Maui ATTRACTIONS See all

Haleakala Crater

The lunar landscape of Haleakala Crater covers an enormous expanse – so big that Manhattan could squeeze inside. The world’s largest dormant volcano, the crater is protected by the Haleakala National Park. This is the place for stunning views ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 281 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very informative guides on a host of subjects, including the National Park itself, as well as wildlife, birds plant species, and even pronunciation of Hawaiian language.

Doing what: Haleakala Crater Hike

Gail F
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This was a long trip but worth it. Very cold up the top of the mountain even in summer so make sure you wear a jumper. We had a nice clear day and could see for miles. The lunch stop was a bit disappointing - you were herded into this restaurant and basically felt like you had to eat there (not part of the price of the tour - you had to pay). We would of preferred to choose our own place to eat. Would of liked more time to look around at the shops where we stopped to eat.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Lovely tour, glad it went ahead with there just being the two of us booked for that day. Lunch was lovely, although didn't think much of the area chosen to have it. Would have preferred a stop with a view of the ocean.

Doing what: Small-Group Luxury Day Trip to Haleakala National Park and Hana Coast Rainforest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour and the guide were great! Very entertaining, safe, organized, and knowledgable! Thank you for a great experience! We will recommend it to others.

Doing what: Maui Downhill Bike Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

If you can plan on taking any pictures, bring gloves!! Was picked up promptly and arrived just ahead of other tour groups so was able to get a good view. Our tour guide was very knowledgable and friendly, and told us the best spot to stand for a view. Overall great tour, much easier than driving.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was picture perfect..I was surprised at the immense knowledge of our tour guide

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Really great Tour. Had Steve as our guide he was funny and knowledgable of the area and the marine life, great guy. Would definitely recommend doing. The snorkelling was great and we were able to see heaps of turtles up close

Doing what: Turtle Reef Kayak Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

One of the highlights of the trip. Greg was our guide, he knew everything he was asked and provided great info on the area and the volcano. We had a perfect morning for it. The sunrise was amazing and it wasn't too cold.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was a great trip! Our guide was very knowledgable and friendly. Breakfast was good as well.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour, with an excellent host/driver (Bob). The whole thing was really smooth and well run with a very knowledgeable guide in Bob. The sunrise was spectacular and cold. Nice breakfast to warm you up and finish the tour off.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We just loved it, we never been to Maui before or anywhere else in Hawaii, this place I highly recommend..

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour. Spectacular views. Our tour guide, Bob, ensured we were at the top of the mountain early enough so that we could get a front row view!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide, Charlie, was very knowledgeable, funny, and even periodically busted out with a song. Haleakala along was worth the cost which we thought was very reasonable. The driver up and down was tremendous and allowed me to enjoy the scenery rather than drive. Lunch was great and I recommend the locally grown cheeseburger beef.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This trip was fantastic!!! It was also exhausting having started at 2:30 am. However, when you see the sun rise over Haleakala you know it was worth it. Our driver Wayne was a great resource, very knowledgeable and extremely friendly. I can honestly say we felt like we got our money's worth and would book with this company again.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was a great trip but the re-confirmation was very complicated

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message