel Ridding and it was out of this world. I really enjoyed it. The people out there were superb specially Rashid. I loved their traditional tea. I strongly recommend this amazing excursion to others.
Please don't miss it.

Doing what: Desert and Palm Grove Camel Ride from Marrakech Including Moroccan Tea and Snack

James M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I had booked this trip as a surprise gift for my wife for our forthcoming wedding anniversary. It most definitely didn't dissapoint!

From the moment we were collected from our Riad in the 4x4 we were both extremely excited.

The car was clean and the rest of the passengers seemed as excited if not a little tired as we were.

We drove for approximately 45 minutes, the drive itself was nice, pretty comfortable, considering there were 6 plus a driver. We had only booked for a 4 night stay in Marrakesh. So the drive meant we got to see outside the city of so much hustle and bustle.

We turned off of the main road and into a rocky desert, drove a little further and ended up at a berber house.

We were welcomed with Berber tea and coffee and various breakfast pastries. The guys then started work on erecting the balloon. Our excitement was looming. We were called across to the magnificent balloon and asked to jump in at various entry points, we were introduced to our pilot who was a cheeky Morrocan chap. His english was good, the group we were with were all english speaking, so i couldn't say if he spoke other languages, apart from arabic.

The pilot asked us all to dip down within the basket, as he fired off the above head burner.

We were dipped down for less than 30 seconds, he then said ok stand up. As if by magic, we were about 30ft from the ground.

I think everyone's elation was apparent, the pilot then cracked many jokes to settle everyone and to build a rapport with the group.

The views were amazing, peacefully rising higher and higher. It was everything I had hoped it would be.

The pilot then landed the balloon into the trailer of a jeep. The landing was textbook. We hopped out and were driven back to the berber house, this time to a full berber breakfast.

After about 45 minutes we were taken to what i could only describe as a camel park. We were all asked to put on some traditional Berber clothes... then hopped on board our camels.

Doing what: Atlas Mountains Hot Air Balloon Ride from Marrakech with Berber Breakfast and Desert Camel Experience

Fabio M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was really a great experience. The Palmeraie scenery was very picturesque to be on the camels specially during the sunset. The camels were clearly very well taken care. Reda our main tour guy was a very nice guy and really good with camels and the tea stop was a nice touch

Doing what: Sunset Camel Ride in the Palm Grove of Marrakech

Lynne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Amazing experience! Early start but the views are well worth it and the pilot is actually hilarious and puts you totally at ease. Breakfast was also great! camel ride was a bonus. Well worth it!

Doing what: Atlas Mountains Hot Air Balloon Ride from Marrakech with Berber Breakfast and Desert Camel Experience

Eleanor M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Our guide was wonderful, he made us camels plaited from palm leaf fronds and was super friendly. The Palm Grove is so serene and just feels a world away from the hustle of the city, it was a lovely evening and your back in time to go out after if you wish.

Doing what: Sunset Camel Ride in the Palm Grove of Marrakech

Jonathan C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Well organised and flying in a balloon was good fun, I would have liked a longer flight. The pilot is also good fun.

Doing what: Atlas Mountains Hot Air Balloon Ride from Marrakech with Berber Breakfast and Desert Camel Experience

David B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very enjoyable tour with an interesting guide around the town.

Doing what: Essaouira Day Trip from Marrakech

Simple1

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We were picked up near our Riad early in the morning and driven to the hot air balloon site. While we enjoyed a light snack the crew set up the balloon. I thoroughly enjoyed watching the balloon being inflated. Everything was well timed and perfectly organized. The ride itself was breathtaking. Floating silently in the early morning sun with shepherds and farmers below us starting their day. The pilot kept things lively with his banter. He also happened to be an excellent pilot. Landed the balloon right into the back of the trailer! The desert camel ride I did not like. The camels were poorly cared for and it showed. Camels were not a natural part of the environment and the whole experience was dull and contrived. I wish i had refused the ride. Please replace it something more interesting because the joy of the balloon ride was ruined by it. Perhaps a short hike or a visit to a local farm?

Doing what: Atlas Mountains Hot Air Balloon Ride from Marrakech with Berber Breakfast and Desert Camel Experience

nina

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Would have liked a little more explaining about the history of the places we were going to. The tour guide spoke very little but took us to a lot of interesting places and left us there to wander on our own.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

nicky.souter

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Interesting route around the medina and with some valuable insights provided by our guide who seemed to be in a rush at some points and somewhat indifferent at others. Good luncheon, interesting drop in to herbalist.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Catherine H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

This tour ticks the boxes but fails to wow.
Balloon ride was average,sun had risen well before we were in flight. The pilot chatted and joked constantly meaning the tranquility was ruined. The breakfast was ok. The camel ride was a less than adequate walk round a circuit in a park! Waste of money!!

Doing what: Atlas Mountains Hot Air Balloon Ride from Marrakech with Berber Breakfast and Desert Camel Experience

Nicola C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

It started off quite well but very soon the guide had problems with his segway. He told us to go ahead without him and we were very unsure of where to go. We were driving on main roads which were very busy with cars driving very close to us. The guide did not speak any English and therefore there was no guide element to the tour at all. We drove round what felt like a housing estate and then around lots of streets without seeing anything of any interest. We did not realise until after the tour that we had drove very close to the main square and he had not even pointed it out. If all you want to do is ride a segway and some busy roads then you'll be ok, but if you want an actual guided tour I wouldn't bother. Very disappointed.

Doing what: Marrakech Segway Tour

Linda D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour. we loved every minute of it Highly recommended.

Doing what: Atlas Mountains Hot Air Balloon Ride from Marrakech with Berber Breakfast and Desert Camel Experience

Angela S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Would recommend this to anyone, had a thoroughly enjoyable time and our hosts were fabulous. Really enjoyed the experience of shopping in the Souks and cooking our own chicken tagine which tasted delicious, we have now managed to recreate this dish at home and it turned out great

Doing what: Experience Morocco: Visit a Souq and Cook a Tagine in Marrakech

Anthony B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Lived up to expectations, had a great time!

Doing what: Sunset Camel Ride in the Palm Grove of Marrakech

Aaron C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Anyone who is hesitant to book a tour and end up in a weird lot with several dead play tress.... DON'T BE! This tour provided way more than my friends and I expected. The van was so nice, the driver very nice, and the plan grove huge and beautiful. We were very lucky to get one of the nicer ones in Marrakech with this tour. The tour guide and others were very welcoming, warm, and funny. They made lots of jokes and helped us. We got to dress in authentic wear and ride the camels for 2 hours, with a stop for tea and snacks at a berber house. The guide also made us a camel made of palm. It was a wonderful touch to the gorgeous sunset. I would HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend this tour. As a college student with a tight budget, it was well worth the small price we paid.

Doing what: Sunset Camel Ride in the Palm Grove of Marrakech

Graham G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful experience, the captain - Hamid was a great host, breakfast at a berber house twice and the camel ride fitted a lot in a morning, would highly recommend this tour.

graham

Doing what: Atlas Mountains Hot Air Balloon Ride from Marrakech with Berber Breakfast and Desert Camel Experience

Kathryn D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

this tour was great. our hot air balloon pilot was very funny and it was a great experience.

Doing what: Atlas Mountains Hot Air Balloon Ride from Marrakech with Berber Breakfast and Desert Camel Experience

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message