Insider's Guide to

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

From the bejeweled snake charmers and henna-painted fortune tellers that patrol the central square of Djeena El Fna, to the traditional dancing and rhythmic drumming of the Atlas mountains’ Berber tribes, Moroccan culture is as varied and vibrant as ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour gives quite a good insight into the Moroccan culture. It was only two of us on it which surprised me initially, but we received personalised service. Our guide was a lovely man Salem who demonstrated his wonderful drumming technique. The tour was based on eat as you go basis, whereby we were stopping at market stalls for some info on the product and then trying the food either sold or cooked at that same stall. It was really interesting since you didn't know what would be the next thing to try. I would say this tour is perfect for someone who wants to know more about food and varieties of food in Marrakech.

Doing what: Experience Marrakech: Food and Market Tour of Djemaa El Fna Including Traditional Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We are so pleased we took this tour. The guide was very friendly, very knowledgeable, and took us to areas that were fascinating, that we would never have found on our own. We had samples of all kinds of food, that were really nice. This tour was very much an educational experience, learning how much the different kinds of food are rooted in the Islamic culture and calendar, and we very much enjoyed it. We would absolutely recommend it to others.

Doing what: Experience Marrakech: Food and Market Tour of Djemaa El Fna Including Traditional Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

It was a very informative tour of Marrakech. It all started well and ended well. I highly recommend it for first timers in Marrakech as it gives you a glimpse of their culture and traditions.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This is a must if you go to Marrakech. Karima took us to the market where we purchased the ingredients for our tajine. We prepared it and drank mint tea. Finally we each received the recipe to take home. A great way to experience the culture.

Doing what: Experience Morocco: Visit a Souq and Cook a Tagine in Marrakech

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Excellent introduction to Marrakech culture, sights and shopping. Gave me and friend great navigation of city and appreciation for the history.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

This is a very interesting tour to go on. Guide was excellent and full of knowledge.
Experience various markets and stalls. Ones perhaps you would not find easily yourself.
Learn about the spice world and the various cultures.
Sample such things as Olives, Fruit, Biscuits, Soup, Bread, Doughnuts etc. Of course you have to make some Mint Tea. Lovely ! Finish with some Tagine food if you are not already full up.
Overall a very interesting few hours to finish off the day. Go on this tour and you will not be disappointed.

Doing what: Experience Marrakech: Food and Market Tour of Djemaa El Fna Including Traditional Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

Me and my group of friends decided to take a weekend trip to Marrakech will visiting a friend in Rome. The Discovery Tour was a GREAT addition to our weekend in Medina.

There were so many elements to the tour that definitely enhanced our expeienced. The tour guide was full of information and we explored the entire world of Marrakech in a wonderful 9 hour trip.

The accomodations included a relaxing coach style bus and an amazing Moroccan lunch.

I would recommend this tour to everyone visiting Marrakech because there is a number of things that I learned about the culture and the history on this tour that I would not have known otherwise.

Be prepared for a lot of walking, bring water, small bag, camera and comfortable shoes.

*not apart of the tour* but i think everyone should visit the Hammam spa in addition to this tour!!

Enjoy!!

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

I am giving 3 stars for a very simple reason: there is nothing special about this tour. If you are on a budget, do it yourself. You can easily plan your itinerary and spend much less with entrance fees. If you are busy and cannot plan your trip, then go for it. I wasnt happy with the fact that they picked us up from a location which was the starting point of the tour, took us by bus to a hotel where we waited 30 minutes to later go back to the same place. No idea why this was organised this way. We could have slept 30 minutes more and met the guide there. Anyway, the tour was well organised and despite reading many bad reviews about the guide talking about his religion, I think that actually this was a positive thing. I really enjoyed listening to his views of the ways people in Morocco and Marrakech live. It doesnt matter whether I agree or not, I was there to learn new cultures and see how people live there. Extremely happy with our guide, who was also funny and friendly. Lunch was also very good.
I didnt like the visit to the pharmacy, but apparently everyone else in the tour did. It was a big group with around 30 people.

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

TAZ
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

the guide was excellent and gave a good insight into the history and culture of Marrakech. For a good overview, and if you want to 'do' all the major sights quickly, then this is for you. There was a trip to a private museum (small) which really wasn't worth it, and the 'traditional' chemist purely hard sell, which was really annoying and disappointing, but the rest (major sites) were good. The price was ok and you did get lunch which was quite good, however, the restaurant was large, and we were the first there, which was lucky, as it filled up with more groups (obviously cattering for tour groups) and became loud and not an enjoyable experience at all

Doing what: Marrakech Discovery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message