Marseille ATTRACTIONS See all

Basilique Notre Dame de la Garde

Everywhere you go in Marseille, you'll see the golden statue of the Basilique Notre Dame de la Garde, the Romano-Byzantine basilica rising up from the city's highest hill, La Garde (530ft/162m). Built between 1853 and 1864, the domed basilica is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 139 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The electric bike tour was the perfect way to see the whole city and all it had to offer over the course of four hours. My friend and I had an excellent time and would definitely recommend this to anyone.

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

The buses do not run to the times on the given timetable. Some drivers just drive around, not stopping at bus stops waiting to see if passengers turn up at the scheduled time. We had to walk back to the harbour to get a cab back to our cruise ship as the bus had gone before the given time. Another couple on our cruise had to get a cab back to the ship from the farthest point because of the same thing - the bus was more than 5 minutes early leaving!

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We did the bike tour during our day in port from our cruise ship. The directions of how to get to the meeting point by taxi were perfect. Sylvain was there waiting for us. It ended up being just the 2 of us and we covered Marseille. The electric bikes were new to us but they were easy to use. Sylvain was gracious and knowledgeable. An amazing overview of a very interesting city. We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour and appreciated being taken to the Cathedral at the top of the hill as well as the church in the city. We were the only people on the tour but were impressed with the skill of the driver and his command of English. We would most certainly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

It was a great experience!! There were only the three of us and felt like we were given a private tour. Biking on the busy streets of Marseille was a bit scary but fun nonetheless. The guide was knowledgable and fun.

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

There is too much traffic in Marseille to make this experience work.
The buses can not keep to a schedule.

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a wonderful four hours or so of biking through majestic Marseille. Emmanuel was an ideal guide, cordial, very attentive and knowledgeable about his home city. I have bicycled in Amsterdam, Berlin, even Paris, among others, but this was my first time to take a biking tour of a new city, and I loved every moment, every hill! I would recommend it highly, as an introduction to gorgeous Marseille, to anyone who likes biking and wants to experience the city alongside a proud Marseillais. Heureux cyclage!

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour with our guide William. Our tour tools us to many sights including Norte Dame Basilica with superb views of the city and the sea. Tour included a stop at a local café and a park to learn a game. William provided historical and other factual data about the city.

The bikes were in excellent condition with many safety features including reflectors, lights and a strong battery to get us up the hills. Helmets were also provided.

Many thanks to William for an entertaining tour!

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very efficient and worth the money

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

I was expecting better. There weren't very many stops in front of attractions. We saw several but the were not on the route.

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Nice overall tour of the city and ports. Good commentary. Enjoyed seeing Port Saint Jean and the Cathedrale. Highlight was the Notre Dame de la Garde -- beautiful!

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

amazing, great way to know and enjoy a city

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Definately get the city pass. Worth every cent. Buses and metro are on time and take you all over the city. Certain buses get more crowded than others, but best way around. Also, visit the museums. I did not have time to hit them all, but the museum at Palais de Longchamp had some wonderful sculptures and paintings.
My trip time was limited but a good week here should allow plenty of time to see the sights in a leisurely mannar.

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We were able to get on the tour bus at the prescribed place at the Old Port and take the bus around all of the stops to where we wanted to get off. Re-boarding was easy and we rode back to the Old Port where we enjoyed a leasurely lunch before heading back to the ship.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message