Insider's Guide to

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Chiang Mai ATTRACTIONS See all

Wat Phra That Doi Suthep

The golden spire of Wat Phra That Doi Suthep glitters near the summit of Doi Suthep, a 1,676 meter (5,500 foot) mountain outside Chiang Mai. The wat was established in 1383, and is one of northern Thailand's most sacred temples. Gold and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 374 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I had a wonderful time on this tour. I booked the tour as an individual, so I was a bit annoyed at having to pay a substantial surplus, but it was worth it (especially as it meant I was by myself). I was promptly met by Mostafa, my guide and driver for the three days, at a pre-arranged meeting point just off to main square in the medina. Mostafa can communicate essential information in English and respond to simple questions, but he struggles beyond that. However, he speaks excellent French and is also one of the few people I have come across in my time learning standard Arabic who can talk fluently, at length and gladly in MSA, which was great for us both, if a little challenging at times. However, if there are other students of Arabic out there, I thoroughly recommend taking any tour with Mostafa, who is just a really great guy and excellent company.
The tour itself fits in an awful lot, so it will at times feel long, but there are plenty of opportunities to get out and about, including a self-guided tour of Aït Benhaddou, a tour of a movie set (in disrepair!) in Ouarzazate and then in Ourzazate itself on the first day. Incidentally, lunch on the first day was included as part of the movie set tour. We arrived into Ourzazate at about 4pm and checked into the hotel, which was quite nice, had lovely views from its pool and spa and hammam facilities (which weren't available).
Day two was more driving down through the Draa Valley to Zagora for lunch, arriving in Mhamid by mid-afternoon. In the end, we went to Erg Chiagaga, not Erg Lihoudi, which was great. I was alone at the camp and was very well looked after. The camels did, however, look a little sad. The camel ride up to the dunes was on arrival at about 16:30. In the early morning, I had a walk up myself, then breakfast and then back in the car to Marrakech. Lots of driving, but stunning views through the snowy and very windy mountains! We arrived back in Marrakech at about 18:00. It was a fantastic trip.

Doing what: 3-Day Sahara Desert Tour from Marrakech: Ouarzazate, Draa River Valley and M’hamid Sand Dunes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was a giggle from start to finish. Really enjoyed humour from all the guys who ran the tour. Balloon ride was lovely and a peaceful experience. Camel ride fab. Would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting as it's a beautiful way to see how people live etc. 10/10 from us guys thanks

Doing what: Atlas Mountains Hot Air Balloon Ride from Marrakech with Berber Breakfast and Desert Camel Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was the highlight of our trip. Excellent value for money. Very safe and a fab way to see the dessert. The quads were so easy ( 1st time rider) my fella didn't want it to end :-) we went for miles on the quads and felt thoroughly happy with the way it was ran and how long we had. Thanks guys :-)

Doing what: Marrakech Desert and Palm Grove Quad Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We are so pleased we took this tour. The guide was very friendly, very knowledgeable, and took us to areas that were fascinating, that we would never have found on our own. We had samples of all kinds of food, that were really nice. This tour was very much an educational experience, learning how much the different kinds of food are rooted in the Islamic culture and calendar, and we very much enjoyed it. We would absolutely recommend it to others.

Doing what: Experience Marrakech: Food and Market Tour of Djemaa El Fna Including Traditional Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

An excellent experience, so glad we did this excursion, it really made our short break to the beautiful country of Morocco absolutely special for both my wife and i.

Thankyou Mustafa and Ahmed, you are truly great people and I will be recommending this event to all my friends and family who ever travel to Marrakech.

Don't hesitate book this NOW!

Doing what: Atlas Mountains Hot Air Balloon Ride from Marrakech with Berber Breakfast and Desert Camel Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic excursion and so glad I booked this. It really made our short break away to Morocco a special experience. Both Mustafa and Ahmed are fantastic tour guides and the staff who also work within the team are lovely people who try their best to make the experience as enoyable and rememberable as possible.

If you haven't booked this yet, do it, now! I will be recommending this to all my friends and family who travel to Morocco. Its a MUST do! :)

Doing what: Atlas Mountains Hot Air Balloon Ride from Marrakech with Berber Breakfast and Desert Camel Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I took this tour with my family mid November on the first day of a short break and I can’t recommend it highly enough. It was a day packed with sights, sounds and smells of the city but our guide for the day; Ali never made it seem rushed or overpowering. In fact there were several opportunities where we could spend a little time on our own exploring or trying a little haggling in the Souk. Value fro money was exceptional given it included entrance to a number of monuments, museum etc plus the inclusion of a delicious lunch which even two suspicious teenagers gave a big thumbs up to. It all ended too quickly with the sun setting over the Jemaa el Fna but we’ve been left with lots of great memories to recall and reminisce now we’re back home.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The tour was great. Everything we expected. The tour guides were very good and we thoughoughly enjoyed our dinner. Would recommend this tour.

Pauline

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We were very impressed with the tour. We were picked up promptly from our hotel and taken to the tour bus to meet up with the guide. He was very knowledgable and the tour of the souks was a real help giving us confidence to go back several times during our stay in Marrakech. We were taken to a small cafe for a complimentary drink and enjoy the panoramic view from their rooftop terrace of the square. However, we felt it very unnecessary to take us by bus for the last hour of our tour to a very high class leather shop selling very expensive leather jackets. Having been made to sit through a cat walk and then offered drinks and being made to feel very uncomfortable. This was not just ourselves but by every person also on our tour. We felt that the last hour could have been spent differently, besides which going to a high class leather shop was never mentioned in your description of the tour and is not something that us Brits take kindly to.
Please rethink what you do for the final hour of the tour or just make the tour 2.30 till 5pm.

Doing what: Souks and Medinas of Marrakech Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

Well, I cannot rate this tour as despite my numerous attempts to arrange pick up I did not hear from the local agency, so no tour was provided!! Very disappointed.

Doing what: Souks and Medinas of Marrakech Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

The tour guide did not show up and the tour did not take place. The Guide told me over the telephone he did not know about my booking but that I would be compensated. I lodged a complaint through Viator's prescribed channels, but I got no response. I was looking forward to this tour very much. I paid a lot of money. For absolutely nothing. I am, understandably, not impressed at all. I feel robbed and let down.

Doing what: Experience Marrakech: Food and Market Tour of Djemaa El Fna Including Traditional Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was one of the best parts of our trip to Marrakech! The pilot was HILARIOUS putting all of us at ease since we were a bit nervous about heights as well as taking our first hot air balloon ride. We were picked up very early by our wonderful driver but arrived to coffee and food while the crew inflated the balloon. They were all very professional and helpful in making sure we all made it into the basket since it was a little tricky. The ride itself was extraordinary with watching the sunrise while peacefully floating over the landscape. We were then fed a fabulous breakfast before ending our morning with a camel ride. Everyone involved with this event was amazing and I can't recommend doing this tour enough-we were well taken care of from start to finish! We returned to our hotel late morning and still had plenty of time to do other things which was another plus.

Doing what: Atlas Mountains Hot Air Balloon Ride from Marrakech with Berber Breakfast and Desert Camel Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was brilliant, we got picked up on time, the views were absolutley amazing, after the ballon ride we had breakfast followed by a camel ride, I would recommend this excursion and would do it again in a heart beat

Doing what: Atlas Mountains Hot Air Balloon Ride from Marrakech with Berber Breakfast and Desert Camel Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a great introduction into Marrakech, we did this our first day and it helped give us an insight into Morocco. The lunch that was included was excellent.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was truly a GREAT time! Having to buy the ingredients, including a live chicken, first we got to experience the market. We also learned some Arabic words along the way. Then on to Karima's home. We were shown how to make traditional mint tea, then had hands on experience making our own tagines. The food was AMAZING! If you like to cook, or even if you don't this was fun, educational and DELICIOUS, thank you Karima for a delightful morning!!

Doing what: Experience Morocco: Visit a Souq and Cook a Tagine in Marrakech

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message