Maui ATTRACTIONS See all

Haleakala Crater

The lunar landscape of Haleakala Crater covers an enormous expanse – so big that Manhattan could squeeze inside. The world’s largest dormant volcano, the crater is protected by the Haleakala National Park. This is the place for stunning views ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 246 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Definitely worth getting up early for. Even with my several layers of clothing I was still very cold. The wind at that altitude is intense. Our driver was okay (I think his name was Greg) and forgot to drop us off until we were halfway to the next city, but the actually experiencing of seeing the sunrise over the clouds made the whole trip worth it.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

The tour was okay. Not worth the cost, unfortunately. I noticed that other groups had a tour guide who spoke with the group about the history of the crater.
This should be added to the tour, for the cost.
The tour guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

The tour itself was pretty much as advertised. It was a beautiful day and a relief to have the tour guide, Ron, drive the swithbacks so we could look at the scenery. However, Ron just gave us the standard script, the most impersonal and boring tour guide I have every encountered. I don't know where he is from, but he's not Hawaiian and seemed to have a Southern (?) accent so some words were poorly pronounced. We never even got to know others on the tour -- there was no attempt for comradery, humor, or even extended history of Iao needle, Maui.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had the perfect day for the Sunrise.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Got out of bed at 2am and thought "what was i thinking"?
Aron was FAN TASTIC.
The sunrise FANTASTIC.
The breakfsst FANTASTIC.
The park service sunrise "chant" FANTISTIC
The memory of tjis trip will be my mental break to a HAPPY PLACE!! THANK YOU VIATOR

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The trip to Haleakala was amazing. The sunrise was awesome. It was beautiful and the tour guide was extremely knowledgable.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed this trip. It was a great tour. Really enjoyed booking the sunrise tour.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great time with our tour guide but the weather would not cooperate for us. Would do it again.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our driver, Bob, was terrific! Very personable, knowledgeable, and courteous. Thoroughly enjoyed booking the sunrise tour.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Roy was our tour guide, we enjoyed the day very much with a respect for the island and the folklore. Make sure you dress warm enough on this tour, it gets cold on the top of the mountain. Bring a good camera you will be glad. Enjoyed the town we stopped in, the art shop had great photos and gift ideals

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Breathtaking! This is a must do excursion- the early wake up is hard and the top of the volcano is pretty cold, so make sure you wrap up- but it's so so so worth it! Amazing! And a great breakfast to finish the morning! X

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was a really enjoyable experience. The tour was really amazing - I especially enjoyed the small group environment. The commentary was excellent and the recommendations for the preparation were spot on. Lunch was a really good experience as well. Definitely 5 stars.Initially I debated to change it to the bicycle tour, but am so glad I did not - it's far too dangerous, considering some of the riders look like they've never sat on a bike.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were promptly picked up by Bob for our Sunrise Tour. He went to other resorts to pick up other tourists to join our coach and everything went to plan. He was very pleasant, good humor and involved all on the coach with much interest, as to what part of the country everyone came from, and interacted with all individuals. I would recommend Bob to anyone interested in doing this tour. Although it was a very early morning, the sunrise is so spectacular, and a once in a lifetime thing to put on the bucket list. Thank you very much.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My husband and i really enjoyed this trip. The pick was soo early but at no point did we feel we where waiting around or had got up so early for no reason. Our driver up was Wayne who was FANTASTIC, he was brilliant. He had such a broad knowledge of the history and local area, i cannot recommend him highly enough. The breakfast when we had made our way back down was far better than expected, all of the travelers at our table enjoyed it. A note about the chill at the top, being hardy Yorkshire folk we felt nothing more than a jumper was required, it was the equivalent of a crisp, sunny day in November in the UK.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message