• USD ($)
  • English
Made famous by Alexandre Dumas' classic 1840s' novel Le Comte de Monte Cristo (The Count of Monte Cristo), the 16th-century fortress-turned-prison Château d'If sits on a 12 sq mile (30 sq km) island, 2 miles (3.5km) west of the Vieux Port. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 37 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We only had a few hours to see Marseille so this was perfect!

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A highlight of our trip to France was visiting the city of Marseille. The Count of Monte Cristo is both my daughter's and my favorite book. We were able to take the ferry over to the Chateau d'If and tour the prison. Talk about bringing the novel to life! The on/off city tour was interesting and the sights were beautiful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Very easy to use and very friendly and helpful staff at the Tourist Info office. Thank you!

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

There wasn't enough time to make good use of the opportunities presented by the pass. Most of our time was spent having a wonderful lunch at the Old Port, and buying various soaps, for which Marseille is famous. We wanted to see the Roman docks museum, but did not succeed in finding it! A two -or-three day pass for an extended stay in Marseille would be used more.

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

Really a zero rating for this trip. We bought our tickets online and were unable to find any hop on hop off buses. We spent about an hour wandering around the city waterfront area and failed to see any sign of the buses. Perhaps it was our fault that we did not know where they left from, but there was little evidence of how we could find them. Like our Monaco experience, a waste of 50 euros.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

The actual tour around Marseille was fine, however the bus was filthy, with a mop and bucket being displayed on the ground floor and paper everywhere; there was no guide only the driver and the audio was not working on the bus. The driver just seemed to want to see how quickly he could get round the tour,

I have done many Red Bus Tours in several countries and did one in Barcelona in the same week and those bus tours are very professional however this was my first and last experience with this company, I would suggest try other means to see the sights of Marseille and stay clear from using this company.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

Didn't get on as bus was full at one stop and blew by us empty at another stop we went to to try and get on. We were frustrated and never did use it.
Shelley

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Everything was fine

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

it kept us organized and the best thing is we had access to all the transportation during our stay. the if island and frioul island are.amazing. it will.save a lot of.time and money.

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

Probably not good value when cruise ship shuttle from distant cruise ship terminal ran only 8.30-3.45. By the time we had located and visited tourist office near Vieux Port there were chaotic and lengthy queues for the 10.30 boat to Chateau D'If, the voucher had to be exchanged after one long queue for a boat ticket, then we just squeezed on the 11.05 boat. There was then no time to go ashore at the chateau and guarantee an early enough return boat to allow time to do anything else! So just did the 1 hour round trip without getting off the boat, then similarly did the little train trip up to the cathedral, again without getting off. This just allowed time for lunch by the Vieux port. Would have been cheaper just to buy the boat and little train tickets at normal rates. This ticket I would only recommend to those staying at least 9-5 pm in Marseille city itself.

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

This was bad. There are only two buses that run and the day we visited Marseille there was only one bus running. We did not get off the bus because we would have had to wait for the bus to run its entire route before we could get on again and the wait was at least 45 minutes. We were not impressed at all.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Marseille , wonderful city and have a good time.

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The pass was good to have. We were only there for one day/night so we didn't use it for the public transportation. The water was too choppy so they weren't doing the tours to the If Castle either, but we did use our pass to see the Notre Dame de la Garde which was neat.

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Our tour of the city was great. It just wasn't long enough. The bus was comfortable and everyone was helpful. It is a beautiful city, especially around the port.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Too crowded! We took the first bus at 10:20 AM at the second stop. The ride was very slow going through the town and up to the cathedral overlooking Marseille.

Although the route traveled through parts of the city that we would not have spent the time to walk around. Good as an overview for a quick look at the city. Need more buses running when cruise ships arrive in town.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message