Marseille is the second-largest city in France, and the capital of Provence. It's also just a four-hour train ride (and an even quicker flight) from Paris, which makes it a solid choice for a few days away from the City of Light. Here is our ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour from Marseille. The guides were very knowledgeable and the scenery was magnificent. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone traveling to Marseille.

Doing what: Electric Bike Tour of the Calanques from Marseille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We only had a few hours to see Marseille so this was perfect!

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Loved marseille. This tour takes you around the old port and to the beautiful notre dame de la garde. Wonderful.

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This is best way to see the most important place at Marseille. We take the tour twice ina day and was really helpful.

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

The best way to know any city is by a sight seeing bus tour. They will show you the best spots on the town and after that it is up to you to go on your own.
Marseille is one of the cities that is worth sight seeing on foot.

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Not many attractions in Marseilles, but this bus is still a good deal if you only have 1 day. Can get great views of city on top deck, especially going up hills toward top of city. Beautiful panoramic pics.

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Not much to do in Marseille, so the hop on hop off tour was perfect and economical. We never got off the bus (though you can to check out different points). Total tour takes about 1 1/2 hours. We decidied not to get off because the bus only comes around once per hour and we didn't see anything that we wanted to committ and hour to (the cathedral at the top of town was tempting). In addition, our cruise stop was like 1/2 day so we were a little concerned about being left at a stop (or the bus fills up and they skip you). Warning: we were unaware that you have to take a shuttle bus into town to catch the bus. The cruise provides the shuttle, but it costs you $12 each. A little surprise for our family of four.

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

We had a very short time to spend in Marseille, so we pretty much stayed on the bus. We enjoyed the tour and would recommend it to any first time visitor.

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

We really enjoyed our hop on hop off bus booked with yourselves via internet. Only it would have helped if we were given more specific instructions on how to find your stop. We speak English and the people in Marseilles speak French and it was difficult to find your stop at the old Port.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Emanuel was a great tour guide. He had a lot of enthusiasm for the city and was very knowledgeable. He took us to some interesting calanques withing the city limits and we feasted on delicious food at a local, but free from tourists, restaurant. Despite this, I was disappointed with the tour, we visited the calanques within Marseille, but ended at the beginning of the national park where the famous and most beautiful calanques begin. I wish I had known this before the tour, as I may have spent my money elsewhere.

Doing what: Electric Bike Tour of the Calanques from Marseille

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Yes very good as we only had a short time in Marseille it was a good way to see around the city

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

This tour is very scenic as Marseille is a beautiful City to see and has a lot to offer and do. Definitely a tourists destination. If you come by cruise you will have to pay to get to town to catch this tour -about $10-12 per person via coach or 20-euros via cab. Some of the stops for the tour are not close so if you are not familiar with the area its no fun trying to do so in the heat. The bus that we rode had a technical glitch so there was no audio to tell us what we were seeing during the tour so this was a disappointment. Considering the heat it felt at times that the a/c on board downstairs did not work. Also the tour bus was not too clean but manageable. The company should have got the audio system fix or replace the bus with one whose audio system worked. Folks coming in for a first time really need to have an audible aid advises what is going on during the tour.

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Too crowded! We took the first bus at 10:20 AM at the second stop. The ride was very slow going through the town and up to the cathedral overlooking Marseille.

Although the route traveled through parts of the city that we would not have spent the time to walk around. Good as an overview for a quick look at the city. Need more buses running when cruise ships arrive in town.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Our Marseille shore excursion was canceled due to bad weather. Instead, the ship stopped in another port called Toulon. It's a beautiful port!

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Hop on Hop Off bus was Ok but the city of Marseille was dirty and not particularly interesting. More of a working city and the least liked of our trip.

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message