Maui ATTRACTIONS See all

Haleakala Crater

The lunar landscape of Haleakala Crater covers an enormous expanse – so big that Manhattan could squeeze inside. The world’s largest dormant volcano, the crater is protected by the Haleakala National Park. This is the place for stunning views ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 399 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mary D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Though the word 'awesome' has gotten overused over the years, this was a genuinely awesome tour to go on. I recommend dressing warm, for it can be 20 to 40 degrees on Haleakala early in the morning. The view form the summit is breathtaking, but it's watching the dramatic sunrise that is the climax of this tour.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Emily O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Sunrise Tour to Haleakala was excellent! Nettie was our guide and she did an excellent job. She was very informative and entertaining. Make sure you take a warm jacket on this tour as it is very chilly at the top! And go to bed early as you will be picked up at your hotel around 2 am. It is a very fun experience! I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

John T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour guide Rory was great. Very knowledgeable and new the road up to the top very well. We really enjoyed the trip.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Carol P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide, Sean, was great...lots of knowledge and always had an answer to our groups many questions. He got us up there before any other group which afforded us the best spot for viewing the sunrise. He was also well prepared with blankets for anyone who didn't realize how cold it could be. There are no words to adequately describe the sunrise...to say spectacular would be an understatement. After the sunrise, many left to head back down, but we stayed to see the magnificent views from the Summit. What a treat. Breakfast at the Kula Lodge was delicious and a walk through their beautiful garden was a great end to our tour

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

Aoife R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful tour on our honeymoon. Though we had a rental car, neither of us fancied driving winding roads in the middle of the night with other tourists and tour buses going the same direction.

Amazing sunrise but make sure you wrap up warm!! It and #39;s freezing!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Andre B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour guide was knowledgeable it was one of my favorite experience

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Linda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were the only 2 booked for this day. Les, our driver, made this very good. He took us up to the crater for great views. Then because we had alreadt done the Hana Coast trip, he took us around places we had not been to. We saw various homes of famous people and many of the major hotels. Les, was very informative about lots of places and things around our tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Luxury Day Trip to Haleakala National Park and Hana Coast Rainforest

Marylou A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Years ago I did the bicycle ride down Haleakala. So this trip I opted for the sunrise. Good choice. The pickup at the hotel was early-middle if the night early, The sunrise was spectacular. It had me singing it was so beautiful. Well worth the cost and the early rise. Highly recommend

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Jeff W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

So happy we had this experience. Definitely worth the 2am pickup. Our driver Rory was fabulous, so knowledgeable, friendly and funny!
Would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Maui.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Rosemary A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was the perfect tour for me. Our tour guide, Aaron was the best!! He took excellent care of us and made sure we had the best spot for viewing this expectacular event. He even provided us with blankets and gloves to keep us warm!!! I would recommend this tour to my friends and family.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

jennisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I thought the tour was amazing however I would and #39;ve loved better communication about the time of pick up since I was told to be in the hotel lobby at 1:50am and was not picked up until 2:50am.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Larry B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Sean was our tour guide and was on time for our early morning pickup and got us to the front of the line for a great view. The breakfast at the Kula Lodge was nice and their gardens are beautiful. Sean was friendly and informative throughout the trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

Cynthia G V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide, Michael, was excellent. Very informative on all aspects of trip. Was a pleasure to travel with him.

Doing what: Small-Group Maui Tour: Haleakala National Park, Lavender Farm and Wine Tasting

Richard H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Glen was our tour guide. He was very knowledgeable and interesting. He made the trip extremely enjoyable. He was prompt and very courteous. I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Maui as a must see. We had a blast. Spectacular.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Margaret R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Roy our tour guide, was on time, and extremely interesting. He told us all the insider history of the various places we were passing through. Lunch was excellent. Pick up was a little slow because 3 different tour companies were combining tours to save money so it was a full 19 people on our tour bus. Haleakala was interesting with the many switchbacks. There wasn't much of any view because it was pretty clouded in at the top. A for Roy the tour guide.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

sachin j

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Very cold so bring gloves. Worth getting up. Would cut out the breakfast. I wanted to go back to the resort to sleep more than stopping for breakfast.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Bruce R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Not worth the money. Would have rated lower except our tour guide, Al, was excellent. Never received our light snacks and lunch was poor.

Doing what: Small-Group Luxury Day Trip to Haleakala National Park and Hana Coast Rainforest

Tracy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Don't hesitate to book this tour, it was excellent. We brought our 18, 15 and 12 year-old kids and all of them thought this was well worth getting up at 2:30 am to see. That's a real endorsement! Rory was our guide and he made the drive up and back go by quickly and enjoyably with his upbeat personality and wealth of information about the islands. He's a history instructor at the university and delivers info in a very entertaining way. Kids and husband balked at warnings to bring warm clothing but they all regretted and apologized for doubting once we were up at the viewing spot at 5:30 am you're at the viewing spot for a good 90 minutes total and disposable hand warmers, hats, gloves, fleece, jackets are advisable - it was in the mid to upper 20s up there on March 19th and the wind that day was calm. Some showed up with just a light sweater and a light jacket or light resort blanket and they really were not able to enjoy the experience the way they could have. If you're going to pay good money to see this, dress for it and enjoy the magnificence of it all including more stars than you've ever seen in your life. This tour also gets you up at the viewing location early enough to get a great spot against the viewing rail which is what you want - again, if you're going to pay to see this, it's great to be on a tour that gets you prime viewing without a bunch of tourist heads in your photos. Enjoy it, you'll remember and marvel at the beauty of this sunrise for life.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Adam K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wow! What a beautiful site. We got lucky to have a top notch sunrise. Cold up top so dress warm. Our tour guide glen was knowledgeable about the island and its history and he made the early morning drive fun. You get some coffee and danishes to start off and a full breakfast at the end. Worth doing!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Karen O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Nettie was AWESOME!! You get up early3am and get back around 11am. This is a fabulous tour. You need to get up early to make it to the top before the crowds get there. If you drive yourself, it's made of switchbacks and such. A little scary at 4am. I'm glad I didn't drive. She gave us just enough information but also let us rest in the bus, fed us snacks and coffee and good pointers along the way, both up and down. She took many pictures for us and we have some marvelous mementos because of this! She also gave us pointers on the flora and fauna which is great for a nature nerd like me. Great breakfast at the end of the trip too. I highly recommend this trip if you can get Nettie.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Karen O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide/driver Nettie was AWESOME!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

rafael e

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My wife Debbie and I did the small group sunrise tour to Haleakala, and absolutely LOVED it! Our driver, Scott, was the absolute best! We were picked up on time, and the whole ride there he talked about the sights we were seeing obviously, he was very knowledgeable. He got us to the top nice and early enough to get a prime photo-taking spot. Good old Scott was prepared, too - it was cold up there, and he had blankets, hats and coats, in case. He also showed us some neat tricks on taking pictures with our phonew, which was very helpful! After the sunrise, we took some great pictures of the flowers and vegetation, and Scott even took our picture at the summit sign. We left, and had a very delicious breakfast at a lodge near the bottom of Haleakala. Then, we took a tour of the surrounding garden, where we took more awesome pictures. We then went into the flower shop, where we ordered a beautiful arrangement of local flowers and had them sent to friends of ours they later told us it was the most gorgeous arrangement of flowers they had ever received! We proceeded back to the hotel, with Scott telling us a great story about the sugar cane fields, and teaching us how to speak Hawaiian. We got back to our hotel in plenty of time to enjoy the rest of our day, which we did on the beach by our hotel catching up on our sleep - ha ha! We highly recommend the small-group sunrise tour to Haleakala - you will not be disappointed!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

Gerard C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour, well worth the early start. Guide, Rory, was great, gave lots of information and kept everyone amused.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

William O

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

It wasn't the horrid weather, that was just bad luck. However the tour guide felt he had to make up the time by driving around to assorted small tourist towns. It was an incredibly boring experience. We should have been allowed to simply return to our hotels.

Doing what: Haleakala Crater Hike

Amy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great trip!! Had an amazing time!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message