Marseille ATTRACTIONS See all

Basilique Notre Dame de la Garde

Everywhere you go in Marseille, you'll see the golden statue of the Basilique Notre Dame de la Garde, the Romano-Byzantine basilica rising up from the city's highest hill, La Garde (530ft/162m). Built between 1853 and 1864, the domed basilica is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 217 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

JC L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent experience. This was our second trip through Marseille but now we feel like we know the city. Our tour guide William was top shelf -- friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. It was also our first experience with e-bikes and we loved them. Dial in whatever level of boost you prefer . . . but of course real men keep it set on minimum assistance :

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

Nora C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Mathew was great! We were the only 2 people in this tour all morning, and then picked up an additional 4 for the afternoon. What a great day. I would highly recommend this is you want to see Aix-en-Provence and Cassis. Cassis is a small town on the mediterranean . The short boat ride was great too. Thank you

Doing what: Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

brendaannolele United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. We especially will treasure our tour of the Marseille Notre Dame and seeing the prison island where the Count of Monte Cristo was filmed. This route let us see all the highlights of Marseille, perfect for a limited time shore excursion.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Lauren L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great way to see Marseille! Mia was a wonderful guide and this tour allowed us to see the best parts of Marseille in a day! Would definitely recommend for anyone visiting this beautiful city!

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

Stanton M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

City Pass is the Best Way to See the Area

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

llecompte

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My best day of the trip. This is the best of the best for a new adventure. Cecil and Mark was GREAT guides. The only negative is that no water was provided as stated and we had none to drink. We had a bike break down and waited 20 minutes for a replacement , but they made up the time for our tour .
GREAT experience and a great way to see the City, loved it . Would do it again and go back to Marseille it was a nice and beautiful tour .

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

alivan25560

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Informative and pleasing trip

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Robert C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

It was a good way to see some of the tourist atractions in marseille.

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Amy B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

It was good. We were there the day after the riots, so we got to see a lot of cleanup.

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

michael k

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Tour bus of marselle was very nice and beautiful.
I saw what I wanted to see the old port, norte damm cathedral, seaside.
Very happy!

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Alice Shiqing H

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Dinner and live music were good. However, the cruise was not as good as we expected because the illumination of the night in Paris was very disappointed. In addition, we did not get chance to the deck to take picture. I would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

Kerry K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

We found this Tour very difficult to find the Starting Bus Stop even with help from the Tourist Bureau in Marseille. As Marseille is not very big there is only one bus tour available. There was nothing really wrong with the tour itself it's just that we wasted probably an hour and half to 2 hours looking for a bus stop to start our tour.

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

lorettachin

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

It was the worst of the 5 Hop On/Off buses.Upon leaving the ship,there were no clear directions on how to get to the bus.After walking for 2 plus miles,we finally located it.We had local patrons call and there was no answer.Upon arrival at the bus stop,the lines was about 1 mile long and we found out that there were a total of 2 buses.Also,it was really disorganized in that they collected and made change to customers on the bus,which took up alot of time.Had we not purchases this in advanced,we wouild not have waited in line to go on this.It was not worth the money and as a result,I would never go back to Marseille.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

tdadams2

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Could not get on the bus as she wanted a paper voucher. The tour information stated paper or electronic. All I had was electronic

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Kathleen C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

If I could have put zero stars I would have. The bus is nowhere near the port we had to take a taxi for 20 euro to get to a stop. The bus stops are not well marked and very difficult to find. heading back to the port the driver dropped us off at the closest stop and we walked for 1 1/2 hours no fun

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Camille R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We loved Marseille. More laid back, but still lots to see and do.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

sebatt2000

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very good walking tour with lots of info. The headphone sets make a big difference.

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jonathan P

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Potentially very good value with a plethora of activities and transport options included. However, more information should have been provided outlining how utterly useless such a pass would be for May Day one of the days we had it for as literally everything transport too was closed.

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

sebatt2000

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Good bus tour but because it was a Hop-On Hop-Off we expected to see the usual red bus with the usual graphics. This was not the case in Marseilles and so we had some difficulty locating the correct bus. Perhaps people booking online should be given this info. Otherwise OK

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

chapter.4

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This tour gave a good overall taste of things to do in Marseille.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

David G

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

I had hoped that this tour would take in some of the less traveled tourist spots unfortunately we just hit all the normal places. Keep in mind you need to be quite fit for this excursion as the last stop is at the top of a long vertical climb.
Unfortunately none of the tour is on bike paths or even footpaths. It is all in busy Marseilles traffic complete with occasional road rage Leaving one little time to absorb the scenery.
If you just want to see the standard tourist spots I'd suggest taking the tourist train in town - it will hit all the same spots and at least you can look around and take in the sights.

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

Collettepeter

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The guide was excellent, though inexperienced it was his first ever tour. The bikes were OK but with some broken fittings on a number of bikes but not of the standard of the Rome electric bike tour. Our rating would have been higher but for the confusion and disorganisation at the meeting place. Shouting at clients because the company is disorganised is unacceptable. in summary, good but not great. Management needs to lift their game considerably.

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

popp.jens

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Busses seemed to be not well maintained. Audioguide was ok, but take Bus Nr. 60 of the local transport and you get nearly the same route... 24h Ticket of public transport is 6

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Mike D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

This was basically an expensive bus trip around the city. There was audio but it seemed to be 90 music the same song over and over again and 10 some information. We passed many interesting buildings and structures but no commentary was made on any of them. We were never given any indication on where we could hop off and what we would see if we did except at the two churches. When trying to check in electronically we had issues with no help from the person taking money for the tour. I had to go back to the hotel to make a printed copy. This was the first time Viator let us down with a tour.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Brian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Cecile, the guide, was knowledgable, friendly, flexible, professional and fun.

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message