Marseille ATTRACTIONS See all

Basilique Notre Dame de la Garde

Everywhere you go in Marseille, you'll see the golden statue of the Basilique Notre Dame de la Garde, the Romano-Byzantine basilica rising up from the city's highest hill, La Garde (530ft/162m). Built between 1853 and 1864, the domed basilica is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 139 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a wonderful four hours or so of biking through majestic Marseille. Emmanuel was an ideal guide, cordial, very attentive and knowledgeable about his home city. I have bicycled in Amsterdam, Berlin, even Paris, among others, but this was my first time to take a biking tour of a new city, and I loved every moment, every hill! I would recommend it highly, as an introduction to gorgeous Marseille, to anyone who likes biking and wants to experience the city alongside a proud Marseillais. Heureux cyclage!

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour with our guide William. Our tour tools us to many sights including Norte Dame Basilica with superb views of the city and the sea. Tour included a stop at a local café and a park to learn a game. William provided historical and other factual data about the city.

The bikes were in excellent condition with many safety features including reflectors, lights and a strong battery to get us up the hills. Helmets were also provided.

Many thanks to William for an entertaining tour!

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

I was expecting better. There weren't very many stops in front of attractions. We saw several but the were not on the route.

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Nice overall tour of the city and ports. Good commentary. Enjoyed seeing Port Saint Jean and the Cathedrale. Highlight was the Notre Dame de la Garde -- beautiful!

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

amazing, great way to know and enjoy a city

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Definately get the city pass. Worth every cent. Buses and metro are on time and take you all over the city. Certain buses get more crowded than others, but best way around. Also, visit the museums. I did not have time to hit them all, but the museum at Palais de Longchamp had some wonderful sculptures and paintings.
My trip time was limited but a good week here should allow plenty of time to see the sights in a leisurely mannar.

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We were able to get on the tour bus at the prescribed place at the Old Port and take the bus around all of the stops to where we wanted to get off. Re-boarding was easy and we rode back to the Old Port where we enjoyed a leasurely lunch before heading back to the ship.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

Absolutely worst!We couldn't find the stop station of the bus for hours it wasn't on 20 min from the port as was written.When we found the stop station we were waiting more than half an hour and bus did not come,so we took the taxi to the Cathedral Notr Dam and than tourist train for back.We did not use our tickets for that bus and we do not recommended it to anybody else!!!

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

This was the worst tour ever. It took us forever to even find the hop on hop off bus. I will never take this type of tour again. You don't let people know where to go to find a bus stop. When we did ride the bus we noticed the bus did not stop at any designated stops except the one where we caught it to begin with. Louzy customer service.

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Marseille was a beautiful surprise .. loved the tour

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A must to have if you want to discover all the places in Marseille. Totally worth it!!

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Driver was very accommodating.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The convenience of the Hop on-Hop off made a great day for sightseeing .

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

I would not recommend this trip. Not enough buses. If you get off at a stop you need to be prepared to wait 45 -60 minutes for another bus to show up! The driver also skipped some stops; perhaps guests were supposed to alert him if they wanted a stop? Also, when the driver did stop, he didn't announce the stops and so guests were uncertain if he was just stopped for traffic or if it was a disembarkation location. (This was in direct contrast to the Hop-On-Hop-Off in Barcelona - buses every 10-15 minutes + a loud announcement "STOP" each time we were had a scheduled stop.

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message