Marseille ATTRACTIONS See all

Basilique Notre Dame de la Garde

Everywhere you go in Marseille, you'll see the golden statue of the Basilique Notre Dame de la Garde, the Romano-Byzantine basilica rising up from the city's highest hill, La Garde (530ft/162m). Built between 1853 and 1864, the domed basilica is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 194 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

popp.jens

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Busses seemed to be not well maintained. Audioguide was ok, but take Bus Nr. 60 of the local transport and you get nearly the same route... 24h Ticket of public transport is 6

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Brian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Cecile, the guide, was knowledgable, friendly, flexible, professional and fun.

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

JimNash

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The tour went where we wanted to go, Disappointed in the narration of the tour. We used the two day pass which suited our schedule.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Kathleen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A perfect introduction to our stay in Marseille. Aix-en-Provence and Cassis are must-see locations as well as Les Calanges. Violette was an excellent tour guide and we very much enjoyed our time with her and all of the information she had to share with us!

Doing what: Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

Daniel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It's most suitable for those shortly visit Marseille. A must see ! The guide Anne Engel was great. Knowledgeable, nice, accurate and efficient ! We had a very good time.

Doing what: Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

Bidita D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour was great with Melanie and Emilie as our tour guides! We were just a group of three as this is not the busiest time of year. Melanie and Emilie explained everything thoroughly as we traveled through Aix-en-Provence, Cassis, and the heart of Marseille. Melanie and Emilie took us to the highest sea cliff in Cassis, which provided breathtaking views! We also took a small boat to see the three calanques of Cassis. In Marseille, we visited the Notre-Dame de la Garde, which also provided for spectacular views over Marseille. Melanie and Emilie made the experience so easy and comfortable. I would definitely recommend this tour as it is a comprehensive way to visit this area if you are visiting!

Doing what: Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

Alan H

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Hop On Hop Off tour: 9 of 10 experience. Good circuit in general. Audio was a bit difficult to follow due to ambient traffic noise. Driver: attentive and competent. Over all a good experience. Recommend it? Yes, with reservations. Best part: good overview in a reasonable time. Thanks!

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

Robert K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very nice island. Would like to go back there and roam around for a few weeks. Bus tour was excellent in that it covered a lot of area and exposed us to the many of the areas worth visiting in detail someday.

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Stefan R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The tour was both interesting and Informstive.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jeffrey M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great way to see the city highly recommended

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

Brooke M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The personal touch provided on this tour was amazing. Was such an intimate way to explore a new city. Both guide and electric bikes were faultless.

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

Marilyn O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a very good tour and my friend and I got to see all of the enchanting town. Some of the streets are very steep so it was very convenient to take the bus.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Tyler H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

My girlfriend and I had a great time on the tour. I would definitely recommend it to anyone interested in seeing Marseille.

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

margaret p

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Content and route was interesting and varied. Could have included a quick stop for typical French food. Guide sometimes spoke for too long . Needed much more time at Notre Dam. Overall well worth it.

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

Terence G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

I paid €18 per ticket to Viator and then found out that the ticket actually costs €10 if bought on the bus!

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Corinne C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

Very disappointing. Pre-booked and paid for one day Hop-on, Hop-off bus tour. Turned up for bus on Sunday morning to be told that service was not operating that day. Only a 1 1/2 hour tour available, take it or leave it attitude from the driver. Took this tour, very brief, did not see much of Marseille, no audio, and the map we had to ask for did not link with any of the route the driver took. Total waste of money, not worth pre-booking, costs a lot more and no guarantee of the tour purchased.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Magela B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

It was Saturday and they said because of weekend it was NOT HOP ON HOP OFF, it was just a bus ride for 1 hour, didnt do the complete route and didnt have any sort of guide of any kind. TOTALLY Disapointed.. Plus people who purchased their tickets at the spot just paid 10 euros. I was robbed.

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Therese L Canada

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

This service on our first day was good, we got on later in afternon, to do the circuit and to decide what we wanted to see the next day. 2 day pass. The next day proved to be horrible service. First the bus was at least 45 minutes 1st bus of the day late in departing. Most of the packed bus went to the Cathedral high up on the hill to visit. Once we were done, some of us waiting 1hour and 15 minutes, a tour operator finally arrived to say that the bus had broken down. We then had to wait for a city bus to return us to the harbour. This really put a damper on our days plans and would not recommend this company to anyone.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

alisabrache Dominican Republic

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

First we had to take a private shuttle additional cost to be able to get to bus station because is far from port.
When we finally arrived at the OLD Port and several people were on line.The driver and guide to lock
the bus because they were going to have breakfast and would be back at 1030am.....all of us staing in the sun waiting!!
Finally we get on the HOP ON BUS and the driver has an accident in the middle of the tour and slams into a van and breaks in window and mirror...of course the bus can not continue the service and there
in NOT a second bus to take us around.The did not apolize or reorganize our tour.We had to buy addtional tickets to take trolley to Catedrl Notre de Dame.....very poor service

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Judith B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

waited 45 minutes at stop 1 with over 75 people in front of us ,,,,finally gave up and tried finding the other stops listed on the map. well that didn't work because you didn't have the courtesy to mark the other stops with a sign....never saw any buses and never used your tickets.....definitely a waste of money and vacation time

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Susan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Cedric was an excellent guide. He was friendly and made all participants comfortable. The tour was well organized and well-paced.

Doing what: Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

Steffea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great way to see the city of Marseille. We loved this tour. Great tour guide too!!

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

Deborah Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Riding a bike in Marseille with our tour guide Mia was the best way to experience Marseille. We were on a cruise and bit tired of the big city experience. Mia took us to a small fishing village, and many places that locals frequent. She was so encouraging and helpful. This was one of the highlights of our trip to Europe.

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

Allen V

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

A compact tour of a city with not a great number of highlights but still heightens the senses

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message