Maui ATTRACTIONS See all

Haleakala Crater

The lunar landscape of Haleakala Crater covers an enormous expanse – so big that Manhattan could squeeze inside. The world’s largest dormant volcano, the crater is protected by the Haleakala National Park. This is the place for stunning views ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 298 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was a really enjoyable experience. The tour was really amazing - I especially enjoyed the small group environment. The commentary was excellent and the recommendations for the preparation were spot on. Lunch was a really good experience as well. Definitely 5 stars.Initially I debated to change it to the bicycle tour, but am so glad I did not - it's far too dangerous, considering some of the riders look like they've never sat on a bike.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were promptly picked up by Bob for our Sunrise Tour. He went to other resorts to pick up other tourists to join our coach and everything went to plan. He was very pleasant, good humor and involved all on the coach with much interest, as to what part of the country everyone came from, and interacted with all individuals. I would recommend Bob to anyone interested in doing this tour. Although it was a very early morning, the sunrise is so spectacular, and a once in a lifetime thing to put on the bucket list. Thank you very much.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

awesome experience plus the stop for photos was icing on the cake - loved every part of it!! will do it again next time we return to maui!

Doing what: Maui Downhill Bike Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My husband and i really enjoyed this trip. The pick was soo early but at no point did we feel we where waiting around or had got up so early for no reason. Our driver up was Wayne who was FANTASTIC, he was brilliant. He had such a broad knowledge of the history and local area, i cannot recommend him highly enough. The breakfast when we had made our way back down was far better than expected, all of the travelers at our table enjoyed it. A note about the chill at the top, being hardy Yorkshire folk we felt nothing more than a jumper was required, it was the equivalent of a crisp, sunny day in November in the UK.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an excellent tour. Loved the views and enjoyed Haleakala and the Iao Valley! So beautiful. I would recommend this trip.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing Experience - well worth the 2 am pick up time.
Looked like we were looking at the moon. Colours of the sunrise were spectacular. The guide was very knowledgable as well. Would recommend to all.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We loved this "tour." The visibility wasn't great, but our guide made the most of the conditions, and we saw many fascinating fish, several turtles - and a manta ray! The guide was informative and clearly had a strong interest in the environment. He informed us without being tedious, and his knowledge certainly enhanced our experience. We were pleased we did it this way rather than with a larger group off a boat.

Doing what: Turtle Reef Kayak Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed "Judy".....she was fun! Very informative too. We liked seeing the areas she took us to, but not very impressed with the Iao Valley stop....but again...got to see more of the land.... would have been nice to stop and see some of the other sights (in the Central part/UpCountry) but realize on a scheduled trip and time depends on people/tourists.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Good trip with very informative information from our lovely driver, Judy. Wonderful scenery, just wish we'd had time to do a second trip to the Lavender Farms.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Glenn the guide was very knowledgeable and the scenery was extraordinary.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Glenn knew his stuff. 10,000 ft. elevation was mostly clear. Awesome views. Iao Valley was nice but didn't stay there long enough.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

The tour driver was one of the worse. Hardly communicate as we drove around. Had to go to the airport to pick up people for the tour which was a waste of our time.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

We saw just one turtle!! Water is not crystal clear and fishes are rare.

Doing what: Turtle Reef Kayak Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message