Maui ATTRACTIONS See all

Haleakala Crater

The lunar landscape of Haleakala Crater covers an enormous expanse – so big that Manhattan could squeeze inside. The world’s largest dormant volcano, the crater is protected by the Haleakala National Park. This is the place for stunning views ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 261 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great tour. Not to miss! We did it out first day, to take advantage of the time change and waking up early. Lovely breakfast too..

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I highly recommend this tour. It was amazing and well worth getting up early. Yes, you do need to dress in layers but we found that it wasn't as cold at the top as it was a couple of places we stopped at on the way down. The views were breathtaking. It truly was a spectacular Haleakala Maui sunrise tour.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Fantastic. Pilot was very friendly and gave us a first class commentary on the sights and history of Maui. The "pit-stop" on the mountainside was excellent, the food was first class and much more than expected. The view was fantastic, could have sat there all day. Would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private Maui Helicopter Tour Including Hana, Haleakala Crater and Sunset Landing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour was awesome! Definitely worth the price! Our driver Bob was amazing and gave us some very good tips.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was the absolute highlight of my trip to Maui. My tour guide, Bob, was fantastic!! He cracked me up at 2am and gave us some time to sleep en route to quiet tunes. The stars and the sunrise were absolutely incredible; pictures and words don't capture it. Bob points out so many things you would otherwise miss. A truly memorable and awe-inspiring experience!!! Thanks, Bob!!!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I loved this tour! It's a very, very early morning (2:50am pick-up in Wailea), but then there's a drive up to the crater, during which you can sleep. Once we got to the top, we had coffee and hot chocolate and were able to spend time stargazing while waiting for sunrise. We were very lucky with mild weather (dress warm!), and the sunrise really was spectacular. It was amazing to be above the clouds, and the entire national park is beautiful. We made a few stops at great viewpoints and were back by 11am. Such a uniquely Maui experience!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Tour guide was excellent and so knowlegable. He had a great sense of humor and made the tour very pleasurable!

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Amazing - well worth getting up so early to go see. Nice to have a hot breakfast at the end. People booking this tour need to pay attention to the "warm clothing" (jacket, long pants, etc) statement as it is very cold and windy.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

It was fantastic!!!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

It was well worth getting up at 2.30am to go on this tour and shiver for more than an hour while waiting for the sunrise- an almost religious experience!!
Some info and a most moving chant from the guide from the info centre was a highlight. Bus driver talked a bit too much on the way back down when all we wanted to do was sleep after our early rise.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Our tour guide was a bit dry. He was very knowledgeable but at that time in the morning you need someone a little more lively. It was chilly up there but we were prepared with multiple layers as well as hats and gloves.

We had a perfect sunrise and it was well worth the missed sleep.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Tour guide was accommodating and knowledgable. Always great to have someone else drive when the roads are dark and winding. There are cattle roaming around on the road when you drive up through the ranch. Be careful if driving yourself. Recommend bringing your own snacks as the ones provided are sub-par.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message