Made famous by Alexandre Dumas' classic 1840s' novel Le Comte de Monte Cristo (The Count of Monte Cristo), the 16th-century fortress-turned-prison Château d'If sits on a 12 sq mile (30 sq km) island, 2 miles (3.5km) west of the Vieux Port. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 71 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Stefan R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The tour was both interesting and Informstive.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Marilyn O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a very good tour and my friend and I got to see all of the enchanting town. Some of the streets are very steep so it was very convenient to take the bus.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Elayne S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

This tour was very good. The guide knew the places of interest around Marseille like the back of his hand. We were not able to go out to Chateau d'if as the seas were too rough for the ferry and this was cancelled however, every attempt was made to make up for not being able to visit the Island. We found our guide to be very professional and knowledgeable. He wanted to make our tour experience as pleasant as possible. We wished he could have shown us more.

Doing what: Private Tour: Marseille City Sightseeing and Chateau d'If

Terence G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

I paid €18 per ticket to Viator and then found out that the ticket actually costs €10 if bought on the bus!

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Corinne C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

Very disappointing. Pre-booked and paid for one day Hop-on, Hop-off bus tour. Turned up for bus on Sunday morning to be told that service was not operating that day. Only a 1 1/2 hour tour available, take it or leave it attitude from the driver. Took this tour, very brief, did not see much of Marseille, no audio, and the map we had to ask for did not link with any of the route the driver took. Total waste of money, not worth pre-booking, costs a lot more and no guarantee of the tour purchased.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Therese L Canada

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

This service on our first day was good, we got on later in afternon, to do the circuit and to decide what we wanted to see the next day. 2 day pass. The next day proved to be horrible service. First the bus was at least 45 minutes 1st bus of the day late in departing. Most of the packed bus went to the Cathedral high up on the hill to visit. Once we were done, some of us waiting 1hour and 15 minutes, a tour operator finally arrived to say that the bus had broken down. We then had to wait for a city bus to return us to the harbour. This really put a damper on our days plans and would not recommend this company to anyone.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Allen V

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

A compact tour of a city with not a great number of highlights but still heightens the senses

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Susan H

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

I was able to see a lot of Marseille but there were times that seemed rushed and others too long. The tour ended abruptly when, due to traffic, the guide dropped me off at the port instead of parking and taking me to the boat for the ride to Chateau d'If. As a result, I went to the wrong area and missed the boat ride. Very disappointing.

Doing what: Private Tour: Marseille City Sightseeing and Chateau d'If

Dan M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

Signage and instructions, whenwe exited the bus from the boat were non-existent. Had we known, we could have walked across the street perhaps 50 yards. As a result, we walked 500 or so yards and then had to take a taxi cost 7 to another place where the bus stopped. 500 yards of walking may not seem like a lot, but when you are handicapped, it is

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Ani S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

The bus was over an hour late.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Kenneth L W Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

HOHO bus in Marseille was great. The only problem was the tourists some of them would have been from our ship who, although getting on the waiting line at the end, as soon as the bus came they pushed the people, who had waited quite a long time, out of the way to get in first. Not very nice. I believe a lot of the tourists we came across need a lesson in manners.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Laura

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Good experience!

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Alwyn v

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Good value

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

artmama

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

We bought a 24 hour pass but on the day to validate our pass, it was a national holiday, Bastille Day and everything was either closed or closed early. As a result, we didn't use any of the transportation. Everything was within walking distance of what we wanted to see. If you are planning on spending more time there, then the pass allows free access to many museums so it might be worth it, according to your itinerary.

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

Phil D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

Buses run only every 30 mins. Waited 30 mins at stop, then 25 mins once bus arrived for him to fill the bus.
Poorly marked stops. Driver did not stop at a stop on the map at which we wanted to get off, had to walk 1/2 mile back to that location. Not a good experience. Would not recommend or use this bus again.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

lroth407

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

This was the worst hop on hop off experience we've ever had! The first bus was to be available at 10am. However, the bus didn't arrive at stop 1 until 10:45 and then the driver got out of the bus, locked it, and went away for 15 minutes.
There was a very long wait between buses along the route.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

alandodds

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

really great way to see the place

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

ferra424

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great way to see the city and il worth the money

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

edward m

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Lousy. Hard to find point to get started on bus. Midway thru tour the bus broke down. An empty replacement bus WAS was not sent, only a almost full regular bus that was crowded. Gene

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

John S

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We never used the passes. We found that walking and the Metro was much more fun.

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

Monte D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Had to go to local visitor center to locate bus stop locations. was told no service on 6/7 due to a race. No notice received from your company. Was too late for me to make other arrangements. Not a way to run a company

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

agneta m

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

We used this tour for 2 days to help us get to know a little about marseille.it was excellent,marseille is very hilly, dominated by a wonderful church called Notre Dame de la Garde.The bus dropped us at the church and we had our visit and continued on another bus.We usually do the hop on hop off bus on arrival at a new destination as it gives you an overall view of what can be seen and then you can choose your favourite places to get off for a more in depth visit.I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Judith R G

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

In a city as busy as Marseilles this tour is a must..being able to choose your hop off location means opportunities for museums, The Vieux Port and the very scenic locations for photo opportunities.
Our stop included Fort St Jean and nearby Museum.
This is definitely the only way to appreciate the scale of such a large city.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Brian M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

The buses do not run to the times on the given timetable. Some drivers just drive around, not stopping at bus stops waiting to see if passengers turn up at the scheduled time. We had to walk back to the harbour to get a cab back to our cruise ship as the bus had gone before the given time. Another couple on our cruise had to get a cab back to the ship from the farthest point because of the same thing - the bus was more than 5 minutes early leaving!

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message