Maui ATTRACTIONS See all

Haleakala Crater

The lunar landscape of Haleakala Crater covers an enormous expanse – so big that Manhattan could squeeze inside. The world’s largest dormant volcano, the crater is protected by the Haleakala National Park. This is the place for stunning views ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 364 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Saket K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We started our tour at 2.50am in the morning and we were picked up from our hotel.
Our bus driver cum guide Glen was very experienced and superb driver.
He kept us highly entertained by high great amount of knowledge.
We reached Haleakala view at around 5 am and Glen had guided us to the best spot to view the sunrise. Haleakala Tour was beautiful experience of a lifetime.
To see the mother nature changing its colors is most beautiful view.
We then went to another higher spot where there are many research facilities.
Overall it was very good and well planned tour.
Thanks to our driver Glen for driving so well especially around the most curved lanes.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Sylvia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Rory was a safe, kind, and highly informative tour driver! We had a wonderful spot to watch the sunrise, and learned so much history on our journey on the bus. Thank you for a perfect day!!!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Spencer V

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Tour was ok. Guide ok. Sunrise was ok. Cold up there so bundle up. Some brought their hotel comforters lol.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Dena K

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

The tour was nice! We did not visit the Iao Valley due to construction closings.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

Jim G

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Great trip with very knowledgable driver. Spectacular scenery. Only negative was van seating. Of the 8 seats, 3 were ideal, 2 were good and 3 were terrible. Cramped rear bench with little leg room on outer seats and middle seat having very poor viewing outside. We rotated periodically in acknowledgement that some seats were poor so everybody got good and bad when we had all hoped for good period.

Doing what: Small-Group Luxury Day Trip to Haleakala National Park and Hana Coast Rainforest

Celine H

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

The tour was absolutely amazing. Our tour guide, Judy was very welcoming, understanding, patient, helpful, knowledgeable, not to mention HILARIOUS.

There was a bit of a hiccup prior to going on the tour. The confirmation call was made the day prior while I was en route to Maui, and my flight arrived late night, so I couldn't call them then. When I called the next morning to receive the necessary information, pickup location, the lady tried to give me a hard time about it. I explained my predicament and she apologized.

On a regular day, one has a choice of taking a 2 bus ride or a 25 taxi ride from Paia Town to Kahului Airport to be picked up. Both methods are roughly 15 minutes journeys. Given a choice, I would have opted for the bus ride. Unfortunately, I didnt find out the necessary information until the day of so I missed the 6:29am bus. The next bus was scheduled to leave Paia Town at 7:59am which would render me late for my 7:50am pickup. The tour operator, Polynesian Adventure Tours PAT has a strict cancellation policy, so I had to take a taxi.

It took several calls to PAT and five different taxi companies, before finding one able to provide transport to meet the estimate arrival time of the tour bus.

Fortunately, Ronald with Bella Taxi was a very pleasant and helped to relax the frayed nerves from the experience. He delivered me to the pickup location at 7:47am.

Unfortunately, due to road construction and a late hotel guest, I watched as the 35 bus heading to the Queen Kaahumanu Centre having left Paia town at 7:59am pass as I waited for the tour bus to arrive. The sting of that experience was unpleasant.

Once I was picked up, it was smooth sailing.

My recommendation, although there are affordable options available, be prepared to spend and spend big when taking this tour.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

Jackie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our tour guide, Rory, made this a very rewarding expierence. He was a safe driver and very informative about the history, geography and culture of the island. We would recommend this tour to everyone who plans on visiting Maui. The Smiths

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Kenneth H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour. Les was awesome. Fun and informative.

Doing what: Small-Group Luxury Day Trip to Haleakala National Park and Hana Coast Rainforest

Peter C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The driver was friendly and full of information and got us the best spot to view one of the best sunrises that I have ever seen.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Lilian N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Breathtaking, no words can describe. Definitely would recommend it, definitely worth waking up at 2am. Make sure you bring appropriate clothing though because it is extremely cold up there!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

MELISSA C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Sunrise could have been better but that was Mother Nature's fault. I would have liked to be there earlier as it was crowded wh n we arrived and I had a hard time finding a spot to set up my tripod. Otherwise, great!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Krystal A R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our tour guide was Nettie, and she was absolutely wonderful! Her knowledge and love for/of the islands and passion for them were absolutely evident! Her willingness to share all of the above made the experience even that much more amazing! I would absolutely recommend this tour and hope that they get the same experience we did!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Lucy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The most recommended, like a private tour with only four person, which I love it. Our tour guide was super nice and friendly, it was quite chilly on top of the mountain, our beloved guide prepared blankets and hats for us, helping us to take photos and secure the best standing/sitting position to view the sunrise. The view was breathtaking and the trip was worthwhile, thank you for taking care of us, Mahalo!!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

Lisa F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Awesome trip! I had so much fun and I saw a lot. Really worth it to go on this tour.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

judy

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Haleakala was worth seeing. Lavender farm was a disappointment. Very small shop with very limited items.

Doing what: Best Small-Group Maui Tour: Haleakala National Park, Lavender Farm and Wine Tasting

Dilshad D

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

They give same pick up time to everyone and expect you to wait on the street for their van instead of the lobby of your hotel. They arrived 20 mins late to pick me up from the time I was given. At 3 am, I did not feel comfortable standing on the street so I went in to the hotel lobby. And then the driver got upset when he finally arrived. They need to do a better job of communicating with the customer and should give a more realistic time for pickup.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Steve P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We travelled in a group of six, vehicle was as promised, luxurious! We were picked up at agreed time and our guide, Scotty, was involved throughout telling us about Maui and the flora and fauna. The provision of extra clothing was greatly appreciated and well needed. The experience of the night sky with his knowledge of the stars and planets made the wait for sunrise interesting and very enjoyable. Of course the run up to sunrise was spectacular and Scots knowledge and help with cameras and phones was an added bonus. The group had a great time rounded off by the enjoyable breakfast and tour of the garden. We were even blessed with some fantastic photo opportunities with some beautiful rainbows. Altogether a fantastic trip and worth every penny, highly recommended

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

Duy N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This trip was worth it. Nattie, our driver had great energy and gave a fantastic tour! She helped us prepare for the trip the best that she could. She made sure enjoyed the tour and pointed us out the best place to stand during the sunrise. We learned a lot about the culture and history of Maui through the tour. We learned so much more than we expected.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

ANTHONY A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Amazing and fun tour guide - spectacular sunset and experience - good breakfast location. Overall a very good tour.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Raymond M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fabulous tour. We are so glad we took this tour. Our guide, Bruce, was the best. We had a great time.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

Alice S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The best part of course was the sun rising...a beautiful sight!! The volcano was really cool looking! We had a knowlegdable and great driver. He took the stress of driving to Haleakala from us. Do take a coat and hat to protect your ears-very cold and windy. Worth the price!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Linda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Rory was a great tour guide, terrific driver and gave us a lot of cultural and historical information on our way to a spectacular sunrise

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Martin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Tour was awesome and Rory was an amazing tour guide.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Richard E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an awesome tour. A glorious Sunrise that was breath taking.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message