Marseille ATTRACTIONS See all

Basilique Notre Dame de la Garde

Everywhere you go in Marseille, you'll see the golden statue of the Basilique Notre Dame de la Garde, the Romano-Byzantine basilica rising up from the city's highest hill, La Garde (530ft/162m). Built between 1853 and 1864, the domed basilica is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 163 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great way to get from the hotel to the Airport only had to wait 10 mins for the taxi while a delivery cleared the jetty. The communications from the tour operator arrived the day before as scheduled. We had another little tour around the grand canal while we picked up other's and then over to the Airport.
Excellent!

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Its the perfect way to see Marseille!

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Our family of four (me, my wife, and two daughters aged 16 and 18), enjoyed the eBike tour of Marseille. Our guide, Ludovic, gave us just the right amount of information. He also taught us to play Pétanque and took us to a bakery for orange navette biscuits. Very good! Some busy streets but not bad!

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Very fun, Pro's -- great way to see city, great stops along the way, great guide ours was Toby very enjoyable for the family and price was fair for product! Con's -- a little hard to find if you are not being met by the Theatre or unless your taxi driver knows where it's tucked in,

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

We bought a 24 hour pass but on the day to validate our pass, it was a national holiday, Bastille Day and everything was either closed or closed early. As a result, we didn't use any of the transportation. Everything was within walking distance of what we wanted to see. If you are planning on spending more time there, then the pass allows free access to many museums so it might be worth it, according to your itinerary.

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

Buses run only every 30 mins. Waited 30 mins at stop, then 25 mins once bus arrived for him to fill the bus.
Poorly marked stops. Driver did not stop at a stop on the map at which we wanted to get off, had to walk 1/2 mile back to that location. Not a good experience. Would not recommend or use this bus again.

Doing what: Best Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

This was the worst hop on hop off experience we've ever had! The first bus was to be available at 10am. However, the bus didn't arrive at stop 1 until 10:45 and then the driver got out of the bus, locked it, and went away for 15 minutes.
There was a very long wait between buses along the route.

Doing what: Best Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour, the guide is well informed, it's very kind and make the tour around the city by bike it's just perfect, it's a must do plan.

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This trip did a fine job of covering a LOT of area in the time allotted. The time in Aix was brief, but we understand that it had to be because of all that was on our agenda that day. Our guide DID drive us to Cezanne's studio, which we were all keen to visit, and which was not on our schedule. The Marseille churches were interesting, and their sites offered up wonderful sights of Marseille. On the way to Cassis, we had the thrill of being driven to the top of some monumental cliffs towering over the Cassis area, and being able to get outstanding views of the villages and boats out on the Mediterranean far below us. The boat ride to visit the Calanques was a wonderful opportunity to learn about the geology, savor the scenery, be the recipient of cooling sea breezes, and SIT DOWN and RELAX. Cassis was charming and hopping. When we returned to our morning's pick up point in Marseille, our guide offered to drive us back to our hotel near the airport since it was her way back to her home in Avignon, and after learning we had had to pay 70 euros for our cab ride to the Vieux Port that morning. One suggestion: It would have been nice to have been encouraged to have something substantial to eat in Aix, because we had no opportunity to buy anything to eat OR drink from the time we left there until we arrived in Cassis in the late afternoon.

Doing what: Best Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

really great way to see the place

Doing what: Best Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great way to see the city and il worth the money

Doing what: Best Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Lousy. Hard to find point to get started on bus. Midway thru tour the bus broke down. An empty replacement bus WAS was not sent, only a almost full regular bus that was crowded. Gene

Doing what: Best Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great. No question when you are a first visitor with a time schedule this is the way to go.

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great! I was only in Marseille for 1 day and it absolutely maximised the things I was able to see. The electric bikes made it easy to go up the big heel. The guide was great. I would highly recommend it

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Nice way to explore marseille. We had a lovely tourguide that could tell us lots about the city.

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had so much fun on this tour. Thomas was great!

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed visiting several locations in one tour. Our guide, Cedric, was very friendly, animated, and full of knowledge. We give him 5 stars. The basilica is very high with steep incline, so we appreciated the drive up. A lovely view! Aix is a beautiful, but did not find the Paul Cezanne studio.

Doing what: Best Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We never used the passes. We found that walking and the Metro was much more fun.

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Had to go to local visitor center to locate bus stop locations. was told no service on 6/7 due to a race. No notice received from your company. Was too late for me to make other arrangements. Not a way to run a company

Doing what: Best Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

William was teriffic! Very good tour!

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

We used this tour for 2 days to help us get to know a little about marseille.it was excellent,marseille is very hilly, dominated by a wonderful church called Notre Dame de la Garde.The bus dropped us at the church and we had our visit and continued on another bus.We usually do the hop on hop off bus on arrival at a new destination as it gives you an overall view of what can be seen and then you can choose your favourite places to get off for a more in depth visit.I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Best Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

In a city as busy as Marseilles this tour is a must..being able to choose your hop off location means opportunities for museums, The Vieux Port and the very scenic locations for photo opportunities.
Our stop included Fort St Jean and nearby Museum.
This is definitely the only way to appreciate the scale of such a large city.

Doing what: Best Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The electric bike tour was the perfect way to see the whole city and all it had to offer over the course of four hours. My friend and I had an excellent time and would definitely recommend this to anyone.

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message