Marseille ATTRACTIONS See all

Basilique Notre Dame de la Garde

Everywhere you go in Marseille, you'll see the golden statue of the Basilique Notre Dame de la Garde, the Romano-Byzantine basilica rising up from the city's highest hill, La Garde (530ft/162m). Built between 1853 and 1864, the domed basilica is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 127 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The convenience of the Hop on-Hop off made a great day for sightseeing .

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

I would not recommend this trip. Not enough buses. If you get off at a stop you need to be prepared to wait 45 -60 minutes for another bus to show up! The driver also skipped some stops; perhaps guests were supposed to alert him if they wanted a stop? Also, when the driver did stop, he didn't announce the stops and so guests were uncertain if he was just stopped for traffic or if it was a disembarkation location. (This was in direct contrast to the Hop-On-Hop-Off in Barcelona - buses every 10-15 minutes + a loud announcement "STOP" each time we were had a scheduled stop.

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

I was traveling with my elderly mother and my daughter on Oceania. My mother was using a portable walker. We entered the bus and found the driver's attitude more annoyance at having to deal with my mother's slight handicap. Once seated the ride was fine. We returned to a spot that was on our first run and disembarked. When we began towards the pickup spot we found the map was confusing as far as the specific areas to pick up as not all had signage. After we stopped at what we thought was the pickup area on the map, the bus didn't stop and he just shock his head. It was 90 degrees and my mother was about to collapse. We managed to attempt at the next pick-up spot indicated and where the driver had stopped, but again he just shock his head and went on by. We were able to find a taxi to return to our ship, but my mother was on the verge of needing medical attention. You pick-ups are too infrequent and the map is inaccurate, not to mention your lack of concern for the elderly and handicapped. We had absolutely no problems doing this in 3 other stops so my mother's mobility was not the problem.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Took some awesome photo, not to difficult to find the pick up point

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour!

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour!

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great city with great transportation!

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Difficult to find the pick up points. The bus trips provided not sufficient.

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Dangerous, and the company does care about your safety !!! Strongly advise against it unless you drive on daily on a daily basis in busy traffic . I recommend to take the train trip....it's safe, it's fun and you will much more by doing that. Again ..strongly recommend against it from all point of view.

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was absolutely fastastic! We were picked up at our hotel by our lovely guide Vanessa around 9 am. It was a private tour so my family and I were the only ones on the tour...It was perfect! We started off the day going to St. Nicholas Abbey and to the oldest bakery in Marseille. Then, our guide took to us to tthe Basilica of Notre-Dame of the Garde on top of the hill with spectacular view of all of Marseille and the nearby islands of Frioul and Chateau d'If. Then, we were off for a ride along the Corniche...Sea-side road on Marseille with beautiful ocean views as we made out way to Cassis. We made our way to Cap Canaille...The highest sea-side cliffs in Europe for amazing views. It was incredible! Then, off to Cassis, where we had roughly two and a half hours...We had an incredible lunch by the port and then hopped on a boat for a tour of the calanques. We did the 45 minute tour and visited 3of them...The calanques were one of the most beautful things I've ever seen...Don't skip this part. Then back to Marseille around 4 pm to enjoy the rest of the afternoon, sunset drinks and dinner. It was one of my favorite tours I've ever done! The only I wish for was more time...Cassis is an incredible place that merits more than 2 hours...But, if you want to see and do a lot with the comfort of a private tour, this is the way to go. Recommend it 100%!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Marseille and Cassis Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The bus goes to the church at the top of the hill and around the rest of the city.
The only thing we found was that it was difficult to find the bus stop. Once on the bus we found that we had walked by 2 bus stops without realising it. Thank fully it wasnt too hot.

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

This was our first port, so we didn't know what to expect. After our cab ride to the city center, we was able to find the tour bus fairly easy it was a good tour...just wish it was a little longer. It seemed to end very quickly. Once it finished we explored the city on foot. It's worth doing!

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

This was our first port, so we didn't know what to expect. After our cab ride to the city center, we was able to find the tour bus fairly easy it was a good tour...just wish it was a little longer. It seemed to end very quickly. Once it finished we explored the city on foot. It's worth doing!

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had the most fantastic day on the electric bikes. Tom was a great guide. Would recommend it to anyone

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message