Marseille is the second-largest city in France, and the capital of Provence. It's also just a four-hour train ride (and an even quicker flight) from Paris, which makes it a solid choice for a few days away from the City of Light. Here is our ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 32 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Camille R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We loved Marseille. More laid back, but still lots to see and do.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

CMagee United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was a wonderful way to complete our vacation in Provence. We cycled the bike does 95 of the work to historic and scenic locations in Marseille, then headed along the coast to a National Park called 'End of the World' by the locals. At our first coffee break I love French coffee we bought sandwiches which we had for lunch at a small village harbor. On the way back we climbed to a famous cathedral for panoramic views of the city. Our guide was friendly, informative, and fun to cycle with. Very good English. Overall, a relaxing, healthy, fun six hours of exploring the Marseille coast.

Doing what: Electric Bike Tour to the Calanques from Marseille

Tyler H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

My girlfriend and I had a great time on the tour. I would definitely recommend it to anyone interested in seeing Marseille.

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Manu was great. You can tell he loves his city. He knows the legends, the local stories, and all the details. He even gave us dinner recommendations.

The tour took us all around town, let us experience the city, showed us the coast and park, and enjoy the great Marseille weather. We were thoroughly pleased. We stopped for lunch at a great restaurant he gave us the choice between a nice restaurant and sandwiches and we all agreed a great restaurant was the way to go.

Doing what: Electric Bike Tour to the Calanques from Marseille

Deborah Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Riding a bike in Marseille with our tour guide Mia was the best way to experience Marseille. We were on a cruise and bit tired of the big city experience. Mia took us to a small fishing village, and many places that locals frequent. She was so encouraging and helpful. This was one of the highlights of our trip to Europe.

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

Steffea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great way to see the city of Marseille. We loved this tour. Great tour guide too!!

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

Laureen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

fantastic tour the scenery was amazing and our tour guide Toby was full of knowledge and made the trip special. Definitely a must if you want to what Marseille has to offer.

Doing what: Electric Bike Tour to the Calanques from Marseille

Kenneth L W Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

HOHO bus in Marseille was great. The only problem was the tourists some of them would have been from our ship who, although getting on the waiting line at the end, as soon as the bus came they pushed the people, who had waited quite a long time, out of the way to get in first. Not very nice. I believe a lot of the tourists we came across need a lesson in manners.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Adam A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Its the perfect way to see Marseille!

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

Melissa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Nice way to explore marseille. We had a lovely tourguide that could tell us lots about the city.

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

Lucy A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great! I was only in Marseille for 1 day and it absolutely maximised the things I was able to see. The electric bikes made it easy to go up the big heel. The guide was great. I would highly recommend it

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

Elizabeth D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Electric Bike Tour from Marseille to the Calanques was our favorite day of a wonderful trip! My daughter and I were with a group of 5 other guests and the wonderful tour guide, Lionel. Lionel and Emmanuel the owner of the company taught us everything we needed to know about the bikes and Lionel kept a good pace that everyone was able to manage. The stops he chose and the info that he gave us on each stop were great...good info in English and French. We had time to explore the areas where we stopped and had a delicious lunch with the group at the restaurant. Great fun!

Doing what: Electric Bike Tour to the Calanques from Marseille

Neil F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We did the bike tour during our day in port from our cruise ship. The directions of how to get to the meeting point by taxi were perfect. Sylvain was there waiting for us. It ended up being just the 2 of us and we covered Marseille. The electric bikes were new to us but they were easy to use. Sylvain was gracious and knowledgeable. An amazing overview of a very interesting city. We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

Gerald Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a wonderful four hours or so of biking through majestic Marseille. Emmanuel was an ideal guide, cordial, very attentive and knowledgeable about his home city. I have bicycled in Amsterdam, Berlin, even Paris, among others, but this was my first time to take a biking tour of a new city, and I loved every moment, every hill! I would recommend it highly, as an introduction to gorgeous Marseille, to anyone who likes biking and wants to experience the city alongside a proud Marseillais. Heureux cyclage!

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

Anita C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is a must for anyone who wishes to see the beautiful clanques in all their glory! You cover a lot of ground on this tour and go to places you would never get to see unless you have a car or like to hike.

The bikes made it a breeze to get around, even going up the steep hills to Notre Dame was doable.

Manu, our guide was fantastic and incredibly patient with us, constantly giving us tips along the way which helped us plan the rest of our trip.

It was just the 3 of us and a couple of us weren't very steady on the bikes and roads, but Manu made us feel very safe and gave us plenty of time to rest and soak up the stunning views along the way. He also took us to a wonderful cafe that sold amazing sandwiches which we ate at our beach stop.

We only wish we'd had more time to spend at Notre Dame, however this was partly our own fault for spending too long at each stop.

Highly recommend this tour with this company to anyone visiting Marseille!

Doing what: Electric Bike Tour to the Calanques from Marseille

Marshall B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour from Marseille. The guides were very knowledgeable and the scenery was magnificent. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone traveling to Marseille.

Doing what: Electric Bike Tour to the Calanques from Marseille

Sherry D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We only had a few hours to see Marseille so this was perfect!

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Elayne S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

This tour was very good. The guide knew the places of interest around Marseille like the back of his hand. We were not able to go out to Chateau d'if as the seas were too rough for the ferry and this was cancelled however, every attempt was made to make up for not being able to visit the Island. We found our guide to be very professional and knowledgeable. He wanted to make our tour experience as pleasant as possible. We wished he could have shown us more.

Doing what: Private Tour: Marseille City Sightseeing and Chateau d'If

Gordon H

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Our family of four (me, my wife, and two daughters aged 16 and 18), enjoyed the eBike tour of Marseille. Our guide, Ludovic, gave us just the right amount of information. He also taught us to play Pétanque and took us to a bakery for orange navette biscuits. Very good! Some busy streets but not bad!

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

agneta m

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

We used this tour for 2 days to help us get to know a little about marseille.it was excellent,marseille is very hilly, dominated by a wonderful church called Notre Dame de la Garde.The bus dropped us at the church and we had our visit and continued on another bus.We usually do the hop on hop off bus on arrival at a new destination as it gives you an overall view of what can be seen and then you can choose your favourite places to get off for a more in depth visit.I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Judith R G

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

In a city as busy as Marseilles this tour is a must..being able to choose your hop off location means opportunities for museums, The Vieux Port and the very scenic locations for photo opportunities.
Our stop included Fort St Jean and nearby Museum.
This is definitely the only way to appreciate the scale of such a large city.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Chalin C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

It was a great experience!! There were only the three of us and felt like we were given a private tour. Biking on the busy streets of Marseille was a bit scary but fun nonetheless. The guide was knowledgable and fun.

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

SULEMAN H

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

We really enjoyed our hop on hop off bus booked with yourselves via internet. Only it would have helped if we were given more specific instructions on how to find your stop. We speak English and the people in Marseilles speak French and it was difficult to find your stop at the old Port.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

David G

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

I had hoped that this tour would take in some of the less traveled tourist spots unfortunately we just hit all the normal places. Keep in mind you need to be quite fit for this excursion as the last stop is at the top of a long vertical climb.
Unfortunately none of the tour is on bike paths or even footpaths. It is all in busy Marseilles traffic complete with occasional road rage Leaving one little time to absorb the scenery.
If you just want to see the standard tourist spots I'd suggest taking the tourist train in town - it will hit all the same spots and at least you can look around and take in the sights.

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

chapter.4

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This tour gave a good overall taste of things to do in Marseille.

Doing what: Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message