Marseille ATTRACTIONS See all

Basilique Notre Dame de la Garde

Everywhere you go in Marseille, you'll see the golden statue of the Basilique Notre Dame de la Garde, the Romano-Byzantine basilica rising up from the city's highest hill, La Garde (530ft/162m). Built between 1853 and 1864, the domed basilica is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 155 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour, the guide is well informed, it's very kind and make the tour around the city by bike it's just perfect, it's a must do plan.

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This trip did a fine job of covering a LOT of area in the time allotted. The time in Aix was brief, but we understand that it had to be because of all that was on our agenda that day. Our guide DID drive us to Cezanne's studio, which we were all keen to visit, and which was not on our schedule. The Marseille churches were interesting, and their sites offered up wonderful sights of Marseille. On the way to Cassis, we had the thrill of being driven to the top of some monumental cliffs towering over the Cassis area, and being able to get outstanding views of the villages and boats out on the Mediterranean far below us. The boat ride to visit the Calanques was a wonderful opportunity to learn about the geology, savor the scenery, be the recipient of cooling sea breezes, and SIT DOWN and RELAX. Cassis was charming and hopping. When we returned to our morning's pick up point in Marseille, our guide offered to drive us back to our hotel near the airport since it was her way back to her home in Avignon, and after learning we had had to pay 70 euros for our cab ride to the Vieux Port that morning. One suggestion: It would have been nice to have been encouraged to have something substantial to eat in Aix, because we had no opportunity to buy anything to eat OR drink from the time we left there until we arrived in Cassis in the late afternoon.

Doing what: Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

really great way to see the place

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great way to see the city and il worth the money

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Lousy. Hard to find point to get started on bus. Midway thru tour the bus broke down. An empty replacement bus WAS was not sent, only a almost full regular bus that was crowded. Gene

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great. No question when you are a first visitor with a time schedule this is the way to go.

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great! I was only in Marseille for 1 day and it absolutely maximised the things I was able to see. The electric bikes made it easy to go up the big heel. The guide was great. I would highly recommend it

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Nice way to explore marseille. We had a lovely tourguide that could tell us lots about the city.

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had so much fun on this tour. Thomas was great!

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed visiting several locations in one tour. Our guide, Cedric, was very friendly, animated, and full of knowledge. We give him 5 stars. The basilica is very high with steep incline, so we appreciated the drive up. A lovely view! Aix is a beautiful, but did not find the Paul Cezanne studio.

Doing what: Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We never used the passes. We found that walking and the Metro was much more fun.

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Had to go to local visitor center to locate bus stop locations. was told no service on 6/7 due to a race. No notice received from your company. Was too late for me to make other arrangements. Not a way to run a company

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

William was teriffic! Very good tour!

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

We used this tour for 2 days to help us get to know a little about marseille.it was excellent,marseille is very hilly, dominated by a wonderful church called Notre Dame de la Garde.The bus dropped us at the church and we had our visit and continued on another bus.We usually do the hop on hop off bus on arrival at a new destination as it gives you an overall view of what can be seen and then you can choose your favourite places to get off for a more in depth visit.I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

In a city as busy as Marseilles this tour is a must..being able to choose your hop off location means opportunities for museums, The Vieux Port and the very scenic locations for photo opportunities.
Our stop included Fort St Jean and nearby Museum.
This is definitely the only way to appreciate the scale of such a large city.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The electric bike tour was the perfect way to see the whole city and all it had to offer over the course of four hours. My friend and I had an excellent time and would definitely recommend this to anyone.

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

The buses do not run to the times on the given timetable. Some drivers just drive around, not stopping at bus stops waiting to see if passengers turn up at the scheduled time. We had to walk back to the harbour to get a cab back to our cruise ship as the bus had gone before the given time. Another couple on our cruise had to get a cab back to the ship from the farthest point because of the same thing - the bus was more than 5 minutes early leaving!

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We did the bike tour during our day in port from our cruise ship. The directions of how to get to the meeting point by taxi were perfect. Sylvain was there waiting for us. It ended up being just the 2 of us and we covered Marseille. The electric bikes were new to us but they were easy to use. Sylvain was gracious and knowledgeable. An amazing overview of a very interesting city. We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour and appreciated being taken to the Cathedral at the top of the hill as well as the church in the city. We were the only people on the tour but were impressed with the skill of the driver and his command of English. We would most certainly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

It was a great experience!! There were only the three of us and felt like we were given a private tour. Biking on the busy streets of Marseille was a bit scary but fun nonetheless. The guide was knowledgable and fun.

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

There is too much traffic in Marseille to make this experience work.
The buses can not keep to a schedule.

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a wonderful four hours or so of biking through majestic Marseille. Emmanuel was an ideal guide, cordial, very attentive and knowledgeable about his home city. I have bicycled in Amsterdam, Berlin, even Paris, among others, but this was my first time to take a biking tour of a new city, and I loved every moment, every hill! I would recommend it highly, as an introduction to gorgeous Marseille, to anyone who likes biking and wants to experience the city alongside a proud Marseillais. Heureux cyclage!

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour with our guide William. Our tour tools us to many sights including Norte Dame Basilica with superb views of the city and the sea. Tour included a stop at a local café and a park to learn a game. William provided historical and other factual data about the city.

The bikes were in excellent condition with many safety features including reflectors, lights and a strong battery to get us up the hills. Helmets were also provided.

Many thanks to William for an entertaining tour!

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very efficient and worth the money

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message