Maui ATTRACTIONS See all

Haleakala Crater

The lunar landscape of Haleakala Crater covers an enormous expanse – so big that Manhattan could squeeze inside. The world’s largest dormant volcano, the crater is protected by the Haleakala National Park. This is the place for stunning views ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 292 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a wonderful time. The crater was spectacular, lunch was great, very organized. But the best part was our guide. She was friendly, fun, engaging, and taught us so much about the history of the island, the flora and fauna, and the Hawaiian culture. My kids said it was their best day on the island!!

Doing what: Haleakala Crater Hike

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

The sunrise was spectacular but the tour guide was appalling. He would not stop talking throughout the whole time and was telling us inane and trivial stories.He was even going so far to point out that you can lear surfing, boogie boarding etc on the beach. It was basically like pointing to a parking lot and saying, look there are cars in there! That is one example of many. I would not do it again. Drive up yourself! At least you will be in charge of your own time and will save lots of money

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a fabulous tour. Our tour guide, Sean, was very knowledgeable of everything from history to geology, food to music, botany to astronomy. The drive to the top of Haleakala was spectacular and although one can do it themselves, it is much better to have a driver who can explain things.

Doing what: Small-Group Luxury Day Trip to Haleakala National Park and Hana Coast Rainforest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was really great. Our driver was the best. He made the trip worthwhile.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were fortunate to have a good view from the top of the mountain. Our guide was excellent, very knowledgeable of the history, vegetation, and wildlife of Maui. He was kind, professional, and an excellent driver. This tour is an excellent value for the money. I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

So much fun and our guide, Bob, was the best. Highly recommended to everyone.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highlight of week on Maui.. stunning view of the milky way followed by sun rise over the volcano.

Al our guide was very entertaining and informative and made the trip feel special.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was great the service everything was on time our host I call him because tour guide dose not fit Glen he had such knowledge and was so colorful and the sunrise was awesome thanks for the memories

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Sandra R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing the tour guide was excellent it was an early start through we were back at our hotel by 3.30pm which was great! Highly recommend this tour for anyone who wants to see the volcano craters on the Island of Maui!

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was a very good tour for a large group

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Tour was great, guide was awesome, but you folks shot yourself in the foot with cutting corners on logistics
The only reason why I did not give an outstanding was that the bus provided for the journey was very uncomfortable. Hard seats, head rest for every second seat. Bad experience.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Such a waste of time and money! It saddens me to think the 3 of us paid 720 for this tour and wasted 9 hours of our vacation. Breakfast was a piece of pound cake on the side of the road and the extravagant sounding lunch that was promised was nothing more than cold wraps, pasta salad and a brownie on a picnic table with a white tablecloth. Not impressed with any aspect of this tour! Long and boring trip! The lavender farm was nothing more than a few plants scattered here and there and the gift shop well the gift shop had only a few lavender items. My daughter and I walked in and right away looked at each other and said, this is it?. If I had to choose a best part of the tour, I guess it would be the wine tasting and then we only got to taste 3 wines! Bottom line, I had rather pay 720 not to take this tour again and have my time spent at a beautiful beach!

Doing what: Small-Group Maui Tour: Haleakala National Park, Lavender Farm and Wine Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We debated whether we wanted to leave the hotel so early before booking this tour 2:30am and it was well worth it. It is a gorgeous site! Please dress accordingly as it is FREEZING up there and very windy.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Thoroughly enjoyable. Pity the weather wasn't brilliant. What we saw of the sights was good.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Tour was very good, good guide. Disappointed in lunch, considering the price of the tour, I expected better.

Doing what: Small-Group Luxury Day Trip to Haleakala National Park and Hana Coast Rainforest

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Our guide, Ernesto, was wonderful. Otherwise, words can not describe how poorly managed, organized, and executed the entire tour experience was from start to finish. Participants should be paid to take the tour, and not vice versa.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour. We were a family of five and ended up being the only ones on the tour. We got aazing pics of Haleakala. We had two kids which is why we chose this tour since I wasnt sure if they would enjoy a car ride to Hana but this was perfect. One day and we got amazing pics. Lunch was at a lavendar farm and the food was good.

Doing what: Small-Group Luxury Day Trip to Haleakala National Park and Hana Coast Rainforest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was amazing! Rory our tour guide was so knowledgeable and shared lots of stories which made the trip extra fun! definetly a must do in Maui!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

You have to get up really early, but it is worth getting up the volcano before everyone to have the best spot and enjoy the sunrise! Been there in March 2015 !

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Tour guide was wonderful - However, weather did not cooperate with us for the sunrise.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Nice tour of island. A little long

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing. Our guide was wonderful and so knowledgeable. Couldn't ask for a better guide than him. I would recommend this tour to anyone going to Maui. Make sure you take winter clothes for the top because it was very cold.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was epic! The guide was fun and knowledgeable, knew where we had to be and when. The sunrise was spectacular, what was unexpected was how simply amazing the stargazing was prior to the sun showing up - and the guide knew everything to point out! EPIC!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message