• USD ($)
  • English

Maui ATTRACTIONS See all

Haleakala Crater

The lunar landscape of Haleakala Crater covers an enormous expanse – so big that Manhattan could squeeze inside. The world’s largest dormant volcano, the crater is protected by the Haleakala National Park. This is the place for stunning views ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 229 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

What we saw at sunrise was spectacular, unparalled, and indescribable (much like the picture on left). The ride on the Polonesian Adventure Tour bus, from 2:30 to 5:30 am was safe, skillfully driven. The narration by the driver of the bus was largely unhelpful, mostly about the driver's personal experiences, very little about the local Maui.lore, geology, or culture of Haleakela. I eventually tuned him out. Breakfast on southern Hana coast was OK, nothing to write home about.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

I don't understand why we had a 2:35 pick up and they actually came at 2:55 then we sat in a parking lot by the coffee shop for a half hour and we were at the top a full hour before time for the sunrise! AND it was raining with a cold wind so no sunrise! Our tour guide, Ron, was informational.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

We had the bad luck of going on a cloudy and rainy morning but can't fault the tour for that. The tour guide was nice, but a bit bland and boring. We ended up showing up with over an hour to spare so we just sat in the bus. I think it's better to find out when the sunrise is and just drive yourself

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The downhill adventure is a "MUST DO" when in Maui.....but the group...well let's just say...is not the best to go with. This tour operator is getting a little long in the tooth.....van's are old....bike's are OK....and his idea of a continental breakfast in the AM is packaged crackers and cookie's from the local store. ANd where you meet him is in the weirdest place....down in the old rundown industrial section of Kahului. Downhill is wonderfull...you have to do it.....but pick another provider.

Doing what: Maui Downhill Bike Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It was great!!! The guides were funny but very safety conscious. They were very knowledgeable about the plants and history of Maui. I would do it any time again.

Doing what: Maui Downhill Bike Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very good experience. Knowledgeable and courteous guide. Loved the breakfast on our way back.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

They took us to the top hoping to get a view the crater of Mt. Haleakala. It was a rainy day, but the clouds cleared just long enough for us to get a few snapshots and them rolled in again. It rained almost the entire time during the downhill bike ride, but the crew (Tomas and Drew) provided rain gear that kept us dry. Tomas (riding the lead bike) and Drew (covering the rear in the van) were in constant communication so that we would know when to pull over to let cars pass. The entire experience was great fun, in spite of the rain, and we would do it again in a heartbeat!

Doing what: Maui Downhill Bike Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

By far our favorite adventure we had while on Maui; talk about exhilarating! For those who are skeptical: you can do it! I don't ride often and did just fine as it was ALL coasting down hill. Highly recommend for anyone looking for a unique ground level perspective of the beautiful Maui terrain.

Doing what: Maui Downhill Bike Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Our guide was very good, funny and kept conversation going and had some very interesting facts to share about the island and it's history. The sunrise itself was pretty though very, very cold. You have to get up extremely early as well but you get back early as well because of the start time.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

This is a good way to get an overview of Maui wthout drving yourself. Driver was knowledgeable and made the trip worth while. Sufficient time was given at the stops. No complaints from here.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Nice tour. It is cold so dress warmly. Loved the Park ranger singing/chanting to welcome in the new day.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

First class on safety and scenery. No water on trip and seamed possibly too early at top.

Doing what: Maui Downhill Bike Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Weather was better than expected, but sunrise not as spectacular as I had hoped. Beautiful,
however,and interesting tour guide.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message