Made famous by Alexandre Dumas' classic 1840s' novel Le Comte de Monte Cristo (The Count of Monte Cristo), the 16th-century fortress-turned-prison Château d'If sits on a 12 sq mile (30 sq km) island, 2 miles (3.5km) west of the Vieux Port. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 44 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour!

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour!

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

This was our first port, so we didn't know what to expect. After our cab ride to the city center, we was able to find the tour bus fairly easy it was a good tour...just wish it was a little longer. It seemed to end very quickly. Once it finished we explored the city on foot. It's worth doing!

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

This was our first port, so we didn't know what to expect. After our cab ride to the city center, we was able to find the tour bus fairly easy it was a good tour...just wish it was a little longer. It seemed to end very quickly. Once it finished we explored the city on foot. It's worth doing!

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great deal! It gives you access to everything you want to do and see, lots of parks, museums and cool activities! And the all the public transportation which was a HUGE lifesaver! Marseille is a big town!

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

same as Florence

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We only had a few hours to see Marseille so this was perfect!

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A highlight of our trip to France was visiting the city of Marseille. The Count of Monte Cristo is both my daughter's and my favorite book. We were able to take the ferry over to the Chateau d'If and tour the prison. Talk about bringing the novel to life! The on/off city tour was interesting and the sights were beautiful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Very easy to use and very friendly and helpful staff at the Tourist Info office. Thank you!

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

There wasn't enough time to make good use of the opportunities presented by the pass. Most of our time was spent having a wonderful lunch at the Old Port, and buying various soaps, for which Marseille is famous. We wanted to see the Roman docks museum, but did not succeed in finding it! A two -or-three day pass for an extended stay in Marseille would be used more.

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

Really a zero rating for this trip. We bought our tickets online and were unable to find any hop on hop off buses. We spent about an hour wandering around the city waterfront area and failed to see any sign of the buses. Perhaps it was our fault that we did not know where they left from, but there was little evidence of how we could find them. Like our Monaco experience, a waste of 50 euros.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

The actual tour around Marseille was fine, however the bus was filthy, with a mop and bucket being displayed on the ground floor and paper everywhere; there was no guide only the driver and the audio was not working on the bus. The driver just seemed to want to see how quickly he could get round the tour,

I have done many Red Bus Tours in several countries and did one in Barcelona in the same week and those bus tours are very professional however this was my first and last experience with this company, I would suggest try other means to see the sights of Marseille and stay clear from using this company.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

Didn't get on as bus was full at one stop and blew by us empty at another stop we went to to try and get on. We were frustrated and never did use it.
Shelley

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Everything was fine

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message