Made famous by Alexandre Dumas' classic 1840s' novel Le Comte de Monte Cristo (The Count of Monte Cristo), the 16th-century fortress-turned-prison Château d'If sits on a 12 sq mile (30 sq km) island, 2 miles (3.5km) west of the Vieux Port. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 86 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

brendaannolele United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. We especially will treasure our tour of the Marseille Notre Dame and seeing the prison island where the Count of Monte Cristo was filmed. This route let us see all the highlights of Marseille, perfect for a limited time shore excursion.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Stanton M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

City Pass is the Best Way to See the Area

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

alivan25560

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Informative and pleasing trip

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

michael k

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Tour bus of marselle was very nice and beautiful.
I saw what I wanted to see the old port, norte damm cathedral, seaside.
Very happy!

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

JORGE C

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The bus rides were ok except a few MAJOR points. 1st, it seems yhe French refuse to speak any english so getting any good information for any stops is next to impossible. 2nd the maps do not clearly show where the stops are and again, trying to soeak with one of the operators is very difficult. More

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

lorettachin

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

It was the worst of the 5 Hop On/Off buses.Upon leaving the ship,there were no clear directions on how to get to the bus.After walking for 2 plus miles,we finally located it.We had local patrons call and there was no answer.Upon arrival at the bus stop,the lines was about 1 mile long and we found out that there were a total of 2 buses.Also,it was really disorganized in that they collected and made change to customers on the bus,which took up alot of time.Had we not purchases this in advanced,we wouild not have waited in line to go on this.It was not worth the money and as a result,I would never go back to Marseille.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

tdadams2

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Could not get on the bus as she wanted a paper voucher. The tour information stated paper or electronic. All I had was electronic

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Kathleen C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

If I could have put zero stars I would have. The bus is nowhere near the port we had to take a taxi for 20 euro to get to a stop. The bus stops are not well marked and very difficult to find. heading back to the port the driver dropped us off at the closest stop and we walked for 1 1/2 hours no fun

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Camille R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We loved Marseille. More laid back, but still lots to see and do.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jonathan P

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Potentially very good value with a plethora of activities and transport options included. However, more information should have been provided outlining how utterly useless such a pass would be for May Day one of the days we had it for as literally everything transport too was closed.

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

chapter.4

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This tour gave a good overall taste of things to do in Marseille.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Mike D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

This was basically an expensive bus trip around the city. There was audio but it seemed to be 90 music the same song over and over again and 10 some information. We passed many interesting buildings and structures but no commentary was made on any of them. We were never given any indication on where we could hop off and what we would see if we did except at the two churches. When trying to check in electronically we had issues with no help from the person taking money for the tour. I had to go back to the hotel to make a printed copy. This was the first time Viator let us down with a tour.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

JimNash

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The tour went where we wanted to go, Disappointed in the narration of the tour. We used the two day pass which suited our schedule.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Michael D

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Guide rearranged her schedule to accommodate our change in plans. She was wonderful and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Private Tour: Marseille City Sightseeing and Chateau d'If

Alan H

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Hop On Hop Off tour: 9 of 10 experience. Good circuit in general. Audio was a bit difficult to follow due to ambient traffic noise. Driver: attentive and competent. Over all a good experience. Recommend it? Yes, with reservations. Best part: good overview in a reasonable time. Thanks!

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

Stefan R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The tour was both interesting and Informstive.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Marilyn O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a very good tour and my friend and I got to see all of the enchanting town. Some of the streets are very steep so it was very convenient to take the bus.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Elayne S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

This tour was very good. The guide knew the places of interest around Marseille like the back of his hand. We were not able to go out to Chateau d'if as the seas were too rough for the ferry and this was cancelled however, every attempt was made to make up for not being able to visit the Island. We found our guide to be very professional and knowledgeable. He wanted to make our tour experience as pleasant as possible. We wished he could have shown us more.

Doing what: Private Tour: Marseille City Sightseeing and Chateau d'If

Terence G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

I paid €18 per ticket to Viator and then found out that the ticket actually costs €10 if bought on the bus!

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Corinne C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

Very disappointing. Pre-booked and paid for one day Hop-on, Hop-off bus tour. Turned up for bus on Sunday morning to be told that service was not operating that day. Only a 1 1/2 hour tour available, take it or leave it attitude from the driver. Took this tour, very brief, did not see much of Marseille, no audio, and the map we had to ask for did not link with any of the route the driver took. Total waste of money, not worth pre-booking, costs a lot more and no guarantee of the tour purchased.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Therese L Canada

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

This service on our first day was good, we got on later in afternon, to do the circuit and to decide what we wanted to see the next day. 2 day pass. The next day proved to be horrible service. First the bus was at least 45 minutes 1st bus of the day late in departing. Most of the packed bus went to the Cathedral high up on the hill to visit. Once we were done, some of us waiting 1hour and 15 minutes, a tour operator finally arrived to say that the bus had broken down. We then had to wait for a city bus to return us to the harbour. This really put a damper on our days plans and would not recommend this company to anyone.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Allen V

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

A compact tour of a city with not a great number of highlights but still heightens the senses

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Susan H

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

I was able to see a lot of Marseille but there were times that seemed rushed and others too long. The tour ended abruptly when, due to traffic, the guide dropped me off at the port instead of parking and taking me to the boat for the ride to Chateau d'If. As a result, I went to the wrong area and missed the boat ride. Very disappointing.

Doing what: Private Tour: Marseille City Sightseeing and Chateau d'If

Dan M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

Signage and instructions, whenwe exited the bus from the boat were non-existent. Had we known, we could have walked across the street perhaps 50 yards. As a result, we walked 500 or so yards and then had to take a taxi cost 7 to another place where the bus stopped. 500 yards of walking may not seem like a lot, but when you are handicapped, it is

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message