Made famous by Alexandre Dumas' classic 1840s' novel Le Comte de Monte Cristo (The Count of Monte Cristo), the 16th-century fortress-turned-prison Château d'If sits on a 12 sq mile (30 sq km) island, 2 miles (3.5km) west of the Vieux Port. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 60 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

HOHO bus in Marseille was great. The only problem was the tourists some of them would have been from our ship who, although getting on the waiting line at the end, as soon as the bus came they pushed the people, who had waited quite a long time, out of the way to get in first. Not very nice. I believe a lot of the tourists we came across need a lesson in manners.

Doing what: Best Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Good experience!

Doing what: Best Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

We bought a 24 hour pass but on the day to validate our pass, it was a national holiday, Bastille Day and everything was either closed or closed early. As a result, we didn't use any of the transportation. Everything was within walking distance of what we wanted to see. If you are planning on spending more time there, then the pass allows free access to many museums so it might be worth it, according to your itinerary.

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

Buses run only every 30 mins. Waited 30 mins at stop, then 25 mins once bus arrived for him to fill the bus.
Poorly marked stops. Driver did not stop at a stop on the map at which we wanted to get off, had to walk 1/2 mile back to that location. Not a good experience. Would not recommend or use this bus again.

Doing what: Best Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

This was the worst hop on hop off experience we've ever had! The first bus was to be available at 10am. However, the bus didn't arrive at stop 1 until 10:45 and then the driver got out of the bus, locked it, and went away for 15 minutes.
There was a very long wait between buses along the route.

Doing what: Best Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

really great way to see the place

Doing what: Best Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great way to see the city and il worth the money

Doing what: Best Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Lousy. Hard to find point to get started on bus. Midway thru tour the bus broke down. An empty replacement bus WAS was not sent, only a almost full regular bus that was crowded. Gene

Doing what: Best Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We never used the passes. We found that walking and the Metro was much more fun.

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Had to go to local visitor center to locate bus stop locations. was told no service on 6/7 due to a race. No notice received from your company. Was too late for me to make other arrangements. Not a way to run a company

Doing what: Best Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

We used this tour for 2 days to help us get to know a little about marseille.it was excellent,marseille is very hilly, dominated by a wonderful church called Notre Dame de la Garde.The bus dropped us at the church and we had our visit and continued on another bus.We usually do the hop on hop off bus on arrival at a new destination as it gives you an overall view of what can be seen and then you can choose your favourite places to get off for a more in depth visit.I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Best Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

In a city as busy as Marseilles this tour is a must..being able to choose your hop off location means opportunities for museums, The Vieux Port and the very scenic locations for photo opportunities.
Our stop included Fort St Jean and nearby Museum.
This is definitely the only way to appreciate the scale of such a large city.

Doing what: Best Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

The buses do not run to the times on the given timetable. Some drivers just drive around, not stopping at bus stops waiting to see if passengers turn up at the scheduled time. We had to walk back to the harbour to get a cab back to our cruise ship as the bus had gone before the given time. Another couple on our cruise had to get a cab back to the ship from the farthest point because of the same thing - the bus was more than 5 minutes early leaving!

Doing what: Best Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour and appreciated being taken to the Cathedral at the top of the hill as well as the church in the city. We were the only people on the tour but were impressed with the skill of the driver and his command of English. We would most certainly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Best Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very efficient and worth the money

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Definately get the city pass. Worth every cent. Buses and metro are on time and take you all over the city. Certain buses get more crowded than others, but best way around. Also, visit the museums. I did not have time to hit them all, but the museum at Palais de Longchamp had some wonderful sculptures and paintings.
My trip time was limited but a good week here should allow plenty of time to see the sights in a leisurely mannar.

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We were able to get on the tour bus at the prescribed place at the Old Port and take the bus around all of the stops to where we wanted to get off. Re-boarding was easy and we rode back to the Old Port where we enjoyed a leasurely lunch before heading back to the ship.

Doing what: Best Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A must to have if you want to discover all the places in Marseille. Totally worth it!!

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Driver was very accommodating.

Doing what: Best Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

I was traveling with my elderly mother and my daughter on Oceania. My mother was using a portable walker. We entered the bus and found the driver's attitude more annoyance at having to deal with my mother's slight handicap. Once seated the ride was fine. We returned to a spot that was on our first run and disembarked. When we began towards the pickup spot we found the map was confusing as far as the specific areas to pick up as not all had signage. After we stopped at what we thought was the pickup area on the map, the bus didn't stop and he just shock his head. It was 90 degrees and my mother was about to collapse. We managed to attempt at the next pick-up spot indicated and where the driver had stopped, but again he just shock his head and went on by. We were able to find a taxi to return to our ship, but my mother was on the verge of needing medical attention. You pick-ups are too infrequent and the map is inaccurate, not to mention your lack of concern for the elderly and handicapped. We had absolutely no problems doing this in 3 other stops so my mother's mobility was not the problem.

Doing what: Best Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour!

Doing what: Best Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

This was our first port, so we didn't know what to expect. After our cab ride to the city center, we was able to find the tour bus fairly easy it was a good tour...just wish it was a little longer. It seemed to end very quickly. Once it finished we explored the city on foot. It's worth doing!

Doing what: Best Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great deal! It gives you access to everything you want to do and see, lots of parks, museums and cool activities! And the all the public transportation which was a HUGE lifesaver! Marseille is a big town!

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message