Marseille ATTRACTIONS See all

Basilique Notre Dame de la Garde

Everywhere you go in Marseille, you'll see the golden statue of the Basilique Notre Dame de la Garde, the Romano-Byzantine basilica rising up from the city's highest hill, La Garde (530ft/162m). Built between 1853 and 1864, the domed basilica is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 205 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Camille R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We loved Marseille. More laid back, but still lots to see and do.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

sebatt2000

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very good walking tour with lots of info. The headphone sets make a big difference.

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jonathan P

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Potentially very good value with a plethora of activities and transport options included. However, more information should have been provided outlining how utterly useless such a pass would be for May Day one of the days we had it for as literally everything transport too was closed.

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

sebatt2000

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Good bus tour but because it was a Hop-On Hop-Off we expected to see the usual red bus with the usual graphics. This was not the case in Marseilles and so we had some difficulty locating the correct bus. Perhaps people booking online should be given this info. Otherwise OK

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

chapter.4

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This tour gave a good overall taste of things to do in Marseille.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

David G

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

I had hoped that this tour would take in some of the less traveled tourist spots unfortunately we just hit all the normal places. Keep in mind you need to be quite fit for this excursion as the last stop is at the top of a long vertical climb.
Unfortunately none of the tour is on bike paths or even footpaths. It is all in busy Marseilles traffic complete with occasional road rage Leaving one little time to absorb the scenery.
If you just want to see the standard tourist spots I'd suggest taking the tourist train in town - it will hit all the same spots and at least you can look around and take in the sights.

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

Collettepeter

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The guide was excellent, though inexperienced it was his first ever tour. The bikes were OK but with some broken fittings on a number of bikes but not of the standard of the Rome electric bike tour. Our rating would have been higher but for the confusion and disorganisation at the meeting place. Shouting at clients because the company is disorganised is unacceptable. in summary, good but not great. Management needs to lift their game considerably.

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

Collettepeter

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The guide was excellent, though inexperienced it was his first ever tour. The bikes were OK but with some broken fittings on a number of bikes but not of the standard of the Rome electric bike tour. Our rating would have been higher but for the confusion and disorganisation at the meeting place. Shouting at clients because the company is disorganised is unacceptable. in summary, good but not great. Management needs to lift their game considerably.

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

Collettepeter

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The guide was excellent, though inexperienced it was his first ever tour. The bikes were OK but with some broken fittings on a number of bikes but not of the standard of the Rome electric bike tour. Our rating would have been higher but for the confusion and disorganisation at the meeting place. Shouting at clients because the company is disorganised is unacceptable. in summary, good but not great. Management needs to lift their game considerably.

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

Collettepeter

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The guide was excellent, though inexperienced it was his first ever tour. The bikes were OK but with some broken fittings on a number of bikes but not of the standard of the Rome electric bike tour. Our rating would have been higher but for the confusion and disorganisation at the meeting place. Shouting at clients because the company is disorganised is unacceptable. in summary, good but not great. Management needs to lift their game considerably.

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

popp.jens

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Busses seemed to be not well maintained. Audioguide was ok, but take Bus Nr. 60 of the local transport and you get nearly the same route... 24h Ticket of public transport is 6

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Mike D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

This was basically an expensive bus trip around the city. There was audio but it seemed to be 90 music the same song over and over again and 10 some information. We passed many interesting buildings and structures but no commentary was made on any of them. We were never given any indication on where we could hop off and what we would see if we did except at the two churches. When trying to check in electronically we had issues with no help from the person taking money for the tour. I had to go back to the hotel to make a printed copy. This was the first time Viator let us down with a tour.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Brian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Cecile, the guide, was knowledgable, friendly, flexible, professional and fun.

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

JimNash

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The tour went where we wanted to go, Disappointed in the narration of the tour. We used the two day pass which suited our schedule.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Kathleen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A perfect introduction to our stay in Marseille. Aix-en-Provence and Cassis are must-see locations as well as Les Calanges. Violette was an excellent tour guide and we very much enjoyed our time with her and all of the information she had to share with us!

Doing what: Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

Daniel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It's most suitable for those shortly visit Marseille. A must see ! The guide Anne Engel was great. Knowledgeable, nice, accurate and efficient ! We had a very good time.

Doing what: Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

Bidita D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour was great with Melanie and Emilie as our tour guides! We were just a group of three as this is not the busiest time of year. Melanie and Emilie explained everything thoroughly as we traveled through Aix-en-Provence, Cassis, and the heart of Marseille. Melanie and Emilie took us to the highest sea cliff in Cassis, which provided breathtaking views! We also took a small boat to see the three calanques of Cassis. In Marseille, we visited the Notre-Dame de la Garde, which also provided for spectacular views over Marseille. Melanie and Emilie made the experience so easy and comfortable. I would definitely recommend this tour as it is a comprehensive way to visit this area if you are visiting!

Doing what: Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

Alan H

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Hop On Hop Off tour: 9 of 10 experience. Good circuit in general. Audio was a bit difficult to follow due to ambient traffic noise. Driver: attentive and competent. Over all a good experience. Recommend it? Yes, with reservations. Best part: good overview in a reasonable time. Thanks!

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

Robert K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very nice island. Would like to go back there and roam around for a few weeks. Bus tour was excellent in that it covered a lot of area and exposed us to the many of the areas worth visiting in detail someday.

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Stefan R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The tour was both interesting and Informstive.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jeffrey M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great way to see the city highly recommended

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

Brooke M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The personal touch provided on this tour was amazing. Was such an intimate way to explore a new city. Both guide and electric bikes were faultless.

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

Marilyn O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a very good tour and my friend and I got to see all of the enchanting town. Some of the streets are very steep so it was very convenient to take the bus.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Tyler H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

My girlfriend and I had a great time on the tour. I would definitely recommend it to anyone interested in seeing Marseille.

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message