Marseille is the second-largest city in France, and the capital of Provence. It's also just a four-hour train ride (and an even quicker flight) from Paris, which makes it a solid choice for a few days away from the City of Light. Here is our ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 20 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

HOHO bus in Marseille was great. The only problem was the tourists some of them would have been from our ship who, although getting on the waiting line at the end, as soon as the bus came they pushed the people, who had waited quite a long time, out of the way to get in first. Not very nice. I believe a lot of the tourists we came across need a lesson in manners.

Doing what: Best Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Its the perfect way to see Marseille!

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Nice way to explore marseille. We had a lovely tourguide that could tell us lots about the city.

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great! I was only in Marseille for 1 day and it absolutely maximised the things I was able to see. The electric bikes made it easy to go up the big heel. The guide was great. I would highly recommend it

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Electric Bike Tour from Marseille to the Calanques was our favorite day of a wonderful trip! My daughter and I were with a group of 5 other guests and the wonderful tour guide, Lionel. Lionel and Emmanuel the owner of the company taught us everything we needed to know about the bikes and Lionel kept a good pace that everyone was able to manage. The stops he chose and the info that he gave us on each stop were great...good info in English and French. We had time to explore the areas where we stopped and had a delicious lunch with the group at the restaurant. Great fun!

Doing what: Best Electric Bike Tour to the Calanques from Marseille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We did the bike tour during our day in port from our cruise ship. The directions of how to get to the meeting point by taxi were perfect. Sylvain was there waiting for us. It ended up being just the 2 of us and we covered Marseille. The electric bikes were new to us but they were easy to use. Sylvain was gracious and knowledgeable. An amazing overview of a very interesting city. We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a wonderful four hours or so of biking through majestic Marseille. Emmanuel was an ideal guide, cordial, very attentive and knowledgeable about his home city. I have bicycled in Amsterdam, Berlin, even Paris, among others, but this was my first time to take a biking tour of a new city, and I loved every moment, every hill! I would recommend it highly, as an introduction to gorgeous Marseille, to anyone who likes biking and wants to experience the city alongside a proud Marseillais. Heureux cyclage!

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is a must for anyone who wishes to see the beautiful clanques in all their glory! You cover a lot of ground on this tour and go to places you would never get to see unless you have a car or like to hike.

The bikes made it a breeze to get around, even going up the steep hills to Notre Dame was doable.

Manu, our guide was fantastic and incredibly patient with us, constantly giving us tips along the way which helped us plan the rest of our trip.

It was just the 3 of us and a couple of us weren't very steady on the bikes and roads, but Manu made us feel very safe and gave us plenty of time to rest and soak up the stunning views along the way. He also took us to a wonderful cafe that sold amazing sandwiches which we ate at our beach stop.

We only wish we'd had more time to spend at Notre Dame, however this was partly our own fault for spending too long at each stop.

Highly recommend this tour with this company to anyone visiting Marseille!

Doing what: Best Electric Bike Tour to the Calanques from Marseille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour from Marseille. The guides were very knowledgeable and the scenery was magnificent. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone traveling to Marseille.

Doing what: Best Electric Bike Tour to the Calanques from Marseille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We only had a few hours to see Marseille so this was perfect!

Doing what: Best Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Our family of four (me, my wife, and two daughters aged 16 and 18), enjoyed the eBike tour of Marseille. Our guide, Ludovic, gave us just the right amount of information. He also taught us to play Pétanque and took us to a bakery for orange navette biscuits. Very good! Some busy streets but not bad!

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

We used this tour for 2 days to help us get to know a little about marseille.it was excellent,marseille is very hilly, dominated by a wonderful church called Notre Dame de la Garde.The bus dropped us at the church and we had our visit and continued on another bus.We usually do the hop on hop off bus on arrival at a new destination as it gives you an overall view of what can be seen and then you can choose your favourite places to get off for a more in depth visit.I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Best Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

In a city as busy as Marseilles this tour is a must..being able to choose your hop off location means opportunities for museums, The Vieux Port and the very scenic locations for photo opportunities.
Our stop included Fort St Jean and nearby Museum.
This is definitely the only way to appreciate the scale of such a large city.

Doing what: Best Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

It was a great experience!! There were only the three of us and felt like we were given a private tour. Biking on the busy streets of Marseille was a bit scary but fun nonetheless. The guide was knowledgable and fun.

Doing what: Marseille Electric Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

We really enjoyed our hop on hop off bus booked with yourselves via internet. Only it would have helped if we were given more specific instructions on how to find your stop. We speak English and the people in Marseilles speak French and it was difficult to find your stop at the old Port.

Doing what: Best Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Emanuel was a great tour guide. He had a lot of enthusiasm for the city and was very knowledgeable. He took us to some interesting calanques withing the city limits and we feasted on delicious food at a local, but free from tourists, restaurant. Despite this, I was disappointed with the tour, we visited the calanques within Marseille, but ended at the beginning of the national park where the famous and most beautiful calanques begin. I wish I had known this before the tour, as I may have spent my money elsewhere.

Doing what: Best Electric Bike Tour to the Calanques from Marseille

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Too crowded! We took the first bus at 10:20 AM at the second stop. The ride was very slow going through the town and up to the cathedral overlooking Marseille.

Although the route traveled through parts of the city that we would not have spent the time to walk around. Good as an overview for a quick look at the city. Need more buses running when cruise ships arrive in town.

Doing what: Best Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

The actual tour around Marseille was fine, however the bus was filthy, with a mop and bucket being displayed on the ground floor and paper everywhere; there was no guide only the driver and the audio was not working on the bus. The driver just seemed to want to see how quickly he could get round the tour,

I have done many Red Bus Tours in several countries and did one in Barcelona in the same week and those bus tours are very professional however this was my first and last experience with this company, I would suggest try other means to see the sights of Marseille and stay clear from using this company.

Doing what: Best Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

This was bad. There are only two buses that run and the day we visited Marseille there was only one bus running. We did not get off the bus because we would have had to wait for the bus to run its entire route before we could get on again and the wait was at least 45 minutes. We were not impressed at all.

Doing what: Best Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2012

Even though this was the best way to have a brief introduction to the city the frequency of these buses can be improved. It seems as this is the only company that operates in the city. We traveled in May where the buses were running every hours. Since we had a short day in Marseille and had to get back on the boat the bus schedule did not allow us time to get off at any given stop and to explore. We battled the lines to get on the first 10 am bus and remained on it for the duration of the loop. It would help to have the busses run more frequest.

Doing what: Best Marseille Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message